Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hawk Place Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Birchington > Hawk Place Campsite Reviews

Hawk Place Campsite
Plum Pudding Island
Dane Road
Minnis Bay
Birchington
Kent   (Browse area)
CT7 9QS
Tel: 01843 847142  or  07781 383045
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15-25 pitches
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 11 to 18                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jvc100 34 reviews from this member

 I agree with the previous review, this site has bags of potential.

- Close to the Beach

- Great walks along the coast, turn left and a 2 mile walk to the old ministry with a visitors center and pub. Turn right and a 10 minute walk to the Minnis Bay pub or café.

- The pub and café are nice and good value

The issues

- I could only find one drinking water tap next to the old toilet block. So the water for my van had to come up a slope then along to my van

- The chemical waste area was an IBC buried in the ground that you unscrewed and tipped in – revolting – it was also over grown with nettles

There is

O 1 Gents

O 1 Ladies

O 1 shower with WC and no were to put clothes, however once in the shower was good

O Shower curtain has mould on it

O In the brick block next to the main green block was another shower and WC – this not very clean with a birds nest.

This site is in an amazing position and there is a real lack of good sites in Kent. It is located minutes away from

- Whitstable

- Broadstairs

- Ramsgate

- Maragate

- Herne Bay

- For the shoppers – Westgate

I had the feeling that the owners were more interested in the riding stables and using the caravans to top up the income. With good management and some investment this site could be amazing. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J30000 1 review from this member

 On arrival the reception showed us to our pitch but there is also a map inside and your name and pitch on a board in case no one is there. For 2 nights, 3 adults and a car our tent pitch cost only £32 which is one of the cheapest in the area with a beach location. The sea could be heard and a handy footpath means it is a 1 minute walk away and from there a 10 minute walk to Minnis Bay. The toilets were kept very clean and one could tell this was done daily. The washing up facilities and communal fridge and freezer in reception were very handy and there are two well spaced drinking water points and a waste disposal unit. The neighbouring equestrian centre caused no trouble with no noise or smell AT ALL, one wouldn't even know they were there. The staff are very nice and on hand with just a text, but usually someone is always at reception. Well spaced pitches and an even, easy-pitching terrain! Excellent stay and will be returning! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Louise cairns ben 1 review from this member

 Hired the clamping pod for a night, and it was utterly fabulous. Lovely site, friendly and helpful people, surrounded by horses, beautiful countryside and the sea. What more could anyone want. Just lovely. Got home 2 hours ago, rebooking already ! 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Linda kiddell 2 reviews from this member

 We have stayed on this site a few times now in both a tent and now a caravan. This is one of the best sites we have stayed on as it is so unspoiled and quiet. Though basic (what we prefer) there is all you need at this site with very friendly owners and a fab close proximity to the beach with no traffic to dodge. For anyone who wants to take children camping I would highly recommend this site as it is safe and if they have bikes it is flat and safe for them to ride around and up to the beach. We loved the short walk to the pubs along the sea wall from both sides and another bonus is dogs are welcome on the site and all year on the beach. The site is also an equestrian center and the lovely horses are worth a look or a ride. Great value for money and looking forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Srobbzxr 1 review from this member

 Read the reviews and wasn't expecting much. Stayed on the 12 to 14 march 2017, loved the site, very quiet. Didn't need wc or shower so no comment. But will be booking again as I had a great time. Birchington is a small walk along the sea wall also had a riding lesson while I was there, great teacher. I cant recommend it enough. It does what it says on the tin 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AliGreen 12 reviews from this member

 No frills camping, but also totally laid back. The toilet facilities are fine, although not pretty and you have to pay £1 for a shower. Has EHU and waste water etc. But no washing up facilities that I could see, though that is not a problem for most. The beauty of the place is that it is a short stroll from miles of beautiful unspoilt coastline and there is a coastal path which you can walk or cycle for miles. Also great for dogs. There is a good restaurant at Minnis Bay, right on the front. Lovely food and views. There is a single track approach road, which is fine as long as nothing else is coming in the other direction ! We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mimpiper 4 reviews from this member

 This site is basically a field with a toilet and EHU. That doesn't sound anything to get excited about but it is. The location is fabulous! Surrounded by horses and 2 minutes from the beach, this site is a great base for cycling and walking. The Viking Trail runs along the beach and can be enjoyed by both cyclists and dog walkers. We were there in bright blue sky and full sun on Good Friday. The atmosphere was brilliant as people enjoyed strolling between Minnis Bay and Reculver. The cyclists respected the crowds and there was a pleasant mingling of bikes, dogs and people.

The scone at the café at Minnis Bay was Gorgeous!

The owner was pleasant and came for payment the following morning. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 281 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a week of good weather after our return from abroad. It's a nice enough site, a bit pricy at £14, plus you have to pay an extra £1 for the shower which we thought was a bit of a cheek, so we didn't use it. It looked ok though. There are also 2 loos which are ok but nothing special.

The site is easy to get to, at the end of Dane road continue straight on along the private road through the fields. Access id fine, through a gateway on the right; the gate is usually open. There are paddocks with horses all around.

There are nice enough walks, the best in our opinion is parallel with the sea wall, along a lane filled with flowers and butterflies at this time of year.

The railway line from London to Margate runs next to the site, but we didn't find the trains a problem.

There are plenty of shops in Birchington, the nearest is on the corner just before the turn into Dane Road; there is a good Co-op and several charity shops further along. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 18     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hawk Place Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hawk Place Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hawk Place Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Birchington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3358 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement