Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ty Hen Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Rhosneigr > Ty Hen Holiday Park > Reviews

Ty Hen Holiday Park
Station Road
Rhosneigr
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL64 5QZ
Tel: 01407 810331
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 38
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amse23 2 reviews from this member

 We were a bit dubious when visiting this site due to past comments but decided to give it a go. The site is lovely and peaceful. We arrived on a Friday morning and the planes were flying from RAF valley this is something I quickly got used to and enjoyed watching. The planes did not fly after 5pm and they didn't fly over the weekend either.

The kids loved the freedom of riding their bikes around the site and playing in the park. The swimming pool was lovely and the kids had the chance to use it twice over the weekend.

The showers were basic ( due to be refurbished in winter this year )but clean with plenty of hot water which is all I expected really if we wanted 4* luxury we would have stayed in a hotel.

There is a laundry room on site which has plug sockets that you put 20p in to use this gave plenty of use probably about 15 mins. Dryers 50p for 15 mins which came in really handy as the weather was really bad on the first day !there are also washing machines which are 1.

All in all a very good site that we will be returning to 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hillhound 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed one night after getting off the Hollyhead ferry.

There is quite a narrow lane up to the site.

The facilities were basic and quite old but were clean and serviceable. The children's playground was again quite basic but kept the kids entertained for a while.

The location was very handy for the ferry, and while we didn't have the time to explore the area, the village close by looked nice.

The site is close to RAF Valley, although there was nothing moving while we were there.

Would I go back? I don't think so as there are nicer sites with better facilities in the area, admittedly for twice the price. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SCOTT67 9 reviews from this member

 My first experience of Anglesey was at Ty Hen. The transition from the mainland over the Britania bridge is quite striking. Once your on the island, its desolate. It has aspects of Cornwall and the far north of Scotland. But with less infrastructure.

I came to the conclusion that that is why people come and great for dog walking.

As for Ty Hen. You must be aware that its right next to the main line to Holyhead. But you cant hear the trains. Over the noise of the jets taking off and landing at RAF Fali.

Kids will be transfixed, the novelty wore off in about 30 seconds for me. It gets particularly tedious when they're coming home on an evening, so try and be somewhere else.

The toilets/showers did have a 'loo of the year award'. This must be on environmental grounds as my wife and I found them to be impractical and unsanitary. However, they were regularly cleaned.

The floor on the mens toilets/showers gathered to a central point and you would have to be pretty naive to not think foul water from the urinal area wasn't gathering there too. And thereby being tracked back and forth into the shower area.

They are scheduled for renovation though. My wife arrived prior to me and was not shown to her pitch or offered a map to show the location of the facilities. The post holding the power connection fell over when she put the cable in.

Our neighbours who love Ty Hen, had two massive german sheperds and did their shopping locally. 12 miles away in Holyhead.

My son loved the planes but peace, tranquillity and a reasonable level of sanitation are high up on my tick list. Which other sites on the island offer. If you want to go see the planes, which we did because the red arrows were in town, you can get really close in a couple of locations.

Which other sites on the island offer.

I hope to visit Anglesey again but will stay elsewhere. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenny Mc 1 review from this member

 The campsite setting/location was great - watching the RAF planes. However, the pitch details provided at booking were immaterial due to fields and pitches having no signs and the office generally being unmanned, leading to a 'free for all' of pitching tents and parking cars (creating some bad feeling amongst fellow campers).

The facilities were functional but basic (toilet/shower blocks were in need of renovation which is planned for winter).

The children's play area provided entertainment but unfortunately was quite dangerous with screws/bolts poking out and coming loose.

I would not come back to stay at this campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sirhandle 3 reviews from this member

 To be honest this was the 4th time we have stayed here and we keep returning because the place is fantastic.

There's a lot of season tourers here whose children all know each other, but they welcome our child with open arms and he has a ball here.

Fantastic play area, donkeys, ducks, ponies, cats, an outdoor heated pool, a brilliant lake for boating on and one for fishing on; it's got it all. The toilets are spotless and good hot showers (free).

It's a very peaceful site with strict rules for noise. Children must be back at their pitches by a certain time and no noise at all after 11pm.

The site overlooks 'RAF Vally' and you get some great views of the aircraft coming and going. Rhosneigr is a short (traffic free) walk from the site, with fabulous beaches and some shops and pubs.

The place has it all and we will definitely be going again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clivetie50 1 review from this member

 My son & I had a really good weekend staying here, for the price we paid 7. 50 a night even in peak season is well value for your money,

One thing I must point out is, if you fancy a bit of shelter, which we did, don't pitch in the area which looks like a private parking space in the tent area, I've bent more pegs even plastic one's.

Other than that we were very welcomed and would surely visit this site again,

We also enjoyed our short walking into the local village which took us about 20mins, cutting trough the public footpath, which is easily signed, in which we found sandy's bar and bistro looked a bit posh, but we were welcomed for a drink

Anyway you got too try it out, I will be back there in the next few weeks. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Camping nutcase 8 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were greeted in a very friendly helpful manner by Bernie, who showed us to our pitch and said to give him a shout if we needed anything.

The site itself was spotlessly clean.

Our loo block was basic, but spotless. Dishwashing area was again spotless.

Used the family room as she showered the two kids. This was lovely and spacious, with shower, sink, and loo. Plenty of room to be able to keep clothes dry. Also to shower kids one at a time, and put them in a dry area while she got her own shower. For her this was a big bonus.

The kids loved the play area, and spent most of the time we were on site there. This closes at 10pm. We found this ideal, as it meant that all kids went back to their own units, and we could get to bed.

Bernie and Alice loved the swimming pool.

We didn't bother with the other stuff on site.

Child friendly I would say 10 of of 10

Although we did not try it, there is apparently a lovely walk down into Rosneigr. (I'd hurt my hip, and Bernie had a bad heel at the time.) On our next to last day, our new neighbours told us about this, and said that they came to this site every year. Rosneighr itself is only a short drive away - two well stocked convenience stores, ideal for bits and bobs and a chip shop (closes at 8pm). For a big shop you need to go further afield to Llangefni.

Rosneigr beach is lovely - took the dog for a walk every evening.

Although we loved watching them, the site is on the flight path to RAF Valley - and some may find the planes a bit noisy.

Would definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T4DAVE 9 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a weekend on this site. We stayed on the Tourer field, owners are very friendly, even got a personal escort to our pitch ! 10 a night with hook up was outstanding value. Toilet block very clean and modern in our field there is two of everything.
We walked along the lakeside path into Rhosneigr to access the beach and shops. Rhosneigr has limited places to eat but the Chippy was nice (closes at 8pm though) The van never moved all weekend which was good. Would highly recommend this site and we'll be back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barbara75 2 reviews from this member

 We had a smashing time. Bernie is a lovely man, really helpful. The RAF planes are a bonus feature for some folk, plane spotters would love it. The beach was clean and we swam every day. There were horses all around us. The showers were clean, the walk to the beach was nice. The fish and chip shop shut pretty early though. I would go there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caster 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed it, toilet block and showers were a bit dated but very clean and functional. The owner Bernie is very pleasant and helpful. The only drawback, for some anyway, is that the camping area is directly under the flight path for RAF Valley and the planes are coming over constantly from 8-00 am onwards. I loved it, highly recommended 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ty Hen Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Ty Hen Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ty Hen Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ty Hen Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rhosneigr      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2706 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement