Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seathwaite Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Borrowdale > Seathwaite Farm Camping > Reviews

Seathwaite Farm Camping
Seathwaite
Borrowdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5XJ
Tel: 01768 777394
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 11 to 16                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scolopendra 1 review from this member

 Seathwaite Farm campsite is special.

The spectacular mountain setting, coupled with the cheery welcome from the tireless farmer Peter and family make this our all time favorite site.

The barren breasts of Hind Cragg and Base Brown, Seathwaite Fell, Glaramara and Great End all tower above, inducing a liberating sense of awestruck insignificance in those receptive. The ceaseless warbling of Sour Milk Gill is hypnotic. Time spent here is balsam to the soul.

The amenities are simple but clean and perfectly adequate. If you require gold plated taps and a marble jacuzzi, try the Ritz. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruddles40 1 review from this member

 I stayed here two nights with my wife while supervising some Duke of Edinburgh groups in the area. It's a lovely campsite - we were lucky enough to be almost the only people there. The camping field itself is large and well kept with a little stream running through it and the occasional sheep. The toilet facilities are a little basic (only one toilet in the Gents for the entire campsite!) but the showers, washbasins and washing up area are very good, modern and clean. The showers are quite expensive at GBP1 per shower, but you do get a good long time and nice hot water.

The campsite is really far from anywhere else so you will feel completely 'away from it all', but it's in a good location for walks including Scafell Pike. However the bext thing was the welcome I got - the farmer/owner was busy bottle-feeding a lamb when I arrived and continued to do so as he showed me around. Then his wife was extremely kind and helpful when we had some problems. A very nice place with lovely people. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BexnCJ 1 review from this member

 Finding this quiet little gem at the head of the Seathwaite valley, I am a little reluctant to share it! However, given a couple of poorer reviews, I would like to add to the latest positive review.

The farmer who looks after the campsite is incredibly friendly and made sure I knew where everything was. The toilets are the publics toilets and I'm sure on some days they might not be up to scratch at all times of the day but on my visits, they were great.

I didn't use the showers which are just for the campsite but went in to have a look and they looked great and certainly very clean.

On top of that is the access to the hills. I walked up Sca Fell Pike from the campsite as well as Great End, Glaramara and the Gables. The location is absolutely magnificent and with no need to drive anywhere and currently only 5 per night per person, what could be better?

I was there in my campervan and parked on the grass. I have no children but took a dog who got a friendly reception from the farmer too. The remoteness of the location for me, fitted perfectly with the simplicity of the campsite.

I left with such a good feeling from my couple of days there and hope you find the campsite equally enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 Stunning views all around - with no trees bordering the large field. Much better than Seatoller Farm or Hollows Farm. No road noise either. And only five other tents/vans on our Monday night.

The washroom was disgusting on the first night (loads of flies, a pigeon, and a stench). But fine the next morning. I would blame previous campers. The field was immaculate, with loads of space to pitch anywhere. Toilets poorer than average, but not disgusting. Bring toilet paper in case they run out.

No warden. The farmer came round to our tent for payment, and we were delighted with how friendly he was. Apparently the warden surprisingly disappeared a week ago. The farmer was dismayed to hear about the previous review about the warden, and appeared very unhappy with him. He noticed there were less campers than usual this summer.

This IS a totally stunning site; well worth a visit at 5 per person per night. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joolsr 2 reviews from this member

 This site is in one of the most spectacular parts of the Lakes, this is the only good point. The facilities if you can call them that are just disgraceful. There are now 4 portaloos on one side of the farmyard next to the manure heap with no loo roll, not emptied when necessary, I shan't go any further on this point, and are to be shared with everyone using the footpath which runs through the farmyard. The 4 showers, 4 wash basins and pot washing are on the opposite side of the farmyard, not to be traversed in flipflops as there is a multitude of sheep/cattle poop everywhere. These 'facilities' are closed from 10am to 5pm daily for cleaning? Not cleaned at all when we used them as we had to. The rubbish bin was overflowing and when I asked when the binmen were coming was told tomorrow just chuck it on the floor, on the pile which was over 2 feet high. The site warden is extremely rude as we had the misfortune of witnessing which was not pleasant for the couple on the receiving end. Suffice to say after our unpleasant shower experience we sourced another site 15 minutes up the road which we had used before and left promptly the next morning along with another couple who felt the same. In summary there is basic but clean, and then there is just plain dirty. This site is the latter. You pass at least 3 other sites before this one so I would advise stopping at one of those. Putting this one down to a lesson learned. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 Excellent views, superb walking straight from the site, and very good, well drained pitches are the good points. However, the toilet block has only one toilet for women, with two urinals and a toilet for men, and a cold water sink for each. The floor is concrete, with unwashed walls, and no lighting. The shower (four very good 1 pay showers) and washroom block was roomy, well lit, and clean (until our muddy boots came along) but was locked for the first two hours that we were there, and the only hot water is in the showers. And there are no toilets in this block. There was frustration and much time wasted trying to find drinking water, and someone to help with finding drinking water and then using the low flow rate source of drinking water in the toilet block sink, thanks to the shower/washroom block being locked.

As it was a wet and windy Monday, we had the site to ourselves, but apparently there was an unwelcome group the previous night. It seems this site still hasn't got the message through to rowdy 'riff raff' campers that they are unwelcome here.

There are no electric hookups or a shop. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 16     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seathwaite Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seathwaite Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Seathwaite Farm Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Borrowdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement