Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Lower Lode Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Gloucester > The Lower Lode Inn Reviews

The Lower Lode Inn
Forthampton
Gloucester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL19 4RE
Tel: 01684 293224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BikerChic66 1 review from this member

 Stayed on this site and it was a wonderful experience. The view of the river with the odd barge or boat plodding along was great. The campsite has electric hook ups, water and waste point. There are also showers and toilets on the site or in the pub. The ones in the pub could be accessed even when the pub is closed. The pub landlady and staff made us very welcome. Real ales were available and the food was excellent. The pub also does b&b, any form of function is finished by about 11. 30 midnight at the latest. A walk along the river brings in into Tewkesbury were there are most shops you would need. It took us about 45mins to walk there or there is a ferry that runs across the river. The campsite does not have a playground for the kiddies but the is loads of space and fields for them to run around

The cost of the campsite was 10 per night and that included electric hook up

We are planning to go back 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RS199 14 reviews from this member

 Just had three nights here. Superb campsite, right by the River Severn. Owned by, and next door to the The Lower Lode Pub, it's a great little campsite, 10 per unit incl e/h, . Well kept grass site, adequate toilets, chemical disposal and water taps. Right by the river bank.

The owners of the site and pub are really friendly, great real ale, good food and very easy going.

I could go on, but others before me have written all that needs to be reported about this unique gem of a place.

If you are the sort of person who takes pictures of peeling wallpaper and moans at the slightest thing, this place is not for you. But if, like me, you want a good, no frills camping experience, coupled with a great location, this unique place is for you. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jade2605 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights, using 'the mirror' camping voucher. With EHU grand total 10. 30! Bargain.

Choose your own pitch over looking the river. There was a beer festival on over the weekend. The pub is very dog friendly and meal were nice approx 8-10 each.

The site facilities are very basic, two showers of each sex.

You can get a small boat across the river 3. 50 each way, 2 adult 2 dog. Starts from 12pm until dusk. Teweskbury nice little town. Got a bus to upton upon Severn. Also walked west from campsite to yew tree inn and to other pubs along the river.

We would stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chris and Si 6 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic 'no frills' site. 7. 50 a pich, 10 with hook-up. Right next to the River Severn with brilliant sun rises and sets.

The landlady is very friendly and the pub offers reasonably priced, good food.

The facilities on site are basic, but very adequate - toilets and shower in the pub, also basic toilets and showers in the field with electric hook-ups. Fresh water and waste facilities are available.

There are no defined pitches and areas can be chosen unless it is very busy when booking is definitely advised.

Friday and Saturday nights can get noisy as there are many functions at the pub, but music is always finished by around midnight. There are often rallies during the summer month weekends so again it can be a little noisy if you are in a tent.

We have camped here on many occasions over several years and also brought our camper 'Vera' and never had a bad time, even in bad weather.

Tewkesbury is just a ferry (1 per person each way) ride and 20 minute walk away. This lovely town has many interesting shops and pubs - try the Theoc House for drinks and food - a brilliant place to while away some time. Tewkesbury can also be reached by walking along the river - this takes any time up to an hour to get into the centre, but is a lovely and interesting walk. Stop and have a chat to the lock keeper and his friendly dog.

From the site you can watch different activities on the river as the Cheltenham College Boat House is immediately opposite - we have seen people rowing, the SARA team and Fire Service practising drill, raft racing, even a wedding ceremony on the opposite bank. It is also great to see the various boats passing - narrow boats, motor boats and many others.

Dogs are welcome but should be kept on a lead, but they often 'escape' and most get on with each other off the confines of the lead.

One downside is the fact that there is the possibility of flooding, but this also adds to the interesting nature of the area and the owners have plans in place should flooding be imminent. Some people may also consider the fact that it is nowhere near a bus route as another downside, but this is a small price to pay for the lovely countryside location. There is also no dedicated children's play area, but there are fields and open spaces to play ball other games.

This is a little, out of the way gem in the Gloucestershire countryside which is near to Gloucester, Cheltenham, Tewkesbury, Worcester, Malvern and Ledbury - but your own transport is a necessity.

We only live about 20 miles from this site, but return time after time as it is so unique. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barlynn 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from our fourth visit to this lovely old Inn by the River Severn. We have stayed in the Inn, our room was en-suite first floor over looking the river, clean and very reasonably priced. The view from the room across the river was lovely. The Inn supplies a good selection of food and drink.

We have just returned from our third visit with our caravan. The caravan and camping is on grass by the side of the river, once again very reasonably priced and access to the caravan and camping toilets are at the back of the Inn.

We have always found them clean and although there is only one shower, we have only ever had to wait once for a short while to use it. On each arrival we have been greeted with warmth and a friendly smile, the landlady is very accommodating and you find that you are not over burden with camping rules which allows you to sit back and relax. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brenno 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at the Lower Lode over Easter for 3 nights

The owners were fantastic and very welcoming.

The bad points - They need more showers. Sam told me that they have more showers, that were present, and would be up and running when it got busy.

Good Points - Toilets and showers cleaned on a regular basis. The pub was fantastic, reasonably priced, good food, an extremely friendly place, and great to say dog friendly in and out of the pub. Nice river walks in either direction and not too taxing. The ferry to get back across the river was a great asset and cheap. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Highly recommended to all. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mikeykaney 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a weekend. The location is lovely and the pub offered a good ranges of ales for those who are interested. Pitched in the caravan side of the park right next to the River Severn which had lovely views. As other reviews said this is a no frills site, I noticed there is some building work going on to extend the site.

As we had our own facilities we had a good weekend, I did note that the adjacent toilet block was disgusting to say the least, it wasn't cleaned all weekend and I did venture there one night and the was a total absence of lighting.

The elsan waste was a hole in the ground which you have to remove the manhole cover and empty the contents, the area was foul and smelt.

The grounds were littered and there was dog excrement in several places.

Generally I got the impression that this site had been neglected which is such a shame for what could be a little gem. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Xraysteve 3 reviews from this member

 Nice and welcoming little site. Had one of the non hook up sites past the pub and a great view. If the wind is in the east (excuse the dickensian quote) then the Sewerage works are not far off opposite and we did get an occasional whiff when the wind was in just the right (or wrong) quarter.

The facilities are a little basic as mentioned but you get plenty of time for your pound token in the shower but there was no lock on the door this weekend.

The pub is great, good beer and food and not exorbitant in price.

There is however a problem with the ferry at the moment and was not running at all and it is a good walk into Tewkesbury (40 mins about right).

Very dog friendly and welcoming. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tarquin 4 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant, no frills, site - just what was needed. Fantastic riverside aspect on the EHU field, and the pub within staggering distance. Didn't use the facilities as we had them onboard, but the CWD could do with some upgrading being a largish pipe sticking up in a fenced off area.

The site is down a long single track no-through road, but it is easy to get past other vehicles by going on the verge - be warned, when we went, there were plenty of potholes in the road, so take it easy.

Tewkesbury is a lovely little town with great 'nik-nack' shops as well as the usual fare. Saturday has a market in one of the carparks. Another place well worth a visit is Ledbury with even more crafty / unusual shops.

10 for a pitch is fantastic value, and having a pub so close is fantastic. Will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cristie 10 reviews from this member

 Toilets, toilets, toilets, it needs them. Absolutely lovely location next to the river, but one shower for a field of caravans and a field of tents which continually needed mopping out by the barman. The loos kept flooding up from the drains. The boss lady although very friendly seems to be biting off more than she can chew. Food looked very nice but unfortunately was an long wait, we ordered a portion of chips , waited 45 mins, and asked, but were told the chef hadn't started our order yet as each was done in turn. Could be brilliant though. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Lower Lode Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Lower Lode Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Lower Lode Inn dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gloucester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement