Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Findochty Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Banffshire > Findochty > Findochty Caravan Park Reviews

Findochty Caravan Park
Jubilee Terrace
Findochty
Banffshire   (Browse area)
AB56 4QA
Tel: 01542 835303
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 33
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: AdeGidney 3 reviews from this member

Another lovely site, right on the sea front just off the small harbour, Findochty is small but a perfect tradition Scottish harbour village.

Shower/toilet blocks are quite old fashioned but spotlessly clean and well kept, look like they get redecorated every year.

Excellent fish & chip shop in Portknockie 2miles away. Beautiful walks/biking along coastal path.

Definitely recommend this site if you like quiet places with stunning views.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Dubdogs 140 reviews from this member

Pulled in to this site for a stopover en-route along the coast road. We had a great pitch right on the edge of the pebble beach, which gave fantastic views of the sea birds and also a pod of dolphins swimming past. The facilities were kept clean and tidy. The shop in the village was well stocked.

The views really make this site and we’d certainly return if we’re in the area again.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site and a very pleased to find nothing had changed.

Site still really well kept, toilets and showers still quirky and some of the cleanest we have every seen. Piping hot water in the showers, there is a washing up sink in both the ladies and gents facilities. A washing machine in the ladies for £3 a load. Fresh water tap and grey drain outside the facilities.

The pitches at the front are the best, looking straight out to sea. Plenty of room with hardstanding or grass and each with ehu.

The Moray Footpath runs through the site, follow in either direction right along the coasts.

The village is quaint for a walk around but nothing to hold you there, the attraction for us is the campsite itself and the views.

Some may find it a bit old fashioned but for us its perfect.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Captain Wobbly 2 reviews from this member

This is a great wee site, right on the edge of the shingly beach with wonderful views out to sea. The site reception is in Dennis, the owner's front room. Dennis is very welcoming, providing simple and basic instructions but, be warned, he does not accept debit or credit cards. It's cash only.

The pitches are perfect for taking advantage of the views and dolphins can be seen when they are passing. The site consists of a number of static caravans as well as a number of hard standing touring pitches with EHU and some grass pitches as well.

The toilet facilities are dated but spotlessly clean and provide all the necessary features you need. The carpet is unique but provides a homely and cosy atmosphere and makes showering a pleasure. The chemical toilet block, although it has been subject of some criticism in other reviews, is fine. It serves the purpose for what it intended and is in keeping with the character of the site.

The site is a short distance from the local harbour and there are plenty of nice walks around the village with access to another nice beach beyond the village.

There is a pub, The Admirals Inn, at the entrance which does food however, despite some good reports, we found the food was O. K. But the service was not the best.

We would return to this site and stay here again without hesitation.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

We had a wonderful 5days at Findochty, great sea views from our pitch next to the entrance, some local building work next to the site, it didn't disturb us during our stay.

The showeroom/W/Cs are dated, however were kept spotlessly clean, two water points for fresh water, and grey water located at the entrance and halfway up the site, no motor home service area.

The Élsan waste shed is located at the back of one of the static vans and is and old wooden shed, in my opinion it should be relocated to an easier accessible area and modernised.

The village is in a lovely coastal location, lovely sandy beaches and small harbours, the town has a good fully stocked shop, post office which is located in the chemist, we found the local folk were very friendly and happy to pass the time of day with you.

We tried the Admirals bar on or first day, had a drink and didn't return, we didn't find some of the bar staff too friendly in our opinion.

This is a lovely site and will include this on our next tour along the Moray coast

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tour gs 16 reviews from this member

Cracking location. Views right out to the Moray firth the site is situated in a small cove with a small pebble beach right in front of the pitches and a couple of large rock outcrops that are used by kids for base jumping into the water at high tide.

Rather them than me! Got booked in at reception and was met by the straight talking owner who told us where everything was.

Seemed quite a relaxed site with not to many unnecessary rules. Previous posts have put down the toilet block as being dated which I suppose it is a bit however we liked it and it reminded us of what it may be like to use your granny's outside toilet. It had a homely feel to it freshly painted and plenty hot water for the showers.

The showers are push button type but you get plenty time between presses. £24 a night for two with EHU is reasonable value. Lovely walks from the site along the Moray Coastal Trail to Buckie and to Cullen which seems to be the best bits of this long distance footpath as far as we could see.

Only down side to the site for me was the chemical waste disposal. It was fairly basic which was okay but the problem was a metal grid with two inch square holes had been placed over the 'bowl' no doubt to stop cassette caps from falling in and blocking the drain. This led to previous user toilet paper and other matter remaining above the bowl. Nasty!

Not entirely the fault of the site, if only people would use the correct paper or at least use the hose provided to wash their mess away all would be well. Great location relaxed site with a local keystore in the village for all your basics.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 41 reviews from this member

Findochty (locally called Finichty), is fairly typical of Northern Scottish fishing villages, with painted cottages

Clustering round the harbour and up the hillside beyond. In past years, this was a working fishing village

But as the boats became bigger, they moved to the larger port of Buckie, a few miles to the west. Now the

Harbour mainly caters for leisure craft.

The campsite sites on a flat piece of ground beside the harbour. At first glance, it looks like a residential site

With a number of static vans and caravans that appear to be there for some time. The few touring pitches are small

But well maintained. The toilets are very clean, but cramped and have a quaint 'recycled' look. There is no

Seperate dishwashing or veg prep area and as far as I could see, only one water tap. The owner was not very talkative, but the caretaker was friendly and helpful.

There is one small, expensive 'one stop' shop in the village and a pub right at the campsite entrance. It offers

Meals and a rather unimaginative takeaway service. Unfortunately, it appears only to serve 'popular' beers

Which is a pity because there are some good small breweries in the area. We gave it a miss.

It sounds as if this site has little to recommend it, but it has one saving grace - its location.

With our pitch only yards from the beach, we sat and watched a dozen or so dolphins leaping a hundred or so Yards offshore. Orca, Minkie, humpback and Bowhead whales have also been seen in the area. Although the site does not cater well for children, the ones on site seemed to enjoy playing on the shore, climbing rocks and fishing.

To both the east and west, there are footpaths (part of the Moray coast path) and apparently the site fee includes a round of golf at the adjacent Strathlene course. To the west, past Buckie, you reach the start of the Speyside way, and the Dolphin centre at the mouth of the Spey.

If you can forgive the shortcomings of Findochty and the eccentricities of the site, this is a great place for a break.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Delzer 8 reviews from this member

First visit here and what a lovely spot. Owners very nice and helpful. Yes toilets are a bit dated but they were immaculate.

Lovely walks for the dog and couldn't get any closer to the sea.

When we were there a lot of regular campers who have been coming for years and we can understand why. Near lots of things to see and do. Locals very friendly with plenty fresh fish and lovely ice cream out and about.

Would definitely recommend here if you like walking or anything to do with water.

Lovely quiet for chilling out. Nice pub didn't eat anything there the night we decided to eat there they were fully booked about an hour's wait.

We definitely will be back and the weather was lovely. Just one day overcast. Lovely place.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: AlisonLow 1 review from this member

Just returned from an amazing break at Findochty. Have never been before and were lucky to hire 1 of the statics. Lovely, clean caravan. Stayed Monday to Saturday with our two kids. Plenty of room for 4.

Site very clean and friendly. Surrounding area is beautiful!

Breathtaking views over the sea, and we saw the infamous dolphins on Wednesday night! Amazing to see. Had a great week weather wise too which helps. We will be coming here again! Also fish and chip van visited on Thursday night in the harbour.

Queues whole night. Walks in every direction. Visits to spey bay recommended to see the Dolphin Centre and Baxter Factory well worth visit too. Sorry to have to leave.

No shop on site but 1 a ten minute walk at the most. States site to be quiet after 11pm, but quiet in general.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

We totally found this site by chance, spotting a camping sign as we drove along the Moray coast road. Dropping down through the picturesque town the site is situated adjacent to the small harbour.

We had a hardstanding pitch right on the front with the most amazing view of the rocky coastline. The site was mainly tourers with a handful of static mobile homes.

The toilet & shower facilities are housed in a cottage at the site entrance and are very old worldly but immaculately clean. There are lovely walks along the coast line into secluded coves with tiny shingle beaches.

The town of Findochty has a small supermarket and a chemist with a post office inside on the upper road and the Admirals pub which is situated at the entrance to the site. This is a great little place loved it !

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Banffshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3173 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019