Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Summer Lodge Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Summer Lodge Holiday Park > Reviews

Summer Lodge Holiday Park
Whitecross
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4LW
Tel: 01726 860 415
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Holiday Homes Only
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 22 Reviews
                6/10 from 22 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oddball 2 reviews from this member

 Booked our summer break late this year, and summer lodge was the only site we could get booked on to. The brochure looked fab, and with 4 children to keep occupied, we were looking forward to a great 2 weeks. I agree with previous comments, about the site looking like a building site, when you arrive, but we didn't let that deter us. What you have at summer lodge is a gem of a site, quiet and lots of space, but that's it. The pool was freezing, and unkempt. 2 portaloos, was not enough to cope with the number of campers. On a positive note it was cheap enough to camp. The staff were friendly and pleasant a big hit with our kids 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Drbones 8 reviews from this member

 The signs were not good as we approached this site; the entrance looked like a building site and unfortunately, things did not improve much. The website promised two heated swimming pools, crazy golf, launderette and fantastic entertainment. The reality, however, was something quite different.

Neither of the pools was heated and one was barely a swimming pool at all, more like a paddling pool. In the launderette, two out of three machines were out of order and the crazy golf was far from crazy. As for the entertainment, while the clubhouse boasts two bars which are in quite good condition, the live entertainment itself (although the performers were enthusiastic) was woeful to the point of embarrassment.

Our accommodation was supposed to be four-star but if it was, I would not like to see the three-star version. Anything that was not already broken when we arrived, pretty much broke as soon as you touched it; this included door handles, lights etc. Broken lock on the toilet door, only one exterior door opened, mildew on the blinds and just really run down. It was supposed to be a six berth van but there were only three dinner plates and two small saucepans so you could not possibly have catered for six; we struggled to cook for three! They give you a microwave, but no microwavable dishes and not even a frying pan.

To be fair to the park, it feels that they are possibly trying to turn a corner and perhaps things will improve but they have a long way to go. The whole place is just really run down and unloved and they will need to sell a lot of statics to raise sufficient funds to turn things around. The staff were friendly, so top marks there, and the site is reasonably well placed for Newquay being about a 20 minute drive away and on the main bus route. There is a Morrisons supermarket just down the road which is useful and the view from the park is lovely.

If you are just looking for a base to sleep at and spend all your time out and about (as we were) then this would probably be an ok site, if you could get a cheap deal (as we did). If, however, you are looking for a site that will cater for a family’s needs and you pay the full price, I think you will be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Chris70 1 review from this member

 After a great holiday here last year the kids begged us to take them again this year along with a few friends. 10 of us in a trailer tent.

A new family had taken over last year and I was looking forward to seeing what improvements had been made, unfortunately there were very few.

There is a great new play area for the smaller kids but the camping toilet block is still potacabin temporary ones and for so many pitches 2 toilets and 3 showers is not enough. The better block at the other end of the site had no hot water or lights so there was no back up but they are trying to get them fixed up. The shop is handy but mostly we walked across the road to the other camp site where the shop is better stocked and does phone top-ups.
The village of Quintrell Downs is a short drive with a pub and shop that does the lottery and further down the road is a large, busy, Morrisons and Lidls. The road into Newquay gets busy so its best to go early especially when the surfing comp is on.

The staff are the best and considering how wet the holiday was they had to put up with a lot of miserable people complaining, but they were always friendly and up for a laugh.

There is a lack of things to do on wet days and we found out too late that we could have gone into the games room over the road at white acres. They don't do the teenage club anymore which is a shame and the climbing wall is broken but they still have the crazy golf and outdoor pool. The entertainment and disco in the evening made up for the wet days and we all had a brilliant time.

The surrounding area is beautiful and I loved waking to the sight of windmills in the morning, when it was clear enough to see them.

I might give it a miss next year, the weather was rubbish, but as soon as I find out there are better toilets and showers and that we will have a hot summer,I will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thoms9195 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for 2 weeks, very disappointing, shop is small and does not stock much variety, cafe only open 12-2 and 5-9 not much on offer. There are 2 toilets, and 3 showers

Which are portacabins they are cleaned once a day and are always dirty. Pitches are on slopes,

The club was noisy, music loud until 1 am 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Amandawilliams 8 reviews from this member

 Just got back from summer lodge. Site 5 miles from newquay. Just off main newquay road. Never heard any traffic though very peaceful during day. Train track runs along side of the site. But you can hardly hear the trains. There is a beautiful view of open countryside and the wind turbines in the distance. Morrisons just 2.5 miles away and is very popular. Coop in nearby village.

Site has an outdoor pool. Must be heated because people where using it in cooler, wetter weather. Site has a shop that sells food essentials, but no newspapers. There is a diner with a takeaway. But you have to order your food and return later as everything is cooked fresh.
The owners have just spent £60,000 on a new play area for the kids. There is a club on site. It stays open until late, depending how busy it gets. During our first week, the club shut at 11.30 and it was so quiet. It could have been the perfect site. But the second week, the club was heaving most nights, so remained open until 1.30am all week. Which did cause a few problems around the site with drunks.

The new owners are in the process of doing up the site. There is a new camping site. Didn't check out the facilities there. But it is a big site.

It will be fantastic when it is finished. However they could do with spending money on security for night times. (there are signs saying security, but they only patrol out of season) its a lovely drive into newquay from the site through countryside. There is a post office and village shop and pub that serves food(didnt try the food though)in quintrell downs which is the next village along. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lubb+lubb 1 review from this member

 This was our 4th stay at this site and we are going back in August.

The pitches are quite large, enough space for 8man tent 3 man pup tent and large gazebo oh and the car.

Staff were and always have been very friendly and helpful, site is clean as are shower blocks and toilets. Entertainment is excellent, our children are now 15, 9 and 6 and they all love it here. Our pitch was on a level as is most of the site some are on a slight slope but nothing t worry about.

We cant wait to go back. Have no complaints aboutthis site. Great for everyone, we have stayed with and without out kids and have always enjoyed our stay. Great compititons.We won a holiday on our last stay! 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Vicky24 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here with the sun holidays. We had the choice of upgrading our static to a 2007 one and it was beautiful. The site entertainment was fab for kids and adults. It was quiet here when we went but still lots to do.Very helpful staff. Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: NICHALFORD 11 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site what more can I say. Surrounded by beautiful scenery-from the back anyway, big outdoor pool overlooks fields not a road in sight from the site. On site cafe, shop, very good clubhouse with nightly entertainment. Stayed here first in April 2003 on a Sun Holiday. Good prices in clubhouse-always offers on, kids club. Very reasonably priced site. About 10-15 mins away from Newquay town centre. Across the road from the site is a Park Dean site with a curry-chipshop open until 1am-go accross at night after the pub to get food! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ruddiduddi 1 review from this member

 We had 2 weeks at this site and after spending the last few years on Hendra, Newquay camp site (Park Dean) and Treloy, I must admit this was the best!
We had 10 people for the first week then 15 for the second. As you can imagine we were rather like the clampits but it was fab. The showers were not top standard but that all added to the fun, I spoke to a few ladys (in the laundry) and they were complaining 1 even getting in touch with the enviromental health, why I dont know.
The staff were very friendly and the cafe was second to none.
I will be going back again next year (so far we have a party of 25) so it depends on what you are willing to put up with but in my opinion well worth the 12 hour drive lol 


Reviewer: Todds 1 review from this member

 August 2005
We tried this site as we were late booking and our usual site was full.
We usually take out tourer but for health reasons this wasnt possible this year so we booked a static caravan for 2 weeks.
We booked the ambassadeur caravan but we were very dissapointed with the one allocated it wasnt quite what we expected so went to reception to ask about changing to another van.
we expected to be moved to another van of the same type but we were very pleasantly surprised when they upgraded us to the top of the range van.
The upgrade was really good , clean comfy, plenty of room etc and the staff were brilliant especially Denise.
We checked out the camping field for next year and it seemed ok I'd definitely take our tourer there .
However due to a really good deal in a static again next year we decided to book before we left for home.
The site does need a bit of work but nothing a good groundsman couldnt cure .
The only complaint we had was a group of REALLY noisy campers in a tent dreckly behind us who had there own private disco untill 2am most days !
My eldest (15) loved the evening entertainment especially Ben the comedian on friday evening .
Definately worth a try and cheap compared to other sites weve used .

Cant wait to go back next year:) 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Summer Lodge Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Summer Lodge Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Summer Lodge Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Summer Lodge Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3309 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement