Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Audries Bay Holiday Club

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Somerset > Minehead > St Audries Bay Holiday Club > Reviews

St Audries Bay Holiday Club
West Quantoxhead
Nr Williton
Minehead
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA4 4DY
Tel: 01984 632515
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 12
Open: 01/05/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 19 Reviews
                7/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jeffre 3 reviews from this member

 This was friendly site. very clean facilities were closed due to covid. It was very quiet there as in quiet not noisy.

Downside on our pitch was the water was about 10 yards across the road leading in so we had to fill tank up on arrival. sluice was in same place bit smelly by there and there as no flush and had to use the hose provided, not very hygienic thing ! So you needed to wash hands before touching anything else. This could be improved ? 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Baileyjake 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site after a long weekend.

We normally stay in another site nearby but unfortunately they were full.

This site is an old holiday camp and the chalets are still there which is interesting.

The access road is very steep and twisty. I did worry that I would struggle to tow the caravan back up it but I managed ok.

Due to the covid crisis nothing was open on site but there were some catering trailers on site every day; pizza, chips, gin bar etc.

The site was quiet but to begin with the touring section was full.

The pitches were well kept but as we arrived the site of a decomposing rabit on the bank next to our pitch was a little ominous. I dispensed with it (by flicking it over the bank) with the operating lever for my motormover before it caused too much distress.

Due to the covid crisis all of the toilets, showers and pot wash were closed and the rules were that only caravans and motorhomes with their own facilities were allowed. Not a problem for me as we have a well equipped caravan but I could see other families had chosen to ignore this rule and were staying in vans (panel vans with awning) campers and old caravans without. Consequently I saw on guy doing his washing up under the grey water disposal tap, children washing under the drinking water tap and a guy emptying his toilet bucket (just a bucket) into the chemical waste.

If the toilets and showers etc were open these people wouldn't have engaged in these unsanitary practices.

If I could offer some constructive criticism the waste and water area needs to be refurbished. The pitch fee was 35/night but te chemical disposal was a hole in the ground with a tap over it. Next to it was the grey water which was the same. There was a fence around these to.

Next to the chemical disposal was the drinking water.

The owners of the site looked quite well off to me so how about investing in a proper sluice for chemical disposal, tiled and enclosed. And moving the drinking water tap away from it? 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JoJo19 7 reviews from this member

 When we visited St Audries Bay Holiday Club in peak holiday season for some reason they were excavating a new area for log cabins - in peak season. This meant that there was heavy plant running along the site roads where small children and elderly people were walking. Not to mention the level of disturbance as it was right above the tenting area. We complained and received a reimbursement for the disturbance but since my parents used to run a site themselves I know that this kind of activity should be undertaken in the closed season or at the very least in the low season. At the very least it was really inconsiderate.

Obviously we were very unlucky and this put a dampener on what should have been a pleasant and peaceful week.

The tent area is quite small and we had a few big deluges and one especially big storm. As noted by others the pitches do fill up with water so be prepared to invest in a mat as we had to in order to keep the mud out of the tent.

On the plus side the fact that we could buy reasonably priced, OK quality food (massive portions!)in the bar/restaurant was a life saver given the weather. The drinks were also reasonably priced. You can also sit out on the deck which faces out to sea for some lovely sunsets (weather permitting). From the deck you can also see the play area and keep an eye on the little people which is handy. Whilst the play area isn't the best I have seen it does keep younger children busy enough although it's probably not suited to very small children. The service in the bar/restaurant/clubhouse was generally friendly enough although it really depended who was serving.

My six year old loved the swimming pool although it is only open at specific times and you pay 1 each to use it. There is no life guard as such, just someone to open up the pool, take your money and ensure there are not too many people wanting to swim. So you do need to be in the pool with smaller children. The water was a good temperature and it was clean and well maintained with showers at one end.

There were various children's activities which we didn't partake of. They also have various things on in the evenings again not something we visited but there if it's your thing.

The tenting area is far enough away from the hubbub of the clubhouse not to be disturbed.

The site was generally well kept although the bar/restaurant/clubhouse had seen better days. It was though all clean and functional. The same can be said of the loo block near the camping area - clean and well kept but rather dated - not that we minded. There was never a queue for the loo's or the shower and there was always plenty of free hot water which was a plus in high season.

The majority of the site is made up of log cabin holiday homes, caravans, and the like. This tends to make for a reasonably settled and (building works aside!) calm feeling. The tents were all squeezed into one area although with lovely views out to sea.

People were generally well behaved when we visited as most people seem to either lease holiday homes or return each year. However, a large group with two tents at each end of the tenting arrived on our last day and seemed to be limbering up for a bit of a party with the tent next to use suggesting that it was perfectly Ok for them to walk backwards and forwards shouting to their mates over the other side of the tenting area and right through our pitch rather than along the pathway in front. We therefore decided to leave an evening early rather than be woken at 8am by the rumbling of diggers after a late and possibly fractious night courtesy of our new neighbours.

Given that we were there a couple of years ago now one would hope the building works have now stopped! It's a shame it ruined what otherwise would likely have been a pleasant enough holiday and it does make me wonder what the sites public liability insurer might have thought about diggers and lorries trundling through the site in high season!

The plus side is that the site is easy to get to, has lovely views and you can walk down to the beach (very steep steps so will not suit everyone), it has a reasonably priced restaurant and a deck to sit out on to make the most of those views as well as a pool and play area. In the main people were pleasant and even in peak season it didn't feel manic like many sites can. Shame about the diggers all week. We might be persuaded to go back, possibly, as it's not that far from us and my young child enjoyed it. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Armund 2 reviews from this member

 The most recent review is 2012 so I thought I would post this for 2014. The site is a little dated and consists mainly of static homes. The access is half a mile from the main road along a single winding track and drops, I'm guessing, 200 meters? to sea level. There are only two showers and WCs in the gents shower block (same for ladies) but they are clean and well maintained and I usually had the place to myself. The grass pitches all appeared to have EHU and it was usually a mix of tents and caravans. We had no kids with us but there is a big grass area with swings and climbing structures. The Sundowner bar/room is a little staid but the view through the big windows that form the north wall or the balcony outside of them is wonderful looking out into the Bristol Channel and Wales on the horizon. In summer the sun sets to the left of this view. The entertainment wasn't great but pleasant enough. The site has WiFi at 12 pounds a week and that's essential to us these days. To get to the beach is a down a zigzag stairway and it's a bit rock strewn. We used the site as a base and visited Watchet, a smashing little town with a station served by the West Somerset Steam Railway. Minehead has a Butlins and a good beach. A county fair was on nearby and we spent a day at that and we visited Coleridge's Cottage and the 'Bakelite Museum'(5 each for a trip down memory lane). We shopped in Minehead a couple of times. Everyone was pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed the week. The only reason we wouldn't return is that we had to go everywhere by car, we like to be free of it a bit on holiday but the half mile climb was too much. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: 3rackhams 14 reviews from this member

 The drive down to the site seems to be missed off by most reviews, lets say you need a clean run up if you got anything bigger than a large trailer. Steep steps to beach in some parts tide goes long way out and comes in quick, only 2 showers and 2 bogs but never had to wait and site was full (16 units) the 2 weeks we stayed. We found the staff very helpful every time we used the pool it was just us in it, they was games out side for the kids and the whole family to do, all in all nice clean site. Bridgwater has all the big name shops and banks and nice pubs. Nice drive to minehead better beach, parking can be fun. Again if its shops and tea rooms spoilt for choice, lots too see and do 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rogers@co 8 reviews from this member

 This site has a very old fashioned, quaint feel to it and reminded us a bit of kellermans out of dirty dancing!

The pitches were reasonably well spaced but became very water logged after a few days of rain.

The showers/toilets could have been a lot cleaner. There was no soap in the dispenser for 2 days! 2 showers and 2 toilets are not really enough but saying that I never had to wait for a shower.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The life guard (who also lives on site) was particularly helpful! We did not see any of the entertainment whilst we were there but our kids did enjoy the amusement/games room (ensure you allow extra cash for this!) The shop is very well stocked and reasonably priced. We found everything we needed in there.

There are some steep steps to give direct access to the beach which is nice. But slippery. The beach is mainly pebbles. There are a couple of lovely waterfalls that run onto the beach. You do need to ensure you do not get cut off by the in coming tide on the left side.

There is a co-op in Williton which is handy as it is only about 2 and a half miles from the site. They also have a chippy! The swimming pool on site was nice and clean and is 1 per person for an hour and you can privately hire it out.

There are set times for sessions though. There is a nice play area which is over looked by the seating area in the sun lounge. Lovely views, would we come again? Yes - probably would :) 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weekenderbedford 3 reviews from this member

 This is a quiet camping area with only 16 or 17 powered pitches, in a static caravan site. The site has a pool, restaurant, bar and games rooms, and shop, as well as direct access to the shingle beach, and great views over the Bristol Channel to Wales.

Site provides entertainment in season, though not the 'in your face' sort that you get elsewhere (thank heaven).

Staff are friendly and helpful, and the site has an 'olde worlde' feel to it. Shower/toilet facilities for camping are clean, and the site has a launderette.

Down side - steep hill to the site, through a farmyard, although we've brought a twin axle caravan down it twice now without a problem.

Price is excellent - we booked this at 15 per night for twin axle and two adults. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Digit 1 review from this member

 Overall this is a pleasant little campsite. Lovely situated seeing views of the sea & country.

The site reminded me of the campsite in the film Dirty Dancing. Got just the right amount of entertainment and not commercialised.

The Games room & pool room was great for the kids as it rained all week. Ian the entertainer was great and kept us all entertained in the evenings.

The two down points is that it could do with some upgrading and money spent on it to make it more modern and tidy. Only has 2 toilets & 2 showers for each sex which is not enough at busy times. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cherry123 1 review from this member

 We have stayed here as a family six seven times in the last three years and have enjoyed ourselves every time come rain or shine.

The beach is rugged the sea fishing is very good,

I have caught Bass dogfish cod whiting smooth hound and conger.

The Reception staff and bar staff are very friendly and helpful at all times.

The entertainments chap Ian provides some clever and imaginative entertainment suiting all ages in a hi di hi style, everyone seems to smile join in and enjoy there selves.

Yes the site is a bit old fashioned in some respects but is great value for money and I will be returning again and again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BORCIC 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 2 nights early September, was reasonably priced for 2 adults and 2 children, however we didn't have any kids with us only our 3 small dogs, charged 2.50 per dog (told a little white lie and said we only had two). Our dogs are better behaved than a lot of kids.

A very narrow road down to site, luckily we didn't meet anyone coming in opposite direction.

Steep steps down to beach, beach was very disappointing as very pebbly, even dogs didn't like it. Weather was quite poor when we were there and wasn't a lot to do during the day.

There was something going on in bar most nights, bingo, quizzes etc. But drinks were quite expensive.

Don't think we will be paying a return visit anytime soon. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is St Audries Bay Holiday Club child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does St Audries Bay Holiday Club have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to St Audries Bay Holiday Club?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is St Audries Bay Holiday Club dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Minehead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7443 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement