Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Belper Road (a517)
Hulland Ward
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3EN
Tel: 01335 370855
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04 to 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stewart and trish 6 reviews from this member

Great site and wardens gave us a very friendly welcome. Very good on site facilities and in a fantastic country location one word PERFECT.

Thanks for making us welcome and we will be sure to come back

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 33 reviews from this member

Directed and shown to our pitch on 1st of 3 camping areas-mainly hard standing although was surprised when a few tents pitched where there didn't seem to be any pitch numbers-presumably because busy whit weekend. Not full serviced pitches as not on mains drainage but water points and waste water disposal nearby. No views as site surrounded by tall hedges although it did have a fairly open feel unlike the other 2 fields where it seemed quite claustrophobic.

Site road narrow so tricky manoeuvring needed to get onto pitch-even more tricky getting off it !

Some way out of Ashbourne so car needed to get anywhere for shopping-small shop at reception

Shower facilities adequate-plenty of hot water and room enough in the cubicles. No private washbasins apart from the family room and 2extra shower /basin rooms at the end of the block.

Some mould around bases of cubicle walls-not a good sight-looked as if the place needed a good steam clean. Squeegees and mop provided.

Complete lack of security apart from gates shut at 11pm to 7 am. Lots of visitors around.

Very warm welcome by hard working couple who managed to keep site well maintained. No lists of rules and regs like some club sites but still quiet and peaceful after 11 pm

Plus coffee and croissants available on Saturday mornings

Very much a family site - lots of children and their parents playing ball/cycling around the caravans. Not one we'd use again-no criticism of the site-just our particular preference.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Simonanddeb 9 reviews from this member

We've had a 10 year gap between visits to this site, not for any bad reasons!

Site has greatly improved lots of walks from doorstep and very handy for Ashbourne where there's a couple of good chip shops on the marketplace!

Very child friendly on site and a good base for plenty of activities!

Will be going back and wont wait another 10 years for our return visit!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim1977 10 reviews from this member

This site is well located just outside Ashbourne, we visited Dovedale and Critch Tram Museum during our stay and neither were far away.

The site consists of 3 main fields. The first is closest to the main road and is mainly hardstanding pitches. The sole toilet block, washing up area and laundry room are also in this field. High boundary hedges mean this field has limited views of the countryside. The second field is also hardstandings and overlooks the playground field and countryside beyond. There is a night loo in the playing field - a garden shed with light, loo and sink with cold water tap. The third field is all grass and being furthest from the road is also nice and quiet.

We booked last minute for half term and the main site was full, but we were offered an overspill pitch. The overspill area is a fourth field beyond the camping field. There are just two mowed grass pitches (with EHU) in a flower meadow. This was the nicest part of the site (only suitable for tents really). So private having this field to ourselves with lovely views!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Care Bear 5 reviews from this member

The site is relatively large and set in beautiful surroundings. It is, however, spoilt by dog owners allowing their dogs to bark 24/7 and taking them for walks around the site to pee on the tent pitches and by people BBQing decaying corpse, encouraged by site management who sell it.

Upon arrival I asked to pitch away from dogs, but was shown to a pitch right opposite three loud barkers. The site WiFi did not work, the usual CCC WiFi card was not accepted and no refund was issued. I did not have to queue to use the showers, but the laundrette and washing lines were so busy, that I had no chance of using them.

Thursday 15th September 2016 5. 30am - 6. 15am almost continual dog barking. Friday 16th September 2am, 3. 10 am and 6. 50am dog barking.

Accessibility: I noted that, at Ashbourne, on a leaflet advertising a camping cabin and on CCC's website, disabled people were referred to as less able which is just insulting.

As for the local area, I went to Dove Dale, which was full of selfish, bloodthirsty dog owners (some of whom were with numerous dogs), proudly ignoring the signs asking them to keep dogs on a lead, despite the obvious presence of sheep and children who were on a school trip.

I have no intentions of ever returning or of renewing my CCC membership, as I do not consider disabled people to be less able than people who are not yet disabled.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Koalagrabber 2 reviews from this member

Warm welcome at reception on our arrival, and we were promptly shown to our pitch which we had booked 2 months earlier. We were put at the bottom of the bottom field, overlooking a wild area which was pretty. We had booked a jumbo pitch as we were staying for 5 days and had taken our 9 x 3 tent for the 5 of us.

Pitch was bit muddy, and pretty lumpy. Despite booking well in advance and paying for a jumbo pitch (£177. 50 & we are members) our tent pretty much reached the pitch end to end and there was no space for a windbreak.

Unfortunately we were also next to a noisy metal gate on the dog walking route & on the first night this was in use until 10. 30, and started at the back of seven the following morning. Given that my kids are young, this was not ideal. I also had paid what I felt was a premium to stay at a club site, as generally the noise volume is quieter, but this was not the case here.

Folk were making no attempt to be quiet, and the music being played on both Friday and Saturday nights until fairly late was loud enough that I was glad I had taken ear plugs with me. Fortunately the wild area next us was used for overflow on Saturday night and the gate was left open, and it remained that way for the rest of our visit, so we were not disturbed further by this.

Drinking water for the bottom field is at the top of the field and this area was a bit muddy when we arrived as there had been some rain. It could do with having more concrete poured in this area. There is no bin area here, you have to go right to the top field. There is one toilet and sink in a wooden hut between the middle and bottom field, where the kids play area is.

As the site was really busy, this was frequently occupied, and also ran out of toilet paper when on of our party was having a number 2 :( The main block offers 3 sinks for washing dishes and a laundry area with 3 washing machines which we did not use. These seemed sufficient as there were no queues.

The ladies toilet area had I think 6 or 7 toilet cubicles and only 3 showers in which the water temperature fluctuated quite a bit, occasionally getting uncomfortably hot. There were no private sink areas for having a stand up wash which was a real bind if the showers were busy.

The whole site was scrupulously clean, and the staff were lovely. It is fairly close to Ashbourne where there are plenty shops, and some takeaways (excellent chippy) but not within walking distance of the site. Nor are there any pubs within walking distance. Beautiful area, but I felt a bit robbed.

We felt the facilities did not merit the cost and the site is more geared toward the caravans and tourers who have a lot of their own facilities. When going back to the area we will be looking for another site which is better value

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theshortens 2 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights here and had a comfortable stay. The road noise is quite loud when in the top field where we were. Good facilities and kept clean.

The shop sells basic supplies and Calor Gas (cash only for gas, £22 for 7Kg) however beware the opening times as it is not manned all the time.

Great for families and people with dogs.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barnabys 29 reviews from this member

Stayed here for may bank holiday 2 adults and 2 children and dog.

Easy to find quick friendly check in and taken to our pitch by the warden.

Pitches are hardstanding and level with plenty of space between pitches.

Toilet and shower block is modern and clean, recycling etc to hand.

Nice dog walk and small shop for essentials.

Small play area for the kids.

Good Base for visiting local attractions but you will need to use your vehicle as the next town is a short drive away.

We enjoyed our stay it is a well run site and quiet at night but you can hear the traffic from the main road but it's definitely not enough to bother you.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 29 reviews from this member

Just spent a week at this camp site and we have to say that it was very pleaseant with good views and reasonably quiet though we could hear some road noise particularly motorcycles though this was not an issue at night.

The toilet block was up to standard and the staff were pleasant as usual which is something we have grown to like compared with the sedentary aspects of the 'other club'.

This is certainly a site we would use again when in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dodger936 12 reviews from this member

Hi all, just returned from an excellent weekend at this site and as always it was great.

The site was busy but everything was spot on. Facilities clean and staff more than helpful. The shop sells the basics but the sausages and bacon are fantastic.

I would recommend this site to anyone who likes the countryside, peace and quiet.

Thanks to all the Staff!

Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5226 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019