Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Golborne Bridge Farm Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Site Reviews

Golborne Bridge Farm Certificated Site
Whitchurch Road
Golborne David
(nr Milton Green)
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9DR
Tel: 07502 209 062  or  01829 770 632
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: K100rsblack 3 reviews from this member

Booked for 3 nights mid August. Access to pitch was very easy, level and plenty of room to manoeuvre. Each pitch had its own tap and power point. Well stocked shop. Single occupancy shower/WC clean, plenty of hot water, shower good. I booked to do some fishing but despite being told that there were carp to 15lb never saw any movement to support this. Fished over 2 days, plagued by small silvers which is not what I was after. Pool very over grown with lily pads and encroaching bank vegitation, needs a good spell of maintenance. Quite a bit of road noise from the A41. So overall pros and cons however there was one major con. There was dog mess on the edge of the grass opposite the caravans which the children were using as their play area. It appeared at a time when nobody staying on caravan pitches had a dog??? Very unpleasant and avoidable if the person exercising their dog was more diligent. Not going to return.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JACRM 31 reviews from this member

Basic 5 pitch site, hard standing pitches and grass area well kept.

Basic facilities one toilet and shower for each male and female and a single unisex toilet. Facilities could of done with a little bit more heating especially in January when all 5 pitches were occupied!

Overall decent value for money!

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 22114 11 reviews from this member

Stayed here as a one night stopover. Really nice site. You pull in from the A41 and have a farm shop with café. On the other side is the campsite which comprises of 5 hard standing pitches, each with electric and water point. There is a small grass area for tents and free wifi that works!

Facilities are two shower/toilet rooms, one for gents, one for ladies and an additional unisex toilet.

There is a village about 2 miles away, turn right out of site, follow the footpath by the road for a few minutes, then turn left onto country lane and keep walking. Couple of pubs, spar shop, post office, Indian restaurant/takeaway and a couple of other places to eat. Paid £15, would certainly return.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JillU 1 review from this member

We stayed at this campsite for two nights for the purpose of visiting Chester Zoo. The location of the site is perfect for this as it was only a 15 minute drive. The owners were really friendly and helpful. It is a small site with only room for 5 units on hookup but the pitches were really nicely laid out with plenty of room for our campervan and awning. It is a relatively new site but there were some nice touches such as a bench for every space. We also took advantage of the free wifi on offer. There is one female and one male shower which also contain the toilet but there is also a unisex toilet. As its a small site we didn't have any problem with queuing. The showers were really nice and warm with plenty of pressure. There is a farm shop on site which is definitely worth a visit. We would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bfcol 14 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 6 nights in May and found the site quite pleasant, although there was continuous road noise from the A41 50 metres away, pitches were levelled hardcore which drained very quickly and quite spacious, glorious views across the fields as far as the eye could see and water to each caravan but you still require wastemaster.

Farm shop on site selling some good products and a cafe selling farm shop goodies.

Anyone visiting the site must visit the Ice Cream parlour about 15 mins away. I wont spoil it for you but it is amazing. Especially if you have children.

Finally there is a park & ride a couple of miles away on the A41. £2 pp will take you into centre of Chester & return.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philip Howarth 9 reviews from this member

Just had five night stay at this site with friends, an excellent site. Although there is some work in progress, electricity and individual water supply to each hard standing pitch together with free Wi-Fi. A compact (1 ladies + 1 gents+ another being built) but excellent heated shower/ toilet/ wash hand basin rooms. Pitches are segregated at the rear from the farm buildings by a tall attractive fence with newly planted bushes, lovely clear open views towards the Welsh hills to the front of the pitches. Also some grass camping pitches. A good centre for visitor attractions, only 10 minutes from one of the Chester Park and Ride locations, Bunbury Mill, Shropshire Canal, Beeston, Chirk and Shrewsbury all within easy driving distance, some excellent local pubs also. The is a farm shop, Artisan workshops and an antiques shop adjacent to the site. Easy access to the site from the A41 with a wide entrance, a little care required when leaving. Some traffic noise but not intrusive. Would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: ML60BAR 15 reviews from this member

This site ticked all the boxes for us - we try at least one night in the van every month, and Feb not always so easy. There are five hard standings all with electric and water, looking out over a wonderfully peaceful view. The site is being developed - gravel paths laid and hedges planted, which will add to it. Plenty of space between pitches. The grass area in front of the pitches could well be for tents, but in Feb was too soggy for anything! Other plus points - a lovely farm shop for buying meat and veg, (so we didn't try and find a local pub as intended, ) and also a cafe and antique centre, although we didn't visit. Ideally placed for visiting Chester. Downsides - more traffic noise than we expected from the A41 all night (hedges when mature will help here) and only one combined toilet/shower for each sex - could mean a long wait, unless you have your own facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RachlN76 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for three nights as a family, and can definitely recommend.

One reviewer mentioned mud and a lack of paths. There are now coarse gravel paths to water taps etc, and wood chip around other areas. I would think this shoot solve any mud problems.

As were were a tent, apparently we should have been in a different field, but because of previous wet weather were were placed in the top main field. The ground was a little hard in places, so you might want rock pegs. I noticed a motorhome on ramps, but it's very flat, so caravans should be fine. No electric specifically for tents, so if you wanted it, you'd have to go on the hardstanding, which is very hard, by all accounts. The ground right near the lake was a little muddy - probably because it's a lake! (but not excessive, you'll just want wellies if you're going down there).

Showers excellent. Good water pressure and adjustable temperature, in a clean, warm, bug free building. The only very slight problem is that the toilet is in the same room as the shower, so you might have a short wait if someone is showering. (But I'm sure you could use the gents/ladies if you were desperate).

Great location for exploring the area. Close to the Crocky Trail, Beeston Castle and Chester itself. On site shop has some lovely things, and the cafe is nice too. Staff were very friendly at all times. There are lovely free range chickens on the site, but none got too close to our tent if you're not keen on that kind of thing. Two ponies in the next field, and the kids met the owners dogs, but certainly no sign of dog poo in the camping field.

But best of all for us has to be the amazing children's play area. It's called a field. It's several acres, and mine loved it!

Overall, the site had a very friendly, relaxed feel to it (which we like), and I've already had requests to go back there again from my children, who are now struggling to decide which is their favourite campsite. But this is definitely a front runner, and I suspect the Big Field has a lot to do with it.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sidpage 1 review from this member

Visited this site for a three night stay with our four year old grand daughter, was warmly greeted by the owners.

There are five hardstandings for caravans each with its own hook up which made setting up easy ( I have spent many happy hours on french campsites looking for hook up points !)

All other facilities close to hand (Water, disposal etc)

The showers were brilliant with thermostatic controls.

We saw no sign of any dog poo anywhere !

The site is ideally situated for all the local attractions with a park and ride to Chester just a few miles down the road. (cost was £2 per person return, )

The farm shop and cafe was very handy and well stacked.

We would not hesitate to visit this site again and the owners deserve to make a success of it.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Uri Grabber 5 reviews from this member

First time we have been to this site, we were put on the field by the caravans due to the camping field being a bit wet. It was nice and level. The toilets were fab, clean and warm and plenty of hot water. The owner and staff were really helpful and obliging.

This is a new site so you expect it to be working progress, it is by the road so expect some road noise, this didn't bother us. The pond with fishing is a bonus and reasonably priced.

Will definitely go back :)

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1276 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019