Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site
(lake District)
Crossfells Campsite
Clifton Dykes
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2DG
Tel: 07551 339697
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 HS and 10 tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 18 Reviews
                10/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peterinmalaga 3 reviews from this member

An excellent site and very friendly and helpful owners. The location is perfect for a stay in the Lake District. Penrith is the best place in the area for shops, pubs, cafes and travel links (road, rail and coach). Clifton Dykes is 5 minutes from Penrith and 15 minutes from Ullswater, 30 minutes from Keswick. If this site is a stopover on the way north, spend an extra day or two visiting the Lakes, the most perfect place on the planet imho.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Droidy 1 review from this member

Great Site, Great location only, quiet area away from the roads very cheap getaway.

The site is clean, the owners are great, some showers would be nice and maybe another toilet, but the price would have to go up

Relatively local for Kendal Calling festival not really walking distance though. 16 in a taxi and 25 return between 6 of us which is acceptable

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 546 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a site, just a few minutes off the M6 its perfect for one night stopovers or longer if you want to explore the area.

Pitches are large, gravel all with electric. There is one small loo in a shed - immaculate. Fresh water is available as is a drive over motorhome waste point.

It is a really well though out site and it is certainly going to be more and more popular as there is nothing to fault for 14 a night.

When you arrive the sign says to go and find a space and someone will be along later - if not leave your money in the honesty box.

We did book in advance for a night, when we arrived only 1 pitch left and it didn't have a reserved sign - so a little dismayed that if we had been a bit later then the pitch may well have gone.

Other than that its fabulous.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Diggerdi 1 review from this member

Needing somewhere to stay en-route from Scotland on a bank holiday Sunday I rang Crossfells only to get a voicemail message. Thinking I needed somewhere quick, I didn't leave a message. However, I was rung back immediately by Liz. She confirmed they had space, and we were there within the hour. What a beautiful, peaceful site. Everything there that was needed and beautifully clean and tidy. We will definitely return. Very handy stopover to and from Scotland.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Awafaa 1 review from this member

We found Crossfells Campsite via a quick Googleing whilst driving up the A1, it looked like a good half way point between home and Glencoe Mountain where we were heading to.

## Booking

Booking the site was painless, in some respects there was no need to book. We gave the friendly owners a ring but you can easily just drop them an e-mail (crossfellscampsite@hotmail. Co. Uk). No deposit was needed and payment is cash only. The site is open all year round and there is a discount for Camping and Caravan Club members. The discounted cost per night is 13 including 10 amp electric hookup.

## Location

It's fairly easy to get to the site from the A66, but you will need to keep your eyes open for the sign for the site as you may whizz past it.

## Pitch

There are a total of 5 hard standings for motorhomes, all reasonably sized. The site is immaculate. When we rang to book, the owners asked if we would need water for the night as they would need to switch the water on, as it was after Christmas the temperature had dropped so much that they switch the water off as a protection. We advised that we would be fine for the night but if we could top up in the morning then that would be great. All we had to do was turn up and pick a vacant pitch.

Sure enough in the morning one of the owners popped down to check that the water was on and see how we were, he also took the payment rather than us dropping it in the post box.

## Facilities

For a small site I was really impressed with the facilities. I suppose you could kind of compare the site to an upmarket French Aire de Service or a German Stellplatz. Whilst the 5 pitches have electric hookup, all other facilities are grouped together in a lovely little outhouse style collection. There is no toilet or shower block, so you will need to use your van for ablutions. There are taps and hoses for fresh water, and at the chemical toilet disposal point there is a tap and hose to rinse with. There is a grey water disposal point at the side, rubbish bins including recycling, local tourist information and the all important post box for payment. All very convenient.

## Verdict

Whilst some may say that Crossfells is a bit spartan, I would say it is targeted at specific people. It suited us perfectly for the one night and I genuinely couldn't fault both the site and the owners. Would I stay there again? Most definitely! I give it 10/10

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Winnieone 18 reviews from this member

Signposted from main road. Short lane, care needed narrow in one part but used by buses. Easy access at site entrance. Waste water drop for motorhomes. 13 per night with electric. Good phone signal and 4g. Good TV signal. Views. Two Pubs a short drive away.

Hardstandings. Most pitches have their own water. Easy chemical toilet waste. Grass regularly cut and collected. Toilet and handbasin both spotless. No Shower.

Information centre with loan of local maps.

Would definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barryhodge 6 reviews from this member

First class - clean, accessible, friendly. Can't rate this site highly enough. This is ideal for a stop-over on the way north or for a longer stay. Very clean facilities - town of Penrith very close. Easily accessible from motorway without suffering the road noise.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: K n V Latham 6 reviews from this member

A lovely well kept quiet site. Dog friendly with a field walk directly off the site into the village of Clifton. The toilet is very clean. No other facilities but we knew that and we used our motorhome facilities. Great water access, toilet emptying and grey waste facilities. We have visited the site a few times using it as a base for visiting our daughter who lives in the village. The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Bewley 1 review from this member

What a wonderful secluded site for people who prefer the quieter break. We have a caravan and are self sufficient and this is our favourite site for the Lake District. There is hook up, water and a toilet. Plus views of Blencathra to the west, and the Pennines in the east. Mein hosts. Craig and Liz are most welcoming. Although we use it as a Base

, there are a lot of users either en route to Scotland or returning. The town of Penrith is close by.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Altom 17 reviews from this member

Great wee site. Five hard standings and grassy area for tents. Good level pitches for caravans, nicely laid out, one toilet and no shower. Not a problem for us as we use our caravan shower all the time anyway.

Beautiful location, very rural. Easy access to Penrith which is a lovely little town.

Only had one night here but intend to return and spend more time. It's easy access from the M6 and you can visit the lakes easily from here.

An information notice board gives you details of supermarkets, eating places etc plus leaflets on local attractions.

Craig and Liz were very welcoming and very quick to respond to my enquiry in the first instance when I was booking the stopover

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2345 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!