Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Aberlady Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Aberlady > Aberlady Caravan Park Reviews

Aberlady Caravan Park
Haddington Road
Aberlady
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH32 0PZ
Tel: 01875 870666
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fiona W 184 reviews from this member

 Had been wary, given some iffy reviews, but no need. We quickly warmed to this site and we'd be happy to go back. The dog loved the direct access to farm tracks around arable fields that surround the Gosford Estate (its farm shop is worth driving to). The welcome is warm and the atmosphere is relaxed, a choice of hard stand or grass pitch (both 20 with EHU), with a late departure at mid-day. It's well maintained - the old toilet block is just that - old, but it's clean and freshly painted. The unisex heated portacabin by the grass pitches has 2 toilets & 2 showers (free), and is spotless. A chunk of the site is given over to storage, but this does not intrude into any views or affect any pitches. There are a few seasonals spaced along the old railway platform (interesting photos of the station, plus a TV and camp kitchen including fridge, microwave etc, are in 'The Bothy'). We enjoyed the peace and quiet, and the sunny south-facing views to the Hopetoun Monument, and came home relaxed and rested. Aberlady is 10 mins walk, the first short section has no pavement but the few drivers are considerate: the Indian take-away / restaurant there was highly recommended by our neighbours. Plenty to enjoy in North Berwick, Gullane, Dunbar, Haddington, Lennoxlove Castle, bird-watching nature reserves along the coast and lots of golf courses to suit every pocket. Nearest Tesco at Haddington, bigger one at North Berwick. Bus to North Berwick (6. 30 return) or to Edinburgh (cost unknown) from Aberlady. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sheller 1 review from this member

 It is hard to find, near coastal, camp sites that are open all year round. Luckily we can add one, the Aberlady Camping is since this year open all year round.

During the winter period only the Unisex block is open and it looks clean. There also is a Bothy with cooking facilities, a table to sit on and enough reading material.

The warden is a very nice man, living on the premises, which is always a comforting feeling. He even asked not to use a certain spot, so he could keep an eye on the gate.

Having a spot to camp, near to the coast: perfect! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigyin247 18 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night, the sight has a lot of history and has a tidy lay out.

Got to agree that the showers and toilet area badly need upgrading. The wash up area was a no go area as it seemed to be a arachnid breeding area. Some of them were huge!

When we were there the site seemed to be turning into a massive storage site for multitude of caravans and motorhomes.

With regard to proximity to the village its walking distance but a dangerous one. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lm13 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite on the edge of the Firth of Forth.

It is well laid out and most areas have a good view. As well as the main toilet/shower/washing block there is also a new unisex toilet/shower block which is very clean and good.

The owner is very friendly, helpful and has lots of useful information if you ask/chat.

It is a short walk to Aberlady where there are 2 pubs, both doing good food and reasonable beer, a village shop and post office.

Plenty of good roads for cycling and walking, great places for watching sea birds and only a short distance from the railway into Edinburgh. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: R Abbitt 8 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site. I almost don't want to review it in case it encourages too many people to visit! I camped there on my own, and found it perfect for my needs: peaceful, safe, a helpful but not intrusive owner, small enough to feel cosy but not too crowded that you couldn't have privacy. Areas of tree planting and wildflowers create little bays and screens around the different areas of the site, and the old railway building adds character.

The site is surrounded by farm fields, to the south giving lovely views of the Garleton hills. Gullane has a great selection of shops, and is about 2-3 miles away, while Aberlady itself is walkable. The site is very handy for the Aberlady nature reserve.

A little bothy provides a hob, fridge, spare cooking utensils, microwave and kettle, all of which meant that I didn't need to use my stove if I didn't want to. There were 3 women's showers and two unisex showers, and I never had to queue once; indeed, I was usually the only person in there. There are quite a lot of stored caravans on site which some people might feel ruins the appearance and makes it look a little untidy, but I quite liked the homely feel.

Overall, I found this site perfect for my needs and will definitely be back. If you're looking for entertainment, or want to sit around late into the night being noisy, this isn't the site for you, but if you want a quiet place to ramble, walk the dog and enjoy the peaceful outdoors in a safe but not too regimented atmosphere, then this is for you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: WANDERING BELLA 1 review from this member

 1. Nice enough site.

2. Child friendly.

2. Friendly, helpful owner.

3. Good hardstandings.

4. Toilet/shower block needs updated and better heating system especially when open all year.

5. E. H. U. Only 10amp.

6. Not worth the 5 star prices when facilities are worth only 2 star.

7. Nearest village shops etc. Too far for some to walk.

8. Nearby village of gullane has good beach, shops, hotels and chippie but height barrier at beach car park.

9. Aberlady nature reserve is well worth a visit - small car park

10. East lothian is a lovely county to explore in a motorhome especially out of season 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wull92 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site just beside Aberlady, stopped for two days and just relaxed. Andrew senior kindly sorted me out with replacement jockey wheel whilst Andrew junior kindly seen to anything we required.

We will definitely be back here for a break, the site was made for relaxing. We were on one of the hardstandings which was large and well spaced apart.

All facillities on this site are more than adequate with some extras thrown in. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ssunshinesmile 2 reviews from this member

 Cannot fault this site. Definitely exceeds value for not much money. Would agree that toilet/shower facilities could do with updating however showers are hot with good water pressure and are in keeping with the parks Olde Worlde feel. Owner very helpful and friendly with both visitors and their pets. This site is a HIDDEN GEM situated 10 miles from Edinburgh City Centre, nestled close to the East Lothian coastline with lots of scenic villages and exclusive golf courses nearby. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Italianbiker 2 reviews from this member

 This was the fourth time we have stopped at Aberlady and the first in our camper after camping in a tent before.

The site has had a mild revamp since our last visit and now has camping pods and more hard standing pitches than before, the owners are very frendily and seem keen to make sure you are well cared for.

The toilets/showers blocks are still basic but very clean and the kitchen is well appointed and free to use. The grass areas are very well cared for and the site is very quiet as it is about 1/2 mile out of town.

We wouldn't hesitate to camp here again.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Porteous 1 review from this member

 Excellent campsite, close to Aberlady which has a small shop and post office.

It was very peaceful (we stayed on a Wed and Thurs night, they do not allow ball games, but there was a large trampoline and swings for children.

The owner was very friendly and helpful, the campsite was immaculate with adequate amenities (the shower block was basic but had hot water all the time.

There is a kitchen area too where you can use a fridge, kettle and microwave if required. Reasonably priced too.

Would definitely stay here again. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Aberlady Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Aberlady Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Aberlady Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aberlady      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement