Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bridge Heywood Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Bridge Heywood Caravan Park
Dunkirk Farm
Read
Burnley
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BB12 7RR
Tel: 01254 886103
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 18
Open: March To January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cwarchc 25 reviews from this member

Picked this site for a 'test run' with our new caravan.

It's only 30 mins away from our house.

It's a very nice site, not quite our usual type, but very well appointed.

The touring field is sited away from the main area (statics) and is all the better for it.

It's very well organised with serviced, hard standings

There are fantastic walks straight form the site, well marked along the river and through the woods.

Not much for children (we don't have any) apart from the great outdoors.

We were blessed with some really good weather.

To summarise:

It's a really nice site, with all you need

Great if you have dogs

I certainly can see us using it again

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MrsChrisParry 9 reviews from this member

Chose this as it is only one mile from my brothers house so convenient for visiting and a dog walking area too. So glad we went there. It's a lovely site, several permanent lodges on the side but about a dozen touring pitches. Some of these did look like seasonal ones though. We had pitch T18, the only one empty when we arrived for our four night stay. Lucky pitch because we got a super view across the fields. Slightly sloping on one side so block needed. Hard standing with waste water and tap at the back. We parked to one side to enable us to put our small awning up on the grass. Room for our car in front of the caravan. Toilets were opposite us, separate Gents, Ladies and Disabled. Two showers and two toilets each in G and L's, we were given a key to get in and out. Caravan park users only footpath to the Viaduct and a walk around a young woodland which was wonderful for our dog. Met some of the residents of the chalets on the walks with their dogs. No shop on site but Read only a mile away with a Spar, pub, chemist, food outlets. Very well kept grass and plants, several new tree plantings. All in all a lovely place to have a break. Ideal for walking fans.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tomdn8 1 review from this member

The caravan site is hard standing with water and electricity provided. No waste water drain found. Good views apart from view of asphalt dump. As mentioned by others toilet/shower area is cramped. Only one loo for gents and one sink, otherwise modern and heated.

Literature and owner very helpful, pointing out walks which were available and places to visit. Decided to walk to the viaduct and hopefully cross the valley to Gt Harwood. But was puzzled and disappointed when we got to the viaduct and found it blocked off with a piles of debris/trees that had clearly been dumped to stop access. This meant returning back to the site prematurely. The owner was not available to ask, so we talked to a few residents who told us it had been closed during the foot and mouth outbreak and had not reopened. They didn't know why. I think the walk map is therefore misleading and should say that no access is allowed over the viaduct. What a pity. My review rating would otherwise have been higher.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanditostaffie 5 reviews from this member

Just spent two nights at this lovely campsite.

The site is generally statics with more mature residents, this suited us as we like peace & quiet.

The pitches for tourers are away from the main cluster of statics and our pitch was a good size length ways.

I would agree it is not a place for side awnings unless you were to request one of the end pitches.

Blocks ( supplied ) were required to stabilise the caravan as pitches are sloping, vehicles are parked to the front leaving a grass area to the side and we also had a grassed area to the rear in which to sit out.

Toilet block clean, modern, only two ladies loos and two showers but I never met anyone else in there.

Shower cubicles are a little snug and lacked a changing area but its cleanliness and nice dry heating made up for this.

We were met with a lovely welcome pack with a map of walks, one of the best dog walking sites I have been to and a must is the walk under the viaducts along the lovely river bank.

It was nice to have dog freedom as no livestock and no roads just lovely fields.

We were not disturbed by anyone the owner collected payment on Sunday all we had to do was drop the keys for the toilet block in the post box upon leaving.

We asked if we needed to vacate at a specific time and were pleased to hear we could leave when we wanted.

The site is well away from the main road down a lovely long drive and views across the countryside very pleasant.

At the top of the drive, to the right is Read, within walking distance, the sandwich shop was lovely and the garage has plenty of supplies, carry on into Burnley ( a drive ) and there are more shops and a Tescos for more options.

We had a naughty Chinese from Read be warned the portions large it was really nice.

At the top of the drive turn left to Whalley a lovely picturesque village, we drove but it could be walked.

We had lunch at The Dog Inn was so friendly I asked permission before taking in my two a staffies, no problem at all.

Food good, the vicar was in and friendly local clientele.

Would go back.

Not sure it would suit kids as little to do unless they enjoy walking and you visit local attractions.

A good site for a chill out, nice dog walks and quiet setting this is a lovely place.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: MummyKat 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for a week at the beginning of April. We had just bought our caravan on E bay and picked it up from Warrington, so this was a test run. We chose this site because we were going to our grandsons 21st party at Turf Moor later.

We were able to arrive anytime and were made very welcome and given the information we needed. Pitch was ok but on a slope which made it difficult to get the awning level especially as we had no instructions to follow, but we did it! Water and electric were close by and our neighbours were

Friendly.

Toilets and showers were clean and warm, lovely underfloor heating was great as the weather was pretty wet and cold.

Bit disappointed there was no pot washing

Facilities.

There was a wonderful dog walk that ran down by the River Calder under the Viaduct and through the trees it was great for the dog she loved it.

Read was only a short walk away and we visited the pub for a lunch, the food was good value and the staff very friendly and helpful. We also had fish and chips from the Chinese in the village which were very tasty.

We enjoyed our stay apart from the weather and we would visit again.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Miloson 24 reviews from this member

Spent 2 nights at this site, we Pitched on no 15. Hardstanding which are quite long but could be a bit wider if you need to put up an awning. Tap and waste and electric are top of the hardstanding. The Site is very tidy and clean with a new toilet and shower block small but lovely warm and new. The surrounding area is lovely lots of walks which we did not do this time. We ate at the Stork Inn pub just out of the site and turn right we did use the car. The dog exercise area is massive and lots of walks from it as well. Owners are nice and do not bother you. Will go again as its close to us and its great value at 15 a night for two with the dog. Your receive a good information pack on your arrival too which was informative. The Rubbish area for the Tourers was a little bit far from us ok if its sunny but not if raining!

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stef and mandy 21 reviews from this member

Firstly, the sign that a reviewer missed has been replaced by a large white sign, making it harder to miss. Whether you approach from the M65 or the A59, it is easy to reach, and locate. The site was recommended to us by friends, in particular pitch 18, as on the door side of our van, there are unobstructed views of open Country, and the river Calder.

The site has the largest dog exercise area we have ever seen, and it is safe and secure from roads and sheep, so dogs can have 'hell for leather' exercise, after a short walk to the area. There are too many fantastic walks to mention, but our favourite would be Stocks reservoir, near Gisburn, a short drive away, as it is firm under foot, even when wet, and there is a 4 mile, and an 8 mile walk, with breath taking views.

Whalley is a pretty, small Town nearby, and we ate at the Dog Inn, a dog friendly pub, serving first class food and drink, at very reasonable prices. The management is friendly, and everywhere is clean, and we ate with our dogs next to a lovely open fire. Other dog friendly pubs nearby (short drive), are The Assheton Arms at Downham, and the Waddington Arms, in Waddington. Again, both serve good food and drink, at reasonable prices, and both offer stunning Country walks from their doors, including Pendle Hill.

The historic Town of Clitheroe is a short drive, and worth a visit, or you can shop at Boundary Mill, and have lunch or tea at Banny's, a fantastic licensed fish and chip restaurant, at the other side of the car park at Colne.

The site itself, has static vans, and space for 18 tourers. The shower block is of recent build and is warm, and very clean, although the shower cubical s, ideally could be a tad bigger. The site is very clean and tidy, and recycles. Each touring pitch is full service, with 16amp hook-up. Not having to move water and waste around is so relaxing, and we only paid 15/night.

Very nearby, is a bakery that sells fresh bread and pies, a sandwich shop, a Chemist, and a garage with a small supermarket attached. All pitches are hard standing, and I would give this site 10 out of 10 if the hard standings were a bit wider. To place the van on the pitch to have our double step on tarmac, meant access to the toilet cassette was over grass. In dry weather, that would not be a problem, but as 2012 continues to be a wet year, the grass is muddy, rather that very wet.

We will be coming back, this site, and this area is a gem, and we only live 40 miles away!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judi S 16 reviews from this member

Stayed a week despite dreadful weather, rain gales etc. Site is all hard standing so was ideal for the weather conditions. Quiet site off the roadway so quiet day and night too.

Toilet facilities fantastic, new and immaculate. Pitches are fully serviced (included in price) but could do with being a little wider to allow positioning of van, a step and space to put feet when stepping in and out of van allowing you to keep off the grass. Site in ideal position for visiting Manchester and it's many attractions.

No shop, bar etc but 2 mins up the road is small village with all in. Bakers has very nice cakes ! Very friendly and helpful owners.

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: InghamIF 19 reviews from this member

Stayed Christmas and new year. Weather horrible but the site stayed usable.

The site has 50+ statics and about 18 touring pitches most of which are occupied on a seasonal basis.

The site is terraced into a moderate slope with good vehicular access. The touring pitches at the top of the site are not easy to access with a large unit. The weather was extremely wet and our mover just skidded on the tarmac so we had to drive off the tarmac with our Discovery to push the van into the space. The pitches are more than adequate in length but limited in width which may make an awning impossible to use.

The site is pleasant, fairly secluded with excellent walks in the grounds.

The toilet block is small, well heated and of a high quality. More than adequate for the site.

Good services in Reed, the service station is open every day.

Good deals for longer stays.

Overall interesting and pleasant.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bfguk 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights, Richard and his dad where very welcoming.

Nice quiet site. Local village (Reed) has a garage with shop selling most things you would require along with a chip shop that is also a Chinese takeaway and a pub The Stork within walking distance.

Plot was free so allowed to arrive when we wanted and also leave at anytime. Toilet block very clean with underfloor heating, only small but adequate for size of site. Would stay here again.

Does not have anything for the older child but there was a large area that I think would be ok for ball games etc within view of all pitches.

Grass areas where soggy but it is November.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1321 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019