Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Audries Bay Holiday Club

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Minehead > St Audries Bay Holiday Club > Reviews

St Audries Bay Holiday Club
West Quantoxhead
Nr Williton
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA4 4DY
Tel: 01984 632515
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/05/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 19 Reviews
                7/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weekenderbedford 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed in our caravan last year, and have re-booked again this year. The facilities are clean and well kept,with a very good bar/restaurant, and friendly staff.

Swimming pool is lovely, and we walked along the (pebble) beach. The pitches have good views across the Bristol Channel to Wales.The site is predominantly for statics, which is why the facilities are so good.

Access to site is via a narrow and winding track, with passing places,so you need to look out for oncoming traffic.

We used the site as a base to tour Minehead and the coast to the south of here.
Dunster castle and village are well worth a visit, and Minehead has all the supermarket and shopping facilities you need. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jewelly 5 reviews from this member

 Placed a last minute booking for Bank Holiday week.

Very pleasant on the phone when booking.

As others have said, the approach road is narrow and winding, and is shared with farm vehicles (I met a tractor towing a huge trailer on one occasion!)

On arrival, we were given directions to our pitch rather than being shown.

Touring pitches were fine - ours (pitch 14) was slightly sloping, but nothing to really worry about.

Our pitch was a decent size (Housed a Hartford XL, Extension, Car and Trailer with room to spare)

The site is predominantly statics - which I am not a huge fan of, but it did mean that the toilet / shower block was never particularly busy, despite most of the touring pitches being full.

Good points:

Toilets - kept clean at all times, and has lighting triggered by movement - so lights not left on 24/7.

Washing up - same area as the toilets/showers - well covered and sheltered, and hot water plentiful.

Showers - free, hot, powerful, and very long cubicles meaning plenty of room to dry off, and to place clothes without fear of them getting a soaking (I understand the showers have been upgraded since the previous reviews available here).

Pool on site - didn't use, so can't comment - but an on-site pool is always a bonus.

Direct route to beach - steep steps, and care should be taken, particularly with young children. But it is fantastic for exploring.

Quiet at night - Not sure if there was an official curfew, but from around 10pm, our area of the site fell silent.

Bad points/room for improvement:

Childrens play area - not the greatest - seems to have seen better days.

Putting greens - simply mowed into the large sloping grassy space on the site - would be difficult to use as putting greens in my opinion.

No gas refills available on site, but Calor available from a petrol station around a mile and a half away (which was open at nearly 9pm when we ran out one evening!).

Recycling facilities - usually a good point, but the recycling facilities on site were simply lots of large wheeled skips (at least eight of them whilst we were there) not sure how often they are emptied, but it did begin to look a little like a council tip at one point (perhaps a little harsh, but I am trying to give a true reflection).

Most annoyingly, we were treated to loud music from a car on a couple of occasions - this appeared to be coming from a member of cleaning staff who was using the car's music system to provide entertainment for themselves whilst cleaning out some of the Statics.

Overall, an OK site, and despite being a peak week, not particularly expensive, but unlikely to visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Handsome devil 10 reviews from this member

 Spent weekend here in June. Access road very narrow and long but has several pull-in points and care is needed on approach. Good site with lots to do for kids. Games room, play area and very nice swimming pool. Also has its own beach via steep access path. Good food can be had in bar.
Shop, while small, stocks essential provisions and selection of gifts. Mainly static caravans here while area for touring caravans and tents is fairly small but terraced so generally level. Good value pitch fees (around £10 per night in June) although shower facilities require some updating. Minehead is around 15-20 minutes drive and nearby Dunster is well worth a visit with its castle and oldy-worldy cobbled streets featuring tea-rooms and gift shops. Overall, a pleasant site offering good value and more than enough to do. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aftonwater 5 reviews from this member

 This site enjoys a great location with scenic views across the Bristol Channel to Wales. You access the site via a steep narrow road off the A39. The touring area of the site is small (22 pitches) with a considerably larger part for statics and self catering / half board chalet accomodation.

The touring pitches are spacious and level with electric hook up and the shower / toilet block though small is clean and adequate for the number of pitches.

Good food at reasonable prices can be bought from the Sundowner lounge. This lounge also affords great views over the bay. There is a large games room that was very popular with our children. (Table Tennis, Air Hockey, Table Football, Pool etc).

The site has a full entertainment program for those wishing to participate.

We found the staff to be friendly,helpful and polite.

There is a nice indoor swimming pool on site for which you pay £1 per swim. Unfortunately there were considerable time restrictions on the use of the pool with a timetable in place on the entrance door. The majority of this timetable was given over to 'available to hire'. The cost of this hire was £20 per hour. Not a kings ransom but a surprise when you are not expecting it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday on this site. Its particular strengths are its location, facilities and staff. The only niggle was the swimming pool restrictions. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madsmad 1 review from this member

 My family and I have just had our first 2 nights of camping @ St Audries Bay and absolutely loved it, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
I was a bit apprehensive about going after reading previous reviews but really think for our first trip it was brilliant. The shower blocks were clean and more than adequate. It had a lovely area for the kids to play in and beautiful views of the beach which although was a bit of a hike up and down, it was well worth going and we saw a beautiful waterfall which we're not sure was supposed to be there or just due to the amount of rain we've had lately and it coming off the hills either way my husband and my 5 year old son enjoyed running in and out of it!
We spent a morning in Minehead which we are familiar with anyway and strolled round the shops usual tat in the shops but a nice little town never the less.
Although the campsite had dogs the ones by us were quiet and very well trained!
The entertainment although geared up for the older clients after a few beers we were singing along with the rest of them!
I would definitely recommend going and will visit again soon.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Della7 2 reviews from this member

 This site has a lovely relaxing atmosphere and we found all the staff to be very friendly. The new swimming pool is wonderful and well worth £1 a swim. The view across the bay is amazing and the beach was deserted while we were there. You feel as if you have gone back in time ( In a good way) as the club has been here since the 1930's . I would recommend it to anyone with a young family who doesn't mind joining in with the slightly hi - de - hi feel of the place.We all loved it from Nan of 60 to little girl of 5 ! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M+S06 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed for the weekend and the site was alright. Not many showers but there was a bath (which was appreciated as we have small children). Childrens play area was good with plenty of space for them to run around. Beach was not really suitable for small children as was mainly large stones and the sea was very muddy.
The pool was nice, with a lifeguard on duty. I was able to take 3 small children in (with armbands) however you do have to book and pay for a time slot. The shop was very small with not much choice. The bar provided a good range of food but it was a bit on the expensive side. Slightly sloping pitches but with good hook ups. Narrow road leading down to site and watch the speed bumps!
 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Julzgeraghty 8 reviews from this member

 St. Audries Bay Campsite is a large site with lots of facilities and entertainment laid on. There is a large ballroom, huge bar, amusement arcade, swimming pool and in the summer they organise games and competitions during the day. The site is mostly given over to statics and has only 17 touring pitches. All the pitches are level but as they have been terraced nearly all are at a slightly different levels. Not a problem unless you are camping with another family or unit.

The approach to the site from the road is down a steep single-track road with passing places. This can be quite interesting when towing! The site looks out over the Bristol Channel and we had marvellous views of Wales every day and of course as you are on the west coast you get fantastic sunsets to enjoy in the bar.

The washrooms are in 2 converted chalets, not the newest but clean & adequate. There is a bath in one of the shower rooms; how many campsites can offer that?! Each block has 2 showers (1 over the bath), 2 basins, 2 toilets & in the gents 2 urinals. We did not have to queue as most of the statics used their own showers & toilets. There is also a laundry room with washers, dryers, iron & board.

There is an active kids club and adults entertainment programme for mornings and evenings, which is great if you like that sort of thing. We didn't use it as much as we could have, although the kids enjoyed the activities they did. The well stocked shop, good bar food (or restaurant) and bars mean that you could easily spend your whole time on the site. The swimming pool was open several times a day and proved very popular with campers and staff. The beach is reached via a steep but short path/steps. It isn't a bucket and spade beach (mostly cobbles) but fun all the same.

The staff were generally very friendly & helpful. We used the site as a base for touring the local area and probably didn't use the facilities to the full. But did make a profit from one evening’s Bingo so who can complain?!

Good food available at the nearby Windmill pub in West Quantoxhead.
We’d be happy to go back. Julian 


Reviewer: Fingerprints 2 reviews from this member

 June 2005
The view from the tent field was fantastic, a little niggle as the pitch we had requested had been pitched by someone else overnight so a shuffle was required.
The pitches were wide enough and the one we end up on was terraced single pitch which meant we had a fair bit of space. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The site has a long history I understand from the 30's, unfortunately several of the buildings needing up dating. and the pool area is an older style.
The shower block was limited, my husband felt he had to run around to get wet. Although the shower over the bath in the ladies loo was better pressure the water leaked out of the bottom of the bath quickly soaking anything not suspended.

Our son had a fantastic time, the local countryside is beautiful. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is St Audries Bay Holiday Club child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does St Audries Bay Holiday Club have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Audries Bay Holiday Club?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is St Audries Bay Holiday Club dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement