Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Findochty Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Banffshire > Findochty > Findochty Caravan Park Reviews

Findochty Caravan Park
Jubilee Terrace
Findochty
Banffshire   (Browse area)
AB56 4QA
Tel: 01542 835303
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 33
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Photo4x4 16 reviews from this member

My wife and I stayed at the site for one night in our motorhome. We visited reception and were given rather vague directions as to which pitch we should use so we just chose one ourselves which was right next to the shingle beach with great views. The gravel hard standing was fairly level and only needed a slight adjustment to level the vehicle.

There are plenty of EHs within easy reach of the pitches and the site has lighting at night. There is also recycling and rubbish disposal available.

The site is well established and is in a great location for coastal walks and views. The village is extremely picturesque and the harbour has many interesting boats. There is a pub at the entrance to the site and the restaurant was well patronised (we did not use it ourselves). We could not find any shops nearby for food etc. , but there must be some in the village we just did not come across any as we did not need to stock up.

The shower and toilet block is in a cottage at the entrance to the site and has previously been described is warm and cosy and was immaculately clean. The showers has plenty of warm water and were of the ‘push button’ type so no fiddling with taps and settings. There were just 2 MHs and two touring caravans on the site when we were there so there was no queuing for the showers. It may be that in high season with a site full this would not be the case.

Elsan and grey water disposal are available by taking your ‘tanks’ to them. As a motorhomer I prefer being able to drive over the drain to dump my grey waste.

Would we visit again – certainly. Would we recommend the site to others – yes.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mags0152 25 reviews from this member

We came with friends - they hired a static and we brought our motorhome. It really is a most beautiful site with views that take your breath away. We saw dolphins several times and also enjoyed watching the passing traffic of small boats.

The facilities are quaint but very, very clean.

Great walks up the cliff path and on to the golf course.

Brilliant that golf is included at Strathlene golf club close by. It's an excellent links course with plenty of interesting holes yet not too difficult.

Our only concern was the washing up sinks in the toilet block. I really didn't like the idea of washing up near where people were using the toilets. Also men and women can't wash up together. Another little issue is the placing of chairs in the shower cubicles. They are too small to take them. I would recommend putting drop down seats on the walls. A couple of small changes to the bathrooms would make the place absolutely perfect.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vmccar 23 reviews from this member

I agree with all the reviewers who have said this site is a gem. It's small but perfectly formed. Stunning location right on the beach (which is beautiful but not great for kids paddling or playing in sand although there is a lovely wee beach on the opposite side of the harbour you could use if you wanted to do that).

It's a charming site - the loos are in an old cottage but rustic very clean and very charming.

The nearby pub has good pub food.

The coastal walks either way are charming down to other fishing villages - and if you don't want to walk back you can get the no. 35 bus back which runs every half hour.

We saw seals on an island close to shore on the coast path to Buckie, and we also saw the dolphins. We had been looking hard but in the end they just swam past us just a little out to sea about 8pm one night at fairly low tide and that was an awesome site.

It's a peaceful site - the only thing I would say is its a residential rather than a holiday place despite the charming harbours and cottages and there may not be enough to do for some.

However in our few years of motorhoming now it is only one of three sites that have ever scored full marks on our own scoring system! We loved it.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Special01 42 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 days, end of April. Great site. Good views. Good facilities. Very friendly owner's. Admiral pub at site entrance. Good meals. Very friendly hosts.

Dog friendly pub. With free Wi-Fi. Great little harbour village and all the locals are friendly too. A nice place to live. If you get the chance. Have been told its a busy site in the holiday season.

Book well in advance. Easy to get to site. Well worth a stay.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracymacp 1 review from this member

Absolutely beautiful site right on the coast with excellently kept grounds and shower block. We stayed for 7 nights and loved every minute of it. Everyone was friendly and we knew if we had any issues we would only have to ask and we'd get help. Having the pub next to the entrance is great and provides lovely food - we ate there a fair few times.

We were sea kayaking in the area and found it a fascinating coastline - loved the bow fiddle rock, a must if in the area. On a very windy day we decided to go for a lovely cliff top walk to Cullen for lunch and it had to be Cullen skink which was extremely tasty.

We will be back and highly recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Irene784 1 review from this member

What a little gem of a site. In a typical little fishing village the site is situated down by the pebble beach with views out into the Moray Firth. We saw dolphins go by twice in the week we were there. Regulars said they see them most days.

The site is a mix of statics and touring pitches but plenty space between pitches and mostly all level. The toilets are spotlessly clean and have everything you need. Some previous reviews have mentioned the toilets being dated but I didn't find this to be true. Showers were free and although you could not regulate the temperature they were set just right.

The Moray coastal trail runs through the site so there are lovely cliff top walks round the area. There is a small supermarket in the village and a pub on the edge of the site which sells fantastic food. We ate in the pub twice in the week we were there and also had a take away meal from there also.

They have a very varied menu in the restaurant and prices are fairly reasonable. I would not hesitate to come back to this site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yampyget 4 reviews from this member

After a long drive up from Moffat this was a lovely sight to see, the site is small and in a smashing area and to wake up and look over the Moray Firth is a joy, we were lucky enough to see Dolphins two mornings running we missed them other days as we were out and about.

10mins down the road in Port Gordon is a pull in of the road and you can park and watch the seals basking off the rocks which is another plus for the area.

Anyway back to the site, a lot of the campers have been coming for years everyone speaks and are willing to point out places to go, a really friendly site.

Only downside think twice if you want to put an awning up it gets very windy. If you don't have 02 network on you mobile you will be lucky to get a signal.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marshy04 3 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site for 4 nights and it is one of the best sites I have ever stopped on. Toilets and showers were very clean, The site was immaculate and we had a view straight over the bay were we sat watching dolphins and seals most days. The pub at the end of the site was very nice too had an excellent meal there and the landlord and staff were very welcoming. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grubs 3 reviews from this member

Great little site and very close to good cycling tracks. Tent area is at the far end of the site and gets some shelter from the wind - you are right next to the sea here. Toilets are clean and showers are hot. The pub near the entrance does a good pint and take away fish and chips.

There are a number of static caravans but this site does not have that static feel about it. Lots of tourers were on site too. Ground was level and easy to get your pegs into.

Very good little site. I'll use that again

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Not sure sites get much better than this.

Perches on the edge of the beach - only yards from the harbour and village square. Well kept pitches, hard standing or grass and well spaced.

Owners were friendly and helpful and keep the place beautifully. The toilet / shower block is immaculate - it is old but I have yet to come across one as warm and welcoming. The showers are piping hot and good water pressure.

You can walk the Moray Trail which crosses the site either East or West, its about a 30 minute walk along the coast to Buckie.

We paid £15. 70 including free showers - superb site which would recommend to anyone.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Findochty      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Banffshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019