Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shore Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Lochinver > Shore Caravan Site Reviews

Shore Caravan Site
106 Achmelvich
Lochinver
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4JB
Tel: 01571 844393
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SusanMcT 12 reviews from this member

 Attempted to book ahead since the site is so far north and such a long drive, but told over the phone that this wasn't possible (they don't take advance bookings) and that getting a hook up would be very unlikely. We took a chance and went anyway. On arrival it was VERY BUSY! By pure chance we managed to squeeze our campervan into a space in the main field and luck was upon us as someone had just left and there was one hook up available. I went into the small shop to check we could use this, and the young girl on the till seemed a bit unsure. The facilities were ok, although the showers were very busy given the number of campers on site. I also didn't particularly like the fact that the ladies toilets only had sanitary bins outwith the actual cubicle! I also selected the site against others nearby because it had wifi - well. Highland wi-fi which I wasn't able to connect to at all. The location of this site is its main attraction. The winding road from Ullapool heading north is stunning and the beach has crystal clear water and lovely white sand. Just a shame that my children found lots of beer cans and litter while playing there. Sadly the weather was very wet and the midges were out in force, so we only stayed one night and happily moved on the next morning. Would I go back, hmm. Unless it was a kayaking trip, probably not. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hazlet 3 reviews from this member

 First impressions when we arrived were that it was surrounded by lovely scenery in a perfect spot but we felt very unwelcome upon arrival with no one wanting to bother checking us in which was a bit off putting. We found a space to pitch the tent after being told to stay away from the hook ups if we didn't want one. The first night was very noisy until about 2. 30 am, the second until well after midnight despite notices asking for quiet after that time. The other two nights were very quiet.

We all got tics just walking between the tent and the showers so be aware that they are there, we were told by another camper that the grass was usually kept shorter. Midges didn't bother us much though.

The on site shop was good for basics and had lovely fresh rolls every morning, there was also a chip shop some nights, fish and chips were lovely but over 7 a portion.

The facilities were ok, but could do with some TLC, good showers but rather small cubicles, Some toilets didn't lock and neither the hair or hand dryer worked even though I had been assured the hand dryer did when I rang the day before. Washing up facilities with liquid provided were good and so was the laundry room. A lot of the folk there were regular visitors some for 40 yrs! It's a shame their loyalty didn't seem to be appreciated by the staff who appeared to us to to have as another reviewer said a take it or leave it attitude. The other campers were very friendly, no dogs allowed on site was a bonus too, the small sandy beach was absolutely spotless and Peet's restaurant in Lochinver was a fantastic treat for our last night. The unfriendliness of the staff would put me off going back but the location is amazing and it is worth visiting especially if you can take a canoe like lots of the regulars seemed to. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LCfamily 2 reviews from this member

 It's all about the location! Adjacent to a fantastic beach with white sands and clear water in a gentle bay.

We stayed for 1 night on our trip round the West of Scotland during half term hols. Adequate facilities. Warm showers and toilets in single sex blocks. Good out and indoor pot washing. We had elec hookup. Grass for kids to play. Picnic benches around site. Shop wasn't yet open as before peak season. On site little chip shop only open at weekend until peak season but we didn't need either so fine by us.

Beach was fantastic although there were a lot of jelly fish on our visit!

Look out for Hermits Castle! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bent Peg 3 reviews from this member

 Here we are again, if you want to read about the camp site facilities read other reviews, if you want to read why to come here read on. We always say we will go somewhere else, but never seem to get there, why, location. We think this is the best campsite of all the ones around the area. Just getting to the shore site makes it seem special, its right at the end of a thin twisty road not just turn off the road where everybody and their dog can see you, so road wise very kid safe. Ok not the best shower facilities in the world, but good enough, we manage for two weeks no problem, and some improvements were being done while we were there this year. Must say though, note to cleaner; shower and toilet cubicles have walls as well as floors, and I don't think you really need that many disinfectant blocks in the urinal. Back to the location in general, if you like walking and hiking, ideal base, fishing, watching birds and deer or seals, whales, sharks and dolphins. Again ideal. Good food, great food and unbelievable food all close at hand from the camp site to the mission, to pubs and bistro's then onto Michelin star dining for the holiday treat ( we have no kids), all local to lochinver. What else, besides some of the best scenery anywhere, then the beaches some of the clearest waters with cleanest silver sand ever seen, better than the caribbean, are you starting to get the picture. Quietness have a loch to yourself for the day, little traffic empty roads, peace and tranquillity, relax, unwind, enjoy, we do every year. I could go on but I think you have got the idea by now. Everything you could wish for. Please note it sometimes does get an excess of liquid sunshine, take a mac. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pearson family 12 reviews from this member

 We travelled from Fort William to the camp site. We were concerned about not being able to book a pitch but Margaret, the owner, allowed us to ring up the night before to confirm that it was still our intention to come. She made sure that one of the pitches being vacated the following day was kept for us. On arrival we were glad she did as the place was packed. All the staff were very friendly and had a good knowledge of the local area.

The location of this site is what it is all about. Right on the edge of a beautiful beach which our children loved. They spent hours playing with the jelly fish and in the rock pools. The water was freezing and so wetsuits are strongly recommended. The camp site was quiet at all the right times. Many people re-visit this site year after year, in one case every year for the last 40.

Lots of walks in the area and things to see and do. At 16. 50pn for a family of 4 in a motorhome with an electric hook up it is also incredibly reasonable. I was a bit nervous about the approach to the site after reviews on here but it really wasn't that bad. We were in a 25ft vehicle and met more traffic down the road than we had all day. There are lots of passing places of reasonable size. I probably wouldn't want to tow a 26ft caravan down the road though but plenty did.

The toilet block really does need some money spent on it now as apparently nothing has been done to it in years and it really shows. It is the only negative I can come up with. Two of the men's showers don't have doors on them and so water goes everywhere. Showers are electric and go from being freezing cold to boiling hot in an instant. Campsite was having problems with its' chemical toilet facilities while we were there. I think major work needs to be done on the sceptic tank and hopefully this will be done over the winter.

Fish and chips are good at the on site chippy. We did have a look at the campsite at Clachtoll for future reference and it is very nice as is the owner. However we think the beach is better at Achmelvich and so in all likelihood would return to here. Not a body boarding beach though which was somewhat disappointing.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dawndon 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely love this site, beach stunning and hills round about easily walked/climbed. Loads to see in the surrounding area.

Campsite clean and staff very friendly, the on site chip shop was a welcome addition to go with our barbie burgers.

Toilet block clean and tidy and even had a hairdryer for the backpackers.

We arrived on spec but now that we've been I would prefer to know we could book, its a long way to come on the off-chance there's a space with a hook-up available.

Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winter13 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 weeks here and had a great time, would have stayed for 4 weeks but my work would not give me the extra time off.

The staff are all great and friendly and they will go out of their way to help with anything. Has a great chippy and small shop for your needs.

Has everything that you need for outdoor from boating to fishing and hill walking, you just need the energy to do it all.

Thanks to Margaret and Sarah for running the place and all their efforts, will be back next year for sure. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speyside Sally 3 reviews from this member

 Totally fabulous!

The young woman who booked us in could not have been more friendly and made my 15 year old son's day by mistaking him for an adult. Even though it was busy we had plenty of choice for pitches and opted for down by the shore.

Showers and toilets extra clean and warm. Wash up for dishes also very clean with the option of indoors or outdoors. Plenty of hot water.

Shop for basics and the marvellous chippy open Thur to Sun serves enormous portions.

My sons loved scrambling about on the rocky little hills and the beach is beautiful beyond words.

Challenging mountain bike path up to Allt na Bradhan beach (with a ruined click mill) and down to Lochinver kept us happy, along with another wee loop up past Glencanisp Lodge. WE stopped for a magnificient pie at Lochinver Larder.

Only downer is that I wont be able to wangle another long weekend off until the site is closed for the season. Can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dg077 5 reviews from this member

 Amazing place! This site is all about location. The facilities are adequate, even good. Toilets are cleaned daily and a re generally clean. There is a wee shop and a chip shop (didn't use it, so cant say more). The beach is what you are here for and it wont disappoint.

The site is managed in a rather take it or leave it attitude. Find your own space, try to get a hook up and it makes things a little bit chaotic. Some people fill up large areas with large tents wind breakers, bikes boats, barbecues etc etc. Meaning you might need a good long cable for hookup. There a re a lot of bumpy bits too and near the toilets its a bit whiffy around the septic tank - just don't camp beside it!

Of slight concern for caravanners is the approach road. From Lochinver, the approach road says 'not suitable for caravans'. We were glad to get though without meeting anyone but it's single track with steep parts and many blind corners/ summits. You need nerves of steel.

Staff are OK- the ones we dealt answered our needs efficiently but could work on their friendliness. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geddes 8 reviews from this member

 Was a bit apprehensive about choosing The Shore site at Achmelvich as our first port of call this year on our touring holiday as it is so far away, but after Hubby negotiated all the scary twists, turns and passing places on the way in, we were rewarded with the most wonderful vista. I shall think of Achmelvich on the long winter evenings to come. The most beautiful white beach I think I have ever seen in Scotland, and spotless.

The site itself is fine, typically Highland, kind of easy going really. We booked in, (no pre-booking here) and were told to pitch anywhere we wanted. The owners were around but tended to let everyone just get on with it. Small shop on site if you needed anything. No set out pitches. Tents, caravans and motor homes all kind of mixed together. No problem when we were there.

The toilet facilities were adequate, but only just. Only 2 showers in the ladies, with 2 more showers and 2 toilets roped off and 'Out of Commission' even the doors had been taken off! Thought this a bit strange. Hubby said Gents was the same. Washing up/veg prep/waste water facilities were similar, a bit run down but usable. The whole toilet block was clean enough but quite dated and could do with upgrading.

That said, we had a lovely time there, were lucky with the weather and the surrounding scenery was just amazing. Lochinver had some shops if we needed anything. The people we met on site all seemed to have been returning there for years and they all knew each other and were very friendly. A long journey but well worth it when you get there. Would certainly go again. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shore Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shore Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shore Caravan Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lochinver      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2779 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement