Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of St Audries Bay Holiday Club

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Minehead > St Audries Bay Holiday Club Reviews

St Audries Bay Holiday Club
West Quantoxhead
Nr Williton
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA4 4DY
Tel: 01984 632515
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 20
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 17 Reviews
                7/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JoJo19 7 reviews from this member

When we visited St Audries Bay Holiday Club in peak holiday season for some reason they were excavating a new area for log cabins - in peak season. This meant that there was heavy plant running along the site roads where small children and elderly people were walking. Not to mention the level of disturbance as it was right above the tenting area. We complained and received a reimbursement for the disturbance but since my parents used to run a site themselves I know that this kind of activity should be undertaken in the closed season or at the very least in the low season. At the very least it was really inconsiderate.

Obviously we were very unlucky and this put a dampener on what should have been a pleasant and peaceful week.

The tent area is quite small and we had a few big deluges and one especially big storm. As noted by others the pitches do fill up with water so be prepared to invest in a mat as we had to in order to keep the mud out of the tent.

On the plus side the fact that we could buy reasonably priced, OK quality food (massive portions!)in the bar/restaurant was a life saver given the weather. The drinks were also reasonably priced. You can also sit out on the deck which faces out to sea for some lovely sunsets (weather permitting). From the deck you can also see the play area and keep an eye on the little people which is handy. Whilst the play area isn't the best I have seen it does keep younger children busy enough although it's probably not suited to very small children. The service in the bar/restaurant/clubhouse was generally friendly enough although it really depended who was serving.

My six year old loved the swimming pool although it is only open at specific times and you pay 1 each to use it. There is no life guard as such, just someone to open up the pool, take your money and ensure there are not too many people wanting to swim. So you do need to be in the pool with smaller children. The water was a good temperature and it was clean and well maintained with showers at one end.

There were various children's activities which we didn't partake of. They also have various things on in the evenings again not something we visited but there if it's your thing.

The tenting area is far enough away from the hubbub of the clubhouse not to be disturbed.

The site was generally well kept although the bar/restaurant/clubhouse had seen better days. It was though all clean and functional. The same can be said of the loo block near the camping area - clean and well kept but rather dated - not that we minded. There was never a queue for the loo's or the shower and there was always plenty of free hot water which was a plus in high season.

The majority of the site is made up of log cabin holiday homes, caravans, and the like. This tends to make for a reasonably settled and (building works aside!) calm feeling. The tents were all squeezed into one area although with lovely views out to sea.

People were generally well behaved when we visited as most people seem to either lease holiday homes or return each year. However, a large group with two tents at each end of the tenting arrived on our last day and seemed to be limbering up for a bit of a party with the tent next to use suggesting that it was perfectly Ok for them to walk backwards and forwards shouting to their mates over the other side of the tenting area and right through our pitch rather than along the pathway in front. We therefore decided to leave an evening early rather than be woken at 8am by the rumbling of diggers after a late and possibly fractious night courtesy of our new neighbours.

Given that we were there a couple of years ago now one would hope the building works have now stopped! It's a shame it ruined what otherwise would likely have been a pleasant enough holiday and it does make me wonder what the sites public liability insurer might have thought about diggers and lorries trundling through the site in high season!

The plus side is that the site is easy to get to, has lovely views and you can walk down to the beach (very steep steps so will not suit everyone), it has a reasonably priced restaurant and a deck to sit out on to make the most of those views as well as a pool and play area. In the main people were pleasant and even in peak season it didn't feel manic like many sites can. Shame about the diggers all week. We might be persuaded to go back, possibly, as it's not that far from us and my young child enjoyed it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Armund 2 reviews from this member

The most recent review is 2012 so I thought I would post this for 2014. The site is a little dated and consists mainly of static homes. The access is half a mile from the main road along a single winding track and drops, I'm guessing, 200 meters? to sea level. There are only two showers and WCs in the gents shower block (same for ladies) but they are clean and well maintained and I usually had the place to myself. The grass pitches all appeared to have EHU and it was usually a mix of tents and caravans. We had no kids with us but there is a big grass area with swings and climbing structures. The Sundowner bar/room is a little staid but the view through the big windows that form the north wall or the balcony outside of them is wonderful looking out into the Bristol Channel and Wales on the horizon. In summer the sun sets to the left of this view. The entertainment wasn't great but pleasant enough. The site has WiFi at 12 pounds a week and that's essential to us these days. To get to the beach is a down a zigzag stairway and it's a bit rock strewn. We used the site as a base and visited Watchet, a smashing little town with a station served by the West Somerset Steam Railway. Minehead has a Butlins and a good beach. A county fair was on nearby and we spent a day at that and we visited Coleridge's Cottage and the 'Bakelite Museum'(5 each for a trip down memory lane). We shopped in Minehead a couple of times. Everyone was pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed the week. The only reason we wouldn't return is that we had to go everywhere by car, we like to be free of it a bit on holiday but the half mile climb was too much.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 3rackhams 11 reviews from this member

The drive down to the site seems to be missed off by most reviews, lets say you need a clean run up if you got anything bigger than a large trailer. Steep steps to beach in some parts tide goes long way out and comes in quick, only 2 showers and 2 bogs but never had to wait and site was full (16 units) the 2 weeks we stayed. We found the staff very helpful every time we used the pool it was just us in it, they was games out side for the kids and the whole family to do, all in all nice clean site. Bridgwater has all the big name shops and banks and nice pubs. Nice drive to minehead better beach, parking can be fun. Again if its shops and tea rooms spoilt for choice, lots too see and do

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rogers@co 8 reviews from this member

This site has a very old fashioned, quaint feel to it and reminded us a bit of kellermans out of dirty dancing!

The pitches were reasonably well spaced but became very water logged after a few days of rain.

The showers/toilets could have been a lot cleaner. There was no soap in the dispenser for 2 days! 2 showers and 2 toilets are not really enough but saying that I never had to wait for a shower.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The life guard (who also lives on site) was particularly helpful! We did not see any of the entertainment whilst we were there but our kids did enjoy the amusement/games room (ensure you allow extra cash for this!) The shop is very well stocked and reasonably priced. We found everything we needed in there.

There are some steep steps to give direct access to the beach which is nice. But slippery. The beach is mainly pebbles. There are a couple of lovely waterfalls that run onto the beach. You do need to ensure you do not get cut off by the in coming tide on the left side.

There is a co-op in Williton which is handy as it is only about 2 and a half miles from the site. They also have a chippy! The swimming pool on site was nice and clean and is 1 per person for an hour and you can privately hire it out.

There are set times for sessions though. There is a nice play area which is over looked by the seating area in the sun lounge. Lovely views, would we come again? Yes - probably would :)

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weekenderbedford 3 reviews from this member

This is a quiet camping area with only 16 or 17 powered pitches, in a static caravan site. The site has a pool, restaurant, bar and games rooms, and shop, as well as direct access to the shingle beach, and great views over the Bristol Channel to Wales.

Site provides entertainment in season, though not the 'in your face' sort that you get elsewhere (thank heaven).

Staff are friendly and helpful, and the site has an 'olde worlde' feel to it. Shower/toilet facilities for camping are clean, and the site has a launderette.

Down side - steep hill to the site, through a farmyard, although we've brought a twin axle caravan down it twice now without a problem.

Price is excellent - we booked this at 15 per night for twin axle and two adults.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Digit 1 review from this member

Overall this is a pleasant little campsite. Lovely situated seeing views of the sea & country.

The site reminded me of the campsite in the film Dirty Dancing. Got just the right amount of entertainment and not commercialised.

The Games room & pool room was great for the kids as it rained all week. Ian the entertainer was great and kept us all entertained in the evenings.

The two down points is that it could do with some upgrading and money spent on it to make it more modern and tidy. Only has 2 toilets & 2 showers for each sex which is not enough at busy times.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cherry123 1 review from this member

We have stayed here as a family six seven times in the last three years and have enjoyed ourselves every time come rain or shine.

The beach is rugged the sea fishing is very good,

I have caught Bass dogfish cod whiting smooth hound and conger.

The Reception staff and bar staff are very friendly and helpful at all times.

The entertainments chap Ian provides some clever and imaginative entertainment suiting all ages in a hi di hi style, everyone seems to smile join in and enjoy there selves.

Yes the site is a bit old fashioned in some respects but is great value for money and I will be returning again and again.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BORCIC 5 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights early September, was reasonably priced for 2 adults and 2 children, however we didn't have any kids with us only our 3 small dogs, charged 2.50 per dog (told a little white lie and said we only had two). Our dogs are better behaved than a lot of kids.

A very narrow road down to site, luckily we didn't meet anyone coming in opposite direction.

Steep steps down to beach, beach was very disappointing as very pebbly, even dogs didn't like it. Weather was quite poor when we were there and wasn't a lot to do during the day.

There was something going on in bar most nights, bingo, quizzes etc. But drinks were quite expensive.

Don't think we will be paying a return visit anytime soon.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weekenderbedford 3 reviews from this member

We stayed in our caravan last year, and have re-booked again this year. The facilities are clean and well kept,with a very good bar/restaurant, and friendly staff.

Swimming pool is lovely, and we walked along the (pebble) beach. The pitches have good views across the Bristol Channel to Wales.The site is predominantly for statics, which is why the facilities are so good.

Access to site is via a narrow and winding track, with passing places,so you need to look out for oncoming traffic.

We used the site as a base to tour Minehead and the coast to the south of here.
Dunster castle and village are well worth a visit, and Minehead has all the supermarket and shopping facilities you need.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jewelly 5 reviews from this member

Placed a last minute booking for Bank Holiday week.

Very pleasant on the phone when booking.

As others have said, the approach road is narrow and winding, and is shared with farm vehicles (I met a tractor towing a huge trailer on one occasion!)

On arrival, we were given directions to our pitch rather than being shown.

Touring pitches were fine - ours (pitch 14) was slightly sloping, but nothing to really worry about.

Our pitch was a decent size (Housed a Hartford XL, Extension, Car and Trailer with room to spare)

The site is predominantly statics - which I am not a huge fan of, but it did mean that the toilet / shower block was never particularly busy, despite most of the touring pitches being full.

Good points:

Toilets - kept clean at all times, and has lighting triggered by movement - so lights not left on 24/7.

Washing up - same area as the toilets/showers - well covered and sheltered, and hot water plentiful.

Showers - free, hot, powerful, and very long cubicles meaning plenty of room to dry off, and to place clothes without fear of them getting a soaking (I understand the showers have been upgraded since the previous reviews available here).

Pool on site - didn't use, so can't comment - but an on-site pool is always a bonus.

Direct route to beach - steep steps, and care should be taken, particularly with young children. But it is fantastic for exploring.

Quiet at night - Not sure if there was an official curfew, but from around 10pm, our area of the site fell silent.

Bad points/room for improvement:

Childrens play area - not the greatest - seems to have seen better days.

Putting greens - simply mowed into the large sloping grassy space on the site - would be difficult to use as putting greens in my opinion.

No gas refills available on site, but Calor available from a petrol station around a mile and a half away (which was open at nearly 9pm when we ran out one evening!).

Recycling facilities - usually a good point, but the recycling facilities on site were simply lots of large wheeled skips (at least eight of them whilst we were there) not sure how often they are emptied, but it did begin to look a little like a council tip at one point (perhaps a little harsh, but I am trying to give a true reflection).

Most annoyingly, we were treated to loud music from a car on a couple of occasions - this appeared to be coming from a member of cleaning staff who was using the car's music system to provide entertainment for themselves whilst cleaning out some of the Statics.

Overall, an OK site, and despite being a peak week, not particularly expensive, but unlikely to visit again.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2680 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020