Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Golborne Bridge Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Chester > Golborne Bridge Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Golborne Bridge Farm Certificated Site
Whitchurch Road
Golborne David
(nr Milton Green)
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9DR
Tel: 01829 770 941  or  01829 770 632
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ML60BAR 15 reviews from this member

 This site ticked all the boxes for us - we try at least one night in the van every month, and Feb not always so easy.

There are five hard standings all with electric and water, looking out over a wonderfully peaceful view.

The site is being developed - gravel paths laid and hedges planted, which will add to it. Plenty of space between pitches. The grass area in front of the pitches could well be for tents, but in Feb was too soggy for anything!

Other plus points - a lovely farm shop for buying meat and veg, (so we didn't try and find a local pub as intended, ) and also a cafe and antique centre, although we didn't visit.

Ideally placed for visiting Chester. Downsides - more traffic noise than we expected from the A41 all night (hedges when mature will help here) and only one combined toilet/shower for each sex - could mean a long wait, unless you have your own facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RachlN76 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for three nights as a family, and can definitely recommend.

One reviewer mentioned mud and a lack of paths. There are now coarse gravel paths to water taps etc, and wood chip around other areas. I would think this shoot solve any mud problems.

As were were a tent, apparently we should have been in a different field, but because of previous wet weather were were placed in the top main field. The ground was a little hard in places, so you might want rock pegs.

I noticed a motorhome on ramps, but it's very flat, so caravans should be fine. No electric specifically for tents, so if you wanted it, you'd have to go on the hardstanding, which is very hard, by all accounts. The ground right near the lake was a little muddy - probably because it's a lake! (but not excessive, you'll just want wellies if you're going down there).

Showers excellent. Good water pressure and adjustable temperature, in a clean, warm, bug free building. The only very slight problem is that the toilet is in the same room as the shower, so you might have a short wait if someone is showering. (But I'm sure you could use the gents/ladies if you were desperate).

Great location for exploring the area. Close to the Crocky Trail, Beeston Castle and Chester itself. On site shop has some lovely things, and the cafe is nice too. Staff were very friendly at all times. There are lovely free range chickens on the site, but none got too close to our tent if you're not keen on that kind of thing. Two ponies in the next field, and the kids met the owners dogs, but certainly no sign of dog poo in the camping field.

But best of all for us has to be the amazing children's play area. It's called a field. It's several acres, and mine loved it!

Overall, the site had a very friendly, relaxed feel to it (which we like), and I've already had requests to go back there again from my children, who are now struggling to decide which is their favourite campsite. But this is definitely a front runner, and I suspect the Big Field has a lot to do with it. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sidpage 1 review from this member

 Visited this site for a three night stay with our four year old grand daughter, was warmly greeted by the owners.

There are five hardstandings for caravans each with its own hook up which made setting up easy ( I have spent many happy hours on french campsites looking for hook up points !)

All other facilities close to hand (Water, disposal etc)

The showers were brilliant with thermostatic controls.

We saw no sign of any dog poo anywhere !

The site is ideally situated for all the local attractions with a park and ride to Chester just a few miles down the road. (cost was £2 per person return, )

The farm shop and cafe was very handy and well stacked.

We would not hesitate to visit this site again and the owners deserve to make a success of it. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Uri Grabber 6 reviews from this member

 First time we have been to this site, we were put on the field by the caravans due to the camping field being a bit wet. It was nice and level. The toilets were fab, clean and warm and plenty of hot water. The owner and staff were really helpful and obliging.

This is a new site so you expect it to be working progress, it is by the road so expect some road noise, this didn't bother us. The pond with fishing is a bonus and reasonably priced.

Will definitely go back :) 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Worthy65 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at the site for a week, we found the site easily and were made very welcome by the staff in the farm shop, the site was lovely and peaceful and was clean and tidy the views from the pitches are really good especially the sunsets of an evening.

There’s a male and female toilet/shower and they were very clean and the shower was great, I had two days fishing and this was good once you got passed the small stuff, there’s plenty to see locally we went to the ice cream farm which was about

4 miles away which was very busy, we found the park and ride in to Chester on our last day which was a shame as we would have used it more often; this is about 4 miles from the site.

All in all it was a good week and we will definitely be going back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Twolees 12 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this new site was easy to find and was made welcome by the owners and staff, the site was full but there was no problems with showers and toilets as there is 1 ladies and 1 mens, spotlessly clean and plenty of hot water, the fishing pond was nice size with plenty of fish {as my husband found out }while fishing it, the shop/café is nice and seemed popular, luvly views from pitches, just needs a few finishing touches, have booked to go back cant wait. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lozsheffy 12 reviews from this member

 There are 5 hard standing bays, with electric hook up, they are a bit small for an awning but we just managed. The site is lovely and very peaceful with views of the wild life all around. The toilet blocks 1 men's 1 woman are new, lovely and clean with showers in them and although there was no hot water on our visit these are new and clean. You must try the cafe/farm shop for amazing food to eat in or takeaway (the pies are gorgeous) All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. There is a little pond for fishing. We walked into a little village called Tattenhall, took about 40 minutes and there were a couple of pubs and shops. 


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Laraways 7 reviews from this member

 Nice location & spacious pitch - plenty of room to maneuver our motorhome into position.

Lovely friendly staff in the shop & cafe, which also serves as the reception for the camp site. We ate breakfast in the cafe on our final morning which was lovely but pricey.

As other reviewers have noted, there was 1 x ladies toilet/shower and 1 x gents toilet / shower. They were obviously quite newly done and in a good state of cleanliness. However, I'm not sure that they will stand up to the test of time as they didn't look particularly well finished.

We had a few other niggles - the path from the pitches to the tap and the short route to the toilets had not been paved and was just muddy grass, the chemical toilet drainage point did not have any paved / gravel access and was extremely muddy in the surrounding areas. The other thing that we weren't keen on was the owner's dogs were running loose which we were not keen on as we have young children so I'm scoring this low on child friendliness.

Plus points - the fresh water tap was situated in a large concreted area and was very easy to drive up to with our motorhome.

We would stay here again but not after a sustained period of wet weather! 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dgargon 1 review from this member

 Very new site and clearly a work in progress. Land needs more levelling out and tidying up (plastic pipes and cables sticking out of ground - not dangerous of course but unsightly).

Shower block amateurish but clean - possibly because very new (still has labels on porcelain - again unsightly) and boiler keeps breaking down so shower not used.

First two days room lovely and warm (radiator fitted) and good shower. However, second two days boiler broke down and absolutely no hot water for sink or shower and radiator off (a refund was offered and accepted).

On arrival, dog poo on pitch where awning was going and had to remove ourselves. Dog poo then appeared on neighbouring pitch after they had left. This was reported and site operatives removed it. However, to get to the shower block you cross a reclaimers yard and there is dog poo there near to the shower block (children beware). In my opinion from what I saw, the dog poo is NOT from visitors but from the owner's 3 x dogs.

Perhaps the owners should put on a review to assure future visitors that they have taken care of this issue.

Site easy to find. Nice farm shop and cafe (though didn't eat there). Views from camper van are very nice and uninterrupted.

If the above issues are solved, this would be a lovely site, and good value for money.

Only if these issues are dealt with would I recommend this site to anyone. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Golborne Bridge Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Golborne Bridge Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Golborne Bridge Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement