Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Springwater Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llanwrda > Springwater Lakes > Reviews

Springwater Lakes
Harford
Llanwrda
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA19 8DT
Tel: 01558 650788
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynneandsteve 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site over the last 8 years, so you can tell we love it, to the point that we have stopped going to other sites. It is the fishing for Steve that is the attraction with this. Site but I love the peace and quiet. Steve loves the coarse lake although he has tried the specimen lake once or twice. Everyone one the site is friendly, especially the owners and their son and his family.

We are always met by the owners and feel part of their extended family.

It is a beautiful site, very natural with lots of dragonfly's, kingfishers and even a few heron (which Steve hates as they eat the fish he wants to catch!) but which I love to look at. There is always something to see if you are looking. Even the fish are ok if you like that sort of thing!

We shop in Lampeter for the things we have forgotten and although not large caters for everything we have wanted. We have eaten at The Drovers and enjoyed every meal there. We have also eaten at an Indian restaurant, but can't remember its name - it was beautiful.

Unless your child likes fishing this is not the site for you, there are no swings etc but for beautiful scenery, fishing and relaxation this site cannot be beaten.

The toilet/shower block is always very clean and it is lovely not to have to pay for showers, and the hot water has never run out!

We have bought the honey that the bees produced on site and wish we had bought more!

We look for forward to visiting again next year.

Steve says that I have praised Springwater too much as he doesn't want the competition on his lake!

We love Springwater! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HonorB 3 reviews from this member

 Well, another great stay at this lovely campsite near Lampeter. One of many stays this year as because we like the site so much we have sited a caravan there over looking the trout lake.

Beautiful scenery, great fishing, wonderful hosts and the weather was kind to us.

The fifth lake is slowly filling up but dragonflies could be seen skimming over the surface already. My partner had a good catch of bream, roach, carp etc from the top coarse lake and I enjoyed watching the trout jump in the lake just outside of our caravan.

Can't wait to go back to the peace and tranquillity of this lovely site.

The site has very deep lakes and so it wouldn't be suitable for small children unless they were supervised closely by their parents/carers. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 124 reviews from this member

 A superb, quiet oasis in stunning countryside.

We had a friendly welcome from Shirley, who showed us around the site for us to pick our perfect pitch; (we chose one of the serviced ones overlooking the trout lake. ) Simply lovely.

Mark(her son) was extremely pleasant and helpful and ran out a 30 metre length of TV aerial for us.

Due to all the heavy rain, the walks around the lakes were a bit damp, to say the least, but all the pitches are on hardstanding, so no problems there.

We were in the area for a cycling break and managed to climb 3 lovely mountain passes, with spectacular views. We rode up to Tregaron and enjoyed the giant pot of tea in the cafe behind Rhiannon's shop in the square.

The facility blocks are compact but clean and after 3 gruelling rides, it was great to come back to piping hot showers with free-flowing water (how I hate those timed plunger thingys!).

All in all, a real haven. Might even have a crack at the fishing next time! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HonorB 3 reviews from this member

 Our 2nd visit this year to this beautiful site with views of the Cambrian Mountains in the distance. A site that is well cared for with a shower block, campers sink, fully serviced, hard standing and grass pitches. An on-site shop that sells fishing tackle, bait, hot and cold drinks, chocolate and home laid eggs!

4 fishing lakes for the fisherfolk; 2 coarse lakes, 1 specimen and a trout lake. Lovely walks from the site and peace, quiet and tranquillity for those who don't wish to fish.

Lampeter some 5 miles away has everything you might need. Aberaeron half an hours drive from the site is a holiday resort with lovely beaches and further down the coast, Newquay where we walked down the hill, into the town and looked into the bay to see dolphins swimming close to the Harbour. Sandy beaches for the children, relaxing, listening to the sea and for the fisherfolk amongst you the chance to fish for mackerel, bass and trips out to get closer to the dolphins.

The Drovers Arms Public House serves a good meal, nothing fancy but wholesome and the landlord will collect from and return you to the site. The Taf Jem just up the road from Springwater serves good food and has stunning views from its dining room.

We shall return to enjoy all that this lovely site and the surrounding area offers - why don't you try it too?

A small but not commercial site where the owners and manager are more than helpful and have always been so. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hidehi162 4 reviews from this member

 It's 3 weeks now since our stay at springwater lakes we stayed for just under a month. It is a fantastic campsite and we loved our stay especially my husband David who was up at the crack of dawn to fish the lakes, giving me his order of bacon & egg rolls to take to him for his breakfast at the lake-side what more could he ask for he's so spoilt but I really love him.

The site has two spotlessly clean toilets, two free electric showers and two sinks in the ladies toilets, the mens have the same with the addition of shaver sockets and two urinals it also has a separate disabled toilet.

You can wash your pans under cover, there is a place for black bag everyday rubbish a place to empty your chemical toilet also your grey waste.

There are four well stocked lakes with a fifth dug out but with no water as yet. David fished the coarse lake which is at the top of the site and he loved every minute of every day, he had some good sized fighting carp and bream which were caught on good quality fresh bread with liquid attractant added. They also have a smaller mixed coarse lake, a fly fishing lake and a specimen carp lake.

The shop on site sells as much as most tackle shops but a shame it doesn't sell ever day essentials such as bread, milk and daily papers.

We were just 6 miles away from Lampeter and in the opposite direction llandeilo

The nearest supermarket is the co-op in Lampeter which also has a Peacocks within it. Lampeter itself is also full of lots of small shops selling just about everything you could wish for also a hidden sainsburys.

We found the people so friendly that someone would always say if they were going out and then they would get items that anyone needed and we would do the same for them especially people in their camper vans.

When we arrived we were shown to our pitch by one of the owners Malcolm, Shirley [malcolms wife] came over a little later to make sure we had settled in and had everything we needed which I thought was really considerate.

We had a meal at the 'Tavern Jem' about a mile and a half towards Lampeter, the fillet steak was suberb which came from a 'Welsh Black' you were able to buy from the butcher who supplied the Tavern at Lampeter. Other nights we had indian takeaway from Lampeter and it was lovely.

The owners live on site along with their son and his family, all were so friendly and are constantly working around the site, which is set out and well planned with ample space for each pitch.

We recommend this site to everyone especially for the beautiful surroundings and somewhere where you can fish to your hearts content.

We will be returning to this site as soon as we can as we both loved it so much. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris.barnett 1 review from this member

 This was our second visit to Springwater Lakes, I agree with all the comments in the previous post and more! Tent pitches are huge, EHU, TV arial point, Malcom the owner, and son Mark could not have been more helpful.

This is a fishing paradise, with all methods working, all the lakes are well established and landscaped. The surrounding countryside in the area is stunning.

Nearby Lampeter has all the shops you will require, there is also a garage 2 mins away for papers, general provisions.

If you want a site that is peaceful and relaxing, this is for you. If you want a site where young children can run around, kicking balls about, it's not for you.

Already booked for next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davebiddleston 5 reviews from this member

 Well what a disappointment! I think that what needs to be underlined here is that this site is predominantly for the fishing community. It is important to visit their website so you can fully appreciate this and I believe that they deal with that clientèle very well indeed. We however are not fisherfolk and that appears to have been our downfall.

We arrived at the site with hopes high but almost the first thing we were told was that the kids mustn't ride bikes or play with a ball.

We were offered a hardstanding as agreed but the owner clearly felt we would be better served on the grass pitches and shown to a grass pitch which we were surprised to find was going to cost £30 per night (£5 more than originally discussed over the phone when we were offered a hard standing).

We were again told that they didn't want children 'careering' around on bikes or scooters and then told that kicking a ball around was also prohibited as some of the van owners owned vans in excess of £25, 000. Later, a gentleman we assumed to be an owner told that kicking a ball around might be possible on the other side of the hole in the ground (that would eventually become a lake). Unfortunately we felt that our two year old ought to be 'in sight' and that kicking his ball about 200 yards away from us was not what we wanted.

We then overheard the same gentleman explaining to one of our neighbours that he was the 'boss' after all. We would have preferred they had not shared our concerns with other campers.

We were pleased that they agreed to let us leave although they refused to fully refund our deposit which would have been reasonable in the circumstances.

As I said, we are certain that those who enjoy fishing in beautiful and tranquil surroundings are well served here but woe betide those whose children wish to set foot outside of their caravan. I think they should simply make this an adults only site and avoid any further 'misunderstandings'. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tizme 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from what was initially a Saturday till Monday visit and we ended up staying until Wednesday. What a fantastic campsite we fell in love with it. Your just 6 miles away from Lampeter and really really close to fishing and wildlife heaven.

The site has two toilets, two showers (electric) and two sinks in the female toilets, the males have the same with the addition of two urinals and there is also a disabled toilets.

There is also somewhere for you to wash your pans and empty your chemical toilet. Everything about them is spotlessly clean whenever you go there. The showers were free and there were shaver sockets in the mens.

It has four lakes with a fifth dug out but with no water in while we were there. We fished the coarse lake which is at the top of the site and loved every moment of it. We had some good fighting carp, bream and stephen caught a golden orfe. It isnt an easy water to fish but not an impossible one either. They also have a smaller mixed coarse lake which is super pretty, a fly fishing lake and a specimen carp lake.

The site is spotless and they have a shop on site that sells as much as most tackle shops, you can also book lessons which I may possibly take them up on when we return in August as I fancy having a go at fly fishing.

The day we arrived we were shown our pitch and after speaking to the owner we were loaned a coax cable to attach to our tv and the socket that is on the post with your electric point. That way we had perfect tv reception.

We went for a meal one night at the Drovers Arms (about a mile and a half away)in a village called Ffarmers, and even though it was nice food you got exactly what was written on the menu and no more. Another night we had a chinese from Lampeter and it was lovely.

The site owners live on site along with their son and his family and all are unbelievably friendly and are constantly doing things around the site.

The site is set out in such a wonderful way with lovely planting and properly set out pitches so that you are not literally sat on top of each other.

The nearest supermarket is the co-operative in Lampeter which also has a Peacocks within it. Lampeter itself is also full of lots of small shops selling just about everything you could ask for.

I would love to recommend this site to everyone but I don't want everyone turning up there and spoiling it for me. Jokes aside, if you want a beautiful site with beautiful surroundings where you can fish to your hearts content then this is the place for you. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dooley2352 1 review from this member

 This was our 3rd visit to the site, and as usual all expectations were met.

The site is clean and tidy and well looked after. Toilet and shower block always clean and tidy, 2 showers and 2 toilets, although doesn't sound a lot, we never had 2 queue for either. As said on other review dog exercise area near main road, not safe to let dogs run free, not that it made any difference to us, as he was walked around the 4 beautiful fishing lakes.

The shop is well stocked for all angling needs from hooks to rod/reel combos,and all the different baits you'd ever need,if you need any advice on tactics or baits, Malcolm is always on hand.

While we were there in May, Malcolm had just finished construction of a 5th lake.

We look forward to our next visit, which I suspect, because of the fishing, will be very soon.

Do take insect repellent with you! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mandy+mark 2 reviews from this member

 Even with the weather, we still thought this was a brilliant campsite. It was idyllic site with pleasant walks around the lakes. We spent 2 nights here and didn't find the need to go anywhere else!

Toilet block small but very clean (owners cleaned it twice a day at least).

Excellent fishing spot. There is also an excellent tackle shop on site, and owner provides very helpful fishing advice.

Owners were very friendly. We were shown to our pitch! This is a first for us in our 8 camping trips so far. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Springwater Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Springwater Lakes?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Springwater Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanwrda      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2695 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement