Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Aberlady Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Site Reviews

Aberlady Caravan Park
Haddington Road
Aberlady
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH32 0PZ
Tel: 01875 870666
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 35
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 21 reviews from this member

Lovely location, but maybe because it was the time of the Edinburgh Fringe, the site was very overcrowded. Far too close to neighbours either side for safety, and extra units squashed in to a relatively small area. This put a strain on the basic, but clean facilities. Lovely o gentlemen on hand to help, and very friendly. Just too many units squashed into a small space for my safety.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Noeliewoly 5 reviews from this member

Nice friendly site and pleasant location with the village only 3/4 mile away. The pitches are mainly grass but there are some hard standing ones nearer the reception. The facilities are a bit basic but none the less they are clean. No rush to be out by 12 as with a lot of other sites, always helpful on your last day.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Phillmax11 3 reviews from this member

We stumbled across this campsite by pure luck. We had planned a weekend in North Berwick but didn't realise all the campsites had closed for the season. Last minute call to Aberlady and a voicemail message that's said they were still accepting arrivals and the warden would be there to assist.

We were not disappointed. The grounds are well kept and it is located on an old railway line/station which you can still see and walk along. It is also very close to town and only a 10 minute walk to the nearest pub/beach. The site only takes about 20 tourers but there is lots of room in between unlike some other larger sites we have stayed at.

There is a handy little bothy for cooking, ironing and even a tv. Also plenty of toys for the little ones and some interesting photos of the old railway. The toilets and showers were clean and tidy although a little dated. This did not affect our stay.

Warden was very helpful and we will return at some point next year.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cwarchc 25 reviews from this member

Another visit to Aberlady

Another great holiday

Andrew friendly and helpful as ever

This is a really well placed sight for Edinburgh and the Lothians

Nice little site, on the old railway station

Lots of pictures and history on display

Great sized, hard standing with ehu

There are some vans stored on the place, but they are not intrusive

The only criticism is that the toilet blocks could do with updating

However, they are perfectly usable and clean

A really good site

Perfect for touring the area

We've been a couple of times

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Abbeyvan 5 reviews from this member

Stayed on the site many a time. Nice Site and clean Facilities. Nice place to sit and cook if you have a tent and the weather is not so good ( the bothy) It also has lots of local information.

Andrew is always been very helpful when we have been on site.

Will be back to stay soon

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chri5k 1 review from this member

Stayed at this really nice campsite for 2 nights with my young son for our third camping trip since we started this summer and what will probably be our last now till next spring.

The manager was very helpful - suggesting we pay initially for one night and see how we went before committing to two! Despite being very windy on the first night, the weather was actually better than on our two previous camping trips in July/August.

It's in a great location on the site of an old station, with a small shop stocking essentials, a bothy (not used) and a couple of shower/toilet blocks. Those nearest us were a couple of hundred yards away from our tent and very clean.

The site was busier than I expected for late September, but we had plenty of room and had no issues using the facilities.

Aberlady is great for Aberlady Bay and the East Lothian coast and Museum of Flight as well as being only 30 mins from Edinburgh.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cwarchc 25 reviews from this member

We wanted a coastal site, close to Edinburgh, not too big.

Drove through Aberlady last year, thought it would fit our list.

It's a great site, the old railway station, a victim of Beeching's cuts.

The way is has been turned into a campsite, whilst still incorporating some of the old infrastructure is inspired.

There are even pitches along the old platform.

The site is not very large and there is some seasonal storage there, but it doesn't intrude.

Andrew and his dad are really nice and welcoming, always working away on site, keeping it lovely and tidy.

The facilities are a little on the old side, however, kept clean and supply everything you need.

It's very good if you have dogs, as there is direct access to acres of walking directly from the site.

We were lucky enough to see deer in the field with us.

It's minutes away from a nature reserve at the coast and there are several, great beaches within 5 miles.

We are going back next year

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pjsaville999 2 reviews from this member

I camped as a bike plus tent solo. Superb camping location on the platform of the former Aberlady station. Toilet/Wash facilities very clean. The 'bothy' was a godsend for the lightweight camper with full cooking and washing up facilities (and TV). The guy was very friendly and advised about facilities in the village. Highly recommended!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jhmills 2 reviews from this member

Great place. Took the tent when the sun came out for a couple of days and headed East from Glasgow. The site used to be an old station so the kids enjoyed exploring the place. The facilities were all in order, the owner relaxed and sociable, and there was plenty of space. Within safe strolling distance is Aberlady, a lovely village with plenty of history, access to beach walks and the surrounding hills, and a couple of great pubs and even a curry house.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: AdrianPB 6 reviews from this member

Had a great 2 days stay in June15. V tidy and friendly owners on site. 1/2 from Aberlady where busses go to either Edinburgh or North Berwick - we went to the latter and had a great day on the sandy beaches there - v nice cafes etc.

Aberlady is great for coastal walks and meals/drinks etc.

Will use again

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


242 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019