Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Lower Lode Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Gloucester > The Lower Lode Inn Reviews

The Lower Lode Inn
Forthampton
Gloucester
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL19 4RE
Tel: 01684 293224
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nomadengland 12 reviews from this member

 Loved this little field on the river bank. Pub very busy when we arrived on Sunday afternoon with loads of motorcyclists, but lovely atmosphere and then very quiet in the evening when they had gone.

We had lovely cycle ride around the area on very quiet roads.

Great overnight stop when travelling on the motorway.

Will definitely use again when we travelling North. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mondilife 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a really enjoyable night at this site. It feels remote although it's only about 5 miles from Tewkesbury and is a destination in it's own right looking out onto the river with Tewkesbury Abbey not far away on the opposite bank.

We parked on hardstanding along with about 8 other units all on electric hook up and all with tranquil riverside views. The pub was welcoming and friendly and if you had a dog as well, you were guaranteed friendly conversation with just about everyone.

They really do like dogs here! There was a warming fire, good, decent pub food and a convivial atmosphere. You can book breakfast for the next morning and although we didn't take this option, many of our fellow vanners did.

In the summer months, there's a bigger campsite behind the pub and there's a foot ferry which takes you over the river to the other bank so you can leave the car or van and walk into Tewkesbury. We made do with a couple of lovely dog walks along the pub side of the river.

The showers and loos are basic but the location and pub make this worth a stop and because we ate in the pub, we only paid for our electricity - 3. 95. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Steveh2010 3 reviews from this member

 Love this site.

Right by the banks of the River Severn with a pub attached. The grass pitch was well kept, the toilets and showers in the camping field are a little basic (in a portacabin) but clean and well kept plus there are proper toilets and showers with 24Hr access at the rear of the pub.

The food in the pub is good and inexpensive with a good range of real ales and friendly staff.

All this for less than a tenner (without hookup)!

I will be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tigger07 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed this small camp site next to the river seven, we had a warm and friendly welcome from the staff, the amenities were basic but sufficient and clean, the Lower Lode pub food was reasonable priced, nicely cooked and large portions.

The site was dog friendly (we had three with us). Will definitely consider going back. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ann P 4 reviews from this member

 Great, basic site, only 9 non elec hook up or 12 elec hook up.

Pub campsite, that welcomes dogs in pub. Great pub with very friendly staff.

Stopped here on a Sunday, pub very busy with meals for Sunday dinners, although we did not eat here they were obviously very popular as they were extremely busy, lots of families, locals, bikers and fishermen, everyone friendly, a lovely relaxed atmosphere.

Right next to the river with well used walks following the river, only made it to Upper Lode Locks ourselves but other walkers told us there are some serious walks for those wanting it.

The campsite itself was fine for our needs and very quiet being a Sunday non school holiday time, the showers and toilets were basic but clean, porta cabin (on stilts) type and for the price quite acceptable, nice touch in the ladies with flowers and box of tissues.

Only one grumble dog bins overflowing.

Will definitely return 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chick727 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic evening at The Lower Lode, great campsite, great pub, lovely people and fab service, their was a wedding on the night of our stay at the site and again the people were lovely and invited us plus everyone else in the pub to join them during there pig roast, the weather was also perfect which made the day and evening superb, I will certainly be return and would highly recommend the site and pub to anyone and everyone.

The area and countryside is tranquil and full of wildlife, we just loved our chilled out Sunday by the river. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lavlark 11 reviews from this member

 A lovely location. Very friendly staff. Dog friendly. Very cheap.

The road approach is narrow, so care is needed. Also, the road is sign posted as 'no through road', which we hadn't noticed, so may not have gone down if we had, and missed the site. A 'campsite' sign would be of help, but not sure who would be responsible for putting one up?

If you want luxury facilities, this site is not for you. The toilet and shower facilities look like 'containers' converted, and although not filthy, are not really clean. The chemical loo and waste disposal area although fenced off was completely over grown with weeds etc.

As stated, lovely riverside location with friendly staff, but you get what you pay for. But it is a pity that a lot of the out buildings were so sad and tatty looking, sprucing these up would make all the difference. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MrMrsMagill 5 reviews from this member

 This pub and site is in the middle of no-where but is in beautiful surroundings. We parked our van facing the river, which was lovely to look out to in the evening. Great pub with excellent food. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. They even allowed us to have 'wine to go'! The site is not huge, but is adequate. Really cheap, at 10 a night including electric hook up. The only negative is the toilet and shower facilities. They are in porta-cabins and unfortunately are covered in spiders and spider webs. We found this massively off putting and decided not to use the showers in the morning. This, for us, would put us off staying again and the site owners need to look into this, perhaps a daily clean out?! Shame really, because other than that a perfect setting for a camping trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kersville1 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for one night. The pub is a lovely oldy wody ace overlooking the river. We had non elec pitch and was only 7. 50 for night so absolute bargain. Lots of nice walks which was great as w e took our dog. The toilet block could do with more regular checking as lot of loo paper on floor and loos not always clean. Only other criticism is there was dog mess dotted around site where other selfish dog owners couldn't be bothered to clean up though I did report thus to staff. We didn't eat in pub but menu looked fab. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TravellerJoe 2 reviews from this member

 As has been said before, a lovely little site for 10 a night including electric hook-up.

Beautiful location right beside the river.

Nice pub with real ale and easy-going staff.

Only criticism is that when the pub is busy with many cars parked all around, it can be a little tricky getting onto the field, so a sign asking to keep the entrance clear would help.

Previously we have stayed nearby at The Red Lion, and what a difference! The owners of The Red Lion could learn a thing or two from the Lower Lode. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Lower Lode Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Lower Lode Inn?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Lower Lode Inn dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Gloucester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5075 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement