Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandy Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Ashington > Sandy Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Sandy Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
North Seaton
Ashington
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE63 9YD
Tel: 0330 123 4972
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 84
Open: 11/03/2022 to 14/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 25 Reviews
                5/10 from 25 Reviews

Photos (7)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shell G 11 reviews from this member

 On arrival we were greeted pleasantly and told to find our own pitch which was quite difficult as they had had lots of rain and the ground was very squelshy and grass very long. A fellow camper told us to be careful were we parked and told us he was leaving for reasons (which we thought strange). After parking up the penny dropped and we realised that the campsite has a lot of travellers living there. As we had no children with us we were not bothered but the constant driving in and out with vans did start to annoy. We were there for 4 nights and did not once see security. Toilets OK but the other half said mens was a little dirty and even went to reception to ask about cleaners. They appeared and all OK. The club house is nice and usual good entertainment for a Park Resorts. The beach is lovely and has lots of rock pools.

The site is not far from Newcastle and we found Tynemouth to be a lovely place to visit, even having a night out at the theatre there. Beamish is half an hour drive but worth it.

On leaving we popped into the reception and complained and felt that the response offered by the young receptionist was poor and unprofessional for a large company like park resorts. I would not go to this park again and unless I get some satisfactory response from PR would reconsider going to any of there parks again, which is such a shame as the other 3 we have visited so far this year have been great. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Motley 26 reviews from this member

 We were asked to find our own pitch, there were vans parked all over the place, no directions or help from staff.

2 gents and 2 ladies showers, with I would think, room for 140 plus vans, far too inadequate

As mentioned previously, the grey waste had to be emptied into the chemical disposal point, which was a good 3 ft lift.

Access to the beach was across a stile, but the cliff had broken away, so the only way to the beach was a 50 ft drop!

A barrier was across the entrance, but no keys were available. We were told to contact a member of staff to gain access! Totally unsuitable. So after making a nuisance of ourselves on the first night, security produced a key. Unbelievable.

Although not the most important aspect of camping, Internet access in this day and age can be very useful. Wifi at this park was £7 per day! If most cafes and pubs can provide it free, Park Resorts should be able to.

The only plus to this park is the area. The Northumberland coast is the best in the country and lots of Market towns are within a short distance of this park. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gibbonmark 3 reviews from this member

 Very nice clean little site, not much to do with young kids. The swimming pool kept my youngest happy for 3 hours.

Beach is not far from touring area and good for exploring.

Staff were helpful. The only part that was free as in most sites these days was the park and the swimming pool.

To be fair apart from amusements and restaurant there was nothing else to do on the site.

But a good site overall 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cmottershead 4 reviews from this member

 The site offers fantastic views out to sea. Unfortunately the site needs money spending on it.

Pot holes yes there are pitches with pot holes, the road surface is very un-even.

Toilets these often ran out of toilet roll and were not cleaned as regular as they needed to be. Both toilets were not very friendly to those who were disabled.

Showers – one of the mens, it was like the floor was going to give way and both flooded as the drainage was poor. Women’s were similar to the mens.

Waste water/toilet – be prepared to lift to the height of a toilet. There is no floor grey water facility. Again this is not very friendly to the less able.

Customer service in some cases was very poor – especially when making a valid complaint.

On our first night there was security issues with in of the statics. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Porkpie29 2 reviews from this member

 Had a great holiday, the site has a private sandy beach and one side is full of rock pools.

We took 2 children aged 13 and 2 dogs.

The dogs and teenagers loved the rock pools.

The club atmosphere was great and they put shows on at night.

We had a good holiday.

Now the bad points

The whole site is not maintained. Pot holes in the roads (big ones), the shower and toilet block is a mobile with 2 showers each for males and females. One clean water tap for the whole site(approx 53 plots). The toilets and shower block are locked at 10pm and opened again at 7am (trying to stop young vandals from the statics). When it rains the pitches get water logged as the site drainage is rubbish.

We had to move after a night of rain, we also saw campervans being pulled out(for a charge!).

The route to the exit is poorly marked if at all, you need to use the site map for the first time.

The pool is bog standard.

We went for a meal on the Monday, they had ran out of 3/4 of the menu. Pitch allocation is first come first served and they are tight pitches.

Amusements were old or not working.

The chippy on site was expensive and portions were small.

The on-site shop was very basic, more of a gift shop really.

It cost a lot to take the dogs for no reason at all- there wasn't even a dog walking area.

This is the golden rule, your holiday is as good as you make it.

We had a microwave and went to the local Asda. We visited places and ate out, and the chippy down the road was nice.

All said the place is not worth the money you have to pay, but the view is stunning. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Misty Buff 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a few nights recently and had a fairly pleasant stay. The staff were very helpful and for the price the static caravan we were given was a bargain and very well equiped. The site's also located beside a nice beach with a mixture of sand and rocks.

Unfortunately they've designed the entrance to the entertainment centre so that you have to walk through a tiny amusements arcade in order to get to anywhere else in the complex (they've probably done this so that your children badger you to spend money everytime you go in). I wouldn't mind this but the amusements were rubbish. On a site of this size they must surely want to develop this further and put it somewhere else. Also the pool is far too small and bland and only opens at certain times. When I'm on holiday I like to use the pool when I like but we don't seem to understand that concept in this country. As usual we have to queue and wait for everything. The bar was ok and the entertainment the usual loud pub singer types. You can't really walk to anywhere nearby so unless you drive you just have the option of the on site chippy or the bar. There's nothing nicer in between.

All in all our stay was fine and the caravan superb. I'd go again but not bother with the entertainments. It's a pity you can't opt out of paying for passes to the entertainment centres in these places as they are always so sadly lacking. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jan + Don + Molly 28 reviews from this member

 Unkempt site. Bbroken dirty toilets and showers. People clearly living on site with vans coming and going at all hours. Litter everywhere. No clear pitches. Felt very uncomfortable and unsafe. Rough tracks instead of roads. Would never go back. We stayed as part of our honeymoon tour and this site spoilt it for us. Its a shame as the static side is very well kept and as I originally come from this area I felt let down. Tynemouth is as ever just lovely. Lovely sea views. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Normannbelson 9 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site many time over the years in both statics and tourers Its a great site for the kids plenty of entertainment in the club house and boat house. But if you are a party of adults you will find it is noisy in the club house as children are allowed to remain until parents decide to go home, that could be midnight or later. Personally we go into Newbiggen by the Sea and use the working mens clubs there as it is much cheaper for us. The touring site is very basic the toilets and showers are poor. Each pitch has ehu. I suppose you get what you pay for. And apart from school hols and bank-hols its cheap to stay here. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Degsytroy 4 reviews from this member

 Not sure if I will return to this site even though it is convenient. Firstly, you don't get allocated a pitch. It's just a case of driving round the field to find one. The pitches are not marked out with borders, so it's basically just a guessing game. On a plus side, we found a pitch on the boundry, so had a fab view of the sea. Toilet block is just a portakabin. They get locked at 10pm and reopen at 7am, so if you need to use in between, tough! The locks on the shower doors had been smashed off, so had to jam the door shut with the stool inside the cubicle. Shop, bar, Pool all seemed good. Kids enjoyed themselves. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foxinfrance 22 reviews from this member

 Hated it - the statics and facilities for statics are fine.  Touring site a field packed like a tin of sardines- sanitary facilities are a converted mobile unit - think the type they use at festivals. Vandalised, shower doors kicked off, flooded, blocked etc.  Washing up/food prep was a shed with a huge whole in the floor and a kitchen sink propped up with a wooden pole.   Bins overflowing - looked around before we paid - did not stay.
Lots of money spent on 'holiday side' of park
The entertainment, swimming pool and reception - 1st class but do not use as a touring site until it has had a huge cash injection.  


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandy Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Sandy Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandy Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandy Bay Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2682 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement