Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Colliford Tavern And Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bodmin > Colliford Tavern And Campsite Reviews

Colliford Tavern And Campsite
Colliford Lake
St Neots
Liskeard
Bodmin
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL14 6PZ
Tel: 01208 821335
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 22 Reviews
                7/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saracen1 3 reviews from this member

 My husband and myself Stayed for the whole of the last week of Sept

Yes it is isolated but that is just what some peole want like us peace and quiet with no kids

The lake is accessible sadly not from the Park but that is not the sites fault and they can hardly be blamed for that the lakes owner has caused that issue.

But it is still within a comfortable walk on a country lane ( not a main dangerous road as someone has described it previously)

This is Great Park for seasoned Campers and when it goes dark there are no lights which means the tent is in total darkness ( Yes this is a plus for some people like us who like to sleep in the dark and not have the tent lit up like a football field ) and yes it does mean you need to carry a torch but then what seasoned camper doesn't do that or have we all forgot how to rough it occasionally !

The showers are enclosed behind doors and not just a shower curtain as I was lead to believe from previous reviews. These are wet rooms they do have shower curtains inside room but you still have the wooden door to your individual shower cubicle as well.

As for bugs in the Sinks well I must admit the insect life is proliffic outside as well so to find a few in the toilet block is not to be unexpected ( to well travelled and seasoned camper like me :) )

The grounds are immaculate and well tended with various wildlife to be seen and heard and for the ones like us who explore their surroundings there is lots to do and see within a few hours drive in any direction

Landsend, Eden Project and Lost gardens of Heilgan to name but a few

For the shoppers Plymouth Falmouth and Newquay

And a good nights fishing can be had on the Harbour wall at Megavissy the locals are a great friendly lot and Makrel and garfish are caught spinning and float fishing by the dozen plus other varities which I am sure that fishermen out there would name easily

The Pub is great and not at all smelly as some one has reviewed plus thanks to the locals are very friendly and spoke to us every night

Friday was Karaoke night was a great night which we enjoyed immensely especially very vocal husband. We are just sorry we were leaving the day after we could of done with another few days to enjoy the area more. Thanks to martin and Cheryl for a great stay and we will be back 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Keithnkay 3 reviews from this member

 We have just arrived back from our week exploring Cornwall and surrounding area. We had booked to stay for 4 nights stay but left after 3 nights.

There is absolutely nothing to do once you are camped up. Access to the lake is only achievable if you drive down to it as walking would be dangerous on the main road.

The toilet block was fine for the men apparently but the ladies consisted of a dirty mop and bucket to wipe the floor after a shower also the showers only had curtains and not enclosed. I felt I couldn't use them as the sinks were crawling with bugs of some sort.

The bar area of the inn had a bad musty old and aged odour and we only managed one drink. The meal we had however was adequately cooked.

To be honest the price charged is not reflected in the facilities and I would have expected to pay half this as all we got basically was a load of pine needles in the van and not much else.  


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dodi164 16 reviews from this member

 We used one of 'Sun' vouchers for this camp and couldn't believe it only cost us 7 for the night with an upgrade of electricity and two dogs included! It was a wonderful place and I am amazed that previous reviews do not say how great the shower block was. As I am semi disabled, I found them so easy and pleasant to use due to an added chair and spacious room in the cubicle, also free for our 7!

The pub itself is lovely, with a great garden where sheep wander by. The food was superb and the host and regulars very friendly and welcoming. Even without a voucher, I shall definitely return there as soon as I can! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Freebird32 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed a couple of nights - plenty of room on site which is narrow and surrounded by large pine trees so you don't get too much sun. The reception we got when we arrived was not the friendliest of greetings (got the impression they wanted guests who stayed in the rooms more than the campers).

Toilets and showers were fairly clean and adequate. Although dogs are allowed they are not welcome in the pub and as the site is very remote we had no choice but to stay in our camper in the evenings. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vantastic55 1 review from this member

 I went to this site to check out the facilities before committing to staying. I returned a few days later as it all looked very nice. It is just off the A30 which was handy for getting about-though feels very isolated which was what we had wanted.

The site is open all year round but when we arrived the pub and reception was closed-and the toilet blocks were locked-which left both me and the wife cross legged for about 3 hours!

Spent the friday night there without too many issues, though the path to the toilets were not lit at this time of the year and I did trip a few times on the way! The bar was fine though, and caters for all.

Trying to wash our pots on the Saturday am I found there was no hot water and as on a tight schedule I decided to call the bar whilst out that day. When I rang they said they would see what they could do.

Later that evening when the wife tried the washing up she found no hot water, asking at the bar she was told that they were not going to heat the water for us as it was too expensive at this time of the year for 1 unit! They then suggested washing up in the toilet sink! When the wife got angry they said they could wash the pots for us-but we shouldnt complain as we had been given the 'private bathroom' for free which was normally 1 a day. We hadn't asked for this and also had to pay a 5. 00 deposit for the key-which we never got back as the bar was shut as was the reception before we left at 09:40am! I suspect we go this service for 'free' as when we left it meant only one block to clean?

Overall the site is quite nice and a good getaway for those who want it-but I would suggest sticking to the general camping season to ensure a better service. And take torches for trips to the shower block! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lucie123 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night as heading for the coast. We were the only ones on the site, the toilets were clean as were the showers. The pub was lovely and my little boy loved the toddler area outside, having the sheep grazing outside in the morning was really funny. I would recommend this site, friendly staff was a bonus and we are returning next year. Lots of walks around and fishing, being on bodmin it is a peaceful quiet site aimed at people who are after peace and quiet and countryside. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikki1965 4 reviews from this member

 The weather was the obvious drawback to staying at this campsite, it was always foggy and very wet which made the ground extremely boggy. We were booked in for a week in August but the campsite was virtually empty, no queuing for facilities, which were adequate, although the main lights in the toilet blocks went off at 11.00pm and the night lights didn't come on for 10 minutes after, very disconcerting, sitting on the toilet in the pitch black, it would have been nice to have been told about the lights.
Definitely a get away from it all campsite, no children's playgrounds, just large open spaces, the kids got bored with nothing to keep them occupied.
Ate in the tavern one night, but from our experience wouldn't recommend it, food came out still frozen, had to wait nearly an hour to get food (not because it was busy, but one member of staff cooking, clearing and serving at the bar). Gave up with the holiday after 2 days and decided to go home. Best part of the campsite, definitely the rabbits. 


Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tony1701 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a night, the staff were very pleasant. The site itself is very quiet, ideal if you want to get away from it all after Christmas. It was also very well sign posted, therefore easy to find.
The onsite Tavern was great (wonderful curry as well) and well priced. Will visit again soon, but will book as believe it would be busy in the high season. This site is very central making it easy to reach the local villages. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LesF 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the second time and it just gets better! The location is fantastic, right in the middle of Bodmin moor and just up the road from Jamaica Inn.It was showery when we stayed here but this did not spoil our holiday.
The owners were really helpful and friendly. The pub is a big bonus, somewhere warm and cosy to retire to on damp evenings. The best thing about the site is the peace and quiet and the rabbits. We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Vampgirl 14 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for four nights at the beginning of August shame about the weather. Because the site is located on the top of Bodmin moor it seemed the fog/cloud never lifted which made the entire experience somewhat damp! Having said that, its still a really nice site with a welcoming pub & restaurant on site so that made up for it ;-)

We were pitched down at the bottom of the field so it was a fair walk to the toilet block, but once you got there they were clean and adequate. Just two showers in the Ladies so there were the inevitable queues at peak times.And sometimes the hot water ran out too! There are 3 loos (plenty for this small site) and two wash cubicles, plus a hair dryer (20p I think) but I don't know how good it is because I didn't use it. The washing up area is well equiped with proper dish draining racks which is a nice touch.

The pub was cozy with a good selection of drinks and the staff were very friendly (always happy to have a chat and a laugh when they weren't busy). We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was very good indeed. We also had breakfast one evening (order it the night before at the bar) which was very nice, but quite expensive.

I would definitely return to this site, though I would ask for a pitch a bit closer to the toilet block! You don't pick your own pitch - they are allocated in the office, but they all seemed to be a good size. My abiding memory though are the bunnies.There are literally hundreds of them! 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Colliford Tavern And Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Colliford Tavern And Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Colliford Tavern And Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bodmin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5796 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement