Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Bridge Inn Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Herefordshire > Hereford > The Bridge Inn Campsite > Reviews

The Bridge Inn Campsite
Michaelchurch Escley
Bridge Inn Road
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR2 0JW
Tel: 01981 510646
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 11 to 16                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Heidi+Paul 9 reviews from this member

 We believe that the current owners may be leaving around August 2011 however.

We were excited at this delightful sounding site and booked ages ago, later ringing to change the booking to our family tent when we were told we would go on the top terrace which was for larger tents.

On arriving mid afternoon we seemed to take the pub staff by surprise who after much coming and going and explaining we were booked onto the top terrace; told us we could go on the top terrace if nobody else was and if not wherever. We ended up on the second terrace as the top one was full. A squeeze as identified as a space for 2man tents, thankfully we didn’t need electric hook up …great sun trap though!

Bathrooms lousy – flaking paint that sticks to you as you try to shower and dodge moths. Mens shower too small – other half got dried with door open and hoped nobody came in! Ladies toilets were blocked most of the week and had no loo roll. No signs of the bathrooms being cleaned, same cockroach in sink all week and finally no doors locked (thank goodness for our portaloo and body wipes)

No hot water except in the shower. One tap in middle of field not working so had to use one in the pub garden (not sure if we were allowed)

But lovely setting, kids could play safely in the stream. Great area with lots to do within an hours drive. The Red Kites souring in sky were a treat.

The pub had its own hours and seemed closed most of the time,after our arrival we never managed to catch it open, with us and other campers leaving having not seen any owners in the entire stay and pub customers coming onto the site to ask when the pub was open before leaving.

We have been camping a few times every summer for the last eight years and have never failed to meet a site manager or owner, experienced such dire bathrooms, or left a campsite without paying. We did this time. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sara82 1 review from this member

 Myself and my fiance' camped at the Bridge Inn in Michaelchurch in August - what a beautiful place a cosy little campsite unlike others which to me seemed to be like busy housing estates. Basic but adequate facilities.
Fantastic pub where the owners couldn't do enough for us and the bar seemed to be open 24 hours with food available all day! for a small pub what a selection! Special from around the world plus a standard menu. If you ever go to the Bridge Inn the Mickey Pie is a must! it's mutton with, according to the chef, lots of secret ingredients!We stayed for 1 week and I had the pie 4 times I only drunk their excellent wines but my partner adored the real ales.
We returned in December, again excellent sitting around the wood burner having 1 of the chef combis. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lenathedog 3 reviews from this member

 Very nice site. Clean, small and quiet. BUT NO CAMPFIRES ALLOWED! The landlady says the previous owners allowed it, but she does not and wishes to be taken off the 'campfire' site. We only went there because we thought we could have a fire, but in the end enjoyed a pleasant evening playing billiards and watching tv over a pint. Or two. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz grail 7 reviews from this member

 A great little hide away. It was a Little muddy when we arrived but it did not detract us from pitching our tents. The facilities were basic but this did not pose any problems what do you want for £3 pppn. Only sore point there were a group of campers who thought it was ok to talk, shout and laugh 'til 3 - 4 am. oO the second night they were told in no uncertain terms to shut up. We will go back as it is such a beautiful site 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dianne249 8 reviews from this member

 This is a tiny site beautifully situated next to a small stream behind a local pub. At least half of the pitches are on terraces, without vehicular access, although the elevated position makes throwing the bags and boxes up worth the effort. There are hook-ups for the 8 or so pitches on the bottom level. Open fires are permitted. There is a small play area in the pub garden but the shallow stream and rope tree swings provided endless less formal entertainment for our children.

The facilities are minimal; a toilet, shower, tiny basin (and book shelf!) for each sex. There are no dishwashing facilities apart from a draining board on a low wall next to the toilets and the protocol appeared to be to fill a bucket with hot water (poor pressure) and make-do. We boiled a kettle and did it by the tent. We could get ice-blocks frozen but had to remember to pick up/drop off when the pub was open.

The pub has a small restaurant and serves basic food (not sampled). It is popular with locals who do tend to park their vehicles in the camping area. We experienced a fair amount of noise in the early hours of one of our four nights stay but out complaint was dealt with sympathetically and professionally and we were not charged for the night in question.

This site is in a remote location with no mobile phone reception (ours are Orange/T-Mobile) and a 15 minute drive to the nearest store (highly recommended for a superb range of organic produce). The surrounding countryside is spectacular and the walking, even straight out of the site, is very good indeed.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2004 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scouser 10 reviews from this member

 An excellent hideaway site, with gourmet cooking in the pub. Several real ales. Only room for 5 vans, with hook up, and a camping area adjacent. The publican at the time was very friendly. Not much around there- nearest shop about 5 miles away, but the proximity to the Black Mountain and Offa's Dyke path make it worthwhile. Very hairy approach- about 1 1/2 miles of almost single track road, with some steep inclines/descents- down to 2nd gear in some places. If you miss the pub entrance, you've got miles to go before you can turn round. Very narrow entrance by pub, with steel bar to protect the side of the pub, after crossing a narrow bridge (which floods in very heavy rain) 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 16     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Bridge Inn Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Bridge Inn Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Bridge Inn Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3350 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement