Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Elmwicke Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Elmwicke Campsite Reviews

Elmwicke Campsite
Copse Green Lane
Elmstone Hardwicke
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL519TB
Tel: 01242 680286
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: July And August

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campkinders 1 review from this member

Wow, what a great welcome from the owner, starting with a great cup of tea! The site is very clean and well kept. The toilet and shower block is very well maintained and always clean. The site allows fires and BBQs by your tents so really good for for creating a great atmosphere.

Site is near major supermarkets so good for topping up food and beverages!

The owner and her family couldn't do enough to make sure we had a great time.

Would recommend and definitely return!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scrote76 2 reviews from this member

We've just come back from a lovely relaxing week at Elmwicke. We selected it based on previous reviews on ukcampsite and we weren't disappointed.

There are no marked pitches, you camp where you want but the field is large and they are careful not to overbook so there are no issues with space and there's plenty of room in the middle for games, kite flying and the like.

The toilets and shower are in a portacabin and were always spotless and well stocked. Everything is plumbed in to the mains and the shower hot, powerful and free to use. There is a sink and drainer for washing up.

Nearby there are a few good pubs and there's a handy retail park with supermarkets and other shops 10 minutes away on the outskirts of Chelthenham. We visited Slimbridge and found a quaint little cafe at St Anns Well on a walk in the Malvern hills, both well worth a visit. Tewkesbury looks like a nice little town to potter about in but we didn't stop.

There's no real play area but who needs one when the kids can just run around and invent their own games. The owners took our daughter on a trip round the farm and the kids all enjoyed helping with the evening wood delivery/trailer ride.

Ruth and Jon work really hard to make everything comfortable and they are so welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. I can recommend the lamb from their flock of Jacob sheep, the chops barbecued over the firepit were amazing.

I think we'll have special memories of this place. We were made to feel so welcome by Ruth, Jon and their lovely children. The kids hit it off from the beginning and sitting round the campfire toasting marshmallows with new friends is our daughter's favourite memory of this holiday.

I'm certain we will be back next year, if not sooner. Our daughter is missing her new friends.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Roaringfire 1 review from this member

The is the first review I have ever left as we felt that the owners are obviously decent people making an effort to be reasonably priced (15 per night is fair)and well run. Would definitely recommend this site.

We visited with our 2 children and were really impressed by the friendly welcome on arrival. Lovely to be offered a cup of tea and walk around to see animals. The field, although lacking great views was huge with plenty of opportunity for seclusion.

The loo and shower block was the best and cleanest we have ever come across. This was a real plus point with children in tow. The only slight disadvantage, which may bother some but not others is that male and female toilets are not separated.

Fire pits were dotted around the field and logs were reasonably priced at 2 for large bag.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Graperd14 1 review from this member

This was my husband and my first visit to the UK and Elmwicke was our first campsite. Cannot say enough about the welcome and helpfulness of the family there. Bathrooms are spotless. Open area with farm setting. Ruthe helped us with our itinerary and it was wonderful. We came back to stay again. Ruthe and family will be forever our friends. If you want peace and kindness you will find it here.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AnnekeB 1 review from this member

We stayed here, with our two boys (Aged 4 and 2) for their first ever camping trip and I have to say my husband and I have been camping for many many years and this place was brilliant.

We arrived and had a complete choice of where we wanted to pitch up, were offered a nice cuppa from the owners and were very pleased to discuss the surroundings, facilities and offered to help us out with anything that we may need.

I was very impressed with the shower/toilet facilities - they were completely spotless and clean and could see that a lot of care and attention was made to make sure the facilities were kept up together during our stay.

The place was a lovely farm with various animals around, the children especially enjoyed the chickens, cows and sheep (which enjoyed talking to you!)

The children that lived on the farm were lovely and had a great time with our boys, playing football and other games with the outdoor play equipment, running around the fields.

The actual position of the site was perfect, close by to shops and very close to Cheltenham in the car, although there was a very secluded feel with the only noises really being a few horses wandering around!

We enjoyed a nice real log-fire in the evening in a great fire-pit, plenty of wood for us to use, all in bags ready and a simple 2 charge per bag.

The highlight of the stay, for the children especially) was watching the tractor whizz round the fields and getting to sit inside it for a picture!.

I would definitely recommend the place for anyoe who has young children and who wishes to experience the tranquility of a quiet retreat, not anyone who is looking for a big commercial site.

10/10!

Thanks to the family for having us! - We will be back!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CLByron 1 review from this member

Stayed here one night and it was a treat. Lovely clean toilet block and shower. The owner was welcoming and it immediately felt homely. My 3 year son was enchanted by the tour the owner gave him of the farm. His highlight was stroking a beautiful cow called 'Daffodil'.

Fire pits are all around the field and you can buy wood from them for a couple of pounds.

A play area in the centre of the field ensures kids can play but you can keep an eye on them.

Superb pub just down the road and Cheltenham is only a 10 minute drive.

We will definitely be back - my son will make sure of that!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KEsherwood 1 review from this member

Just returned from two nights camping in this lovely field. We are new to camping but this was everything we wanted - a large, peaceful open space for the children to run around and play field games and one which allowed (encouraged!) camp fires and BBQs. There are many fire pits which are free to use, and they sell large bags of fire wood for 2. 00.

The owners were very helpful and were happy to give us advice about places to visit and where to eat etc.

The toilets and shower unit was kept spotless, with plenty of loo roll, air freshener, hand wash and sanitiser always available. There is also a drinking water tap and small washing up station.

I will definitely be planning a weekend break there again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SammyA 4 reviews from this member

Wow, what an amazing campsite!

We stayed for one night and wish we could have stayed for longer. In many ways this was the most basic campsite we stayed at but it is definitely one of the best.

The welcome we received when the arrived was incredible, we were even brought a cuppa while we set up! The field was huge so we were well spaced away from everyone else and the kids could run around and play as much as they wanted. Fire pits were provided and there were bags full of wood for a campfire (proper bone dry hardwood as well that burnt really well.

We bought some sausages and some burgers for the nights BBQ off the owners (from their and nextdoors farms) and they were amazingly delicious! We even got to go and see their sheep and cattle and 'help' whilst their girls practised with the lambs for a show they were going to.

The showers and toilets were spotless, yes they were 'just' a porta cabin, but they were so much better than some proper toilet blocks we have been in.

Overall a wonderful place with wonderful, welcoming people, we will definitely be back in we are ever in the area again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Arbsteeple 1 review from this member

We stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday and found this site by pure chance on the internet. This is farm camping at it best!Superb open field, with loads of room looking over to the Cotswold hills. Use of the owners fire pits if you like your own campfire and plenty of dry firewood logs for 1 a bag! 2 bags gave us a great fire.

The owners couldn't be more welcoming, and considering they have only been open a month they are doing a great job. The toilet and shower were portoloo toilet and shower but don't be put off they were mains plumbed in. The toilet was spotless and better than a lot we have had to use!The shower was the same with a great powershower. All in all we had a great time and will be returning next year.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2808 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019