Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Morecambe Lodge Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Morecambe Lodge Caravan Park > Reviews

Morecambe Lodge Caravan Park
Shore Lane
Bolton Le Sands
Morecambe
Carnforth
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 8JP
Tel: 01524 824361
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Seasonal pitches only
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 25 Reviews
                8/10 from 25 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrissylily 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived for our fortnights holiday to this campsite having been. In June to pay our outstanding pitch fee. We had been told by a young man who we think was the owners son where to pitch up when we arrived. As there was no office on the site at the entrance we pitched up and settled in. During the afternoon a man arrived and asked us what we were doing. The man did confirm he was the owner after we asked who he was and asked asked when we would be paying the outstanding balance. We confirmed tat we had paid by card (thankfully) and been shown the pitch in June. Thank goodness for Internet banking (and working in a bank) we found the receipt on line and went to shown the owner twice the evidence. The son was in the so called office(farm house) but didn't confirm that he remmbered us. No apology from the owner.

We settled in the awning couldn't be fastened down properly the water supply to the caravan blow the pipe five times during our stay. The hard standing pitches were originally for statics which was obvious as there were the steel rings in the ground round the pitch.

The season holders were most unfriendly and the children all congregated outside our pitch which happened to be the entrance to the upper field.

The children on the site didn't have a nice area to play in no climbing frames or swings. The dog walking area was in the same field and also where the none fully serviced pitches were which was not very nice.

There is a bridle walk way where any Tom, Dick or Harry can walk past the caravans affecting the security of the site. I would not be wanting to leave a caravan for a season on there because of this.

No one came round to see if everything was alright during our stay to check the site was ok.

We have been caravans for over 35 years and we can say this is one of the worst sites we have been too for lack off organisation and friendliness.

The only good thing was the toilet block and you are not spending all your time in there!,

A little time spent on thought ie an office(not the farm kitchen) at the enterance of the site would have been very helpful as several caravans coming in after us were stood about looking lost

We will not be going back. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mcwursty 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with beautiful walks near by. Pitches are nice and level. Beach is only a stones throw away. As is the railway line but this did not bother us at all. Toilet block is immaculate. Very spacious. Very friendly owners. Free wifi if you need it. Morecambe is only a very short drive away. Although the town centre on a Saturday night was extremely quiet. Ideal location for just an overnight stay or a longer stay if you wish to explore the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend this site. It is great value for money. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gingerbreadman 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for three days as a stop over travelling to & from Scotland. Found it a very clean site with level pitches and 16amp EHU.

The outer ring is made up of mostly sited tourers and visitors to this site will find themselves on one of the four pitches on the centre island.

To get onto the site you have to negotiate two tight lanes and a hump back bridge over the mainline train tracks, then turn into what appears to be a static park.

The touring pitches is straight ahead. The toilets on the site are very well maintained and can only be accessed by a security fob available from the farm house, this is where you book in ( beware the wi-fi is not secure ).

A ten minute drive into Morecambe is a must and with a selection of the larger stores in the town there is plenty to do and see,

I would use this site again if I was to travel up this way again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KGall 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights and would visit this site again. The touing area is small but we had a great pitch with the sun on the front all afternoon and into the night. The site is very clean and tidy and the toilet / shower facilities are excellent as are the hookups. There are no pot washing facilities or tv hook up but wi-fi is available. There is no playground or anything for kids but they made their own entertainment with other children.

Although the beach is only a couple of minutes walk away it's not a sandy beach for children to play on but great for dogs to run on the salt marshes. The sunsets are beautiful across the bay.

The owners are friendly and helpful as were the other campers during our visit.

The Canal Turn pub nearby is worth a visit and serves great food. We didn't visit the Hest Bank Pub which is also nearby but it didn''t get great reviews from neighbouring campers.

Happy Mount Park is close by in Morecambe which is excellent for kids with a great splash area in particular.

This was our first outing in the caravan and it was a great long weekend and the experience was made all the better by being at this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrscairnnut 58 reviews from this member

 Most of what the previous reviews say, we would agree with. We had to stop and ask where the reception office was, they really could do with a sign or two! The owner is friendly and showed us to our pitch, the tourer field is behind the static area and only a short walk to the toilet facilities, which were clean and well kept.

The site was very peaceful. It is located next to the railway but the trains were not a constant disruption to the otherwise quiet site. The 'beach' was disappointing for us. Never really seen anything like it before. The foreshore was more like a marsh area, lots of holes to watch out for, not easy walking, we didn't venture onto the sand at all. First impressions of the place as a holiday destination were poor until we spent a couple of days here and then began to understand why people love it. When the sun goes down over the bay, it is lovely. We went for a long walk up and over this hill to the next bay, lovely.

We would recommend this site, it is a good stop over when travelling up to Scotland. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tazmin 1 review from this member

 Visited this site in sept. On arrival to site reception wasn't sign posted so was a guessing game where to go. Finally found it and was greeted by friendly site owners. Got shown our pitch on the map. Pitches where nice and level with water/waste water near by. Less than a min walk of tourers was the shower block which was clean and tidy at all times. Lovely walks in area but beware of sinky sand on beach which is 5 mins waik of site. Only gripe with this site is that there's a couple of long term touring familys who stay on site who think there own the place which spoilt our hols a bit. Couple of pubs nearby which arent really dog friendly but worth a look up. Overall nice quiet clean site with helpful friendly owners. Value for money 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Piffy57 37 reviews from this member

 Great site this and well worth a visit. If you are coming from the South take J35 rather than 34. You will avoid Lancasterís figure of eight by-pass.

We arrived on site and there are two entrancesÖÖÖÖtake the first one as the second one is very tight access. £10 is needed for a key fob for the washrooms but is refunded when you leave.

We had to walk to the farm house to pay the site fees and were then shown to our pitch. The site was full even in mid September.

We had a bit of a problem getting the caravan onto the pitch as it was slightly raised and the jockey wheel was digging into the wet grass.

All sorted quickly and the next problem was the water point was too far away for the hose to connect to.

Washrooms donít look good on the outside but inside they are immaculate and well looked after.

There is nowhere to wash pots and pans but that was only a small point.

The site is visited every morning by a little car selling newspapers.

The beach is about 300 yards away and the sea breeze is sheer bliss compared to the inner city smell where I work!

Morecambe is nearby and its an old fashioned seaside town. The council are working hard on the re-generation but there is a lot to do.

Try Potts Pies they are made locally and officially the best in the Football League!

Local pubs are not dog friendly which meant we had to eat in the caravan. I must admit we have not really had problem elsewhere and itís a note I have made for next time.

Carnforth is just up the road and the railway station is worth a visit. It was used in the 1946 film Brief Encounter and is themed accordingly. The NCP car park outside the station has steep prices and it was no wonder people were parking elsewhere and walking.

Overall though we had a lovely weekend and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JaxG 11 reviews from this member

 Small quiet site with clean facilities. Stayed here for 2 nights.

Its primarily a static site, but there is a separate field for touring caravans. We had a pitch with electric hookup and water.

They charge extra for awnings, never understand why sites do this when you take up the same space and there was only 2 adults and 2 dogs (porch awning was for the dogs).

Toilets were very clean, you needed a key fob which was given to you after a ten pound deposit. Large free hot showers with push button hot water operation.

2 minutes walk from the coastal path with lovely walks in both directions. My husband also walked along Lancaster Canal (I was working that day).

All in all, we would go back. I like quiet sites, fab location, friendly owners. My only gripe and its a little one is paying extra for awnings 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gegs88 3 reviews from this member

 Spent the weekend after the bank holiday here and have to say it was one of the most peaceful places I have stopped. Just off the main a6 between bolton-le-sands and carnforth but you may as well be in the middle of nowhere, it's so nice and quiet

Beach within 2 minutes walk and good places to eat within 15 minutes walk. There is a tesco just a couple of miles up the road if you need anything major or a garage about 5 mins walk away for smaller items.

A gem of a site and one I will definitely be using again before the end of the season. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kikabyte 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a great trip to this caravan site.

There is a strong but not overwhelming feel of community at this site. Lots of static sites leading to the touring site, and quite a few of the tourerís looked like there were there for quite a while. The prices were great, £42 for two nights, 3 cars, caravan and awning.

The pitches were of very good quality, mains water, 16amp + 32amp power, hard standing for caravan and nice gravel base for the awning.

The warden was very helpful, and didnít bother us during our visit. They didn't give us set times for getting on or off the site either, which was nice!

Toilet block looks brand new. Although the whole block fills with steam after a shower, now fan extraction. Water was hot, but not very high pressure. My only gripe was with the caravan toilet disposal point, the tap didnít work, flush didnít operate and it was all very grubby. Iím not saying emptying the toilet is ever a nice experience, but it helps if the facilities are clean and fresh in the first place.

There is a small field behind the touring field reserved for playing ball games and frisbee etc.

There are local shops and petrol stations all within 5 Ė 10 mins drive away. Ice cream van sites on the beach car park (just 2 minute walk from the site).

Morecambe bay is a massive open beach, but care should be taken to avoid getting trapped by the incoming tide.

We will be visiting this site again, price was fair, everyone was friendly, facilities were good and location was fantasticÖ I wish we could have controlled the weather! 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Morecambe Lodge Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Morecambe Lodge Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Morecambe Lodge Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carnforth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4228 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement