Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Morawelon Camping And Caravanning

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Morawelon Camping And Caravanning
Parrog
Newport
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA42 0RW
Tel: 01239 820565
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kay foreman 1 review from this member

Fabulous camping site, lovely location with superb views. Staff friendly and welcoming-happy to help with any query. Facilities were fine and very regularly cleaned. Great place to stay- thoroughly recommend for families, solo travellers and couples. Kay and Richard

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wenvoeman 2 reviews from this member

We are back again at Morawelon because it is a great waterfront campsite. We have been camping here for years and love it. We particularly like the fact that it is well run and efficiently managed by the family that own it. Each pitch is of a generous size and a good number have electricity, there are water points spaced out around the 3 fields. The ablutions are clean and tidy and there is always plenty of hot water. There is one outdoor (cold) shower which is useful for washing off sand from the beach and good hot showers for 50p, which last a long time. The washing up sinks are also provided with lashings of hot water.

Nicky who manages the site gives everyone a warm welcome and shows people to their pitch. She and her husband Richard keep the grass cut and generally look after the well being of the campers.

The adjacent tea room and restaurant serves great meals and snacks and ice creams too.

We have had two wonderful weeks and will be booking to come again next year.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Maimie 3 reviews from this member

Epic location, the view is outstanding and perfect for watersports people. Extra charge for showers, money ran out really quick and took 1. 50 for a shower, which I thought is quite a lot as the site is quite expensive for what is actually provided. A long walk to a pub up a steep hill, although there is a cafe on site it wasn't open.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr and Mrs B 2 reviews from this member

We chose this site because of it's location - which is perfect for the coast path and lovely beach - but what a disappointment when we arrived. We visited Reception (a till at the back of the cafe) and after paying for our pitch we were shown up to the top field. On the way were were horrified to see weeds growing around all the paving slabs outside the facilities, dead flowers and weeds in the pots and overflowing refuse and recycling bins - a general air of neglect (which is not what we expected as we have paid 23. 80 per night). The toilet blocks were grubby and didn't appear to be cleaned regularly - in fact Mr B wouldn't clean his teeth at the sinks because of the smell. Due to the amount of rain vehicles were finding it difficult to drive across the top field so it became very muddy (I mentioned this to the owner and was told there are several springs under the fields which is why it was so wet). The pitches aren't marked and some of the units are squeezed in - at one point our neighbour was so close it felt like we were camping on a car park. We had planned on having a meal in the restaurant but were told it closed at 4. 30pm - it should be advertised as a day-time cafe for the beach. One of the worst sites we've ever visited.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lilsisang 3 reviews from this member

More like a shanty town than a campsite. Although we booked well in advance they were uncertain where to put us. From what she was saying when looking through her pitch book, it seemed the 'best' pitches were being kept for friends who were due. We were squashed in on the top very sloped field in a pitch that was only inches from the tent next to us. That's after we struggled to get our Motorhome up the wet and muddy patch to the field. The owner was too busy with the cafe to bother to even tell us where the facilities where let alone show us. We found the toilets but wished we hadn't. Smelly and wet floors. 3 toilets and 2 showers for each sex to service 3 overcrowded fields ! Although there was a hook up post on our pitch it was being used. When I pointed this out I was directed to a dodgy looking extension cable thrown in the bushes and told to use that. The fire sand buckets were full of water. It was a good job it was raining as all tents and units were that close together one fire would have taken the lot up. Oh and advertising your on site cafe as a restaurant and bar is a bit disingenuous when it shuts a 4:30pm and there is no beer on draught. The whole place bore no resemblance to the website. We had booked 3 nights but left after one. Terrible site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nasfam 5 reviews from this member

The location is lovely with nice walks from campsite and fabulous views. The staff are also very helpful.

At 23 a night for our camper with no hook up on a sloped field it was by far the most expensive site we stayed on during our trip. For this I would have expected clean free facilities but the showers were 50p and although mine wasn't particularly clean my husband described worse conditions in the gents.

Nice but expensive. Found equally appealing campsites in surrounding area for less

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jepi 3 reviews from this member

Absolutely fantastic location. Very warm welcome by owners and a lovely campsite. BUT this is our second night here and the showers haven't been cleaned. There is no loo paper left in the ladies. My husband shared his shower with a frog this morning and it was still there this evening! He has moved it out! In spite of the above would return because the location is absolutely brilliant. Please just clean the showers!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadmanjones 7 reviews from this member

An absolutely fantastic location for this small, well maintained site, with stunning sunsets and sea views. A ten minute walk into Newport finds at least 4 pubs and a few restaurants all of great quality. Showers were a perfectly reasonable 50p; ladies block larger and generally nicer than the gents if our chats round the campfire were accurate. They have a number of kayaks which for a charity donation you are welcome to make use of if you re experience and accept liability.

We will definitely return, though being a small site it reportedly gets very crowded during school break.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rainbow 747 3 reviews from this member

This site is all about location. Overlooking the beach at Parrog, next to the Pembrokeshire coast path and within 10 mins walking distance of Newport. Warm welcome on arrival, pitches with hookup although levellers needed and lovely cafe on site. Did not use the facilities but aware that showers were an extra charge even though the cost per night was over 20. Would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Willfred 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend visit to this site. It's location is everything. Situated at the Parog it has every thing those who enjoy the simple pleasures in life could ask for. If you are looking for a commercialised site with on site entertainment then this is not the site for you. However, if peace and quite is your thing then this is for you. The staff are friendly and helpful. Next to a beach, part of Pembrokeshire coast path, short walk to the lovely village of Newport which pretty much as what you need. We have two dogs and the site and the beach are all dog friendly. The facilities are fairly basic but clean. The only negative was the water temperature took a long time to get hot particularly in the wash basins when needing to wash ones hands. The showers were an extra 50p and again would have expected warmer water temperature quicker. It was quite and the facilities may suffer at busier times of the year. However, you could not ask for a better prime area for a camping site.

Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2572 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019