Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Forest Gate

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Site Reviews

Forest Gate
Forest Gate
Huntley
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL19 3EU
Tel: 01452 831192
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nina F 1 review from this member

Just back from a lovely weekend camping with my family. What a wonderful place to stay! The owners were very welcoming, the camp site was quaint English, rustic but very clean. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Birthdayboy60 8 reviews from this member

Small site, very friendly, but sometimes reception unmanned and no response to bell. Pitches in a small field with mature trees and hook up. We visited after heavy rain and found drainage could be better - they offered to tow us out if we got stuck, but not needed !

Toilets and showers very basic, only 1 shower each for M&F, so did have to wait, however facilities adequate. Nothing else on site but village Pub about 10 mins walk away. We visited for weekend only but would have been happy to stay longer.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kellvision 1 review from this member

Stayed for 2 nights over Easter Bank Holiday weekend. The site wasn't very full which was nice. The site is very pretty and we got a quiet, sheltered pitch away from the few other campers. The site is well organised. The lady owner greeted us and gave us directions for some good places to eat as well as local attractions. We ate at 2 of her recommendations and they were great. The toilets and shower were really clean. The only downside for us was the road noise. We didn't notice it during the day but it was too loud for us at night. We prefer really quiet sites so for this reason alone, perhaps wouldn't stay there again. If you're in a caravan it probably wouldn't bother you. Beautiful site overall.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joy buckley 6 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site. A warm welcome and we were allowed to choose where we pitched tent. Facilities clean but rustic as quoted by owner. They were very clean and easily usable. Camped for a week with friends and found it central for Forest of Dean and wye valley. We had a great stay.

Had some play things on the site for children.

Site is sheltered and great to see bats and hear owls.

As other reviews have said it is on a very busy main road junction but if you not that bothered it a lovely place to stay. We were lucky and had a few days of quiet as road was closed due to emergency water works, but the noise did not bother us.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elddis Xplorer 5 reviews from this member

Easy to find on the main A40 between Gloucester and Ross on Wye, this lovely site is in the grounds of an Impressive Victorian rectory.

We were greeted by the friendly owner who gave us a tour of the site and pointed out the merits of various pitches. We settled for one on the perimeter under a mature pine tree with fabulous views of the Forest of Dean beyond.

The site is well-serviced with EHUs to all pitches, and regular water points and refuse bins. Good to see full recycling facilities as well which are often disappointingly absent on larger sites. The showers and toilets are housed in a period outbuilding and could be described as 'rustic'. The toilets and showers are perfectly clean and serviceable, but just wonder if the overall impression might be improved by a little investment in plastering the walls and tiling the floors. But it really didn't detract from our enjoyment of this site.

Would highly recommend and hope to return again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tally walker 2 reviews from this member

Great location for exploring the forest of dean,

Very nice site quiet and peaceful, toilets and showers very basic. Nice village pub with friendly locals about 100 yrds down the road,

We used the site for just 1 night as we had a wedding to attend in the village. The site was very easy to find situated on the A40 about 16 miles outside ross on wye. The village pub did home cooked food with a very large selection on the menu

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dryac 4 reviews from this member

Very accommodating people.

Lovely clean site.

We have stayed a few times and won't hesitate to return at any point in the future.

Camped with friends - motorhome and tent.

Ice packs were refrozen but this was a rather slow process.

The tree on the site are beautiful and there is an abundance of wild birds if your into nature.

All agree it is a good place to use to explore the Forrest of Dean area.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BRhule 11 reviews from this member

This is a really lovely site! Peace and quiet to be had - the only noise you hear most of the time is the birds (we also heard the owl which was lovely).

The showers aren't the best, not very powerful and in an outside block which is cold when you get out. We were recommended to visit Mallard's Pike by the owner and it was fabulous well worth a visit for a walk around the pond and forest trail.

The steam railway is also good. We visited Ross on Wye and Tewkesbury which were nice. I would definitely recommend this site for peaceful break.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Snortyhog 1 review from this member

A small and very well kept site in the grounds of an impressive Victorian house. Despite being close to the main road we hardly noticed it - in fact the owl on our last night made more noise than anything else! The owners are delightful and took the time to chat with us. I would not really recommend this site if you have children as it may be a bit too peaceful for most. The loos and shower (male) are basic but very very clean and fit in well with the whole ambience. If you want to shower go in the daylight as there is not much light in the male shower. We will be returning for another stay soon.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spikey_fridge 2 reviews from this member

Pleasant large garden area with bushes and trees. Lots of space for tents and caravans. The owner walked around and pointed out advantages as to where I pitched.

Toilets and shower (one) were adequate with washing up facilities provided ie bowls, detergent and towel.

Owner very friendly and little shop in reception handy for basics.

The only drawback is its very close to the busy A40 so loud with ongoing traffic nearly 24/7.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3541 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019