Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of White Cross Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Windermere > White Cross Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts) Reviews

White Cross Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts)
Ambleside Road
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 1LF
Tel: 0330 123 4850
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 131
Open: 15th February - 2nd January 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 23 Reviews
                5/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (7)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: 4sters 5 reviews from this member

 Nice site, shame about the touring area! Think gravel car park, tightly packed so once we had unit and awning wasn't a space to sit outside. The log cabin and static area very much the key concern. The bar is very nice but pricey. Restaurant looked very nice but pricey, think cheapest dish was spag bol at £9. Pool was really nice, just the right temperature and clean. Toilet and shower block was fine and clean, tho the taps do knock you off your feet - trying to get a shave is erm interesting. Had some bother with huge gang of teenagers who's parents presumably own statics/caravans as marauded about like they owned place, must have been a dozen of them. Eg they thought throwing stones at our 1 yr old was funny, I caught them chucking younger kids off the play area. Security guard tried to tick them off but took no notice. As someone else said site had air of noone really being in charge. Nearly got knocked over by staff member whilst going to loo at night, he clearly thought he was clever doing a rally driver impression. I did not. 
The walk down to the shores of the lake is lovely and was a nice place to walk to at sunset. 
Nice just probably wont go again, only paid £48 for 4 nights during week. Just lacking something - lacking care or atmosphere or something. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MORAG 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site for a week this year in August. Shower block was smelly with no soap in the gents. My husband suffered the showers but those that know me will know that I am far to posh to even consider using them. Thankfully I have my own shower in my caravan. The pitches were on hard granite chippings which made it nearly impossible to knock in even rock hard pegs.  The bar, pool and restaurant were excellent. Due to the size of the pitches you have no choice but to get on with your neighbours. Unfortunately we had the terrible misfortune of meeting a family from Poole which very nearly ruined my husbands holiday (ha ha Di ), and there was a few beasts to be seen. Having said this we had a wonderful holiday mainly due to the people staying in our little encampment. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NeilS5595 1 review from this member

 We stayed at White Cross for two nights. I was surprised that the electric hook up or the swimming pool weren't included in the site fees. Shower block was dingy, one of the toilets was leaking water all over the floor. There is no door to the shower cubicle but a shower curtain. Restaurant was fantastic but a bit pricey.T here's definitely more attention to the log cabins than to the touring side of the park. Overall, a expensive and poor (touring) site. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TimStraw 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed at white cross bay for a week at spring bank. We stayed on a touring pitch. As a tourer you are definitely second class. Your stuck next to a very noisy road. The pitches are small and awnings are not allowed. Which was not on the web site when we booked. Which made conditions very cramped for a family of 4. The toilet block is run down. The swimming pool is lethal the tiles around the edge. Are very slippy and the pool is unsupervised. The gym is a joke I had to fix three of the machines just to use them. These wonderful facilities cost an extra £60 for the week. As does the electricity at a £1 a go. Windermere is a lovely place to stay. Take my advice if your touring stay some where else. 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jay-dee 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend. On arrival the overall look of the place is very nice indeed with a quick view of the bar area and pool from reception. The touring pitches are awful, on black gravel, very,very close together with allocated pitch numbers (on some) and electric points behind the numbers which require electric cards from reception. The shower block was a disgrace. Both the ladies and gents door code locks did not work, Very dark and dirty place. Laundarette next door very good. Noise from the nearby road is always in the back ground and quite loud at times. The pool area (which is why we picked this site instead of the fallbarrow) was spot on. Bar area and meals are excellent though a little expensive, but you get what you pay for. A tour around the site displayed some very nice lodges and static caravans in very nice well kept surroundings. Bowness was a ten minute drive away with everything you need for a great day out. A fantastic site, but the touring side of things are lagging way behind. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Michael parkins 2 reviews from this member

 This site is ideal for the walker. I use the site as a base I park up set up prepare then go walking all over. Some people have said that the site for caravans and campers is like a gravel car park. It may be but the facilities surrounding the area are close. The staff and visitors to the complex have been wonderful. I use the site as a base, I always bring my dog with me, the dog walks are excellent you can choose a couple of routes through the woods. I visited here last year for the first time. I have stayed twice this year. I`m planning on returning to tackle a few planned walks within the next few weeks. I recommend this site to anyone that uses it. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dannyboy13 1 review from this member

 This is the first time I have written any review for anything so I really have something to say. General point - most effort appeared to go in cleaning the bar and selling lodges rather than the upkeep of the park itself.

Good points
1. Pool and Bar area

Bad Points
1. Toilet facilities old and unclean while we were there and no toilet paper for 24 hours
2. Children's play area dirty and bordering on unsafe.
3. Waste area dirty - old waste tissue paper was left lying around for 2 days (at least?)
4. Nobody appeared to be in charge of the park. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rumensg 7 reviews from this member

 First of all we had a good stay at White Cross however there are lots of it that need improvement from the touring perspective.

Firstly it has a great bar and the food is excellent. We were attracted because of the pool and Sauna which are nice enough although the changing rooms/showers are small and would be grim at a busy period.

The touring area itself is by the road and it is fairly noisy (to be fair we were told this when booking), the pitches are very Tesco car park - there is no way you could get a tourer in at busy times wihtout pushing by hand!. We found the toilets clean although they only have shower curtains and no doors and nowhere to put you stuff in the cubical. The code system on the doors is annoying as you have to keep writing it down before going to the loo. Also no plugs in sinks and supersonic water pressure make wet shaving a bit 'its a knockout'.

One area that was disappointing was the staff, they didn't tell us that we needed an electric card when we checked in (simply a rip off), they said there were areal connection points on the pitches - there wern't.

Finally pricing at 100 pound for 4 nights including the additional pool costs (!) their charging Holgates prices which is a mis-match. Although to be fair the new manager is on site to rectify problems and he did refund our leisure card because we wern't told the Sauna was broke for all our stay.

Fallbarrow (in the same holiday group) is a better choice, no pool, but wihtin walking distance of Bowness, quieter, and better pitches.  


Date of Visit: March 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunseekers 5 reviews from this member

 Have stayed here many times our last visit was last week. The prices keep going up but the facilities for touring never get any better, we had to complain about dirty facilities. Electric is now on a pre-pay meter which adds more to the cost. We got snowed in and because they didn't grit on the site it was impossible to tow caravan off. AND they charged us £5 per night to leave 'van there till the snow thawed! The leisure facilities and bar etc are lovely but everything is pricey. The kids love this site, this is why we return but it gets less each year. 


Reviewer: Rene hustinx 1 review from this member

 July 2005
The campsite is very well equiped for static caravans and lodges. However for touring caravans the specific facilities are less than moderate. The pitches look like a parking lot (all gravel) with very less space to sit. With the traffic noise in the back you´ll not feel you´re on a campsite at all.  


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is White Cross Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does White Cross Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to White Cross Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is White Cross Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6240 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement