Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Bridge Inn Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

The Bridge Inn Campsite
Michaelchurch Escley
Bridge Inn Road
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR2 0JW
Tel: 01981 510646
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Excel of malvern 3 reviews from this member

Gem of a site. Friendly landlord. Great food, fantastic own brand gin. Will return. Fantastic walks and bike rides. Food really good. Really young enthusiastic chef, attention to detail. All work hard to make you welcome, but there are always people out there ready to moan, it's a shame people do not consider one small comment on a site which could ruin small pub's.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MurphyandLizzie 4 reviews from this member

We only live an hour away from this delightful pub and decided to have one night away to test out everything in the motorhome in preparation for a longer holiday. This is an idyllic place:quiet a beautiful. There are four pitches for motorhome or caravan, each with water and electric hook up. There is plenty of space between the pitches and they are on the bank of a pretty little brook. We arrived at about 2pm, just in time for an excellent lunch in the pub itself. The staff in the pub are delightful and happy to help in any way. The area seems crisscrossed with footpaths and we went for a great walk with our two dogs that afternoon. In the evening we ate in the pub: another very special meal. There is one shower and one loo for men and the same for women but you can also use the pub loos which are just adjacent to the pub and seem to be left open at night. All were extremely clean and stylish. Would highly recommend and hope to go again soon.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LindaSandison 1 review from this member

We visited for a long bank holiday weekend with a large touring caravan. Access appeared tight but we managed without problem. The site is delightful, very small and informal. Pitch size is excellent and we were delighted to find we had our own water tap. Toilet facilities are small having one shower and one toilet in each of mens and ladies. They are however spotless, warm and spacious. The shower is a normal domestic one, as hot as you like without the need to keep your elbow on the button, bliss! We ate at the pub on Friday evening, outstanding meal and service. Amazing cider too! The pub hosted the church duck race while we were there and we were made very welcome, joining in with the activities. We will definitely be visiting again, a lovely, friendly and peaceful site having no phone signal we really relaxed and got away from everything. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cheltonian 2 reviews from this member

Great site, food, weather, walks BUT such a shame about the hygiene facilities which were well below what I expected, grubby, dank and rural. Whilst there a group of D of E participants stayed overnight along with supervisors. They ran amok over a pile of gravel and a digger taking selfies. I was woken at 06. 30 by the supervisors discussing the culprits of a fire started during the night, who snored the most and a review of a family cruise. I was disappointed by the standard of D of E participants, the supervisors and the campsite facilities. The site is currently undergoing pitch improvements for caravans/motorhomes etc. No water/electrics so check if finished. The campsite is overpowered by the yurts (2) if the site was full the facilities could not cope. Good news fee was reduced by 50% after complaint.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fortedeimarmi 1 review from this member

We stayed at The Bridge Inn for three nights recently, midweek. We were camping and had a lovely pitch up on the terrace. There were a few other tents there whilst we were staying, and a couple of caravans and motorhomes.

It is not a large camp site, but is a campsite attached to a pub(and a very good pub it is too!). There are pitches for 6 caravans or motorhomes, with electric hook-ups and a further 10 allocated pitches for tents, and facilities for overflow camping in a nearby field should it be needed. Dogs are welcome and there are very few rules and regulations, that you find on so many sites these days.

The toilets and showers have recently been refurbished to a high standard and are kept clean and tidy. There is plenty of hot water and good washing up facilities in a large sink outside the toilet and showers.

It is an idyllic place to stay, with the Escley Brook running alongside the pub and campsite, with plenty of places for children to get back to nature and have fun playing in an environment not spoilt by the usual children's playground!

The pub is a real gem too! A real country pub where locals and tourists are all welcome. It serves really excellent home-cooked food, without being pretentious in any way, with good real ales, local ciders and an excellent wine list. Then all you have to do is walk a few yards back to your tent or caravan!

This place is a real gem and speaking to some of the other people camping, we learnt that people love it so much that they return time after time because it is such a friendly and welcoming place - pub and campsite.

Should you not wish to camp, there is a Shepherd's Hut, which is very cosy and romantic, on the site, and the owners of the pub have also recently opened a B & B in a lovely 16th Century Farmhouse 100yds from the pub.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jakeo 2 reviews from this member

We camped here at the end of August with our extended family. It's a lovely setting with a very nice pub attached but the pub's success is the campsites downfall; at night the campsite essentially becomes an overspill car park for the pub. It was full by around 8pm but that didn't stop an endless procession of cars arriving and circling the site looking for a parking space. Then came kicking out time and the noise of several drunk punters staggering to their cars, firing up their engines and driving on home (it seems attitudes to drink driving are rather lax here!)

To make matters worse, the pitch we were given was on a raised verge, about 8 foot wide with a 6 foot sheer drop on one side. We were camping with a toddler so this was far from ideal.

For a young couple or group of friends looking to enjoy some hiking in the area, with a good meal and a few pints to round of the day, this site would be perfect, but anyone with young kids should give this a very wide berth.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MaryCliff 3 reviews from this member

We were attracted to this site by its tranquil location and the opportunity to have a good pub dinner, which we did. However, the tranquillity of the afternoon was spoilt by the fact that the camp site becomes part of the car park in the evening! We were the only campers there, what happens in the high season, especially if you have gone out for the day and cannot access your space on return?

The pub is obviously thriving, which is good, and the serving staff are excellent, but we felt that the 'camping' facilities were just easy money, and did not stay for our booked two nights. Being in a motorhome, the basic washroom facilities etc. , did not bother us, but tent dwellers would not be so easy to please. A pity as the off the beaten track location is so attractive.

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MrGreen 1 review from this member

Forget all of the reviews below with regards the management as they have been taken over since Dec2011.

Campsite is basic as they have concentrated all of their work in making the pub an outstanding place to go.

They are going to be looking at the campsite this year I believe and even though basic it is still a great place to stay.

They also have a Yurt for hire in this beautiful brook side valley location.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heidi+Paul 9 reviews from this member

We believe that the current owners may be leaving around August 2011 however.

We were excited at this delightful sounding site and booked ages ago, later ringing to change the booking to our family tent when we were told we would go on the top terrace which was for larger tents.

On arriving mid afternoon we seemed to take the pub staff by surprise who after much coming and going and explaining we were booked onto the top terrace; told us we could go on the top terrace if nobody else was and if not wherever. We ended up on the second terrace as the top one was full. A squeeze as identified as a space for 2man tents, thankfully we didn’t need electric hook up …great sun trap though!

Bathrooms lousy – flaking paint that sticks to you as you try to shower and dodge moths. Mens shower too small – other half got dried with door open and hoped nobody came in! Ladies toilets were blocked most of the week and had no loo roll. No signs of the bathrooms being cleaned, same cockroach in sink all week and finally no doors locked (thank goodness for our portaloo and body wipes)

No hot water except in the shower. One tap in middle of field not working so had to use one in the pub garden (not sure if we were allowed)

But lovely setting, kids could play safely in the stream. Great area with lots to do within an hours drive. The Red Kites souring in sky were a treat.

The pub had its own hours and seemed closed most of the time,after our arrival we never managed to catch it open, with us and other campers leaving having not seen any owners in the entire stay and pub customers coming onto the site to ask when the pub was open before leaving.

We have been camping a few times every summer for the last eight years and have never failed to meet a site manager or owner, experienced such dire bathrooms, or left a campsite without paying. We did this time.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sara82 1 review from this member

Myself and my fiance' camped at the Bridge Inn in Michaelchurch in August - what a beautiful place a cosy little campsite unlike others which to me seemed to be like busy housing estates. Basic but adequate facilities.
Fantastic pub where the owners couldn't do enough for us and the bar seemed to be open 24 hours with food available all day! for a small pub what a selection! Special from around the world plus a standard menu. If you ever go to the Bridge Inn the Mickey Pie is a must! it's mutton with, according to the chef, lots of secret ingredients!We stayed for 1 week and I had the pie 4 times I only drunk their excellent wines but my partner adored the real ales.
We returned in December, again excellent sitting around the wood burner having 1 of the chef combis.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2993 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977