Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Summer Lodge Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Summer Lodge Holiday Park Reviews

Summer Lodge Holiday Park
Whitecross
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4LW
Tel: 01726 860 415
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Holiday Homes Only
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 22 Reviews
                6/10 from 22 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 This site no longer offers facilities for touring caravans, motorhomes or tents. It now offers holiday homes for sale only.  


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Bazzer1264 1 review from this member

 Just wanted to let you know just got back from a amazing week at this park. Stayed in an Eden Star caravan, which was very nice and clean. The park was very clean and the staff were amazing, friendly and always happy to help

As for the camping side of the park, the field looked very good. We are now thinking of booking up a week in the summer to try out our new tent and can't wait to return to the park. Big thanks to the staff for such a lovely holiday and hope to see you in the summer as well as next year.

Location - ideal for visiting cornwall and right in the middle.

Customer Service - outstanding

Child friendliness - we have a 2 year and 6 year and they both loved it and the staff were more then happy to play with them. The park also has a nice play park for the kids. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Momzy2012 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 4 nights. We had a great welcome although there was a mix up with the dates (on their behalf). The club house was brilliant, although we had to listen to it all night from the tent.

The pool was good apart from the lifeguard wouldn't allow any fun to go on in the pool, my sun (7 yrs old) had to stay by us at all times as there was no shallow part and he wasn't allowed any goggles or snorkel.

The shop and diner was also good but could probably do with a few more products. The shower and toilet facilities were portaloos and in 1 of them the water was freezing cold.

I plan to return to the park inspite of all the negatives but stay in a caravan as I would not recommend camping, too many slopes and pot holes. Also my 2 year old daughter could not play in the park as the apparatus was for bigger kids.

Most of the staff were friendly apart from one. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hollykate9 1 review from this member

 A bit disappointed with the pitch, overgrown and on quite a gradient - so much so that we couldn't put anything on our table as it slid straight off!Even though we paid for an electric pitch we could only plug one item in at a time as it would set the trip off.

Toilets in a porta cabin were small but fairly clean (4 toilets and wash basins, 1 washing up sink next to the cubicles). Showers again in a porta cabin (4) were clean with lots of hot water -(free). Road leading down was very bumpy and not tarmacked - no lighting either - a nightmare when trying to find tent in the night!

Site was clean and tidy, park for older children, Shop and chip shop - open at certain times. Best part was the club - children's entertainment was good, hosts were great fun - we enjoyed every night!

Sweet shop inside club was cheaply priced with sweets from 1P each. 10min drive into Newquay town.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was only an outdoor pool - which we didn't use as it was too cold! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brummie john 4 reviews from this member

 The site is under new management and as greatly improved

The drive way as been retarmaced and the staff are very friendly and helpful

The toilet and shower blocks were clean and tidy with plenty of hot water, soaps and toilet rolls

There is a childs play area and a small shop which sells the basics

The social club has good entertainment and at a reasonable price

It's also a dog friendly site with plenty of space to walk around

We found the site charged a fair price for the time we were there

It's also very close to newquay town centre which has some great beaches and all the main supermarkets and some great pubs which serve good food

I would stay here again 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dandansdad 2 reviews from this member

 On arriving at this site it did not look too bad, but as we drove down to the field what a shock! Pot holes everywhere, bit slopey but at least with a van we could use chock and breeze blocks and anything else we could find.

Pool was not heated and there was a hose pipe constantly putting water into pool.

Toilets cleaned once a day, never any toilet roll or soap. Washing up area in toilet block not very hygienic

Club house open at certain times 3. 85 for pint lager.

Shop only open at certain times and never any basics. Bread, milk etc.

Chip shop- ordered fish and chips, but had to take them back as they were in black inside and was told ' they were warmed up from dinnertime'!

Staff were friendly when you could find one. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Summer Lodge 2011

 Hello from summer lodge.

Writing to tell you of the recent changes and improvements to the park.

There is a new tarmaced entrance and signage. The grounds are looking nice with grass being cut weekly. The Kernow/caravans have all new carpets and cleaned to a high standard.

The newly finished development has new Penrose, Eden 2 bed caravans and Eden star 3 bed caravans.

All the facilities on site are now open 7 days a week.

The club house is open every evening and lunch times on weekends with entertainment including party games for the children, quizzes and game shows for the adults and visiting cabaret acts during the summer.

The diner offers a range of take way food from fish and chips to pizza with specials on the menu during the summer. The diner is open 6 nights a week and mornings on the weekends offering a range of foods on the breakfast menu.

The shop is also open 7 days a week in the mornings and mornings and evenings on the weekends. The shop is full stocked with all the essentials and the morning papers and magazines.

The swimming pool on site has a new heating system. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Pinkloz66 5 reviews from this member

 We went to this site at the last minute and I wish we hadn't. It was like a ghost town, the shop was not open, the takeaway was not open, no crazy golf, the showers and the toilets for the campers were disgusting, the campsite field was overgrown. The pool was open but there was all scum round the edges. The only positives was the bar was open on a night.

The entrance to the site was looking good until you went through the drive and there were potholes everywhere.

We stayed in a privately owned static so it was a good job that was very nice from inside although we lost our gas supply 3 times due to the poor flow on the park.

The park has been taken over recently and I suggest they close it down until it is up and running like a proper holiday resort. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue.lulu 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from this site where we spent the weekend this is being developed and the workmen were out in force. It had a great field for walking the dogs our tent was on a slope and we needed to try to prop up the stove as the pans were falling off and it wasn't great trying to sleep while trying to grip the edge of the mattress.
The toilets showers and kitchen were portacabins although these were kept clean. The club house was very nice although the entertainment was rubbish and very noisy I didn't find the staff to be very friendly. Quite easy to get to the beaches but with so many great campsites about I wouldn't use this one or recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Manovanna 1 review from this member

 This was our third visit to Summer Lodge but the first time using their camping field. We arrived just after the nationwide flooding and were very apprehensive about what we would find especially as on the journey down we saw touring and ststic caravans floating in rivers!. Considering that that there had been a deluge just before we arrived (including the very day that we arrived!) the camping field didn't look too bad, a bit soggy here and there but nothing like what we'd expected to find.

The staff were very helpful, showing us to our pitch on arrival, which was clearly marked out and gave us loads of room for our Sunncamp holiday 400SE.

All in all we had a great 10 days despite the weather trying to dampen our spirits. The camping site facilities (porta cabins) were basic but adequate and kept as clean as they possibly could be. Some inconsiderate campers who were reluctant to walk to the shower/toilet blocks decided to drive across the field in their 4x4's churning it up into a mudbath which didn't help the situation but the staff were quickly onto it putting sand and paving slabs down to walk on and also putting temporary tape up to stop the inconsiderates.

The kids thoroughly enjoyed the night time entertainment, the 'hosts' were excellent. The bar and cafe/takeaway prices were as could be expected for a campsite. The pool was great fun during the few times that the weather turned nice.

Would I come again? sure, it's a lovely place to be, the only thing I would say is that they need to get new shower/toilet blocks built, the porta cabins are ok and do their job but a purpose built block would be better. All in all a very good 8/10. 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Summer Lodge Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Summer Lodge Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Summer Lodge Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Summer Lodge Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2911 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement