Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Borders > Hawick > Riverside Caravan Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan Park
Hornshole Bridge
Hawick
Borders   (Browse area)
TD9 8SY
Tel: 01450 373785
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 39
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mickdemps 13 reviews from this member

 Nice and well maintained site, toilet facilities were open but we used our own so cant comment.

All caravan pitches are fully serviced hard standing pitches with plenty of room. Plenty of walks from site and can walk into Hawick along river path.

Main road was a little noisy during the day but was never bothered by noise at night.

Lovely area and would visit again. 


Date of Visit: November 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Maysha 1 review from this member

 The staff were very helpful and friendly.

The pitch was fully serviced and perfect for our requirements.

The toilet and shower facilities were spotless. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackieandbill 3 reviews from this member

 Came here looking for peace and quiet but proximity to main road put paid to that, it does ease off during the night but there is still sufficient traffic to disturb sleep or at least it did mine.

It rained heavily during our stay, the gravelled area in front of our pitch became flooded and put the riverside walks out of bounds, there are no footpaths along the road to Hawick or denholm so going anywhere meant using car which of course means one of us was unable to enjoy (alcoholic) drinks whilst out and about, there being no bar or clubhouse on site.

The site is kept impeccably clean, we used the toilet and shower block with none of the problems mentioned elsewhere in these reviews and used the super pitch facilities to their full extent, no problems there

Whilst there we kept a close eye on the weather forecast which was for things to get even worse so we left a day early.

Would we return? Well whilst there we did visit other sites in Melrose and Jedburgh that are actually in the respective towns (ie within safe walking distance ) so we would probably go there instead, also not sure this site is worth the 28 a night fees 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aldo1877 14 reviews from this member

 Gus and Lindsay are very friendly and keep the site immaculate.

The pitches are a bit tight and you cannot get an awning out without encroaching onto the border grass, and the car needs to park across the front. This is a site to be used as a base for touring the area or for total relaxation. There is no bar and it would be too dangerous to walk to the likes of Denholm. It was a bit wet during our stay, but we still enjoyed our time away.

Many of the border's towns are just a short drive away, so if you are there to tour the Abbey's or such like, then it is ideally placed.

Cost was 29 per night for a caravan with 2 adults and electric hook up.

Take care when exiting the site, although the speed limit has been reduced on the stretch of road outside the entrance\exit, there are many who speed around the bend very close to the entrance\exit. If towing, then you need to exit quickly to avoid potentially being hit by one of those speeding. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: ArtieMiss 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely site with lovely owners. Toilet block is very modern, fresh and clean. Just a shame that other folk can't read signs to close door when they leave to keep the heat in.

Dish washing area is okay but open to the elements so just glad it wasn't raining when I done mine.

Gravel pitches are fine but quite close together, with own electric hookup and water supply.

The site is close to the town centre which is good, but a bit too far to walk. Over all the site is lovely but a bit cramped. Very clean too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tickle53 1 review from this member

 Hi, I just spent two nights at the park. On entering the park it is very well kept. Billy the groundsman is run off his feet and he's a credit to the park.

But although the parking spots and approaches are fantastic.

Afraid the toilet block although pretty new has a few downfalls

1. They are not cleaned on a regular basis and 1 of the toilets was dirty for the 2 nights.

2. There is no where to put you cloths whilst you shower.

3. This is the main point because of the main road it is very noisy as the road is frequently used through the night by large wagons, so the noise drones through the park. You cannot get far enough away to stop this as the static touring caravans occupy the riverside part.

Think these problems could be easily rectified by having more staff on hand.

The noise problem could be addressed by erecting a fence roadside 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KnitKnutter 4 reviews from this member

 I had been really looking forward to coming to this site, and it's superpitches. But it was a huge disappointment. The site is sandwiched between the river (lovely) and the very busy, noisy road. It wasn't as close to Hawick as I'd remembered when I booked it, and the road isn't one that you can walk alongside.

The services (tap, hookup) are at the front of each pitch and shared between two units. We had battery/motor mover problems so couldn't turn around to be able to reach the tap. Even a long hose extension would have struggled. So we didn't get the value of the superpitch, apart from the waste. Free wifi was provided, but on looking at this open network, my data network engineer husband wouldn't touch it. Your data is not secure. There was a bit of 3G anyway.

The pitches themselves are quite small. It fitted our van + car, but with no space for the awning. If we'd put the awning up, there would be nowhere for the car. Others seemed to be parking across the front of their vans, but if we'd done that, we'd have blocked the exit. Each was hard standing, made of slate chippings which seemed to walk into the van everytime.

The toilet block was fine, although it only has a long ramp entrance, and could do with a set of steps at the other end. The ladies showers had a hook on the back of the door and plenty of hot water. It all seemed clean enough to me, but wasn't at all busy.

Proximity to the river meant we were visited by beautiful duck, who slept under one of the seasonal caravans which edge the riverside.

I found a nice walk up to Cavers Church (cross the busy road and up the hill), and another riverside one (through the campsite to Hornshole Bridge and turn right), but you can't walk into Hawick as the road is far to busy. And noisy. Really noisy. Did I say that already?

Because of the location and the lack of the services we had paid for, plus being underwhelmed by Hawick, we left 2 days early. We did visit Kelso, and wish we'd found a site nearer there - a lovely town.

Hawick itself is in desperate need of regeneration. The high street is awash with empty shops and To Let signs, and not a particularly pleasant place to visit. And if you want cashmere, save your pennies. I went into the Johnstons factory shop and the cheapest item was a pair of gloves or socks for 30. A sweater is in the region of 200. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Campers inc 1 review from this member

 We have just spent two night at riverside touring park at Hawick it's a lovely site with a new shower block but I'm afraid that the lack of mops, shelves, stools, hooks for your clothes let it down plus the water pressure stops the taps from turning off in the sinks also a flush hose at the elsan would help.

TV points at the bollard were a hit or a miss. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blueboy2 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site over the bank holiday weekend for 3 nights. It is a small site next to the river. All the pitches next to the river seem to be taken by seasonal tourers. Each of the pitch sites are fully serviced and hard standing. They are quite small and if like us you have an awning there is very little room for your car. The service stack is at the front of the pitch, which meant that we had to turn the caravan around so that we could use this. Thank heavens for the motor mover. The toilet block and shower are new. If you use the shower it is difficult not to get your clothes wet as there is limited space to put them. There were quite a few tents on the small grassed area. There was obviously increased use of the toilet block. The floors got really dirty, there was no soap in the dispensers and the hand drier didn't work in the ladies. I did complain to the warden. The toilet block wasn't cleaned enough or replenished enough for the amount of people staying at the site. The chemical toilet disposal had no hose to clean out our toilet unit so we had to carry water to the point to do this. The main road is very close to the site and it does get busy in the mornings so no chance of a lie in. This site needs to up its game. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Templogin 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent site that seems to cater well for all types from tents all the way up to static units and everything between. Even the tent area has EHUs available, not that I had the required cable.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Suffering the effects of cycling too far too fast I needed to stay a second night, and this was no problem as there was only two other tents in that area.

The shower and toilet areas were kept immaculate, and there was plenty of hot water. I was so pleased to find a laundry on site and be able to wash and dry my wet kit.

Hawick is a couple of miles away and has everything that you are likely to need, including a decent sized supermarket. The road surface into Hawick is truly shocking, although you are only likely to notice it if you are on a pushbike without suspension.

Sadly I didn't enjoy my stay, and it had nothing to do with the site itself. The road past the site has a few tight bends on it and this seems to attract all the boy racers on their motorbikes and in their cars, with their loud pipes. You can put up with it in the day time, but when it is still going on at 4am it becomes very tiresome. The greenery between the tent pitches and the road seems to do little to deaden the sound. Such a shame as it really is a top notch site. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hawick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Borders

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2695 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement