Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Belper Road (a517)
Hulland Ward
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3EN
Tel: 01335 370855
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 113 Reviews
                8/10 from 113 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  113 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jim1977 11 reviews from this member

 This site is well located just outside Ashbourne, we visited Dovedale and Critch Tram Museum during our stay and neither were far away.

The site consists of 3 main fields. The first is closest to the main road and is mainly hardstanding pitches. The sole toilet block, washing up area and laundry room are also in this field. High boundary hedges mean this field has limited views of the countryside.

The second field is also hardstandings and overlooks the playground field and countryside beyond. There is a night loo in the playing field - a garden shed with light, loo and sink with cold water tap. The third field is all grass and being furthest from the road is also nice and quiet.

We booked last minute for half term and the main site was full, but we were offered an overspill pitch. The overspill area is a fourth field beyond the camping field.

There are just two mowed grass pitches (with EHU) in a flower meadow. This was the nicest part of the site (only suitable for tents really). So private having this field to ourselves with lovely views! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Care Bear 5 reviews from this member

 The site is relatively large and set in beautiful surroundings. It is, however, spoilt by dog owners allowing their dogs to bark 24/7 and taking them for walks around the site to pee on the tent pitches and by people BBQing decaying corpse, encouraged by site management who sell it.

Upon arrival I asked to pitch away from dogs, but was shown to a pitch right opposite three loud barkers. The site WiFi did not work, the usual CCC WiFi card was not accepted and no refund was issued. I did not have to queue to use the showers, but the laundrette and washing lines were so busy, that I had no chance of using them.

Thursday 15th September 2016 5. 30am - 6. 15am almost continual dog barking. Friday 16th September 2am, 3. 10 am and 6. 50am dog barking.

Accessibility: I noted that, at Ashbourne, on a leaflet advertising a camping cabin and on CCC's website, disabled people were referred to as less able which is just insulting.

As for the local area, I went to Dove Dale, which was full of selfish, bloodthirsty dog owners (some of whom were with numerous dogs), proudly ignoring the signs asking them to keep dogs on a lead, despite the obvious presence of sheep and children who were on a school trip.

I have no intentions of ever returning or of renewing my CCC membership, as I do not consider disabled people to be less able than people who are not yet disabled. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Koalagrabber 2 reviews from this member

 Warm welcome at reception on our arrival, and we were promptly shown to our pitch which we had booked 2 months earlier. We were put at the bottom of the bottom field, overlooking a wild area which was pretty.

We had booked a jumbo pitch as we were staying for 5 days and had taken our 9 x 3 tent for the 5 of us.

Pitch was bit muddy, and pretty lumpy. Despite booking well in advance and paying for a jumbo pitch (177. 50 & we are members) our tent pretty much reached the pitch end to end and there was no space for a windbreak.

Unfortunately we were also next to a noisy metal gate on the dog walking route & on the first night this was in use until 10. 30, and started at the back of seven the following morning. Given that my kids are young, this was not ideal.

I also had paid what I felt was a premium to stay at a club site, as generally the noise volume is quieter, but this was not the case here.

Folk were making no attempt to be quiet, and the music being played on both Friday and Saturday nights until fairly late was loud enough that I was glad I had taken ear plugs with me. Fortunately the wild area next us was used for overflow on Saturday night and the gate was left open, and it remained that way for the rest of our visit, so we were not disturbed further by this.

Drinking water for the bottom field is at the top of the field and this area was a bit muddy when we arrived as there had been some rain. It could do with having more concrete poured in this area. There is no bin area here, you have to go right to the top field. There is one toilet and sink in a wooden hut between the middle and bottom field, where the kids play area is.

As the site was really busy, this was frequently occupied, and also ran out of toilet paper when on of our party was having a number 2 :( The main block offers 3 sinks for washing dishes and a laundry area with 3 washing machines which we did not use. These seemed sufficient as there were no queues.

The ladies toilet area had I think 6 or 7 toilet cubicles and only 3 showers in which the water temperature fluctuated quite a bit, occasionally getting uncomfortably hot. There were no private sink areas for having a stand up wash which was a real bind if the showers were busy.

The whole site was scrupulously clean, and the staff were lovely. It is fairly close to Ashbourne where there are plenty shops, and some takeaways (excellent chippy) but not within walking distance of the site. Nor are there any pubs within walking distance. Beautiful area, but I felt a bit robbed.

We felt the facilities did not merit the cost and the site is more geared toward the caravans and tourers who have a lot of their own facilities. When going back to the area we will be looking for another site which is better value 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Theshortens 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here and had a comfortable stay. The road noise is quite loud when in the top field where we were. Good facilities and kept clean.

The shop sells basic supplies and Calor Gas (cash only for gas, 22 for 7Kg) however beware the opening times as it is not manned all the time.

Great for families and people with dogs. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barnabys 29 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for may bank holiday 2 adults and 2 children and dog.

Easy to find quick friendly check in and taken to our pitch by the warden.

Pitches are hardstanding and level with plenty of space between pitches.

Toilet and shower block is modern and clean, recycling etc to hand.

Nice dog walk and small shop for essentials.

Small play area for the kids.

Good Base for visiting local attractions but you will need to use your vehicle as the next town is a short drive away.

We enjoyed our stay it is a well run site and quiet at night but you can hear the traffic from the main road but it's definitely not enough to bother you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 29 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at this camp site and we have to say that it was very pleaseant with good views and reasonably quiet though we could hear some road noise particularly motorcycles though this was not an issue at night.

The toilet block was up to standard and the staff were pleasant as usual which is something we have grown to like compared with the sedentary aspects of the 'other club'.

This is certainly a site we would use again when in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dodger936 12 reviews from this member

 Hi all, just returned from an excellent weekend at this site and as always it was great.

The site was busy but everything was spot on. Facilities clean and staff more than helpful. The shop sells the basics but the sausages and bacon are fantastic.

I would recommend this site to anyone who likes the countryside, peace and quiet.

Thanks to all the Staff! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Al1977 5 reviews from this member

 A lovely, clean, quiet well kept site only half an hour or so from Alton Towers. The pitches are laid out in lines with cars parked between each unit.

The main toilets and showers were clean and well laid out and the toilet shed between the lower field and play area perfectly situated to avoid longer walks for every toilet trip! The laundry services were essential for us on this particular visit and were accessible, working and easy to use!

We particularly liked the children's play area which is a large field with meadow areas and play equipment in the middle. The equipment suited our children (4 and 6 years) and was far enough from the pitches to allow them noisy fun without being too close!

Although we didn't take our dog on this trip, if we had, we would have used the dog exercising area (no dogs in children's area).

We really enjoyed our 2 nights on this site and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jcjmachin 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second trip in our campervan. The pitches were a good size and we liked the fact that they were not too close together. We were on field 3 which was the quietest part of the site although the toilets and showers were furthest away from this point (that didn't bother us). The toilets closed for cleaning between 11 to 12 each day which didn't inconvenience us but it may be a useful point to remember.

Overall the facilities were very clean and although we didn't use the laundry and washing up area it all looked satisfactory. The shop stocked basic items.

The staff were friendly and we got information both written and verbally from a member of staff on a walk to Hulland Ward. He joked about the fact that the instructions were clearly written - we didn't tell him that we got very lost, but still had a lovely walk through fields to a friendly pub (The Nags Head) with the most amazing doorstop sandwiches !

Overall a great long weekend and an excellent site that we will return to. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Whitegold 8 reviews from this member

 Chose this site for a couple of nights at short notice, as there were few other vacancies in the Peak District.

Reception very friendly, although the entrance area seems very congested at busy times.

Pitch 69 was at the very bottom of the furthest of the three areas, but this gave a clear view over the fields and was quiet due to having no through traffic. This meant quite a long walk up to the facilities block, although there was a freshwater tap at the top of our area within 100 metres. Chemical and greywater disposal were only available near the facilities block.

Good dog exercise area, but so strange that there was only ONE dog waste bin on the whole site - near the facilities block, several hundred metres from the dog-area.

Toilets and showers were cleaned once daily, so consequently are dependent on other guests as to their cleanliness. There are an abundance of mops and buckets provided, and helpful notices suggesting people clear up after themselves. I do sometimes wonder if sloshing around with a tired string mop and a bucket of dirty water really does constitute an adequate sanitary routine? As other reviewers mentioned, three showers plus one family/access room in both sections of Ladies/Gents is going to be busy at popular times, given the number of pitches.

The setting is quite peaceful, surrounded by agricultural land, predominantly enclosed pasture and some woodland. It took us about 45 minutes walk on a poorly marked cross-country route to The Nag's Head at Hulland, which is dog friendly with a reasonable choice of cask ales, excellent food, Cloud WiFi and a friendly atmosphere. There's a garage/convenience store and a second pub a little further on, which we didn't visit.

There were a small range of basic provisions available at reception, milk, water, breakfast items, confectionary. Alongside reception was a small information cabin, with a large selection of brochures, and a big folder with useful information. Local walks were available at reception.

Freeview reception was poor, I only found one weak ITV signal; mobile phone was patchy, but OK for voice calls, but sluggish 3G for internet. Onsite WiFi is available, but the single Access Point was on the facilities block, and doesn't cover the whole site.

Overall a tidy site, with plenty of environmentally friendly attributes, but somewhat let down by the standard of the facilities block. Possibly would suit caravanners/campers as a convenient centre for car outings. 


Previous     113 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4604 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement