Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Shore Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Lochinver > Shore Caravan Site Reviews

Shore Caravan Site
106 Achmelvich
Lochinver
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV27 4JB
Tel: 01571 844393
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Colin and Soozy 2 reviews from this member

I last stayed here eight years ago in a tent and not much has changed. The site is accessed via a narrow single track road which only adds to the charm and remote feel of the place (unless you're driving a huge winnebago I suppose!)

The reception was staffed by a couple of youngsters who were friendly and helpful)

The site comprises of a central area with EHU's but no hard standings so it's first come first served and a little chaotic. We parked in the general camping area to the east where a few other vans were parked as it's fairly flat.

The facilities were basic but adequate. There were no queues that we saw even though the site was busy and given the the very reasonable site fees the location is good value.

The sandy bay next to the site is sheltered and perfect for families and water-sports (weather permitting)

It's hard to over emphasise just how beautiful the location is!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Custard15 16 reviews from this member

Shore Caravan Site at Achmelvich is quite a long drive down a single track lane (in total, just over 4 miles from Lochinver village), but that’s part of the attraction, and if you go during the summer season the site has its own chip shop. However, on an October evening, it didn’t seem worth going out again in dismal weather. When we visited (mid-week), it was very quiet, with just a couple of tiny caravans and a few campervans. With strong winds forecast, and the site facing West into the cove, we chose to park nose into the wind to reduce buffeting.

The facilities were basic but plentiful. Four showers for each gender (though some were marked out of order). Behind each shower door there is a very small changing area (just enough space for the outer door to push inwards without hitting the fully-sealed shower cubicles within. BUT as the inner shower cubicles have doors that swing out into the changing area, you need to open the cubicle before changing… or you get trapped and need to wrap up and step out into the corridor to get the doors right. Complicated? Well, you won’t make the mistake of not opening the cubicle before changing more than once! The showers are reasonable electric ones, so no problem getting hot water, but the drains in the ladies were blocked so very soon stood in water – that kept the shower VERY short. The shower units also smelled like they needed a good scrub with anti-bacterial cleaner.

Given that the beach is popular for watersports in better weather (and despite the website’s warnings about jellyfish, weaver fish and other potential nasties), it’s nice to see that the management ask campers not to enter the facilities in wet suits, presumably for the comfort of others.

There are washing up facilities provided inside and outside (though the later gave the sheep somewhere to shelter from the wind). But all round, the facilities seem old and tired. This is site for units and campers that are fairly self-reliant, and attracted to the natural beauty of the shoreline, not for needy holiday makers, who will find holiday parks elsewhere more to their taste.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stevepluschris 6 reviews from this member

One of the most beautiful settings we have visited. The site is right on the coast with an absolutely stunning beach and surroundings. Quite an exciting drive down to the site but the bus does it and they managed to get statics here but heaven only knows how! Friendly family owners with a laid back approach to pitching. We found a nice spot only for a noisy idiot to camp right on top of us in his hire motor home. Facilities good but abused by the amateur campers that spoil things for others sadly, but nice toilets and a good shower was managed. 6amp electric that is fine for those that know what they are doing but not so for those that think they are connected direct to Doonreay! NO DOGS allowed that is fine by us but a bit of a shock if you have driven for the many miles it takes to get here. We know for a fact that there were several dogs concealed in units that went walkies when they thought no-one was looking! There is plenty of info on line about the local walks and attractions but no real evidence of same on site, however the nearby wildlife wardens hut has it all. A must visit place for the surroundings alone.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: SusanMcT 12 reviews from this member

Attempted to book ahead since the site is so far north and such a long drive, but told over the phone that this wasn't possible (they don't take advance bookings) and that getting a hook up would be very unlikely. We took a chance and went anyway. On arrival it was VERY BUSY! By pure chance we managed to squeeze our campervan into a space in the main field and luck was upon us as someone had just left and there was one hook up available. I went into the small shop to check we could use this, and the young girl on the till seemed a bit unsure. The facilities were ok, although the showers were very busy given the number of campers on site. I also didn't particularly like the fact that the ladies toilets only had sanitary bins outwith the actual cubicle! I also selected the site against others nearby because it had wifi - well. Highland wi-fi which I wasn't able to connect to at all. The location of this site is its main attraction. The winding road from Ullapool heading north is stunning and the beach has crystal clear water and lovely white sand. Just a shame that my children found lots of beer cans and litter while playing there. Sadly the weather was very wet and the midges were out in force, so we only stayed one night and happily moved on the next morning. Would I go back, hmm. Unless it was a kayaking trip, probably not.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hazlet 3 reviews from this member

First impressions when we arrived were that it was surrounded by lovely scenery in a perfect spot but we felt very unwelcome upon arrival with no one wanting to bother checking us in which was a bit off putting. We found a space to pitch the tent after being told to stay away from the hook ups if we didn't want one. The first night was very noisy until about 2. 30 am, the second until well after midnight despite notices asking for quiet after that time. The other two nights were very quiet.

We all got tics just walking between the tent and the showers so be aware that they are there, we were told by another camper that the grass was usually kept shorter. Midges didn't bother us much though.

The on site shop was good for basics and had lovely fresh rolls every morning, there was also a chip shop some nights, fish and chips were lovely but over £7 a portion.

The facilities were ok, but could do with some TLC, good showers but rather small cubicles, Some toilets didn't lock and neither the hair or hand dryer worked even though I had been assured the hand dryer did when I rang the day before. Washing up facilities with liquid provided were good and so was the laundry room. A lot of the folk there were regular visitors some for 40 yrs! It's a shame their loyalty didn't seem to be appreciated by the staff who appeared to us to to have as another reviewer said a take it or leave it attitude. The other campers were very friendly, no dogs allowed on site was a bonus too, the small sandy beach was absolutely spotless and Peet's restaurant in Lochinver was a fantastic treat for our last night. The unfriendliness of the staff would put me off going back but the location is amazing and it is worth visiting especially if you can take a canoe like lots of the regulars seemed to.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: LCfamily 2 reviews from this member

It's all about the location! Adjacent to a fantastic beach with white sands and clear water in a gentle bay.

We stayed for 1 night on our trip round the West of Scotland during half term hols. Adequate facilities. Warm showers and toilets in single sex blocks. Good out and indoor pot washing. We had elec hookup. Grass for kids to play. Picnic benches around site. Shop wasn't yet open as before peak season. On site little chip shop only open at weekend until peak season but we didn't need either so fine by us.

Beach was fantastic although there were a lot of jelly fish on our visit!

Look out for Hermits Castle!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bent Peg 3 reviews from this member

Here we are again, if you want to read about the camp site facilities read other reviews, if you want to read why to come here read on. We always say we will go somewhere else, but never seem to get there, why, location. We think this is the best campsite of all the ones around the area. Just getting to the shore site makes it seem special, its right at the end of a thin twisty road not just turn off the road where everybody and their dog can see you, so road wise very kid safe. Ok not the best shower facilities in the world, but good enough, we manage for two weeks no problem, and some improvements were being done while we were there this year. Must say though, note to cleaner; shower and toilet cubicles have walls as well as floors, and I don't think you really need that many disinfectant blocks in the urinal. Back to the location in general, if you like walking and hiking, ideal base, fishing, watching birds and deer or seals, whales, sharks and dolphins. Again ideal. Good food, great food and unbelievable food all close at hand from the camp site to the mission, to pubs and bistro's then onto Michelin star dining for the holiday treat ( we have no kids), all local to lochinver. What else, besides some of the best scenery anywhere, then the beaches some of the clearest waters with cleanest silver sand ever seen, better than the caribbean, are you starting to get the picture. Quietness have a loch to yourself for the day, little traffic empty roads, peace and tranquillity, relax, unwind, enjoy, we do every year. I could go on but I think you have got the idea by now. Everything you could wish for. Please note it sometimes does get an excess of liquid sunshine, take a mac.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pearson family 12 reviews from this member

We travelled from Fort William to the camp site. We were concerned about not being able to book a pitch but Margaret, the owner, allowed us to ring up the night before to confirm that it was still our intention to come. She made sure that one of the pitches being vacated the following day was kept for us. On arrival we were glad she did as the place was packed. All the staff were very friendly and had a good knowledge of the local area.

The location of this site is what it is all about. Right on the edge of a beautiful beach which our children loved. They spent hours playing with the jelly fish and in the rock pools. The water was freezing and so wetsuits are strongly recommended. The camp site was quiet at all the right times. Many people re-visit this site year after year, in one case every year for the last 40.

Lots of walks in the area and things to see and do. At £16. 50pn for a family of 4 in a motorhome with an electric hook up it is also incredibly reasonable. I was a bit nervous about the approach to the site after reviews on here but it really wasn't that bad. We were in a 25ft vehicle and met more traffic down the road than we had all day. There are lots of passing places of reasonable size. I probably wouldn't want to tow a 26ft caravan down the road though but plenty did.

The toilet block really does need some money spent on it now as apparently nothing has been done to it in years and it really shows. It is the only negative I can come up with. Two of the men's showers don't have doors on them and so water goes everywhere. Showers are electric and go from being freezing cold to boiling hot in an instant. Campsite was having problems with its' chemical toilet facilities while we were there. I think major work needs to be done on the sceptic tank and hopefully this will be done over the winter.

Fish and chips are good at the on site chippy. We did have a look at the campsite at Clachtoll for future reference and it is very nice as is the owner. However we think the beach is better at Achmelvich and so in all likelihood would return to here. Not a body boarding beach though which was somewhat disappointing.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dawndon 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely love this site, beach stunning and hills round about easily walked/climbed. Loads to see in the surrounding area.

Campsite clean and staff very friendly, the on site chip shop was a welcome addition to go with our barbie burgers.

Toilet block clean and tidy and even had a hairdryer for the backpackers.

We arrived on spec but now that we've been I would prefer to know we could book, its a long way to come on the off-chance there's a space with a hook-up available.

Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Winter13 2 reviews from this member

Spent 2 weeks here and had a great time, would have stayed for 4 weeks but my work would not give me the extra time off.

The staff are all great and friendly and they will go out of their way to help with anything. Has a great chippy and small shop for your needs.

Has everything that you need for outdoor from boating to fishing and hill walking, you just need the energy to do it all.

Thanks to Margaret and Sarah for running the place and all their efforts, will be back next year for sure.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Lochinver      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 06/02 to 09/02
In Glasgow - Over 200 companies will be showcasing their products and offering visitors show only discounts and offers. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1956 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020