Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Winds

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Polzeath > South Winds Reviews

South Winds
Old Polzeath Road
Polzeath
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 6QU
Tel: 01208 863267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kelly 24 2 reviews from this member

 Well me and my 3 friends went to polzeath unprepared of where we were going to stay, however we found south winds camp site and the staff were friendly and allowed us to camp there even at such short notice. Yes it is slightly windy however you have to take into account that the site is on a hill and you wouldn't get the view of polzeath and the sea without it. Polzeath is only a 15-20 minuet walk away and the staff advised us to the beach another way through fields and small paths instead of conjesting the roads, it was a nice walk however may need a torch at night.The toilet facilities were always clean and felt satisfied with the shower blocks. There is also a farm shop and ruestraunt next to the campsite which is great to get your neccesities such as really nice bread,butter and jam.There was also a very handy dishwashing and laundry unit which was great for the week we went as it rained most the time. All in all my friends and I were all happy for the amount we paid to southwinds, we were a young group however the staff made us feel welcome and always talked to us and made us feel at home. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geordiecamper78 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from a week at south winds and we over the moon with the facilities. The toilets were spotless the shower block was excellent hot water on tap and the staff were incredible with help as with up to date weather reports. The farm shop was good a little expensive on the meat but not to bad.

The walk down to polzeath was windy but short.

Booked already for next year 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daveetwo 1 review from this member

 We stayed at South Winds which is on the hill with fabulous views out to sea and from where you can take a 1 mile walk to the beach over fields or a dodgy walk down the lane (its narrow and seems hazardous for walkers)

The name sums it up. It can be windy and we had to leave early (fiber rod broke) so be prepared with ground anchors and extra guy lines because the normal pegs provided just dont do the job when the wind gets up.

Facilities were very good but only had one shower block which was quite a way from field 3 which I think is an overflow field (still had ehu I'm sure though).

There is no gaz refills available and the only shop is next door and rather limited but home produce pretty much plus milk and sugar. There is a restaurant next door which closes at 5pm before the school hols start.

The staff were helpful and were insistent that 'tomorrow' the winds could well drop. Sadly they were wrong! lol 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A n M n T 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from 'South Winds', and yes the clue is in the title. It's very windy! The poor people in the tent next to us had to hammer down quite a few extra pegs to stay put.

It's a nice site with helpful staff and clean facilities. Maybe they could do with another block for those in the far field, but we never had to wait for a shower or a toilet, morning or evening! Being just up the hill from Polzeath beach (which by the way was the busiest beach I've seen in a while, 8 ice cream vans ON the beach, unbelievable), means it's more for those wishing to surf and relax.

The views are great and it's location made life very easy for us (and our 10 month old) to tour about Cornwall.
Although the site has no official shop, the farm next door (40 yards from toilet block) has a shop (milk, meat, drinks and stuff) and does great meals morning and evening, especially the hog roast, fantastic. That and the kids playground seemed to be in constant use by those old enough.
All in all a nice site, anything to help stop the wind would only spoil the view! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gooman 1 review from this member

 I read these reviews only after my family had booked us all in at Southwinds, and was a little worried .
 
I needn't have been. There seems to have been massive improvements over previous years!
 
The toilet and shower block is kept extremely clean - we saw cleaners in there several times a day. Cleaning equipment is made available for campers to use there, and signs encourage campers to clean up after themselves if the need arises - this seemed to be followed when we were there. There is no additional charge for showers. Even at the morning peak, there were no queues, and there was lashings of hot water.
 
The farmhouse restaurant next door is now fully licensed, and does a great line in evening meals and breakfasts. The childrens' play area is well designed and though out, and folks are welcome to view the animals.
 
If I had to find a niggle, it would only be that we weren't allowed to park our cars next to our tents (due to the extra rain in recent weeks) which meant we couldn't use car-powered devices such as our electric coolbox.
 
All in all, thoroughly recommended. I'd definitely go again.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Markchaps 2 reviews from this member

 This is a wonderful campsite only discovered on this visit (usually I stay at Tristram near the beach in Polzeath). There are sea views but you are not literally on top of the beach, however that negative is counter balanced by the facilities. This site is spotless, not at all clinical like many these days. The toilet block seems to be virtually new and spotless- they have really thought long and hard about what makes life easier in the toilet block - hence well designed spacious showers with plenty of hot water and enough pressure to wash all that sand off!
 
Next door is a farm shop and licensed restaurant just a minute's walk away from the site. It also sells the essentials, local produce and fresh bread (although it can be a little pricey).
 
The best thing about the site was the friendly welcome, the staff are polite, friendly and took time to show us the site.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Gs 3 reviews from this member

 This is definitely the windiest site we have ever stayed on - we nearly lost our tent  on more than one occasion and although the views were lovely, we were just too exposed. 
Site was expensive considering the lack of facilities - only 1 shower / toilet block for 3 fields of tents / tourers, hence a long queue every morning and it was a very long walk to reach it from the filed in which were we were pitched.  Ideally another shower/toilet block is needed and the exisining one needs upgrading.  Also there was no soap / handwash to clean hands after using the toilet. 
The cafe at the farm next door is well worth a visit for breakfast!
  


Reviewer: Tonka 4 reviews from this member

 July 2004
Unfortunately, I would say overall, this was one of the poorer sites we have stayed in. We don't have children and therefore, normally try to find a site with none of the usual bar / entertainment / play area's and on paper, this site seemed to fit the bill. Normally we find the facilities at these types of sites are pretty good as they're not having to spend money on all the 'extras'.
The price of staying at South Winds was considerably more than we usually pay. The field we stayed in did have marvellous views of the sea, but lacked character... other sites manage to break fields up with hedges or bushes, but this was just one big open field and we were so disappointed with the facilities... very basic, no soap or anything to dry your hands with after using the toilet. The toilet block was shabby. And after paying so much for the site, we had to pay for the showers too....not good!
The road is too busy to walk along to Polzeath really, but it is very close by. Despite having breakfast looking out over that lovely view, we left after one night feeling thoroughly ripped off. 


Reviewer: Liz 1 review from this member

 July / August 2003
This is a nice enough site. It is situated at the top of the hill before you get to Polzeath ( not right next to the beach) The views are great. However the site looked a little tired with lots of overgrown bushes and nettles around. The facilities were good and kept reasonably clean but showers expensive at 50p for about 2 minutes or so.

The site was understandably very busy due to the fantastic weather. Could benefit from having some kind of marked pitches or at least guidance on distance between tents as during the weekends the field was incredibly cramped with tents rammed up against each other. There also seemed to be no limit on when people could arrive and several nights we were woken late at night with people pitching tents.

The road down to Polzeath from the site is very busy and you need to be very careful walking down especially at night but only takes about 10 mins or so


 


Reviewer: Claire

 South Winds is the best campsite that I have ever been to. I have been every year of my life and everytime it comes to leaving South Winds I am sad to go. The campsite is very clean and very reasonable. The toilets and showers are always immaculate along with the laundry services. The thing that makes it the best campsite in the world are the views of the sea and the wonderful people that run the campsite.

They are so lovely and are always willing to help if there is a problem or if you just want a recommendation of a pub. Well worth a visit!!! 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Winds child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Winds?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Winds dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Polzeath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5557 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement