Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Belper Road (a517)
Hulland Ward
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 3EN
Tel: 01335 370855
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/04/2021 to 02/11/2021
           01/04/2022 to 02/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 114 Reviews
                8/10 from 114 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  114 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Journo 7 reviews from this member

 Well-run site over three fields two of which have a nice open, rural feel.

Several good walks from the site. You need to drive to get to the attractive town of Ashbourne.

Toilets and showers are dated and there are only three showers in the ladiesí block which isnít enough for the number of pitches.

Iíd have expected better for the relatively high price. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lynda Ham 11 reviews from this member

 Good location for South peaks, Carsington, dovedale, crich, Matlock etc.

Clean modern facilities with disabled bathrooms. Level pitches, hard or grass. Extremely busy over weekends.

Friendly wardens. The bad bit is very poor site WiFi and mobile phone signal. TV satellite will be variable (our pitch had a high hedge interfering with reception)

Road noise is a bit annoying in the top field. There are 2 lower fields.

There's a play area in the lower field. Excellent dog walk.

Aldi and other shops in Ashbourne. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Millersmad 1 review from this member

 Desperate to 'Get Away' we decided on this site at Ashbourne. We don't usually use Club Sites, but actually struggled to find any other availability, paid £70 for 3 nights which was more than normal for us, but not extortionate.

Arrived in terrible weather, but the warden was out there to greet us & show us to our space. She was upbeat despite the conditions, and explained clearly where everything was, and any restrictions in place.

Lovely, well maintained site with good Dog Walk attached. 10 min drive into Ashboune, and lots of other attractions nearby. Used our own facilities, but called in after we'd emptied our cassette, and everything was very clean, with clear signage.

Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Asfc70 35 reviews from this member

 The site is split over a few fields and is well maintained. Most of the facilities were closed due to Covid so it is difficult to give a proper rating.

The toilet and shower block is good. Dog walk on site is ok but I was bit by a horse fly so was put off by this. Ashbourne is beautiful and we exercised our dogs on the park in the town centre.

Had a lovely meal at The Lamplight in the town centre. Visited Carsington Reservoir and Matlock.

There is nothing within walking distance from the site, apart from some walks through fields and over stiles.

Quite expensive 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JoelS75 1 review from this member

 We'd stayed here before so we were expecting a good time and we weren't let down.

The people there are friendly and the sites facilities are very clean.

It was slightly more expensive than we usually spend but still worth it.

Nearby Ashbourne is a lovely little town and there's so many beautiful walks within a short distance.

I very much recommend this campsite for anyone visiting the Peak District. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jyarro 1 review from this member

 Very helpful and extremely friendly owners.

Lovely views and quiet.

We did not use the facilities so cannot comment on them.

Access to site was extremely easy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ray Clayton 32 reviews from this member

 Hi All.

Well 1st site visit after the Covid lock down and ready for a break to be honest like many more people on here.

We booked a hard-standing pitch with electric, for 2 nights at a cost of £58-00.

Maybe a bit steep to be honest with it not being a fully serviced pitch. When a grass pitch with electric, would have been £13-00 cheaper, so bear this in mind when booking.

Although the grass pitches were not that level.

The site itself was well kept with a nice play area, which was still closed off, and a nice well kept dog walk, but as normal, some could not be bothered to pick up after themselves.

The toilets where clean and covid19 ready with sanitiser etc readily available for all to use.

Toilet block is a bit outdated as it could be made bigger for the amount of pitchers, on site, but was not a problem this weekend.

Pitches are hard standing or grass, and leveling blocks will be needed to be used on either pitches.

5 miles from Ashbourne and close to Carsington Water so great place to stay.

Chip shops in Ashbourne, CO-OP and pubs.

Overall a good site well kept, and friendly wardens.

Enjoy. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bumbly4 6 reviews from this member

 Wifi non existent despite repeated attempts compounded by no mobile signal, and I'm made to feel that I am being a nuisance because I want to use a facility that is being advertised!

Facilies OK but only one shower block for 100 pitches. Generally not as good as it could, and should be.

Great play area but really poorly maintained. Would I go back. No 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stewart and trish 9 reviews from this member

 Great site and wardens gave us a very friendly welcome. Very good on site facilities and in a fantastic country location one word PERFECT.

Thanks for making us welcome and we will be sure to come back 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 38 reviews from this member

 Directed and shown to our pitch on 1st of 3 camping areas-mainly hard standing although was surprised when a few tents pitched where there didn't seem to be any pitch numbers-presumably because busy whit weekend.

Not full serviced pitches as not on mains drainage but water points and waste water disposal nearby. No views as site surrounded by tall hedges although it did have a fairly open feel unlike the other 2 fields where it seemed quite claustrophobic.

Site road narrow so tricky manoeuvring needed to get onto pitch-even more tricky getting off it !

Some way out of Ashbourne so car needed to get anywhere for shopping-small shop at reception

Shower facilities adequate-plenty of hot water and room enough in the cubicles. No private washbasins apart from the family room and 2extra shower /basin rooms at the end of the block.

Some mould around bases of cubicle walls-not a good sight-looked as if the place needed a good steam clean. Squeegees and mop provided.

Complete lack of security apart from gates shut at 11pm to 7 am. Lots of visitors around.

Very warm welcome by hard working couple who managed to keep site well maintained. No lists of rules and regs like some club sites but still quiet and peaceful after 11 pm

Plus coffee and croissants available on Saturday mornings

Very much a family site - lots of children and their parents playing ball/cycling around the caravans. Not one we'd use again-no criticism of the site-just our particular preference. 


Previous     114 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Ashbourne Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3209 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement