Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Morecambe Lodge Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Morecambe Lodge Caravan Park
Shore Lane
Bolton Le Sands
Morecambe
Carnforth
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA5 8JP
Tel: 01524 824361
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 199 Caravans Only, sorry no tents
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nickrwym 7 reviews from this member

A nice stop for the night. Booked at the last minute for a stop off when travelling north on the M6, friendly staff, spotlessly clean loos, 5 mins walk to the see to watch the sun setting

We slept well, recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anna + Co 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from our second stay at this site. It's well maintained with excellent toilet and shower facilities. On both occasions we have found the owners to be very pleasant and helpful.

There is no on site shop, but this isn't a problem as there are plenty of shops and supermarkets in the local area. The next site down (Red Bank Farm) has an amazing cafe - their breakfasts are second to none!

Many of the caravans on the touring field would appear to be seasonal, but that didn't bother us at all because it meant that the site was fairly quiet, even for Easter weekend. There is a railway line that runs quite close by, but it didn't cause too much disturbance as the trains stop running overnight.

Both Morecambe and Lancaster are a very short drive away and are both well worth a visit, or for a bit longer drive, the Lake District is a must do! Another must do is to go to the bottom of the site, onto the shoreline at Bolton-le-Sands and watch the sunset. You won't be disappointed.

We are planning to return again in July, so we'd highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkypair 7 reviews from this member

We visited Morecambe Lodge recently for a two night stay on route to Scotland. The site is very well maintained, owners extremely welcoming on arrival. Toilets are very modern/clean. The location is perfect for exploring the area, with lovely sunsets to be seen on the foreshore. Highly recommended

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theboozie 2 reviews from this member

When you arrive at site park up in touring field and walk to farmhouse reception. Be prepared to pay 20quid for toilet/shower block fob! Hardstanding for caravan and stone chippings for awning, watch out for metal eyelets when putting van on! Can be very windy so make sure everything is secure. Most of the vans already on site appear to be seasonal leaving approx. 15-20 available pitches, the site is fairly quiet with children usually from the static side riding bikes or using playing field at top of touring section. Wifi is free and can be a bit slow but is a godsend if you have kids, or for yourself! Toilet block is kept very clean and showers are hot.

For shopping you need to go to Morecambe or Carnforth as local store is Londis though this will supply you with what you need but at a price. Local pubs are 1 and a 1/2 mile away and serve food(never tried), Canal Turn in Carnforth lovely setting lovely food but portions small. Plenty of walks round area but for anything else need transport. Would I go back?. Yes for the peace and quiet, brill for chillin

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

Found this site by chance when we were in area. Good sized hard standing pitch, clean modern shower block, free wi fi, friendly and helpful owners. The only thing for us is there didn't seem to be a dish washing area but that is a minor thing. Site is situated on a coastal footpath so plenty of nice walks around the bay. Good site and would happily return

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JamesLyndaStewart 12 reviews from this member

We intended to spend one night here, but after spending a very relaxed, very rainy day there, we stayed another day! They had wifi, which was a bonus, and the site itself was very clean, and well kept. The beach area was quite disappointing, but that's just one of those things. There are local shops and garages, and you can even get food delivered. The facilities were very clean and tidy, so all in all a nice place to stop over.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scruffydoonus 1 review from this member

We love it here. It gets very windy so your awning has to be fastened down well. It makes a great base for visiting the lakes. The toilet block is excellent and cleaned to a very high standard. There are lovely walks and pubs to visit. Only criticisms are that not everyone keeps their dogs on a lead and the wifi isn't great. Also there are some amazing sunsets to be seen across the bay. A lot of families use this site so there are usually a few children about but, it's never a problem. The owners are pleasant and friendly and leave you to it, but if you do have a problem they seem quick to sort it out. The super pitches are great, although some of the pitches can be a little uneven, There is no play area for children but most play on the top field, making their own entertainment, or riding their bikes, it's like an old fashioned holiday. There are a couple of shops within walking distance, for basics, and supermarkets in Morcambe. We have visited other sites nearby but this is by far the best one. We would certainly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keithchadd 6 reviews from this member

Was allocated one of the four super pitches when booking which are in the middle of the touring park.

On arrival found the site was concrete which meant each end of the awning adjacent to the caravan could not be pegged down and could not be made to be draught proof.

We had hard ground pegs (metal)for the awning but could not get them in with the rubber mallet. When asking to borrow a builders lump hammer from the owners we were told by the owner that he had attempted to make the hard standing for the awning 'bullet proof' so as to prevent weeds growing through.

This didn't work (weeds will grow anywhere)and the awning pith was so 'bullet proof' we still couldn't get the awning pegged down properly with the lump hammer and actually bent several pegs.

Had we encountered any windy conditions then we would have been in trouble with not being able to peg the awning down properly.

The connection to the water point was too far away and our standard aqua roll mains water hose (7. 5 metres)didn't reach.

It was the same on the adjacent pitch and the people there had had to go and buy a garden water hose to reach the water point.

We did the same but the pressure seemed to be high and our 'new' garden hose burst.

The toilet waste disposal point was at the rear of one of the touring pitches so consequently anyone emptying their toilet waste had to walk past the occupants sitting outside to reach the disposal point. Not ideal.

The site was not what you might call being attended to with loving care and several of the occupants of the seasonal pitches where cutting the grass themselves around their pitches.

There was no security on site and anyone could have wondered in and around the caravans at any time. Wheel clamps and tow hitch locks seriously recommended.

When commenting on the owners, indifferent comes to mind.

On the plus side the toilet block was excellent and exceptionally clean with free hot showers.

Will not be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrissylily 3 reviews from this member

We arrived for our fortnights holiday to this campsite having been. In June to pay our outstanding pitch fee. We had been told by a young man who we think was the owners son where to pitch up when we arrived. As there was no office on the site at the entrance we pitched up and settled in. During the afternoon a man arrived and asked us what we were doing. The man did confirm he was the owner after we asked who he was and asked asked when we would be paying the outstanding balance. We confirmed tat we had paid by card (thankfully) and been shown the pitch in June. Thank goodness for Internet banking (and working in a bank) we found the receipt on line and went to shown the owner twice the evidence. The son was in the so called office(farm house) but didn't confirm that he remmbered us. No apology from the owner.

We settled in the awning couldn't be fastened down properly the water supply to the caravan blow the pipe five times during our stay. The hard standing pitches were originally for statics which was obvious as there were the steel rings in the ground round the pitch.

The season holders were most unfriendly and the children all congregated outside our pitch which happened to be the entrance to the upper field.

The children on the site didn't have a nice area to play in no climbing frames or swings. The dog walking area was in the same field and also where the none fully serviced pitches were which was not very nice.

There is a bridle walk way where any Tom, Dick or Harry can walk past the caravans affecting the security of the site. I would not be wanting to leave a caravan for a season on there because of this.

No one came round to see if everything was alright during our stay to check the site was ok.

We have been caravans for over 35 years and we can say this is one of the worst sites we have been too for lack off organisation and friendliness.

The only good thing was the toilet block and you are not spending all your time in there!,

A little time spent on thought ie an office(not the farm kitchen) at the enterance of the site would have been very helpful as several caravans coming in after us were stood about looking lost

We will not be going back.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mcwursty 1 review from this member

Lovely site with beautiful walks near by. Pitches are nice and level. Beach is only a stones throw away. As is the railway line but this did not bother us at all. Toilet block is immaculate. Very spacious. Very friendly owners. Free wifi if you need it. Morecambe is only a very short drive away. Although the town centre on a Saturday night was extremely quiet. Ideal location for just an overnight stay or a longer stay if you wish to explore the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend this site. It is great value for money.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019