Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site Reviews

Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site
(lake District)
Crossfells Campsite
Clifton Dykes
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2DG
Tel: 07551 339697
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 HS and 10 tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 20 Reviews
                10/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. We don't have toilets. We don't have showers. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Caroly169243qyl 1 review from this member

 A quiet peaceful rural setting with friendly efficient booking and welcome, despite covid restrictions.

Friendly campers nearby as usual, a beautiful sunset over the open fields to complete the evening after a rural walk along well- marked footpaths. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karenshort 1 review from this member

 Brilliantly run small very friendly campsite with fantastic views and immaculate toilets and grounds

I would highly recommend this camp site

10 min drive to Penrith and 20 min to Appleby castle and village

5 min drive to local pubs with fab food highly recommend the golden boat Chinese takeaway in Penrith

Have camped here for the last three years, fabulous place 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peterinmalaga 4 reviews from this member

 An excellent site and very friendly and helpful owners. The location is perfect for a stay in the Lake District. Penrith is the best place in the area for shops, pubs, cafes and travel links (road, rail and coach). Clifton Dykes is 5 minutes from Penrith and 15 minutes from Ullswater, 30 minutes from Keswick. If this site is a stopover on the way north, spend an extra day or two visiting the Lakes, the most perfect place on the planet imho. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Droidy 1 review from this member

 Great Site, Great location only, quiet area away from the roads very cheap getaway.

The site is clean, the owners are great, some showers would be nice and maybe another toilet, but the price would have to go up

Relatively local for Kendal Calling festival not really walking distance though. 16 in a taxi and 25 return between 6 of us which is acceptable 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 598 reviews from this member

 This is a gem of a site, just a few minutes off the M6 its perfect for one night stopovers or longer if you want to explore the area.

Pitches are large, gravel all with electric. There is one small loo in a shed - immaculate. Fresh water is available as is a drive over motorhome waste point.

It is a really well though out site and it is certainly going to be more and more popular as there is nothing to fault for 14 a night.

When you arrive the sign says to go and find a space and someone will be along later - if not leave your money in the honesty box.

We did book in advance for a night, when we arrived only 1 pitch left and it didn't have a reserved sign - so a little dismayed that if we had been a bit later then the pitch may well have gone.

Other than that its fabulous. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Diggerdi 1 review from this member

 Needing somewhere to stay en-route from Scotland on a bank holiday Sunday I rang Crossfells only to get a voicemail message. Thinking I needed somewhere quick, I didn't leave a message. However, I was rung back immediately by Liz. She confirmed they had space, and we were there within the hour. What a beautiful, peaceful site. Everything there that was needed and beautifully clean and tidy. We will definitely return. Very handy stopover to and from Scotland. 


Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Awafaa 1 review from this member

 We found Crossfells Campsite via a quick Googleing whilst driving up the A1, it looked like a good half way point between home and Glencoe Mountain where we were heading to.

## Booking

Booking the site was painless, in some respects there was no need to book. We gave the friendly owners a ring but you can easily just drop them an e-mail (crossfellscampsite@hotmail. Co. Uk). No deposit was needed and payment is cash only. The site is open all year round and there is a discount for Camping and Caravan Club members. The discounted cost per night is 13 including 10 amp electric hookup.

## Location

It's fairly easy to get to the site from the A66, but you will need to keep your eyes open for the sign for the site as you may whizz past it.

## Pitch

There are a total of 5 hard standings for motorhomes, all reasonably sized. The site is immaculate. When we rang to book, the owners asked if we would need water for the night as they would need to switch the water on, as it was after Christmas the temperature had dropped so much that they switch the water off as a protection. We advised that we would be fine for the night but if we could top up in the morning then that would be great. All we had to do was turn up and pick a vacant pitch.

Sure enough in the morning one of the owners popped down to check that the water was on and see how we were, he also took the payment rather than us dropping it in the post box.

## Facilities

For a small site I was really impressed with the facilities. I suppose you could kind of compare the site to an upmarket French Aire de Service or a German Stellplatz. Whilst the 5 pitches have electric hookup, all other facilities are grouped together in a lovely little outhouse style collection. There is no toilet or shower block, so you will need to use your van for ablutions. There are taps and hoses for fresh water, and at the chemical toilet disposal point there is a tap and hose to rinse with. There is a grey water disposal point at the side, rubbish bins including recycling, local tourist information and the all important post box for payment. All very convenient.

## Verdict

Whilst some may say that Crossfells is a bit spartan, I would say it is targeted at specific people. It suited us perfectly for the one night and I genuinely couldn't fault both the site and the owners. Would I stay there again? Most definitely! I give it 10/10 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winnieone 18 reviews from this member

 Signposted from main road. Short lane, care needed narrow in one part but used by buses. Easy access at site entrance. Waste water drop for motorhomes. 13 per night with electric. Good phone signal and 4g. Good TV signal. Views. Two Pubs a short drive away.

Hardstandings. Most pitches have their own water. Easy chemical toilet waste. Grass regularly cut and collected. Toilet and handbasin both spotless. No Shower.

Information centre with loan of local maps.

Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barryhodge 6 reviews from this member

 First class - clean, accessible, friendly. Can't rate this site highly enough. This is ideal for a stop-over on the way north or for a longer stay. Very clean facilities - town of Penrith very close. Easily accessible from motorway without suffering the road noise. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: K n V Latham 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely well kept quiet site. Dog friendly with a field walk directly off the site into the village of Clifton. The toilet is very clean. No other facilities but we knew that and we used our motorhome facilities. Great water access, toilet emptying and grey waste facilities. We have visited the site a few times using it as a base for visiting our daughter who lives in the village. The owners are very friendly and helpful. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Crossfells Campsite Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5843 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement