Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Disserth Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Disserth Caravan & Camping Park > Reviews

Disserth Caravan & Camping Park
Disserth
Howey
Llandrindod Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD1 6NL
Tel: 01597 860277
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs E 43 reviews from this member

 We booked 6 nights over the Easter break. Disserth is a really well maintained campsite with privately owned static caravans overlooking the River Ithon and a small touring area with gravelled hardstandings and grass pitches. I was really glad I'd chosen hardstanding given the unpredictable and wet Welsh weather!

The washblock was kept extremely clean and I think there were 8 individual rooms containing a shower with adjustable temperature (fab), toilet and sink.

There is also an on site Bar but we didn't visit this but plan to on a return visit.

There is also a tiny church (St. Cewydd's) bordering the campsite.

You do need a car to get around as the site is rural but it has the advantage of being peaceful. My husband also saw red kites over the campsite on one day.

The owner kindly agreed a late stay for us on our departure day which was really appreciated. It allowed us time for our awning to dry out and due to an issue with the pop top on our campervan, to secure this before leaving the site. We hope to return in the near future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: GermanCaravaner 2 reviews from this member

 Beautifully situated place, park-like area, but still supermarkets and shops in LLandrindod Wells only 6 km away.

I had sewage disposal and fresh water with a hose connection at my pitch - very convenient.

Ideal starting point for tours in Wales, as it is centrally located.

Private bathrooms available. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Xbob 4 reviews from this member

 In Fairness, the site is clean, well maintained and pleasant.

The downside for me was the attitude of the owner who showed me a gravel pitch for a drive away awning?

He didn't seem to take on board the difficulty of working single-handed with an awning that had broken its keder fixing.

There was a lot of misunderstanding and very little humour or accommodation.

It's a shame the owner wasn't more welcoming. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kimdav 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely clean site & a welcome too, very friendly people who were looking after things while the owner was away, a quiet site (touring side)

Thereís also lots of static vans there too, very dark by night so Iíd say take a torch with you in case you go out in the night time.

A small clean site, the toilets were situated in the shower room with small wash basin & fabulous shower.

Donít forget to go for a walk to the small church right next to it, thereís a fascinating small history book there (put some money in the box £2. 50)

We took a 7. 6m motorhome & a small tow car, no problems. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Susiex 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed in the Shepherds hut. What a lovely, clean, quiet site.

The owners, Mike and Ann are really friendly, and very, very helpful.

The hut has its own allocated bathroom, with shower, basin and toilet, and you have the key, so other people don't use it.

I did find the bed a bit uncomfortable, but that's my personal preference. It wasn't for my partner!

A lovely few days away. Thank you 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SerenTheDog 1 review from this member

 My partner and I are relatively new to campsites and fear we have been ruined by lucking into such an excellently run, idyllically set site that our campsite experiences, from now, will forever fall short of Disserths perfection.

Desperate to escape from London post lockdown we knew accommodation would be hard to find, throw in the fact it needed to be dog friendly and preferably near water and unsurprisingly we found scant availability, until fortuitous timing ended our exhaustive search on The Shepherds Hut at a small campsite in Disserth Wales. I called in hope and spoke to Ann on the phone who is instantly friendly, completely informed and conveys a genuine feeling that your holiday is her concern. To that end, after confirming availability Ann and Mike then went to the trouble of providing a freezer when I sounded dismayed at the thought of Gin and Tonic without ice! (They do usually have fridges available in a common area but C-19 safety currently prohibits their use. ).

We arrived Saturday morning and were greeted with huge smiles by Ann and Mike and shown around. The site grounds have the landscaped look of an American golf course, the grass is the right length and impossibly green, the access roads are set with grey stone chips that seem not to dare invade the grass and the trees within and without the site are a myriad of greens, lush with the beauty of Wales. All of this wonder is set against the soundtrack of the River Irfon which gushes, babbles and sometimes rages along the side of the site with access for fishing, watching or even paddling.

The Shepherds Hut is well appointed, with a sofa that becomes the bed. Because this is a rental hut the bed/sofa is PVC covered so a mattress topper comes in very handy if you are prone to sweat when sleeping on a non-breathable materiel. Also we were greedy and stayed for six nights whereas I would only really recommend the bed for three, bring a futon if staying longer. The best part of the hut is the outside porch area, it backs on to a hedgerow full of birds with two occasional horses on the other side, there is a cooking area and a lovely place to eat whatever the weather.

This is a dog friendly site, and cat friendly and people friendly, so people friendly, from the owners of the static vans to the one night respites, everyone, everyone, smiled and as my partner pointed out in Disserth they smile with their mouths AND their eyes.

All the above plus a fourteenth century church, the Kites (donít forget the Kites!) and an excellent village just a couple of miles away. Oh and on the third morning I found a large and deliciously edible puffball mushroom eight feet from the Shepherds Hut.

Do your mind a favour and whether passing or making it your destination, experience the wonderful welcome and fabulous expression of nature that is The Disserth Camping and Caravan Site. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cathyshaw 3 reviews from this member

 What a super little site which is a mixture of statics, hardstanding and grass pitches for tents, caravans and motorhomes. Set down at the bottom of a steep lane nestling in the valley next to a lovely stream. Friendly owners who took us direct to our pitch and gave us the choice of two.

Very dog friendly with 2 large fields for them to roam off-leash.

Sadly the shower and toilet blocks were closed for public use (they were allowing families to hire out privately, but none left for us to have), so we were reliant on our own self-contained facilities. Bar also closed due to current covid restrictions, but did not bother us. Plenty of local walks.

Absolutely beautiful site - very peaceful and idyllic - we would not hesitate to return there, and probably will next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Georget64 41 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover, and found a very nice site. We had a hardstanding pitch, with electric and water/waste disposal.

We could not get TV but we we were able to access via our own portable WIFI. Situated just off the A470 outside of Llandrindod Wells, we will certainly use this site again. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Excel of malvern 3 reviews from this member

 Always use this site, tranquil, clean & they work very hard to keep it looking as natural as possible, I find it funny reading the reviews, some people should just stay at home, if it rains it must be the owners fault 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LakesMum 2 reviews from this member

 An overnight stop en route from Cumbria to Pembrokeshire. A lovely little campsite with everything we needed. Friendly welcome from the the owners. Nice and peaceful location. Showers and toilets were really clean. Useful kitchenette with a kettle and microwave too. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Disserth Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Disserth Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llandrindod Wells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57610 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement