Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Hawick > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
Hornshole Bridge
Hawick
Borders   (Browse area)
TD9 8SY
Tel: 01450 373785
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 39
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shamoose 1 review from this member

 My husband and I have just returned home from this lovely wee campsite. On arrival I went into reception and was welcomed by a nice young lassie, very pleasant and cheerful, she gave me directions and explained where to pitch up so off I went. On locating my pitch( I was told to pitch anywhere on the tent site) we decided to pitch near the trees by the kids play park. It took us some time to get the tent pegs in due to hitting roots from the trees constantly! Quite stressful having never camped before! But we managed. We decided to go for a walk along the river with our wee dog which was nice and peaceful but slippery which was not great for my husband as he has very poor vision due to another health condition. The dog seemed to enjoy it. When we got back to the tent we decided to have a look at the toilet block. Totally beautiful it was, obviously brand spanking new, there are 2 shower cubicles in the ladies toilet, only complaint there was, was that the shower curtain could have done with a hot wash and when in the shower the tray kept overflowing but nothing too serious. We decided against using the laundry facilities as it was 3 to wash clothes and 2 to tumble dry. Unfortunately there was no iron or board. They also have outdoor facilities for washing dishes There are 2 sinks, a basin and a draining tray, small but does the job. Also in the ladies toilet there are 4 sockets opposite the shower cubicles for hair dryers etc.

On our second day we needed to freeze our ice packs and I asked the girl at the reception if she had the facilities to do this she said no but she was more than happy to pop them in there freezer, I offered to pay for this but was told no. This is maybe another service they could charge for maybe 10 p and ice pack. All the staff seemed to be really friendly which was nice. On the day we arrived they were getting CCTV installed. We left our tent several times wide open for 1 -2 hours and everything was fine althought we were the only people camping at the time apart from a cyclist in a one man tent. But the staff are very observant so no problems with theft. All in all a great wee place.

We are however reluctant to go back to this site due to the busy road right beside the tent pitches it kept us up most nights hearing lorries and tractors and car and motorbikes, so we are exhausted and glad to be home. Also it's a bit of a tricky park to leave if your heading I to hawick a site kind of on a bend and pretty damn scary pulling out when there is traffic driving towards you at 60 miles an hour. I think we would be more likely going to the sister site next time round. But like I said no other complaints as it's a lovely wee park with lovely staff. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Troutface 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site. Was here last year. Spent a fortune updating site. Now 5*. Every pitch has water and electric points. Stunning scenery. Right in the river. If you want peace and quiet you will never find a better site. Quality 5* toilet block, Laundry. Shower cubicles fabulous. If you want a little piece of paradise visit this site. Rated this site on the peace and quiet. Not much for Kids, small play area. If you love scenery, calm and peace visit this site. You will not be disappointed. Large shopping area 2 miles away in Hawick. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blue skys 1 review from this member

 Fantastic camp, beautiful surroundings, spotless shower/toilet/laundry block, really helpful live in mangers that are happy to help with anything they can.

Fab bus service that stops right outside the camps entrance, just a couple of minutes up the road is a lovely village (Denholm) with great pubs that serve great food, also has a shop, post office so you have all you need close by.

The place has a really nice feeling about it with lots of other campers, also a pet friendly site with a little park for the children to play in.

Will definitely be visiting again soon, thankyou for a wonderful stay! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AtoZ 2 reviews from this member

 Best campsite I've stayed at.

From the warm welcome me and my friend received when arriving (soaked and exhausted) to the cheery goodbye when we left (like saying goodbye to old friends) our stay was perfect.

Our stay should have been 1 night but we increased it to 2. Lovely flat pitch and perfect facilities. Clean toilet block with free hot showers, and a laundry room which came in very handy for sorting out our muddy walking gear. The location is beautiful, right next to the river, and everything is so clean and perfectly laid out. Less than 2 mile into Hawick (don't take the main road, follow the yellow road behind for a lovely leisurely stroll into town), just the right distance to walk off a pint or 2. Dalstons The Exchange Bar probably the best in town, or there's The Bourtree a newish Wetherspoons (Full Scottish breakfast for 3. 19).

Claire and Allan have only just took over the site and already they seem very popular. Having a young family of their own means they're very relaxed and laid back, nothing is a trouble to them.

If you're looking for a first place to try out camping then this is it. Next time I return it'll be with the wife and kids. You couldn't ask for a better site. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Siandali 5 reviews from this member

 Great site, we used Riverside as a night stop but will be stoping for a few days next time. Easy to find signposted from A7. Hawick town centre, then 5mins drive and your there.

Friendly welcome on arrival, shown to our pitch hardstanding with Plenty of room.

Other reviews mention the toilet/shower blocks unmopped etc but they were spotless on our visit as was the rest of the site. There's a little play ground for younger children and the icecream van arrived in the afternoon.

Dogs are welcome and if you walk to the top of the site there a little path onto public footpaths along the river bank. There's no shop but Hawick has everything you need 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Sophiedog1 16 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site if you are given a pitch backing onto the river ask for numbers 3 to 9. Unfortunately site is let down by some very old units used as seasonal pitches and spoils the vista. Previous reports praised toilets but not in our view. We spent three nights here and ladies shower cubicles were only mopped once, there wasn't even a mop and pail to do it yourself. The rest of the toilets and sinks were never cleaned at all, same with the gents. The site was very quiet but the facilities were being used so therefore should still have been cleaned on a more regular basis. The dishwash area was the most unpleasant with roughcast from the walls covering the whole area displaying an unclean/unkempt environment. No shop, and no newspapers were on offer as with other sites we have visited. This site would be perfect if you used your own facilities. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LJS49 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site situated alongside the River Teviot a couple of miles outside the town of Hawick. Spacious marked out hardstanding pitches. Plenty of water points and drains close to pitches.

Toilets and showers always spotless and plenty of hot water at all times. Also heated.

Laundry facilities. Site wardens very friendly and helpful.

All pitches have electric hook ups.

Prices are average for a site of this standard.

Small children's playground near to touring site.

Site has mostly residential caravans but they are situated at either end of the site with the tourers separate in the centre.

Hawick has all the amenities required and the people of the town are very friendly and helpful.

This is our fourth visit to this site and will keep returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cc21 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely camp site, in a very attractive position next to the river. The reception and camp site staff were very friendly and welcoming and dealt with things very efficiently.

The toilet block was very clean and the showers spacious with plenty of hot water. The site was almost full but I barely saw anyone in the toilets and showers and never had to wait once. The pitches are marked out and you are allocated one on arrival.

There's a lovely little playground which our kids loved (aged 6 and 3) and there are picnic tables with parasols dotted around the site amongst raised beds of flowers.

The nearby road was noisy in the day but not noticeable at all at night. All in all a lovely site and I would visit again if we were in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Saracen 15 reviews from this member

 Easy to find on the road into Hawick from Jedburgh, this campsite is attractively positioned on the river. It has a fair number of static caravans, and the touring site is separate from these.

Pitches are a good size, a mixture of gravelled patches for vehicles and grassed areas for tents. The facilities are good enough - clean and well-looked after - but there's no shop or bar.

It's a drive into Hawick, which has all the services you could possibly need, and the campsite gave us a very complete guide to the town as well which was helpful. There's a nice path along the river on the other side from the campsite which leads to Denholm. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dead Sheep 13 reviews from this member

 Upon arriving at the campsite we were given a helpful, warm and friendly welcome to the site. Tent spaces were allocated, which was helpful, and not too crowded. The site was generally clean and tidy. The river and trees provided a pleasant backdrop.

At the entrance to the site, a sign indicates 5 star status. Whilst a reasonably good site we found the status of 5 stars rather surprising and not comparable to sites elsewhere holding this status.

During our visit the campsite was quite busy with most pitches full. The toilet and shower facilities we clean but not sufficient to meet demand, for example, there were only two cubicles in the male toilets.

Other irritations included a busy main road to one side of the site and hoards of unsupervised children. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hawick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2447 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement