Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Morawelon Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport > Morawelon Camping And Caravanning Reviews

Morawelon Camping And Caravanning
Parrog
Newport
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA42 0RW
Tel: 01239 820565
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: ScaryCanary 7 reviews from this member

 This is a relaxed and friendly site in a great beachside setting. It is not cheap, and the showers cost 50p (which soon adds up for a family after a few days) but the location is amazing and that's what you're paying for.

The site comprises 4 fields with a mix of tents, campers, caravans etc, with many people returning year after year. Some people clearly stay for the whole summer and have good friends there. There is a very informal feel to the site - which we liked.

Other reviewers have described it as untidy and a shanty town, which I think is harsh and unfair, but there is an almost festival type vibe here, with campfires, fairy lights, large groups socialising etc, which some people may not enjoy.

However, it is quiet at night and although busy, I never had to wait for a toilet or shower. Like any busy site in peak season, at times the bins were overflowing, the showers had hair and grass blocking the drains, and the extra portaloos could have been cleaner, but the facilities overall were perfectly acceptable.

We had a nice pitch in the top field - be warned that most of the site is on a slope so you will need ramps for camper vans! There is a cafe on site, open some evenings, and being located next to the sailing club, it is lively round and about, with plenty of opportunity for kayaking/swimming/ sailing, and lots to watch if you don't feel like joining in.

The beach is amazing - sandy, flat and safe, and at low tide you can walk across to the main wide beach. Alternatively you can drive round the coast and it's not expensive to park there. It is about 1/2 mile walk to Newport town where there are a few shops, pubs, cashpoint and a great pizza restaurant.

There is also a small camp shop on site selling milk eggs and alcohol - all the essentials!

We really enjoyed our stay and feel lucky that we were able to get in at short notice.

We would definitely recommend and hope to return one day. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kay foreman 1 review from this member

 Fabulous camping site, lovely location with superb views. Staff friendly and welcoming-happy to help with any query.

Facilities were fine and very regularly cleaned. Great place to stay- thoroughly recommend for families, solo travellers and couples.

Kay and Richard 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wenvoeman 2 reviews from this member

 We are back again at Morawelon because it is a great waterfront campsite. We have been camping here for years and love it. We particularly like the fact that it is well run and efficiently managed by the family that own it.

Each pitch is of a generous size and a good number have electricity, there are water points spaced out around the 3 fields. The ablutions are clean and tidy and there is always plenty of hot water. There is one outdoor (cold) shower which is useful for washing off sand from the beach and good hot showers for 50p, which last a long time. The washing up sinks are also provided with lashings of hot water.

Nicky who manages the site gives everyone a warm welcome and shows people to their pitch. She and her husband Richard keep the grass cut and generally look after the well being of the campers.

The adjacent tea room and restaurant serves great meals and snacks and ice creams too.

We have had two wonderful weeks and will be booking to come again next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Maimie 3 reviews from this member

 Epic location, the view is outstanding and perfect for watersports people.

Extra charge for showers, money ran out really quick and took 1. 50 for a shower, which I thought is quite a lot as the site is quite expensive for what is actually provided.

A long walk to a pub up a steep hill, although there is a cafe on site it wasn't open. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mr and Mrs B 2 reviews from this member

 We chose this site because of it's location - which is perfect for the coast path and lovely beach - but what a disappointment when we arrived. We visited Reception (a till at the back of the cafe) and after paying for our pitch we were shown up to the top field.

On the way were were horrified to see weeds growing around all the paving slabs outside the facilities, dead flowers and weeds in the pots and overflowing refuse and recycling bins - a general air of neglect (which is not what we expected as we have paid 23. 80 per night).

The toilet blocks were grubby and didn't appear to be cleaned regularly - in fact Mr B wouldn't clean his teeth at the sinks because of the smell. Due to the amount of rain vehicles were finding it difficult to drive across the top field so it became very muddy (I mentioned this to the owner and was told there are several springs under the fields which is why it was so wet).

The pitches aren't marked and some of the units are squeezed in - at one point our neighbour was so close it felt like we were camping on a car park.

We had planned on having a meal in the restaurant but were told it closed at 4. 30pm - it should be advertised as a day-time cafe for the beach. One of the worst sites we've ever visited. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lilsisang 4 reviews from this member

 More like a shanty town than a campsite. Although we booked well in advance they were uncertain where to put us. From what she was saying when looking through her pitch book, it seemed the 'best' pitches were being kept for friends who were due.

We were squashed in on the top very sloped field in a pitch that was only inches from the tent next to us. That's after we struggled to get our Motorhome up the wet and muddy patch to the field.

The owner was too busy with the cafe to bother to even tell us where the facilities where let alone show us. We found the toilets but wished we hadn't. Smelly and wet floors. 3 toilets and 2 showers for each sex to service 3 overcrowded fields ! Although there was a hook up post on our pitch it was being used.

When I pointed this out I was directed to a dodgy looking extension cable thrown in the bushes and told to use that. The fire sand buckets were full of water. It was a good job it was raining as all tents and units were that close together one fire would have taken the lot up.

Oh and advertising your on site cafe as a restaurant and bar is a bit disingenuous when it shuts a 4:30pm and there is no beer on draught. The whole place bore no resemblance to the website. We had booked 3 nights but left after one. Terrible site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nasfam 5 reviews from this member

 The location is lovely with nice walks from campsite and fabulous views. The staff are also very helpful.

At 23 a night for our camper with no hook up on a sloped field it was by far the most expensive site we stayed on during our trip. For this I would have expected clean free facilities but the showers were 50p and although mine wasn't particularly clean my husband described worse conditions in the gents.

Nice but expensive. Found equally appealing campsites in surrounding area for less  


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jepi 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic location. Very warm welcome by owners and a lovely campsite. BUT this is our second night here and the showers haven't been cleaned. There is no loo paper left in the ladies. My husband shared his shower with a frog this morning and it was still there this evening! He has moved it out! In spite of the above would return because the location is absolutely brilliant. Please just clean the showers! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deadmanjones 7 reviews from this member

 An absolutely fantastic location for this small, well maintained site, with stunning sunsets and sea views. A ten minute walk into Newport finds at least 4 pubs and a few restaurants all of great quality. Showers were a perfectly reasonable 50p; ladies block larger and generally nicer than the gents if our chats round the campfire were accurate. They have a number of kayaks which for a charity donation you are welcome to make use of if you re experience and accept liability.

We will definitely return, though being a small site it reportedly gets very crowded during school break. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rainbow 747 3 reviews from this member

 This site is all about location. Overlooking the beach at Parrog, next to the Pembrokeshire coast path and within 10 mins walking distance of Newport. Warm welcome on arrival, pitches with hookup although levellers needed and lovely cafe on site. Did not use the facilities but aware that showers were an extra charge even though the cost per night was over 20. Would definitely recommend this site. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Morawelon Camping And Caravanning child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Morawelon Camping And Caravanning?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Morawelon Camping And Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2559 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement