Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Morawelon Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport > Morawelon Camping And Caravanning Reviews

Morawelon Camping And Caravanning
Parrog
Newport
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA42 0RW
Tel: 01239 820565
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Singingcavy 23 reviews from this member

An idyllic location, feet from the sea and a wonderful beach. We spent several happy days here in lovely weather - very lucky. It was a great base for canoeing (try TYF at St. David's), cycling, swimming, theatre in Cardigan and walking. We even saw a dolphin from the rocks at New Quay a bit further north.

Pros:

Location, location, location

Three fields, two with hook-ups.

Water points in several places

Three loos and two showers in both gents' and ladies'

Washing up with hot water under cover

Chemical disposal points

Cafe on site for daytime food and drinks

Delightful town of Newport just 10 mins' walk away

Coast path on the doorstep

Friendly owners

Good recycling and bins

Cons:

None really, with the exception of the cleanliness. Whilst the loos were cleaned daily and kept very well stocked with paper, the urinals stank and the showers had hair and paper collected in the traps from what looked like a long time before. Washing up sinks and area were also very grimy.

To be aware of:

Phone signal really difficult to get.

Not many pitches were level so you might need chocks.

Expensive but cost reflected the location.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mjrees 40 reviews from this member

Anyone on a diet beware! This site, adjacent to the beach at Parrog, is owned and run by one of the best tearooms in Pembrokeshire - all cakes should carry a government health warning!

Now for the site - brilliant, spotless facilities, 30 seconds from the beach and water. I understand that this site was probably one of the first official sites of the Camping and Caravaning Club - started by the grandfather of the current owner?

Mainly level, the grass was cropped to perfection and the site has three fields for tourers, lightweights and camping. Parrog lies just outside of Newport(Pembs. ) and is basically an area with car park, toilets and a boat club.

If you fancy a pint, it's 20 minutes up the hill to the main road - then you have a choice of three hostelries and a selection of interesting small shops.

My wife and I are driving round the UK coastline as our retirement plan and after three-quarters of it she has nominated this as her favourite site so far! Do you need a better reference?

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stacyredfearn 1 review from this member

Just come back from this camp site 4 adults and 2 children under 5-years old was not anything like I expected, it was 100 times better. It was very clean and tidy, lovely owners and caretaker was very helpful and brilliant with the kids. Very quiet, brilliant view of the beach right next door, there is a restaurant on site but can not comment as did not use it. It is not massive but that is what I was dreading but it was a good size. Very clean toilets and showers (50p to use but gives plenty of time to wash). Washing up sinks also very clean. We had an amazing weekend and will definitely be going back and price makes it a lot easier to return sooner. I know you wonder why rated so high but it was exactly what We wanted the kids loved it and car parking in town was unreal 30p for 2 hours and we drove to fishguard to pop to supermarket for supplies. Very happy family xxx

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Coastwalker 40 reviews from this member

I liked this place. I poled up 'on spec' on the bike. The very pleasant proprietor came out of the cafe and gave me a knock-down price as I was on my own in a small tent.

The site is on a gentle slope facing towards the seashore at The Parrog. There are flat bits enough for tent pitching. The toilets and showers were well kept, with matting on the approaches from the field. The views from the field are good, over the yachting club and the little bay. Very picturesque.

The Parrog is a hamlet at the end of a narrow road. There is only the pub/cafe, a couple of crafty shops and a car park. Newport is within easy walking distance. The pubs there seemed a bit pricey for what was on offer, but there are a couple of useful shops.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Embrikate 1 review from this member

Just returned from morawelon and we were not disappointed.

We camped in the top field, with amazing views across Newport bay. They space the pitches generously and there was plenty of space for the children to play. The showers and toilets at the bottom of the hill were always clean with plenty of hot water - even though there is only 2 showers in the ladies I only once had to queue. There is a good washing up area near the toilet block.

The campsite is on the southwest side of Newport estuary, there are a few small rocky beaches and lots of great rockpools. Beautiful Newport beach is just across the estuary - you can wade across easily at low tide, or you can make the half hour walk along the coastal path.

The cafe at the site was very good, although they have strange opening times. It is a short walk to Newport town, where there is various cafes, pubs and restaurants, although everywhere is pretty pricey. There is a Spar in Newport, and a great butchers which sells fruit and veg as well. There is also a nice bakers up by the church.

Would definitely recommend Morawelon, we will be returning next year.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lancsman 1 review from this member

Read some of the old reviews first and had 2cd hand knowledge of site from friend.

Showers are still 50p and still brilliant after a hard days Kayaking only critisism is a little cramped,choose your time.Not peak! (3 sinks 2 showers 2 loos don't know what the ladies had!).

Three fields available but wasn,t given a choice were to pitch but pitches seemed to remain dry and usable after constant nightly rain over 5 days.The staff put matting down at the access gates to maintain traction for everyone,seemed to be looking after site.

The wash up facilities were excellent,next to the toilets and a cold shower next to that to wash dry / wetsuits off.

Next to the sea wall was an area to park / lock your small boats up,ideal for canoes so you don't have to lug up the field.Good idea to have either a partner or canoe caddy as there is a small amount of concrete / tarmac to get to the slipway.

Good beach for using kayaks on the surf and good fishing nearby.

Didn't use the cafe as was on a strict budget but tempting pudds and meals nevertheless.

Recycling facilities for tins plastics etc.Good clean site within striking distance of the Prescely hills and walks across to Dinas Head.

It cost me £7.00 a night for a two man tent.

Definitely go again does accept some tourers too.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lozcoops 3 reviews from this member

This is a lovely campsite in a beautiful part of Pembrokeshire. The location is excellent as it is right next to the beach, right on the coastal path and within a few minutes walk to the town.

The toilet blocks were newly done out and very clean and tidy, although there was hot water in the men's and none in the ladies! The showers are 50p but for that my husband had plentiful hot water - in fact in his words the best shower he has ever had on a campsite! We let them know about the ladies, so hopefully this will be rectified soon.

One downside - we couldn't see anywhere to wash up, so had to do it in the toilet block. Not ideal.

The Morawelon Cafe on the site is absolutely fantastic - the food is excellent, and it was busy the whole time we stayed there which shows how well known and liked it is in the area. You also have a fantastic view over the bay.

The town has a brilliant butcher, health food shop and bakers and also a Spar which was open late. We had a take-out curry from one of the pubs which was extortionately expensive, so best to just eat in! Overall a very friendly town.

We've stayed here a few times and even though the facilities are basic, the location more than makes up for it. A lovely site.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M.Richardson 1 review from this member

Beautiful location, 3 tiered campsite, view of sea and bay, right by Parrog beach along from little-Newport beach. We loved camping here in 2007, and are going back again in 2008.

Quiet family camping up the top while it seems non-children campers go nearer the bottom so that noise doesn't bother. It works. Water tap on each of three levels I think. Think it's only tents, as caravans were in next field along, which I believe is the caravan club.

In the ladies block (probably same in men's) there were three toilets and two showers (50p a go) so can be a bit of queuing at peak shower times, but that didn't bother me, I just went and had a glass of wine and showered later. Free (cold) outside wash-down shower for sandy wetsuits, plus two free wash-up sinks with hot running water.

Lovely licensed restaurant/cafe run by campsite owners at foot of site, who will re-freeze your cold packs if you ask nicely. Whole scene was laid back and very pleasant.

No driving to beach unless you want to, just a lovely walk along the coast path. Great beach for children, good swimming, boats, rock pools, ice creams at the cafe on the way 'home', good coffee in the cafe garden, and a good campsite attitude by users. (Eg. Someone I never met before gave me 50p for a shower when I realised I hadn't got any money with me.)

Fifteen to twenty minute walk up Parrog Road into Newport centre for pubs. Turn left at the top and first pub on left is best in village I reckon for beer attitude and food. I think there's at least four pubs to choose from, three of which I think serve food. Newport also has good health food shop, butcher, late Spar, coffee shop, petrol station, gift shop, beach / outdoor / hardware shop, post office, bank, fruit shop and others - enough to get by without feeling overwhelmed by shops.

Stunning coast path in both directions from Parrog / Newport beach, great gorge walks nearby going from country track to woodland to waterfall to stream to beach. At St Davids down the coast, went on an excellent speed boat tour to see seals and birds - the boat ride was definite grin material for all 8 of us, recommend it.

If you love good camping, the sea, rock pools, wind-surfing (on sand and sea), a bit of good food and keeping the children happy, then I think this would work for you. It's £23 a night for a 6 berth tent in August, but I think what it offers justifies that so I don't mind.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhys2006 1 review from this member

I have been camping many, many times before, my girlfriend on the other hand was dreading the idea. I researched the area of Pembroke and found the reviews on this site to be relatively positive. So we decided to choose morawelon. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and were pleased with the views form the camp site - straight over the bay. We weren't expecting much, but what we got was very encouraging.
The site is on a gentle slope leading down to the beach, with a winding gravel track running through to the top field. I checked it out on 'google earth' before we went and this helped on where we could set up the tent, before we got there.
There was a spring festival on over the weekend - may bank holiday. This is a regular thing and was pleasant to have 100 yards from the camp site. The site was incredibly convenient to the drinking holes of Newport - 5 min walk, we recommended the golden lion as best for simple home cooked food. Because of my girlfriends shock to the clean toilets, showers we stayed an extra night and she is now converted and is already talking of going back in a couple of weeks.
We spent £5 per head per night. Overall for two night £20. Bargain we say. The best part was how quiet it was during the may bank holiday. Approximately 10 fellow campers.
Parrog was lovely, and the coastal walk was amazing with fantastic opportunities for photos and sketches. A great break and a fantastic introduction for my girlfriend to the world of camping. As previous reviews suggest.
The 3 toilets, 3 sinks, 2 showers and 1 kitchen sink wash area may be tough in peak periods, however for our stay, was ample, at no point did we have to wait, que, or ask for spare toilet paper. The overall feel of the site was clean and peaceful. Breakfast is served in the restaurant at the bottom of the site, and this was between 8:30 and 9:30.

We hope you don't enjoy your stay as we want to keep this for ourselves! a relaxing and enjoyable stay, a highly recommended out of season stay.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anonymous57 2 reviews from this member

The best part about this campsite is the beautiful location and the great views.  It is right on the coast and close to the beach.  It is spread over three fields.  The third field being furthest from the facilities but having the advantage of a bigger space for the children to play and the least number of cars.  The best views are at the top of that field. We found the other campers to be friendly and considerate. 
Terry who helps to run the site is really helpful and is a definate asset.
There is a shop but it has been scaled down and sells very little.  It does sell wonderful croissants but you will have to be quick in the morning if you want them!  Otherwise you will have to walk up to the village for all other supplies and the pubs.  The village of Newport has some nice shops, to be recommended are the health food shop, the hardware / camping shop opposite and the cafe opposite the Spa (great coffee and cakes). The cafe bar and restaurant at the campsite is also recommended.
My main complaint would be the toilet block.  It has been upgraded this year which was long overdue. They are much better but 3 toilets and 2 showers on each side is not enough.  You will queue at the busiest times of the day, in the mornings and the afternoons when everyone is coming back from swimming and sailing, etc.  The showers are 50p a go. There is only one sink for washing up although the hot water is free.
If you like a quiet life, avoid the August bank holiday weekend because there is a disco and karaoke (next to the campsite) for three nights,.  The campsite is always packed at this time!
This site is expensive for what you get.  It is in a beautiful location but do not expect any frills.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1857 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019