Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Aberford Certified Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Aberford Certified Site Reviews

Aberford Certified Site
Bunkers Hill
Hook Moor
Aberford
Leeds
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
LS25 3DN
Tel: 01132 812966  or  07710 323875
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 18 Reviews
                9/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Clpagp 2 reviews from this member

 We were unable to stay as they were closed due to the virus. However, the small site looked very suitable for us (as we did visit).

All the animals were lovely and very helpful owners with their delightful children.

We hope to be able to stay in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rosecol 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, pitches a good size and not too far for hook up, only 2 toilets but gents have their own urinal area, which our grandson loved using (5 year old mind!. He also enjoyed the play area and the animals.

Would say though £20 per night with electric a bit dear considering the electricity kept cutting out, had to turn off the fridge to use electric hob, also being charged for shower which wasn't even hot. 


Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Raspberryqueen 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed here 4 nights over Christmas, as it is close to family who we were visiting. It proved to be an excellent choice. Carol and Ian are perfect hosts, and were very helpful, despite being busy with their own Christmas arrangements.

It is a delightful site, and anyone who loves animals would be delighted at the range of friendly alpacas, bantams, sheep, pigs and goats on the holding. Carol and Ian had taken some of them to participate in a local children's Nativity play the day we arrived.

Other reviewers have noted all the facilities at the site. Although it had rained all day when we arrived, we had no problems driving on to and off the grassy pitches. Motorway noise was minimal, despite very busy roads over Christmas.

We visited the Arabian Horse pub nearby in Aberford, which made our large group welcome, and Lotherton Bird gardens and play area is not far away. There are excellent roads to other places of interest, and a good train service and buses nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mummymills 11 reviews from this member

 Fantastic gem of a site. We spent a week at the start of the school summer holidays. & would happily have stayed for the whole 6 weeks!

The site is on a working farm. The owners, Ian & Carol run the farm, the campsite, and a mobile farm business where they take the animals to visit schools amongst other things. Due to this, the animals were so friendly. We spent ages petting goats, sheep, alpacas, horses, donkeys, the list goes on.

The pitching area is a nice sized field with EHU points on left & right. Our 15 metre cable did only just reach so maybe an extension cable will be packed for our next trip. There is probably space for 10 units in total. Surrounding the site are the fields with animals. We were rudely awoken by a cow moo-ing right against our bedroom pods one morning, it beats the usual cockerel crowing!

There are also two pre-erected bell tents for glamping which looked gorgeous.

There are two toilets cubicles, some menís urinals in a hut & one shower which cost 50p for around 7 minutes. The water was always hot.

There is a wash-up sink. However this is only cold water, so we always washed up at the tent.

Lots of opportunities for recycling with well labelled bins.

A fab kids play park with a trampoline, zip wire & slides amongst other things. It kept my kids amused for hours!

We visited nearby Lotherton Hall one of the days. Like a National Trust be actually run by Leeds City Council. We also went to Harrogate which took 30 minutes by car, passing through the town of Wetherbyvwhich also looks worth a visit. Leeds City centre isnít far away, perhaps 15 minutes.

All in all an amazing site & we will definitely return again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Noodlesmac 1 review from this member

 What a little gem of a site! A wonderful welcome from Ian, Carol and their family. Super fun for the kids, with lots of animals and a great play park. It's also in a lovely village.

A fantastic place to stay. We can't wait to return! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Anna Camper 9 reviews from this member

 A great place to take kids. The owners are v ery friendly. The shower and toilets are a little outdoor each, having to pay for the showers extra, so preferred to use our own. Dishwashing in cold water a little difficult.

However, having acess to the animals makes up for this. The site is a little sloping so take levelers, The noise from the motorway can be a little loud but again the lovely setting makes up for this.

The fresh eggs for sale are excellent too, If you have children it is a must. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Craine1998 4 reviews from this member

 First visit to site on a Friday at 8pm. Nobody about so emailed site warden and received text advising to pitch in a space and not to worry about paying.

Pitched in number1. Adjacent to donkey field. Slight gradient so two blocks used under front legs. Good marked recycling areas. Two toilets and a shower.

Didn't use shower as had own facility in van. Lovely petting area and play area. Eggs for sale and honesty box. Great site for £16 per night including awning and dog. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jules070603 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights over the early May bank holiday, the main reason was to visit York and Leeds to watch the Tour De Yorkshire cycle race but we also thought the site looked lovely.

It was in easy reach of us coming from Manchester, a straight forward drive on mostly motorways and we easily spotted to campsite entrance. We were arriving in the evening and the owner just told us to pitch up and we'd see them at some point over the weekend. Within minutes of arrival our 2 children were off playing and making friends leaving us to pitch up.

We pitched in a slightly sloping area and we did need to blocks at the front of the caravan but we were soon sorted.

The site is close to the motorway and so there is the sound of traffic noise but we soon got used to that and it was just there in the background, the benefits of the site outway this annoyance for us as its just lovely for the children. There is a great play area with a large enclosed trampoline and there are animals everywhere which you can feed and stroke. Rabbits, goats, sheep, llamas, pigs, fish, ducks, chickens, donkeys - its lovely to wander around and very well kept. The owners were very friendy and we got to chat with then despite them having a very busy bank holiday weekend with their mobile farm.

There are 2 toilets and a shower (it was a bit on the cool side when my husband tried it but we saw lots of others using it so maybe a bit of a bad moment when he went) and the usual water and waste points and recycling areas. You can also hire fire pits I believe. The site also has a teepee and bell tent to rent which looked lovely.

We got a train into York from a local village which took about 20 minutes and we drove round to Chevin Forest which was about 35 minutes. Lots to do within about 40 minutes.

We are booking again for later in the year and hope to try out a fire pit next time - the weather was a bit mixed over our weekend there. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jillfares 9 reviews from this member

 I bought my young grandson here for the weekend. What a lovely site. Although the noise from the road is loud this is easily forgotten when you are surrounded by a lovely little animal farm with a small playground.

The animals are extremely well loved and cared for, the site is spotless the owners are lovely and my grandson loved every minute. I had hook up and although it was a grass pitch the grass was dry and flat.

Lovely camping field with space and privacy 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RachlN76 7 reviews from this member

 We have just spent two nights here, and it's fabulous.

I can easily see why it won best family campsite for 2013 - within minutes of arriving, our daughter was begging us to book a repeat visit: '. But can we stay longer next time mummy? Maybe a week, or two weeks. Or all the summer holidays. '

The site is a more or less square field, with pitches loosely marked with pitch markers. One side of the field is slightly sloping, but there were caravans there, and I didn't notice them having to use blocks. We were on a very flat pitch. Despite it being rainy, the ground held up well, not boggy at all.

As others have mentioned, there is some road noise. But it's not a big deal.

Facilities: usual water and washing up and chemical points. We also had EHU, 6amp.

Two toilets, and one shower housed in a wooden building. Lovely and clean and bug free. 50p per shower, but that gives you ample time.

There's a great children's play area with a trampoline, swings and climbing stuff.

Then there's the animals! Pigs, donkeys, goats, rabbits, guinea pigs, fish and an aviary. 50p also buys a ball of food for the goats or fish.

Eggs for sale from the free range chickens on site. And the owner has three lovely dogs as well.

The owners were very helpful and friendly, and we had a brilliant weekend away and we will definitely be returning. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Aberford Certified Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Aberford Certified Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Aberford Certified Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Leeds      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5043 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement