Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of South Winds

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Polzeath > South Winds Reviews

South Winds
Old Polzeath Road
Polzeath
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL27 6QU
Tel: 01208 863267
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 180
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisahancock 2 reviews from this member

 This is the second time that we have camped at Southwinds, having camped at their sister site Tristram previously. The views from the fields are superb but as a result of being high up just out of Polzeath, windy too! There are three fields and both times we have visited have a real mix of people. Toilets and showers are clean with plenty of hot water but could be updated as look a little tired. Washing facilities for both clothes and dishes are well maintained and clean.

The site is kept clean, pitches are frequently mowed and rubbish cleared. They are of a good size so that you aren't too close to your neighbours! Most people, even in August, respect the campsite rules and keep noise to a minimum.

Cars are allowed in the fields or can be parked away from the tents, but at all times I felt my children were safe wandering around the site. The new owners are helpful and a source of knowledge. The are visible on the site during the day and evenings.

There is a pathway down to the beach which is lovely to walk down and takes about 30mins, You can also reach Polzeath beach along the road. Both are easy and the campsite is slightly away from the busy beach area.

Polzeath has a few shops, including a Spar and a decent pub and there are a few surf shops to visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jofre 1 review from this member

 We haven't visited South Winds for about 14 years and it's certainly grown in that time! I generally avoid anywhere that has 100+ pitches, but this was the only place that could fit us in at short notice so we went ahead and booked.

I can happily say that my preconceptions of large sites/inadequate facilities were (largely) unfounded. There were plenty of showers with freely running hot water at all times of the day a huge bonus after a day on the beach. A few more hand basins would have been ideal, but nothing to gripe about really. We never had to queue to use bathroom facilities, even as it got busier and busier towards the bank holiday weekend.

There's a freezer for freezer blocks (double bag them, they get turfed over and first time round I found mine all over the place), washing machines and tumble dryers. There's also a family/disabled bathroom which requires a key.

The pitches are a little more snug than we usually like, but perhaps that's because more and more of us are going for spacious tents (hands up, we are a family of four in an 8-man tent!). Fortunately, we had a succession of pleasant 'neighbours'. Most people were very respectful of the 10. 30pm quiet time. It's just a shame that three families camping together (despite the site's claim to not accept groups) chose to disregard this and made lots of noise til late.

There are no playground facilities for children, but it didn't bother our boys. They kicked a ball about with other children (think we slightly broke the rules there!) from time to time, but we were only at the site first thing in the morning and late in the afternoon/evening so it really didn't matter.

Didn't see much of the staff, but those I did come in to contact with were very pleasant. The site is clean and well kept, pitches are mown as soon as they are vacated, so long grass is never an issue.

It can get windy from time to time, the fields are fairly exposed, but it's what you'd expect for the location and it is a great base for exploring Cornwall. Polzeath is great fun for bodyboarding, albeit rather crowded on a sunny day, but it also has excellent lifeguards and you can't argue with that. You can walk along the cliff top to get to the beach from the campsite, but with boards and wetsuits and two kids it was easier to drive and park on the beach (we got lucky there!). There's lots of other, quieter beaches to discover, but we found no others with lifeguards. We also drove down to Heligan and explored the southern coast. Hiring bikes in Wadebridge to cycle the Camel Trail made a great day out the pub en route to Bodmin offers fairly basic food, but the tea garden (save it for the way back!) served great cream teas!

Carruan, next door to South Winds, still has a small shop (limited supplies from what I saw) and a restaurant that changed hands a few months ago. There's no farm animals any more, but children can have fun in a large barn with pedal go-karts. The restaurant food is okay but not great large portions, very reasonably priced but quality is rather lacking. We put it down to teething problems, but regretted eating there a second time. Much better was The Point, which is drive along the lane virtually opposite the campsite.

Wifi is not free, you can pay for just a few hours or an entire week, which seemed a pretty good set up and reasonably priced other sites I contacted had little or no access.

All in all, we had a great experience at South Winds and will happily return. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve munday 1 review from this member

 We just got back from 4 days at south winds and would certainly recommend. The pitches are ample even for the largest tents (ours was an 8 berth kalahari),

The showers were clean and boiling hot, the toilets were also cleaned often.

Its situated about a mile from Polzeath beach which we walked daily and didn't find a problem.

The sea can sometimes be heard at night which may be a problem if you want somewhere super quiet.

We were allowed to leave the car by the tent which was handy.

Restaurant on site which served good food at reasonable prices, also a shop. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ivanoo 1 review from this member

 Nice campsite. Enough space for large tent.

Beautiful view to the sea. Indeed, there is wind, that is in the name.

Clean toilets and showers.

I missed a small playground on the campsite for the children. Especially since there is space enough!

We had a lovely stay and enjoyed the surroundings and the beach. You can walk this, as said on the website, but we found it too long with little kids. Sometimes we took the car and when there was no parking space in the village one of us drove back and walked to the beach

Small shop and restaurant next to the campsite, okay. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 39 reviews from this member

 Despite its proximity to Polzeath (a surfing beach popular with youngsters and with a reputation for occasional rowdiness) South Winds is a family campsite - in fact, a large sign at the gate says 'no single-sex parties'.

The services block has all the usual facilities and was immaculately clean on my visit. The showers are locked overnight (although the exact opening times weren't displayed) but the loos, washing-up area, water points and elsan disposal are open 24 hours a day.

The reception office is upstairs above the services and you should book in before pitching. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The warden appears to live on site - certainly he was patrolling during the evening and told me that he had a last look round at about 11pm.

My overnight stay for one person, one dog, and a small dome tent cost 9 (the site admits dogs but charges an extra 2 per night for them). The pitches are well maintained, the grass in good condition, and the soil is fairly soft (no need for rock pegs).

The location is superb. Polzeath with its wide sandy surfing beach, busy beach front and shops, is half-a-mile away by road or three-quarters of a mile by footpath. Pentire headland with its spectacular section of coast path is just over a mile's walk. The campsite is on a sloping hillside and the views are fantastic; looking northwest, Pentire Point rises majestically from the sea, looking west is the wide expanse of the River Camel estuary, and to the south and southeast are wide panoramas of north Cornwall's rolling hills.

The downside of this elevated location is wind. If there's a westerly, it blows up the slope straight off the sea; and if the wind is from the south it hits the ridge on which South Winds is located (the site has an appropriate name if ever there was one). Even on a relatively calm day, it is a gusty spot.

The entrance to South Winds is on the lane which leads to Polzeath from the B3374 Wadebridge-Delabole road. The lane is very busy in the season and this means that the pitches nearest the entrance suffer from traffic noise late into the evening. The lane is also narrow and has no footpath which makes it hazardous to walk from the site to the beach; however, there's a public footpath from the north side of the site which, after a few twists and turns, leads to Polzeath.

The first camping field is between the entrance and the services block and is adjacent to the lane. Another, larger, field lies beyond the services block. Both these fields had a mix of tents and caravans, both had EHU points and both were close to the services.

A third, larger field, lies west of the other two with a walkway between it and the main site. However, vehicle access to the third field is via a separate gate which is approx 200 metres from the main entrance. This third field also has EHU points round the edge and it certainly has the best views. Being further from the road and services, it feels more isolated, is quieter at night and, on my visit, was almost deserted.

Carruan Farm Shop, restaurant and kiddies' fun farm is right next door to South Winds. The shop sells excellent local farm produce, the restaurant is comparatively inexpensive and serves breakfasts as well as cream teas and main meals, and there's lots to entertain children. I've visited Carruan several times for meals and can recommended it to anyone who doesn't want to spend their holiday time cooking.

All in all, I found South Winds to be a very well-maintained and clean campsite with friendly staff and a nice family ambience. It enjoys a great location and the only drawbacks are the busy lane and the exposure to the wind. I recommend it. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonmmac 2 reviews from this member

 As previously stated the only negative is the wind. However the camp itself is ideal. Situated just outside Polzeath it is within short driving distance of Padsow, Newquay and Tintagel.

The facilities were spotlessly clean and easily accessible at any hour of the day. There is a farm shop and restaurant next door with children's play area which does excellent meals. The Hog roast on Wednesday evening was superb.

The nearby beaches at Polzeath are beautiful and the village itself has all amenities. I would recommend the campsite but beware the wind. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruthieroo81 1 review from this member

 Well we have just returned from a week at South Winds, this being our first ever camping trip. The view was amazing from the site. Its the first thing you see when you get out of the car. The facilities were perfect, spotless toilets and hot showers and a great washroom. There was also a freezer for your ice packs. In the toilets there are a couple of hairdryers costing 20p which was plenty of time to dry my long hair and also a socket for your own hairdryer and straighteners also costing 20p.

We had pitch 6 which was totally fine for us, it was near the entrance and road but it never bothered us. It was also far enough from any light which was perfect for star gazing at night.

We had lots of different weather from glorious sun to lots of rain. A windbreak helped when the wind picked up. Overall the wind didn't worry us after all you are right on the coast what can you expect.

Polzeath was lovely and had good surfing. We headed to new Polzeath as it was easier to park and you had direct access to the beach from the cliff top. Including some free parking

We visited a few places,

Eden - was a nice day glad we visited.

Padstow -wished we hadn't visited just had no soul to it and way to many people, we felt we had to visit.

Port Issac - very nice actually didn't realize it was were doc martin was recorded as we don't watch it. It's what I imagined a Cornish fishing village would be like. Get there early and park at the top and walk down.

Tintagel - lovely place. Very yummy fudge shop. Grandma Wobblys I think it was called.

Had surfing lessons with Harlyn as we could use our tesco vouchers, very good.

Just like to add that we always felt safe on the site the staff were great. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Squirrelchops 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed at South Winds the August Bank Holiday. We were lucky to get a bookable pitch on the 20 pitches near to the toilet block. It was very kind of the site to actually move us up one pitch as the one we had originally booked had become wet and they were allowing it to dry.

However, the non bookable 16 area did not appear to be full though either. One negative, through no fault of the site was the people next to us had pitched right on the edge of their pitch which hence gave us less room on ours unless we wished to park right up close and encroach on their space and we would have put them in the shade.

Luckily no one pitched on our other side so we could move right over without causing any issue. I think this was due to inexperience of our fellow campers rather than a deliberate act.

We were in the top field and it was fine.I would recommend those in vans to make sure you take chocks as it was rather uneven. The shower blocks we thought were very good. Proper showers, none of this token or push button business! Despite being really busy there was always hot water. We also noticed people borrowing BBQs which we thought was a good idea. We also used the shop and bought hot bread on the Monday which was nice.

One thing people should be aware of is the walk down to Polzeath at night. We were amazed that no other review mentions it.

Please be very careful and take a torch. Absolutely essential. The road can be very busy and treacherous with cars coming past. We took a torch as seasoned campers.

We went to 'The Waterfront' for a drink on the terrace overlooking the beach which was nice then walked on up the hill to the 'Oyster Catcher'. The hill was very steep but there was a very good atmosphere in the country.Albeit maybe a younger crowd than OH and I!

We enjoyed our stay at South Winds, maybe a bit busy for us but hey it was Bank Holiday! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lesrollins 2 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay at southwinds, the staff are friendly and the campsite is tidy. The shower block and toilets are kept clean. There is a washing and drying room and plenty of sinks for washing up.

The campsite was pretty empty so it was nice and quite with great views overlooking the sea. It does get windy but it is a coastal location so can be expected. We took our dog (sid) with us and there are plenty of walks and beaches that are dog friendly.

Padstow offers a great beach and fishing harbour with lots of shops and cafe's. Be warned if you decide to do the so called 2 1/4 mile coastline walk from port issac to port quin the views are stunning but its a killer. Thank god for the water tap in port quin. The inland hill walk back is a lot quicker and much more gentle. We would use this campsite again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iscaexile 17 reviews from this member

 Wind was only negative and seeing other comments it seems a common theme. Our pitch was close to entrance but few problems with traffic noise or late comers. Showers/washing areas good and clean, staff friendly and helpful. Shop at next door 'tourist' farm a little pricey but quite good. The farm restaurant seemed OK but didn't eat there.

Polzeath was really quite good (and we didn't have great weather) but very busy, the cliff top car park through the village was a pay on exit hourly charge and for short stops cheaper than the flat rate main car park. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Winds child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Winds?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is South Winds dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Polzeath      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5405 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements