Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest Gate

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Huntley > Forest Gate Reviews

Forest Gate
Forest Gate
Huntley
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL19 3EU
Tel: 01452 831192
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Waterbabe55 1 review from this member

 The site is well situated and in lots of ways an ideal site. You are welcomed at the gate where a small shop and reception are situated. A pleasant site with plenty of taps and bins. The toilets and shower were clean and included a SMALL washing up area (luckily we did not need to use it.But imagine if there were a few tents on site a queue would soon accumulate!)

Downside

Lots of fruit trees and hence LOTS of wasps!

Also although Mrs Forest Gate was very friendly and offered tips on walks etc Mr Forest Gate had a different attitude and what seemed a warm welcome at the gate soon turned into what seemed more like surveillance! He sits in or outside the reception most of the time keeping an eye on everything, making sure none of the many rules and regulations are broken! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coolcampers 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here the bank holiday at Easter. The weather was great so this always helps in the enjoyment of a site.

In terms of facilities this site is pretty limited. Small shop with a few basic items. Not much else. The site is very pleasant, small and wasn't too busy for a b/h. We had a private pitch and were most happy with it. The road noise wasn't that intrusive but was present. The owner was a bit on the fussy side, but this didn't bother us too much as we didn't have kids.

The biggest complaint I have with the site is the toilet/shower block. It was pretty basic. The is only one male shower, two in the ladies I believe. The water was always hot and available. It was always clean, but just wasn't that nice. If this area was rectified it could be a pleasant little site. I would visit again for a night or two if I were in the area, but it isn't somewhere I would spend a week at 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SKIDDERWOLF 2 reviews from this member

 First of all what a fantastic site! Situated right on the edge of the forest of Dean. The site is actually the gardens of an old house and it is a wonderful setting. Arrived just after 12.00 on the saturday after a leisurely drive from the midlands.
After confirming who I was I was shown 3 pitches that were available to me all were in good spots. First impressions - well although the site got quite full there was no real noise no radios or tv's blaring out the few dogs onsite were generally quiet and if they did bark their owners would quickly tell them to be quiet I got the impression that the site was really well policed.
The shower block was housed in an old outbuilding that was right in keeping with the place there was one shower and three cubicles all was clean and smelt fresh. Yes there were queues but do what we did either have a shower last thing at night or get up earlier in the morning. Chemical empty point was a manhole cover that had to be lifted off. A novel touch I thought and a hose was provided to "rinse".
Would I go again? Yes most definitley we had two children with us and there is a ton of things to do around the local area also the small log cabin on site had a lot of tourist attraction leaflets to perouse. One other plus and it is a big one if you arrive after 12.00 then you can leave at 17.00 on the day of departure which effectively gives you another day to the stay - wonderful. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PoliteEngineer 7 reviews from this member

 Our first time camping away from Scouts was at this site and all in all we had a pleasant time.  The site is basically the garden of a Victorian house , so not too big but the owner does not squash you in, so our daughter had space to play. 
That said we were camping with friends and we were in two plots in the corner, so had to be creative on how we pitched our tents so we could enjoy our time together. The toilet / washing up facilities are acceptable albeit a bit basic, although clean hand towels are provided! 
The office has a very small selection of essential items and will refreeze freezer blocks if needed.  The site is next to an A class road, so road noise can be an issue.  We had no other noise issues, even though there were other children and dogs on the site.   
The site is located in the small town of Huntley which has a few shops in it, including an excellent Butcher and a good pub and offers relatively easy access to the northeast side of the Forest of Dean. 
I would not make a special trip back to this site, but would be happy to use it again if we wanted a site in that area 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tentpegjenny 5 reviews from this member

 Bsp;Set in a beautifully kept old Victorian Garden and even on a busy bank holiday we felt we had space. The owners clearly work incredibly hard to keep things so beautifully. The facilities are adequate although the washing up facilities are on the primitive side but they are very central.

There is a bed and breakfast in the house and you can book breakfast if they have space if you wish…. DO SO the breakfast is quite simply the best one I have ever had at a bed and breakfast.

They have very clear rules on noise and enforce them, this is a peaceful site. 11pm to 8 am is ‘shsh’. A chain is put across the entrance to the campsite at 11 pm on the dot at night and there is no driving on the campsite. This is not the site if you want a late night party.

The policy on dogs is strict because they have had problems. Dogs are by arrangement only and there are clear guidelines which are common to most campsites, the difference is they are enforced. They do not tolerate barking dogs, thank god I say, there is nothing more irritating.

We did not have children in our party but a number around playing happily and families were happy with the site. The one thing I would say is that if children became disruptive I think the owners would intervene before people complained, they like a peaceful site.

The road is busy and is a pain. It was not too noticeable once you were on the site but it is a negative. I did find it a bit on the pricey side because 3 of us were staying in one unit and they charge per person not by unit. However if you were staying on your own it would be cheap. I found the owners helpful and friendly. Mr Forest Gate, is ex-forces and so he is quite ‘direct’ in manner and likes to follow the rules. Example refused full payment before arrival because that is not the routine, it is done on arrival before you pitch. Don’t let this put you off he is actually very straightforward and helpful also has great wit, he just does not do tact. Mrs Forest Gate is simply a lovely lady.

The group of campers staying on the site were absolutely lovely. Very friendly and helpful and the children were a pleasure to be around. Yes I will be staying again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: 2000emilyrose 7 reviews from this member

 Having read the review from Easter visits I was dubious about what to expect when I booked this at the last minute for the May day weekend. We were pleasantly surprised. We were warmly welcomed, offered a choice of pitches. Our children played happily on the small play equipment along with other campers. Although basic the facilities were clean. All in all the site was everything it claimed to be and we had a lovely break.
 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LISAT 1 review from this member

 Myself and my husband booked Forest Gate as this was one of the only campsites in the area that still had spaces for the bank holiday weekend. We arrived on the Friday afternoon and were very happy with the location of the site. We were met by the owner who immediately informed us, very abruptly, that our two pet dogs must remain on leads at all times as he did not like dogs. We had every intention of keeping them on leads, but were a little upset by the remark regarding his dislike for dogs, as we had been previously informed that dogs were welcome.

Never the less,we enjoyed two lovely days out walking with the dogs and were only actually back at the site from about 6pm, when we sat outside and enjoyed the evening whilst cooking food on the BBQ. During this time the dogs were tied up and occasionally barked if something caught their attention or another dog barked on the otherside of the campsite. At 10pm the dogs were secured in the vehicle and we went to bed. During the night there was no noise from us or the dogs as we respected the 'no noise after 11.30 and before 08.30' policy.

However on the last evening out of our 3 night stay, we were very rudely told that it was not acceptable for our dogs to be making ANY noise at all, day or night! This obviously distressd my husband and I as we are great animal lovers and it appeared that although dogs are said to be welcome, if they actually show any characteristics of being dogs, they are actually not! Due to the 'telling off' we recieved we spoke to our neighbours and checked that the dogs were not causing problems to them. Both sides told us this was not the case. In fact one of our neighbours informed us that there 12 year old boy had also had a 'telling off' for playing with a tennis ball on his own! 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Brogueboys 2 reviews from this member

 A very nice small site, close to the royal Forest of Dean. The owners are very helpful with advice on directions and show you this on a map. Bread, papers, and hot bagettes need to be ordered the night before for the next morning. On arrival we were told that there are 2 rules, no bar-b-q's on the ground and no vehicles on or off site between 11.00 pm - 8.00 am. We were shown to a field that had one tent pitched and told there were some of their friends arriving later so we should pitch in the main garden area.

As stated by other people the washing up facilities are pretty poor, you do need a seperate wash up room. The lady of the house is lovely, but her husband can be a little abrupt ( due to being a retired sqaudron leader and a mason ?) I was told off because my 7 year old nephew was playing on his own with a sponge football in an area of 80 feet by 80 feet approx, and was told this could cause a lot of damage so stop it now, OK ! I apologised and made my nephew put the ball in the car, but it seemed ok for his (friends, fellow masons ?) in the first field to play football ( a leather one ) and cricket, plus playing loud music until gone midnight as they set up their tent after arriving on site at 11.20pm

As we were packing up I noticed him telling other campers as they were leaving that he hoped to see them again, but when I went to say goodbye and inform him that I had enjoyed my stay, he said, ok, goodbye, and closed the door. Very rude, if he doesn't like children then he should say so on the website. I will not return to this site, unless his wife divorces him and she keeps the house. 


Date of Visit: May 2005
Reviewer: Takisawa 16 reviews from this member

 Small site, set in the grounds of an old rectory. Very pretty, well kept grounds, but quite noisy because its on a very busy road junction. Relatively flat site, but can be awkward to get in and out of with a large caravan. Very dark at night. Facilities are very basic, in fact quite poor. 1 block of facilities within what can only be described as a run down shed. Facilities comprise 3 toilet cubicles and a 1 shower in each of the men's and ladies. No heating or niceties. Washing up facilities consist of an old wobbly metal frame and a bowl. They are kept clean(ish), but considering the price its not very good value if you are a camper. Shower is free, but is not very powerful, and is cold being right beside the door with just a mouldy old curtain to cover you and your bits...!

Plenty of electric hook ups, but the boxes are very old and a separate breaker is essential. Water tap next to most pitches. Site seems to have a few "regulars" so the best spots are always taken. Chemical toilet disposal involves lifting a manhole cover...! We enjoyed our stay, but will find somewhere with nicer facilities next time. 


Reviewer: Chatty 8 reviews from this member

 31st July 2004 - 1st August 2004
Spent a very pleasant 2 nights here. Next to A40 so traffic noise but as we live near the M1 didn't notice this!! Ground is very hard in places so recommend heavy duty tent pegs and a strong arm to bang them in!!! Facilities are fine and clean, the showers are free (can't be bad). Small shop within the house sells all necessities.
This weekend was the busiest they had ever been apparently so there were a few (very) noisy kids but again as it was the first decent weekend of the school hols this was to be expected. However the owners are very strict about noise, none between 11.30 - 7am. They come out and walk round at this time and will tell anyone who is making any to be quiet. Also they don't accept single sex groups.
The setting is very beautiful and I would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Forest Gate child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forest Gate?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Forest Gate dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Huntley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1311 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement