Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Morawelon Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport > Morawelon Camping And Caravanning > Reviews

Morawelon Camping And Caravanning
Parrog
Newport
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA42 0RW
Tel: 01239 820565
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: 20/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Allencamp 5 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location, close to the beach, coastal path and within 20 mins of the town.

Quite busy at peak time in August but the site didnít feel crowded as pitches were spaced out. We had EHU which worked well. Water was close by.

The main issue was the toilets and shower blocks. For a large site (50 pitches often with families) it was a surprise that there were only 4 showers in total, and they cost £1 for 7 minutes.

The site wasnít cheap anyway but the facilities could do with extending and upgrading.

As for WiFi - it only worked if you were sat in the cafe and didnít move.

A word of warning, re data - if youíre not on EE youíll have no signal at all! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: L Crowe 1 review from this member

 We didn't get the chance to find anything we liked because we left as soon as possible.

We were shown to a muddy pitch that we would struggle to get level on. The site had been booked early in the year and we paid £60 for 2 nights. Exactly the same as the site we had just come from which had lovely manicured level pitches, great facilities and was right next to the river Wye. So this place was a shock to us.

The whole place needs tidying and upgrading. Charging an extra £1 for a 5 min shower, really takes the biscuit. Motorhomes are welcome but there are no facilities for them. Bring your own water and take it away with you.

Honestly felt let down by this site and previous reviews. Being wedged into a small muddy pitch was not what we wanted. Toilet pans were clean but the walls needed a going over and the mens urinals out of action. Update or lower your prices. 


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulin 1 review from this member

 We only stayed one night on our way to Swansea but we were very impressed with the site.

It has a fabulous view of the bay.

Nicky checked us in & showed us to our pitch. It was done with the minimum of fuss. Just how we like it. She was lovely. Just the right sort of person for the job.

We'll definitely stay there again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 21 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wenvoeman 4 reviews from this member

 We spent another 3 weeks at Morawelon in June and just love it. We stay there every summer, and it suits us perfectly.


There is water on tap and a hook up point for most campers who need it.

Nicky organises it all very well in a pleasantly informal way. The gently sloping middle field has magnificent views across Newport Bay.

The loos and showers are perfectly adequate and there is always plenty of hot water.

The adjacent cafe serves great meals as well as beers, wines and coffees.

This is a very popular campsite and deservedly so. 


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Hintez 1 review from this member

 The camp site was excellent,

All the staff could not have been any more friendly or helpful, and the food available on site was very good.

I would definitely recommend this site to anybody wanting to stay in the area. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Sally Birtwell 2 reviews from this member

 Holidayed in the Parrog for many years so delighted to be able to book at Morawelon which couldn't be in a better place, with divine sea views and proximity to pretty boats bobbing about on the estuary.

Facilities are excellent extremely clean loos and showers, never a queue, licenced cafe/take-away on site, delightful hosts, mindful of protecting their customers views. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews we were really looking forward to going here but in the event were very disappointed.

After a longish wait in the rain to check in we were shown to the very top field which was at the top of, to me, a steep hill. I explained that I was disabled and had difficulty walking and that getting to the toilets/showers in the bottom field would be a real struggle.

It was pointed out that there were 2 portaloos in the corner of the top field and it was left at that. There were spaces all weekend in the lower fields that would have been much more suitable for us but we were told that these were being kept for 'regular bookings', making us feel quite unwelcome.

We were on the very bottom edge of the top field which was very sloping, although there were flatter areas elsewhere on it, and we struggled even with levelling chocks to get flat. The EHU was a 3 socket connector just lying on the ground rather than on a proper pole or bollard which did not fill me with much confidence. There were no lights in the field at all.

When we tried to use the portaloos we found they had simply been placed on the ground with no base so they were sloping in at least two directions and I fell in one as it was so unstable (no damage done). They were also not cleaned regularly. The owners apologised for this on the first day saying they had been too busy but they were as bad again on subsequent mornings.

We did not use the showers due to the struggle to get to and from them. There were only 4 showers (2 for women and 2 for men) which did not seem enough for the number of people on site on a wet weekend. The rest of the sanitary block was adequate but basic and needed some tlc.

The one redeeming feature of the site was it's situation, right on the beach, and we had a wonderful sunset one night.

We only had drinks in the site cafe as we were meeting with friends who live nearby and spent nearly all of our time out and about with them so can't comment on the food.

The walk to town from the site is very steep for anyone who has trouble with walking, though going back was fine. There is a bus but it only runs on certain days atm.

I know this site is incredibly popular and gets great reviews but it really was just not for us, or we hit it on a bad weekend. We felt that for £32 a night (incl electric) for a basic field with showers costing 50p extra each it did not represent value for money. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Debora 1 review from this member

 Fab place so close to the sea. Idyllic place to stay.

Plenty of space and wonderful food available in the restaurant fish was so fresh excellent ! 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: ScaryCanary 7 reviews from this member

 This is a relaxed and friendly site in a great beachside setting. It is not cheap, and the showers cost 50p (which soon adds up for a family after a few days) but the location is amazing and that's what you're paying for.

The site comprises 4 fields with a mix of tents, campers, caravans etc, with many people returning year after year. Some people clearly stay for the whole summer and have good friends there. There is a very informal feel to the site - which we liked.

Other reviewers have described it as untidy and a shanty town, which I think is harsh and unfair, but there is an almost festival type vibe here, with campfires, fairy lights, large groups socialising etc, which some people may not enjoy.

However, it is quiet at night and although busy, I never had to wait for a toilet or shower. Like any busy site in peak season, at times the bins were overflowing, the showers had hair and grass blocking the drains, and the extra portaloos could have been cleaner, but the facilities overall were perfectly acceptable.

We had a nice pitch in the top field - be warned that most of the site is on a slope so you will need ramps for camper vans! There is a cafe on site, open some evenings, and being located next to the sailing club, it is lively round and about, with plenty of opportunity for kayaking/swimming/ sailing, and lots to watch if you don't feel like joining in.

The beach is amazing - sandy, flat and safe, and at low tide you can walk across to the main wide beach. Alternatively you can drive round the coast and it's not expensive to park there. It is about 1/2 mile walk to Newport town where there are a few shops, pubs, cashpoint and a great pizza restaurant.

There is also a small camp shop on site selling milk eggs and alcohol - all the essentials!

We really enjoyed our stay and feel lucky that we were able to get in at short notice.

We would definitely recommend and hope to return one day. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kay foreman 1 review from this member

 Fabulous camping site, lovely location with superb views. Staff friendly and welcoming-happy to help with any query.

Facilities were fine and very regularly cleaned. Great place to stay- thoroughly recommend for families, solo travellers and couples.

Kay and Richard 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Morawelon Camping And Caravanning child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Morawelon Camping And Caravanning?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Morawelon Camping And Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56447 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement