Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site Reviews

Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site
(lake District)
Crossfells Campsite
Clifton Dykes
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2DG
Tel: 07551 339697
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 HS and 10 tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 20 Reviews
                10/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Bewley 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful secluded site for people who prefer the quieter break. We have a caravan and are self sufficient and this is our favourite site for the Lake District. There is hook up, water and a toilet. Plus views of Blencathra to the west, and the Pennines in the east. Mein hosts. Craig and Liz are most welcoming. Although we use it as a Base

, there are a lot of users either en route to Scotland or returning. The town of Penrith is close by. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Altom 17 reviews from this member

 Great wee site. Five hard standings and grassy area for tents. Good level pitches for caravans, nicely laid out, one toilet and no shower. Not a problem for us as we use our caravan shower all the time anyway.

Beautiful location, very rural. Easy access to Penrith which is a lovely little town.

Only had one night here but intend to return and spend more time. It's easy access from the M6 and you can visit the lakes easily from here.

An information notice board gives you details of supermarkets, eating places etc plus leaflets on local attractions.

Craig and Liz were very welcoming and very quick to respond to my enquiry in the first instance when I was booking the stopover 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tag 18 20 reviews from this member

 I used this site as a stop over heading south, for this it is ideally located being only a few miles from the M6. Even though the facilities are the basic they are in excellent condition and very clean. As it is a small site it doesn't have play facilities on site but the kids enjoyed running up and down the hill.

The owners were very friendly and gave us the directions thought the fields to their local. It was a glorious summers night so we took their advice and found the pub easily.

There was only one more caravan on site when we visited so it was very quiet at night.

I would return here and recommend it as a great base for visiting the local area. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jo john hyde 6 reviews from this member

 This is a very pretty quiet site with lovely walks, excellent for dog owners. Weather was cold with snow showers during our visit but this did not detract from our enjoyment. We walked through the fields with our dog and had a lovely lunch at the George and Dragon hotel which is very dog friendly. The site owners are extremely friendly and the rules are few and based on consideration for others and respect for the environment. I can recommend this site to those wishing to tour the Lake District or merely to enjoy the hospitality and stay on a beautiful quiet site in the countryside. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sinden59 1 review from this member

 Excellent site tucked well away from the road and with lovely views over the fells. Helpful proprietors, who even have an honesty box if unable to meet you. Basic but very clean facilities. Also only 3 miles from M6 so great stop over if travelling to Scotland. Level hard standings with water nearby. Camping field on very slight gradient but not a problem, would fully recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Annieeds 1 review from this member

 For us, this site offered us a great base for which to explore the Lakes and surrounding areas. The site is brilliant for short and long stays and would be a great halfway point for those doing the Coast to Coast route.

The site is well signposted from the main A6 to a secondary road. Any large outfit would turn gracefully into the large stack yard down on to the well proportioned hard standing serviced sites. The site nestles into rolling hills to protect you from any noise.

The toilet and grey waste water emptying facilities are clean and easily accessible, an absolute must if you intend to stay for long periods of time.

Penrith offers great facilities for young and old. Good pubs and an array of eateries. Good infrastructure. Intend to stay again shortly, we hope that we don't outstay our welcome! Oh forgot to say, the owners are pretty good as well! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billyblade 1 review from this member

 Visited this great wee site for 5 nights in late July. The owners have created a lovely, peaceful 5 pitch site which is very well maintained with very spacious, level pitches ( hard stand for car and van, awning on grass ), The owners could not have been more helpful, thank you both. The site is so easy to get to and from, only a few minutes into Penrith where you can get all you need, and plenty of dining out or take away. Very accessible from M6 too but no noise at all on the site. Great wee stop over on-route so try it out! Craig has also managed to get a WC and wash facilities on site now for those with tents, and has further plans for the site in the near future. Prices are very reasonable at 12 for caravan/motorhome with EHU, and 8 for tent with up to 4 people. Well behaved dogs are welcomed. Will definitely be visiting again ! Thanks again for a lovely stay. 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tony t bone 10 reviews from this member

 An excellent site. Arrived and pitched up and was then given a warm welcome by the site owners. The order of this site was peace when we visited as we were the only unit there. Facilities minimal and this is reflected by the 10 per night price which represents excellent value. Clean water, EHU, grey waste and chemical disposal all available and all spotlessly clean. On leaving the site we were again visited by Jamie, the site owner to ask us if all was well. He even asked if we had any suggestions as to how the site could be improved. To be honest I don't think much can be made in the way of improvements. Jamie is already looking at providing a Toilet and Shower block. If anything I would suggest WIFI.

Plenty do do in the area and a good meal is to be had at reasonable prices at the Beehive Pub. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and this site is now firmly on my favourites list! 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kazndsteve 1 review from this member

 What a great find we wanted a site near to the Lakes but also close enough to the M6 so we could visit Scotland and this ticked all the boxes. Although only 10 mins away from the M6 the site is set in beautiful countryside with great views, it has five pitches two which are fully serviced which was great. Pitches are flat and set on stones / gravel, facilities were clean and in easy distance. Although no shower or toilet block at 10 per night we were certainly not complaining. Locally there were good pubs and places to walk as well as castles and places of interest. Penrith was 10 mins away by car, we took the opportunity to shoot up the M6 to Gretna (not to get married) to visit the famous Blacksmiths shop which was great. The owner was extremely polite and friendly and was happy to help and give advice if needed. We would certainly go back as it was a great place to stay to explore. Our only minor gripe was that the electric could do with being uprated as it tripped a couple of times however the owner is sorting this out. Lovely place, Thank you! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Frank&Sandra 6 reviews from this member

 This is a real gem of a site! it only opened this year and is still being developed but still, WOW.

We came up for a weekend with the intention of visiting Penrith, which is comfortably within walking distance or a very short drive, we loved it. Easy access for motorhomes and caravans off the A6 and just five minutes from M6 J44, we were amazed at how beautiful the countryside around the site is with loads of great walks, pubs and places to go and see. The site is currently five large hard standing pitches with electric and a large area for tents. There is fresh water, a toilet and grey water and chemical toilet disposal point, at the time of writing this there is no shower or washing facilities but hey, you have them in your unit anyway. The site owners are friendly motorhomers who understand what we need and really helped us out when we has a serious issue with our vehicle, we will definitely be going back to Crossfells Campsite and would recommend you give it a try too. My overall rating is our personal rating as we don't have kids and don't crave posh camping facilities, although I'm certain that in time these will all be available here. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6498 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement