Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - White Cross Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

White Cross Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts)
Ambleside Road
Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 1LF
Tel: 0330 123 4850
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 1 March To 14 January

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 23 Reviews
                5/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Alitone 24 reviews from this member

White Cross Bay holiday Park has a few pitches for caravans and tourers but it is mostly focussed on static cararan hire and lodges. Has a large leisure centre and a good pub/ club.

Main down sides are --Price: quite expensive and noise its too near the main road to Windermere so lots of traffic noise.

You can walk to the lakeside to see a few boats and view the lake but its not the best place in Cumbria for walks from the site.

Its also linked to the Fallbarrow site in the centre Windermere which is a better site for being in the centre of things shops pub etc etc.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cariocaman 3 reviews from this member

First impression of site and locality very pleasing. Good facilities, play area, pool, bar, restaurant and shop. Unfortunately this was short lived and spoiled by the location of the touring pitch. Virtually roadside and with a work yard backing onto the pitch where I was located - not good. Noise from the main road and early morning skip lorries and general working vehicles could be heard 7.30am onwards, forget the lie in!

The toilet and shower block, whilst clean really could do with renovation, not to the standard expected. Oh beware of the basin taps, press and stand back, you will get soaked from the full on pressure!

In my opinion this site does not cater adequately for the motorhome, only 2 fresh water taps away from most plots and no motorhome service drain. A general complaint to management eventually led to an offer being made to re- site us for our 2 remaining nights at their sister site Fallbarrow in Bowness. This was a totally different experience. Choose Fallbarrow every time over White Cross is my advice, slightly dearer but well worth it and is located more conveniently to Bowness and Windermere

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elvirablack 9 reviews from this member

Great site nice location. Friendly helpful staff

My kids enjoyed the pool ect.

Showers smelly and dark no natural light, shower curtains mouldy.

Very nice log cabins near lake edge.

Garage mini-market close by, although site does have its own small shop.

Enjoyed our stay.Dogs and kids loved being next to the lake.

Would stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights here on our way to Scotland. Despite having screw in tent pegs we were unable to get our awning pegs to stay in as the pitches are all hardstanding (there is concrete under the gravel!) After complaining to the staff (who were very friendly) they let us pitch our pup tent (which we secured with the guy ropes tied to logs.!)

The good bits - location, right on the lake. Even our teenagers enjoyed feeding the ducks. It was very peaceful although most of the lodges seemed empty. Good shop, didn't use the pub, but the kids used the pool (although it cost us £10!)

The bad bits - the toilets stank. Whilst they were clean they were not of the standard that we expect for £26 per night. Another customer was complaining whilst I was there. They also ask you for a £20 deposit - for what????? No-one could explain what I was paying a deposit for, Got my money back but it seemed a bit odd.

Would I go back - definitely not in the campervan, but I would love to stay in one of the lodges with a hot tub overlooking the lake :)

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmybignuts 2 reviews from this member

This site isnít really set up for tourers. There are 10-15 spaces in total which are on the main road. Itís not that noisy but if you are looking for peace and quiet then go somewhere else.

Itís handy for a walk to Windermere which is about 2-3 miles away. We didnít really use the indoor facilities but they looked nice and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

I had food poisoning while staying here (nothing to do with site) so I spent a lot of time in the toilet block which is heated and clean enough.

Only one of the toilet stalls has a light. The other stalls didnít have blown bulbs or broken lights there were just no light fittings at all. As little natural light reaches the male shower block it makes having going for poo at 4am dingey affair.

The two stalls I used I had to push the door with my shoulder to close it. Something I know some of my family members would have struggled with. The shower block was exactly the same with doors and lighting.

This is an OK site but would have expected better toilet / shower facilities for £26 a night.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PoRL9 3 reviews from this member

You get the feeling that this site is now more interested in static caravans than touring.

There is nowhere to park while you go in and register (you'll need a £20 deposit), so you end up blocking the main drive because there really is nowhere else.

The touring pitch we were allocated was right next to the main road, tiny (not enough space for caravan + awning + car), and incredibly difficult to get the 'van in an out of (we saw a couple of guys unhitching their vans early, and pulling them the last 50m).

We found it impossible to put in pegs for the awning, so had to use some of the logs used as decorative borders to hold it down.

The bar - although nice - was expensive (six pounds for a pint and a large coke). The restaurant was good food, but similarly expensive. I do recommend the Lakeland breakfast, though!

We didn't use the pool or gym (£5 per person per day), so can't really comment.

Toilets were generally clean, but the showers were very small with nowhere to sit and the shower heads sent the water out in a blob, rather than a spray. My wife tells me that one of the toilet roll holders in the ladies wasn't filled for about three days!

Unfortunately, there was nobody 'policing' for noise, so you ended up putting up with a few late-night revellers on their way home. Speaking of police, a couple of bicycles were stolen while we were there, so make sure they're locked up ok!.

To summarise: a bit disappointing for the money.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 90 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at this site. We had a very enjoyable weekend and thought the site was in a lovely location with the Lake at the bottom. The good points were:-

Lovely complex with bar & restaurant, shop stocks most essentials.

Small amusement arcade.

Nice pool and gym.

Gorgeous location set within trees and streams running through.

Immaculate showers and toilets, and small launderette with iron & ironing board.

Kids play area and swings.

The bad points:-

Beware! pitches are very tight to get into, our friends damaged their van getting it out the space, we both have large twin axle vans!

They charge a fiver to go swimming for adults & £2.50 for kids,I think that's expensive to go for a swim, family of four £15, the pool is nothing special.

The restaurant and bar are also expensive, £3 a pint and a tenner for scampi & chips! the takeaway charged £6.50 for a burger & chips which again is expensive.

We walked to the Sun Hotel to catch the 599 bus into Bowness thinking it would be cheaper than parking, it cost us £9.20 return for 2 adults, our kids are under 5 so free, it would have cost less to park and we had to wait 20mins for a bus, it was a nice open top bus and the kids did enjoy it so it was worth it. We also got the boat from Bowness to Ambleside at the end of Windermere, the site gave us tokens for 10% discount off the boat, the trip is worth it.
All in all we would return to this site as its a fantastic location, however, I would request a pitch that is easier to get into especially if you have a large outfit. The lodges on the site are fabulous and if we won the lottery we would have one! 200k in our dreams???

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Porkpieman 3 reviews from this member

Lovely bar with a nice little arcade for the ankle biters who were also kept entertained by the small play area. Spotless showers and washing up facilities, although a bit of a trek from some parts of the park.

The scenery as you would expect is beautiful and there are a number of walks, long and short, to be had. Just walking round the park and having a nosey at the log cabins and other areas was rewarding.

We didn't encounter any noise at night and found the weekend nice and relaxing.

Not the cheapest,but worth the money though a motor mover might be needed to position your tourer in the foot deep gravel on the pitches.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ANGIE WILLIAMS 4 reviews from this member

Would not recommend this site for touring caravans.

Although it is in a nice location along side the lake, the touring caravans are on the edge along side the main road which is quite noisy. It is almost impossible to get in to the pitched with most people having to unhook their caravans to get around bends edged in logs and boulders. The pitches are tiny and made of ďrockĒ making it extremely difficult to put an awning up. They are so close together you can hear everything from the next caravan. The one next to us had 2 families with 3 children who started running around at 7.Ooam in the morning !

The restaurant was very nice if you were looking for something a bit special which we were as it was our honeymoon !

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pac1974 11 reviews from this member

Ok site. The touring area is very tight I have a 19ft van plus pulling it with a discovery it was very very tightw hen you are trying to back in and miss the big stone blocks which they place all over. When you come to put your awning up your a putting your pegs into stone - you need the screw in type. You have to pay £20 deposit for the key numbers for the showers and toilets which where dirty when we got there

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2273 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!