Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Disserth Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Disserth Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Disserth Caravan & Camping Park
Disserth
Howey
Llandrindod Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 6NL
Tel: 01597 860277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bryn hafod 13 reviews from this member

 Total stay: 10 nights.

This is an excellent site, quiet, a real hideaway. Next door to Disserth Church which is well worth a visit.

Facilities very good.

Owners very helpful and welcoming.

This is going to a site we will regularly use.

Llandridnod has Coop and Aldi, plus smaller local shops.Small Friday market. Tesco will open in September.

Short walks from the site, some not clearly marked as rights of way. Easy drive to Builth Wells and to the Elan Valley. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiggr 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from this site having spent the weekend in Llandrindod Wells watching the U25's British Isles Series for lawn green bowls.

The site is very easy to find heading out of Llandrindod towards Howey. Just passed Howey it is signposted to the right.

The site is clean, well laid out and very welcoming. The toilet block is very good and water point and hook ups are in abundance.

We only stopped for one Saturday night in a tent with no hook up but found the whole weekend a great experience enhanced by the small bar thus no driving.

Would definitely return but would hope to stop for longer next time in our caravan.

The only constructive criticism would be that we only had a very small throw up tent for my wife, my son and I and found the £18 fee just a bit out of touch with some of the other places we have stayed at for tents, considering this was September. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Javiermi 2 reviews from this member

 Very lovely, well organised camping

Price was a bit more expensive than other campings ( £14 for a tent), but the facilities compensated for it

There were 5 bathrooms( shower + toilet), 3 simple toilets and a drying hair room

Also available washing machine/dryer and washout facilities

As is it is located in the middle of the country side, it is one of the quietest camping we have been to 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pmc7070 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed at the site just after a particularly heavy rainy spell. This made the ground extremely boggy, which although annoying didn't stop us really enjoying ourselves. The site is really very good, lying between to the river Ithon and an old church which I can't remember the name of. If you like your churches then please visit this one, really old with plenty of character.
The toilets are excellent, we booked the private one for an extra fiver a night (worth it) and they were kept extremely clean. The pot wash facility was just adequate as the hot water came from the taps very slowly.
Mick, the site owner was very friendly and didn't hesitate to stop for a chat, he doubled as the barman at night in the onsite bar, again very good. The surrounding area was spectacular, if you travel to Aberystwyth then take the mountain road via the Elan Valley - stunning countryside with ample history on the way. Llandindrod Wells was very quaint, and included the National Cycle Museum. Also at this time of year there's a Victorian Week, when all types of people descend on the town for festivities.
All in all great site and a great area. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simon + Stacey 6 reviews from this member

 Went to this site as part of an organised motorcycle event and can't praise it enough. Arrived mid morning after 180 mile journey and Mike showed me the area which had been set aside for the bike rally.
Pitched up and took a stroll around the site while waiting for more people to arrive. Very scenic, quiet, and a very pleasent place to stay. There's a small bar with drink prices which are cheaper than my local pub, a Welsh cask ale which I have never tried and can highly reccommend, although maybe not in the same qauntaties which I was drinking it. The bar also has a wide range of whisky; again, moderation is probably the key word, but hey, it was a biker weekend; lol. Breakfast was provided for us, although I'm not sure if the site usually lay on catering so you may want to check this with the site rather than assuming it will be available. The food was very good value, although I did wonder if the pet pig was a back-up in case they ran out of bacon.
The toilets and showers are the best I have ever seen in over 20 years of camping, with cubicles containing shower, basin and toilet, plus separate toilets, disabled access, and even a shower unit which can be booked on a daily basis for sole use. The local area is very scenic, although if you want to visit any pubs you will need to drive as there is nothing much within walking distance. I did pass some of our group braving the up-hill walk to the nearest pub and happily waved as I passed them, so I suppose someone of relative fitness could walk to the nearest pub, but hills need engines in my opinion.
For those wanting a beach we found one at Aberystwyth which is about an hour away, but would not reccommend it and suggest checking the map for other beaches. All in all a great site in a fantastic scenic location, clean, tidy, well run, and well worth a visit. I'm already planning a return visit, although not as a large group this time, and I think the general opinion of the bike club is that we may well return as a group next summer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PillingerA 4 reviews from this member

 The Campsite facilities were A1, although we didn't really use them.

We found the whole site lovely and peaceful, a real 'get away from it all' campsite.

We loved the animals and couldn't find one thing to complain about, highly recommended site! 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KwakaFB 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here as a group and found the site to be in a fantastic location next to the river.
The layout of the pitches in a circle was fantastic although we were squeezed in. We filled up the site completely, I remember the owner saying he was turning people away.
Some of our group were noisy talking late in to the night but they were more respectful the next day, tired I think! Nothing was said to anyone as far as I know the next day.

We had a great breakfast for the time we were there which we booked the previous day. It was great to be all together having breakfast with your mates.
The facilities are really very good, with a shower, toilet and basin in each cubicle. You can even book one of these for your self, like having an ensuite toilet to yourself! Despite the number of people there, there was no queuing at all.
So overall an excellent site and one that I will be returning to. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harry Bongo 12 reviews from this member

 As said before.A real gem.
Well drained despite torrential rain and river adjacent.
Toilet/Bathroom facilities the best we've ever experienced in 40+ years camping.
Lovely and quiet during our stay but had been chaotic over the previous weekend due to DofE parties on their last night soaked and wet.
Nearby Drovers Inn is an excellent Thai restaurant.

Definitely somewhere to return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snafu 10 reviews from this member

 Just to echo what others have said, This is a real gem. Nice walks and a very clean and well planned site. A little bit out of the way with local amenities a drive rather than a walk away but the on site bar is excellent and provisions are available from the site shop. Owners can not do enough to help. Highly recommended. Looking forwards to going back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susan + Ian 10 reviews from this member

 Stumbled onto this site by off chance when driving past and found it to be a little hidden gem. It's a family run site and the owners can't do enough for you. The showers are based on a bathroom layout with toilet and sink in rooms alongside the shower. Much nicer that way and with extra toilets separate, we never had to wait. All pitches are grass and flat with a river running alongside. No shop on site but there is a bar and tv room with a shop and chippy only 5 mins in the car.Very good site for exploring the area and spent a lovely day at Elan Valley dams and Llandrindod Wells. Will definitely be going back, it was thoroughly enjoyable. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Disserth Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Disserth Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llandrindod Wells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4967 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement