Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Spring Willows Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Spring Willows Leisure Park Reviews

Spring Willows Leisure Park
Main Road
Staxton
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO12 4SB
Tel: 01723 891505
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 62 Touring
Open: February - December

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 31 Reviews
                6/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joanne01422 2 reviews from this member

I stayed on this site on my own with the children whilst my husband stayed at home due to work commitments. 
We had a lovely time although the weather could have been better.
The staff were really friendly and helpful.
There is a nice little play area just outside the reception/ bar area which was great.
The area for meals/ drinks and dancing was pleasant, and when we visited, it wasn't too full, although the park looked to be getting busier as we were leaving.
The swimming pool was smashing. It was nice and quiet when I went and we had the changing rooms to ourselves. Again, I am not sure if this would be the case at busier times.
The only negative points were the pitches and the toilets.
The pitch we stayed on wasn't level and very muddy due to where awnings had in the past, worn away the grass. I do feel that the touring pitches do need money spending on them although they are developing the static caravan side at the moment.
Also, the toilets were clean, but not very inviting. I didn't feel I wanted a shower in them as they were cold, dark and dismal.
Overall we had a good time and have booked to go again.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Maria brownson 4 reviews from this member

This was a pleasant campsite, unfortunately we went when it rained constantly for 5 days. They have a bar that sells bar snacks and they are reasonable. They also have night time entertainment that was good. The swimming pool is small but clean and the kids loved it there. Is also helped pass time when it rained. There is a lot to do in the area, however, most of it caters for when the weather is good. The campsite is clean and the staff are lovely. The showers were clean.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie haskayne 1 review from this member

Just spent 2 nights at Spring Willows. Had a brilliant time! Friendly helpful staff, spotless toilets / showers. Great facilities:-small indoor swimming pool, bar,playground and shop.
Short drive to coastal resorts of Scarborough and Filey.
Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: December 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leannedeantown 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at Spring Willows for new year, had an absolutely fantastic time, friendly staff and clean showers/toilets. Swimming pool a little small but our 11 year old loved it all the same. We visited again in March 2007 surprised to see all touring caravans have been moved further up to the top field to make way for statics nevertheless we still like it at this site and will definitely be going back this summer!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debip 5 reviews from this member

We stayed for three days in august a with our three children and we found the site very nice the staff were helpful and the facilities spotless. One word of warning though we were told on booking that the toilets and shower block were about 100 yards from where we would be camping this was untrue we about five hundred yards away and you had to walk down a windy road to get there it was not suitable to let the children walk down alone and made night time loo trips very annoying for that reason we would not stay here again unless we were in a caravan.

Reviewer: alan perf 2 reviews from this member

August Bank Holiday 2003
Pre booked this site after being reccomended. The brochure said it was a flat site, we ended up the hill up three flights of stairs(which were not lit up at night) next to the log cabin. The first night we were kept awake till 4am by the noise from said cabin. There was too many people on site, when going to the toilet we had to walk through someones awning. And those keys. Showers were down to a trickle. Went to the cafe for our breakfast on the Monday before we left. After waiting an hour we decided on the Little Chef round the corner. General hygiene also left a lot to be desired

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soph99 1 review from this member

Well what can I say dirty pool full of unattended shouting kids tried to take my 3 year old swimming and we couldn't even get in as kids jumping and pushing each other when asked staff about this they were less than helpful.  Tent field to far away from toilet block which was also dirty cold and dark. 

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Christabella 5 reviews from this member

Stopped at Spring Willows over the August Bank holiday weekend and had a lovely time, even the weather stayed nice (most of the time!).  The campsite is in a great location not too far from Scarborough, Filey, Bridlington and Whitby so it's ideal if you want to visit these places.  The staff were very friendly and the shower/toilet blocks were really clean and plenty of them, in fact I'd go as far to say they were the best I've been to.  There is a club house on site and there was entertainment on Saturday night (singer) and the usual bingo, kids disco, karaoke on the other nights.  The field where the tents are is right at the top of the campsite away from the clubhouse so you don't get disturbed by the noise at night.  There are 2 parks on the site and a small pool which is great for kids.  The only downside I can think of is that the toilets are quite far away from the tent field which is okay during the day but at night is a bit of a trek my advice is to take a bucket, other than that a great campsite and I would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stuartpgordon 4 reviews from this member

Spring Willows without doubt had the best reviews for sites around the Scarborough area and was duly booked for our week long summer holiday.  Only after staying at this site do I realise why the reviews are so good.  My review is therefore intented to give valuable information to those of us camping in a tent and not a caravan.
 
The facilities for the caravans are first rate, the pool is nice as everyone has mentioned and the clubhouse is excellent.  The toilet/shower block is also very good and the remaining facilities such as the playpark, laundry and arcade are adequate enough for your stay.  The staff also as mentioned by other reviewers are also very helpful.
 
But here comes the flipside but for TENTERS ONLY!
1.  They do not freeze Ice blocks for you, we had to buy a pack of ice cubes and watch them melt into a pool of water each day in our cool boxes.
2.  The tent field is at the top of the hill at the back of the camp and away from all the facilities.
3.  The tenting field has NO amieneties, you have to walk down to the caravan areas for water, toilets and showers.
4.  The site is right on the A64 York to Scarborough Road which is a good location for the holiday but the road is busy - all night traffic noise was evident.
5.  The site is adjacent to a roundabout on the A64 which has a shell garage, the noise of the motorbikes all night accelerating away from the roundabout and the garage was tremendous.
6.  The tenting field is right next to a wood and farmers fields so be prepared with insect repellant and wasp spray, we were covered in blackfly the first day putting our tent up.
7.  Because they only have the one field for tents, the summer we've had meant it was very busy, especially at weekends and we came back to our tent one day to find the wardens had allowed our new neighbours to pitch their tent about 3 feet from ours, and I'm not joking either, I mean 3 feet.  They had tv on until 11pm and our kids couldnt sleep.
 
Having said all this we had a great holiday, Scarborough is a great place and we visited York, Whitby and Filey so there's lots to do in the area but if we go back it will not be to this site, tenters stay away, it is a great site but for caravaners only, this needs to be made clear,  other campers on site were of the same opinion, this should be a caravan site only and at £20 a night, tenters are paying the same as those touring, expensive in my opinion.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Klik 5 reviews from this member

This was my first trip in a tourer and the people at this site are a credit to their trade. The facilities are first class, clean and all working. The staff were excellent and were only too eager to help at any time. The entertainment last night, Saturday, Stu Montana was brilliant, we had a real ball. The 3 children which include two 13 year olds had a brilliant time despite the rain, and all want to go back as do my wife and me. Pool was small but clean and the shower in the pool area was to die for, hot and powerful. I hope that this site is a taste of thing to come but I assume that Spring Willows is one of the pick of the bunch. Well worth a visit, but don't tell too many people as we want to go back. :-)

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6403 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019