Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bridge Heywood Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Burnley > Bridge Heywood Caravan Park > Reviews

Bridge Heywood Caravan Park
Dunkirk Farm
Read
Burnley
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB12 7RR
Tel: 01254 886103
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 18
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Judi S 20 reviews from this member

 Stayed a week despite dreadful weather, rain gales etc. Site is all hard standing so was ideal for the weather conditions. Quiet site off the roadway so quiet day and night too.

Toilet facilities fantastic, new and immaculate. Pitches are fully serviced (included in price) but could do with being a little wider to allow positioning of van, a step and space to put feet when stepping in and out of van allowing you to keep off the grass. Site in ideal position for visiting Manchester and it's many attractions.

No shop, bar etc but 2 mins up the road is small village with all in. Bakers has very nice cakes ! Very friendly and helpful owners. 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: InghamIF 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed Christmas and new year. Weather horrible but the site stayed usable.

The site has 50+ statics and about 18 touring pitches most of which are occupied on a seasonal basis.

The site is terraced into a moderate slope with good vehicular access. The touring pitches at the top of the site are not easy to access with a large unit. The weather was extremely wet and our mover just skidded on the tarmac so we had to drive off the tarmac with our Discovery to push the van into the space. The pitches are more than adequate in length but limited in width which may make an awning impossible to use.

The site is pleasant, fairly secluded with excellent walks in the grounds.

The toilet block is small, well heated and of a high quality. More than adequate for the site.

Good services in Reed, the service station is open every day.

Good deals for longer stays.

Overall interesting and pleasant. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bfguk 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights, Richard and his dad where very welcoming.

Nice quiet site. Local village (Reed) has a garage with shop selling most things you would require along with a chip shop that is also a Chinese takeaway and a pub The Stork within walking distance.

Plot was free so allowed to arrive when we wanted and also leave at anytime. Toilet block very clean with underfloor heating, only small but adequate for size of site. Would stay here again.

Does not have anything for the older child but there was a large area that I think would be ok for ball games etc within view of all pitches.

Grass areas where soggy but it is November. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clickerty 13 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site, very peaceful, owners extremely friendly and helpful.

Pitches are fully serviced no lugging of water or waste great idea. Toilet and showers very well maintained.

Grass and surrounds kept beautifully, no problems with other vans in view as there was plenty of spaces between and the pitches could easily accommodate your awning.

It is on a steep incline but found that no problem when reversing van. People who owned static vans were very friendly too.

Well worth a visit, we will definitely go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stacieb925 4 reviews from this member

 This site is a little gem, well spaced hardstanding fully serviced pitches, nice views and very peaceful. New toilet and shower block which is cleaned daily. The site is not far from the villages of Whalley and Clitheroe which are well worth a visit. Good for walkers. The family that run the site are very helpful, anything you need to know and they are more than happy to help. I will definitely stay at this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alibescat 34 reviews from this member

 We missed the turn to the site, you have to be careful the sign is small and tree green. There's a long private road to the site and you get in via the static area.

Pitches are all tarmac and at an angle so reversing on can be slightly tricky, the pitches are very long but narrow so our steps were on the grass and tarmac and you can park in front of your van - not ideal I think but was OK. Every pitch has own water tap, waste and EHU - very well done.

There's views but not from the caravan as your staggered so only see the other vans. We didn't put the awning up as the grass is narrow and slightly raised.

New shower block with 2 loos 2 showers in each and a separate disabled loo. Brand new very clean, modern great showers with temp control and all underfloor heating. Only criticism was they are a bit small with one hook for clothes and nowhere for your shampoo etc but you can manage.

Not much to do in the area, we walked to Whalley which is OK had a beer in the Dog Inn garden and they said we could sit with our 2 big dogs in the pub but OH said they had springers roaming in there so we stayed in the covered area outside, locals were very friendly. Drove through Read not much there a pub, bakers and petrol station.

If you walk to the opposite end of the park you have access to huge secure field and the river runs all along one side and walled on the other so great for the dogs, ours loved it. It must be the biggest best, safest area for dogs I've seen next to a campsite and I think you can walk further than we did with no fear of traffic or sheep, perfect.

Owners father came with new loo key as he dropped the wrong one off by mistake and he was very friendly, and helpful. We arrived on the friday and he came to collect the money Sunday afternoon apart from that we didn't see anyone and the office was closed but this does not bother us. You only need to pay your fees and explore.

Very relaxing weekend, may well return as its easy to relax when there's not much to see and do.

Spring woods near Whalley Perfect for dogs too and picnics. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markeyt 3 reviews from this member

 The Camp site is situated 2 miles from whalley which was ideal for our visit attending a 60th party. I was going to book a hotel but I am glad that we decided to take the tourer instead.

The site was found to be very clean and tidy. The pitches were Tarmac and water drains and electric were all at hand. We erected a Porch Awning and would have found difficulty erecting our larger Awning. The Showers were very clean but would be better with some seating. The owners are friendly.

The site is ideal for west and east Lancashire. There is a nearby village within walking distance. The site overlooks the country side. One downside is the Cattle Grid which which I understand will be moved due to being noisy when cars go over it.

I would not hesitate to stop here again and will make it my base when touring this area. Excellent site 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michelle - Hull 1 review from this member

 The site still has some improvements works going on but did not hinder our stay. All touring pitches are tarmac'd and level along side uneven ground which I could imagine would be hard to get an awning up on if you were planning to do so. Water/Waste to each pitch.

The site is very quiet and relaxing. Has several walks from the site along the Calder and Nature Reserve. An ideal location for Ribble Valley / Pendle.

New, clean shower blocks are good, only improvements to these would be a shelf or bench to put shower gels etc on and a mop to clean the floor afterwards. Would recommend and will return. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kizzydog 7 reviews from this member

 If it's peace and quiet your after, this is it. The owner and his family are always ready to help if need be. The shower and toilet are always clean and warm, plenty of hot water. Water/Electric/Waste on each plot, all hard standing.

Read village is a nice walk for fresh bread, cake's, pie's. Local garage sells paper's. Nearby is Whalley, Clitheroe {Big car boot on Sunday}. Gisburn{cattle market}Thursday's. Preston is 20 min's away and Blackpool is about 45 min's.

Caravan site is on the doorstep to the Ribble Valley and Trough of Boland. If you ask Phil the owner he will tell you where to get good pub/meal's. The locals are friendly, and if you land on a charity or old timer's sport weekend your in for a treat. Great Site. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frogman14 17 reviews from this member

 The touring area has recently been developed, and as at this moment is still undergoing some consruction work, but is in service. Access is via a dedicated private road to the adjoining static site. The touring area is separate with tarmac access and tarmac pitches each with water and electrics, and surrounded by grass. Toilet/shower blocks are small but adequate, and newly constructed. The site is in parkland with extensive views over the nearby river, in which fishing is possible.

Situated between Burnley and Whalley there is possibility to shop either in a big town with all supermarkets, or the beautiful market towns of Whalley or Clltheroe, each of which are worth a sightseeing visit.

The site offers a perfect base to explore East Lancashire and all that it has to offer. Manchester and Blackpool are further afield, but easily reached within 1 hr. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bridge Heywood Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bridge Heywood Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bridge Heywood Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Burnley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3212 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement