Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seathwaite Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Borrowdale > Seathwaite Farm Camping Reviews

Seathwaite Farm Camping
Seathwaite
Borrowdale
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5XJ
Tel: 01768 777394
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Zedsmith 5 reviews from this member

 Perfect site, absolutely perfect. As others have said it's location is stunning, and on the doorstep of some fabulous walks. We intended to stay just one night but were so enchanted by the place we stayed a week. It's a back to basics relaxed campsite, park-pitch where you fancy on the field and then take in that view of a fabulous waterfall, hanging valleys and Lakeland fells.

Perfect 👌 facilities ok, basic but clean, £1 for 5 min hot shower, toilets were basic but clean. Farmer was friendly, and for just £6 pppn it's a bargain! field looked big enough for children or dogs to have a play but there are the occasional sheep wandering through.

Good local bus service into Keswick or up to honister pass and slate mines. Also the campsite is directly next to the famous worlds first graphite mine, but do not explore as the shafts are deep and the spoil heaps unstable, interesting to add some historical context to the landscape though.

All in all this place is well worth a night or 6, just for the walks and views, but pray for the right weather as it's the wettest place in England! (We had perfect walking weather, sunny with a few clouds and a light breeze, could see all the way to Scotland from great gable) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angus01 1 review from this member

 Great place, good rates. Great place, good rates. Great place, good rates. Great place, good rates. Great place, good rates. Great place, good rates. Great place, good rates. Great place, good rates. Gr 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Countrycruisers 12 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights on this nice level campsite, no problem with the ground as it was fairly well drained although it did rain overnight, there is a gravel road through the site, then basically pull off the track and pitch up anywhere. The shower block is spotlessly clean with a nice hot shower for £1. Washing sink is good with free hot water, the toilet is a National Parks public toilet that had been cleaned with lots of paper available. Walked up to Scafell Pike from the site, via Esk Hause then back along the Corridor route a distance of about 10 miles. Our dog loved the site lots of area to play on. The grass had been cut recently, will come back £5 PPPN 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy2987 1 review from this member

 Good campsite.

Toilet and shower rooms close to field, both clean. Field itself was flat, dry and sheltered from wind as valley is partly wooded.

Get an insight into workings of a small busy farm. Friendly farmer.

Very good walking and scrambling options from campsite - Sourmilk Gill / Great Gable / Scafell Pike / Glamara. Honister / Wynlatter Pass just around corner for cycling.

Excellent scenery. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pcsparky 1 review from this member

 LOCATION - Absolutely stunning, nestled in a beautiful valley with a large waterfall close by. It is also ideal to hike up Scafell Pike directly from the site. Not too far by car to Keswick.

PITCH - The field could do with mowing and can get very wet, with some vehicles (including ours) getting stuck. The back edge was stoney ground though, where we pitched, and once we learned where we could safely drive we didn't have any further problems.

FACILITIES - What a shame! The excellent location of this campsite is completely let down by the fact that the toilets are PUBLIC TOILETS, which are used by the many walkers that pass through. My wife informed me that the women's were disgusting and I can comment that the only male toilet was also disgusting, I hate it when men pee on the toilet seat! I would happily pay a little more for this site if they had their own well maintained toilet block and sadly will not be returning unless that changes.

The showers were hot, with plently of water for £1. The pressure wasn't brilliant but we managed perfectly well.

The sinks for washing and the sinks for washing pots were adequate.

OWNER - Not sure who we spoke to on arrival but they were very friendly and explained everything. I did see them assist some guests by pulling some vehicles out with their tractor. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Jessica2015 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic campsite, group of 5 girls stayed in the Yurts on site. Stunning location and the farmer and his family are an added bonus to this site, so helpful and kind! The yurt itself was so cosy and decorated lovely! Toilets were great and didn't have a problem once! I will deffinetly be returning! Thank you for a fabulous stay! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SLANJ 1 review from this member

 I found this campsite by accident, fantastic wee site, its a field in a farm, but for £5 a night in the lakes, its a total bargain! Showers were £1, but for that you got more than enough time, they were spotless. The farmer was very helpful, and very trustworthy, as he said just leave the money in the honesty box if he wasn't around. All in all, a great location, and a very quiet area if you want to head up Great Gable or beyond. I will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mabell 1 review from this member

 This is a great campsite. I've loved coming here for years. Friendly owners, decent facilities (including volcanic showers!). Best placed site for the mountains, or cycling holidays (Honister pass right next door). Beautiful setting. Your first visit won't be your last!

There is a camping barn available too, and some yurts for hire. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Headintheclouds 1 review from this member

 I donít usually write reviews because when I find a gem of a campsite I like to keep it to myself but the farmer was so friendly I feel I owe him one.

Itís the first time we (me, wife, and daughters 4 & 7) have stayed here. We arrived on the monday of the second May bank holiday weekend and were surprised to find only another 8 or so other campers. Camping is in a large field so plenty of room to spread out. There is a stream running through the field with a small bridge providing endless Pooh stick opportunities. Itís in a stunning location - there are a few campsites in Borrowdale but this one is tucked up the valley about a mile from the main road and an ideal launch point for bimbling up the hills - many walkers drive to the farm and hike from there.

To put the record straight on a few of the older reviews: 1. There was a chap acting as warden whilst the farmer was unwell, the warden unfortunately was not very accommodating (hence some negative reviews), fortunately he has now gone and the farmer is back on the scene. 2. The facilities are great (we usually choose campsites with basic facilities as it keeps the riff raff away). Thereís new shower block (showers £1) and indoor washing basins & washing up facilities complete with hot water. 3. If you want glamping (not my thing but might be yours?) there are a two or three yurts for hire.

Camping cost us £5 per adult per night and the kids were free (bargain!). Fires not allowed but off ground BBQís are.

And, as Iíve said, the farmer and his wife were very friendly, providing us with weather reports each day. I hope you enjoy the place as much as we did. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J125 1 review from this member

 Lovely level site, ideally situated for walking Scafell and Great Gables straight from the site. A short very scenic drive takes you to Keswick and lots of interesting shops. The toilets are basic but iv been in a lot worse. Its a working farm so expect to have to play sheep poo hopscotch while putting the tent up. We will be returning again soon, its a real wild gem. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seathwaite Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seathwaite Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Seathwaite Farm Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Borrowdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2496 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement