Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ty Hen Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Isle of Anglesey > Rhosneigr > Ty Hen Holiday Park Reviews

Ty Hen Holiday Park
Station Road
Rhosneigr
Isle of Anglesey   (Browse area)
LL64 5QZ
Tel: 01407 810331
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 38
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shaw Gawby 1 review from this member

 From the website and online reviews, we were optimistic in this site at least meeting our expectations. Sadly it was a disappointment.

We were told where our pitch was but there we were not guided or instructed how to set up or how to park the car. This would become relevant 2 days later when a couple arrived while we were out and pitched up on the opposite (closer) position on their hard standing.

This pushed us very close together on what are already quite tight pitches. The couple then sat outside their large awning smoking, which was almost right under our bedroom window. We were also not told on arrival where anything was or given a leaflet.

The site looked tired and unkept. The office is a portacabin and is in a rather scruffy farm yard with old equipment lying around.

The hens walking around there were a pleasant surprise and visited us every day.

The site appears to be mainly occupied by seasonal caravaners and many of them them own old and large Hobby caravans. A few of these and other caravans were quite dilapidated and clearly un-roadworthy.

The grass hadn’t been cut immediately around the seasonal vans which didn’t help the overall tidiness. One couple had their own strimmer.

We found a broken and overgrown fire point lay in deep grass and an old tyre lying around behind someone’s caravan. The shower block looked out of place because it looked very modern by comparison.

These were reasonable but one shower had large tiles missing, which were leaned against the wall, both had nowhere to put your cloths, belongings or soap & shampoo, apart from a hook behind the door.

The showers were just about warm enough and are timed for 7 minutes. The two wash basins are the same ones you use for the toilet facilities and the hot water is turned up to a ridiculous level of heat.

Children should definitely not be left unsupervised here because they would definitely get scalded if not paying attention!

There is a list of the usual rules but on Friday evening the noise ramped up and went on well after 11pm with young children running around, music etc. None of this was in any way threatening and could have been a isolated case.

The seasonal caravaners and our neighbours were all very friendly and mainly from the Liverpool area, so the site is well placed for them.

I think this site survives because of its location and not on its standards. Clearly it suits some, but if you like comfort and reasonable tidiness it won’t be for you.

We will not be returning any time soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Amandaesme07 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and helpful owner. J couldn't have done anymore to make us feel welcome, even helping to get an emergency dentist was above and beyond on a bank holiday.

Site clean and peaceful, close to beach as only a short walk from site.

Will be revisiting this site again 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Westland1 1 review from this member

 Excellent camp site in a great location,

Top marks for pet friendly,

Great for horse lovers too.

Good cycle area. & nice walks.

Will return again as felt relaxed after our week there.

Clean caravan and friendly owners on site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lschhj 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a couple of nights here. Our 2nd visit to the site. Arrived a week early due to me getting dates wrong ! Wasn't a problem and we were allowed to pitch where we liked.

Basic but functional site, everything you need. Shower/toilet block in desperate need of refurbishment though ! No lights at all in the ladies one night and daughter refused to use the shower ! Kids loved the play area and the tent pitch is close enough to let them go on their own.

Town is close enough and has all the basics you need. Good chip shop and pubs.

Best thing of all is the beautiful beach and clear water which is our main reason for staying here.

We will be back again for sure, and if the toilet block was modernised it would be perfect ! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lewiss22 7 reviews from this member

 Visited this site 25th-1st Aug 2015, at first it does look rather scruffy in areas BUT the site manager was so helpful siting us as we were 3 large motohomes.

He made us very welcome and was always near by if you needed anything. Very good value, lovely little heated pool, hot showers which are clean and very friendly Boar/ Pig called wilba.

With a bit of TLC this site could be wonderful beach near by great walks for the dog and good swimming in the estuary. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AmandaLedsham 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site, after a few mins of waiting in reception cabin young man arrived to ask what pitches we had booked. Took us straight to our pitches which were in a good location. Ran through everything and made sure we were ok before leaving us to get set up. Easy site to navigate when towing.

Facilities always clean and tidy whenever they were used. 7 mins timer on the showers which we always hot when used. 7 mins enough time if you get organised lol

Swimming pool great and a warm 32 degrees, sauna a fab way to finish off the swim time! Wilbur the pig lives next to the swimming pool and is always welcoming when saying hello, loves the odd treat too! Chickens roaming freely around which is lovely to see.

The gents went on the lake with the blow up boats/canoes, there were even canoes on site they were offered the use of, which also allowed us to meet the donkeys and horses on the field. There was a lovely walk around the big lake and loads of wildlife to see en route.

As mentioned in other reviews, air base a stones throw away so some noise from planes, helicopters etc nothing that detracts from the beauty of the area or site, and yes it is Anglesey so planes are guaranteed.

Good play area for children although not used by us or my sister who came with us in their camper van.

Good relaxed site, would not hesitate to recommend or return! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boynielaad 6 reviews from this member

 I can thoroughly recommend this site. The pitches were level (maybe a little too close together for some). The owner was very, very helpful and relaxed with a great attitude - 'I don't believe in charging for loads of extras - you pay for the pitch'.

Lovely 20 minute walk to the beach along the lake. Hens running loose by the office with donkies, ponies and a friendly pig. Kids tried the swimming pool and enjoyed it. A good play area and the wash block was modern, clean and free showers.

Nothing bad to say about this site. Next door to another site where there was some noise but it was quiet after 10pm.

Pay attention though. The jets from RAF Valley will start at 8am sharp on weekdays. I loved that but, if you want a quiet, peaceful location, don't go to Rhosneigr. In fact, as they're so loud, don't even go to Anglesey! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Teddiesue 8 reviews from this member

 When we arrived at the site we were greeted by a couple of young lads who asked us if we knew the pitch number we were booked onto (this was in the confirmation email) they took us up to the pitch and guided us in. The site was generally well looked after and we had plenty of room between ours and the next pitch. The toilet block and water taps were very close by, the water was not too fast out of the tap so did take some time to fill the container. The toilets and showers were fine, with a shower timer of 7 mins which was plenty of time to enjoy a nice hot shower, however on a couple of days the water was only lukewarm, this may be due to the time we showered and I suspect a hot water storage tank which had not warmed back up. One day the drain was blocked and the water ran out into the basin area, I reported this via another of the young helpers, and this was rectified almost immediately. We were at the top of the site and was very windy on a couple of days needing storm straps on our awning! There was plenty of waste bins and recycling bins to use.

The owner was rarely in the office, but there was always a few of the young helpers to report any issues to, and a phone to allow you to call any three of the owners if needed. We booked for 7 nights and decided to stay on for a couple more which was no problem.

On a couple of evenings a man came round to let us know of activities which were going on if we wanted to join in.

The only down side if any was the constant movement of jets and the sea king helicopter directly overhead from RAF Valley, we got used to the noise, but could be troublesome if you were expecting a quiet holiday, as on some days it was continuous, from 8am - 10pm Monday to Friday. The site is situated on the flight path.

The area was well situated for the beach where the dogs could go all year round and lots of other nearby areas to walk, only a short drive away. Fabulous chippy and cafés in the centre of rhosneigr plus small grocery shops, but for a bigger shop there was a large Tesco and morrisons, plus other high street names on a retail park less than 10 mins drive away.

A nice site, where we were left alone (which is how we like it!) but the owners were contactable if required.

There were several youngsters who I assume were hired to help around the site during the peak periods and they were a very polite and helpful presence around the site.

Would definitely go back here again 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John21743 1 review from this member

 Just got back from my stay here, lovely weather and I had a brilliant time.

The toilet block are looking very tired and I raised this with the owner, he explained to me that it had been his intention to do jobs on them last winter but had not been able to as his father had been taken ill, following this he then lost his mother.

He did state an intention to attack them in 2014 but we'll just have to wait and see

I'd definitely return its a beautiful area and the owner was brilliant to chat to 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ian1972golf 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned back from what was going to be three night stay, we came back a day early!

We took a risk from previous reviews that the toilet block would have being refurbished over the winter as stated. How wrong the sign still hangs there stating this would be happening over the winter and asking for ideas, don't think they will use my idea of using explosives!

There are other facilities on site but these are quite a trek up to were the seasonal tourers are

But still tired looking and only just sufficient

We weren't shown to our pitch upon arrival just pointed in the general direction

If you have static caravan this a perfect site all others beware

Not too bad an area 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ty Hen Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Ty Hen Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ty Hen Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ty Hen Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rhosneigr      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Anglesey

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3554 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement