Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tir Glyn Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Tir Glyn Caravan Park Reviews

Tir Glyn Caravan Park
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8DA
Tel: 01758 760248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ladymarmalade 4 reviews from this member

 It rained and rained and rained but that didn't not stop the enjoyment of our holiday at this beautiful part of Wales as we returned for our nineth year. Two calves been born whilst we were there and 3 one week old on arrival and three to be fed. My 13 year old had a great time cleaning the milking palour. Lovely meal in the Ship in the village and nice to see the new vicar of St Hwyans Church was a curate at my local church years ago. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Seagull64 8 reviews from this member

 Tir Glyn is a wonderful campsite on a working farm situated near the tip of the Llyn Peninsula.

The owners John and Pat are two of the nicest people you’d wish to meet and have arranged their site over two fields with pitches arranged around the outside of each which leaves loads of room for kids to play in the middle. Our little boy absolutely loved it!

While the kids are safely playing it gives parents time to take in the fabulous sea views and relax which is very easy to do as you feel a million miles from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Toilet and shower facilities are excellent. The showers are “pay as you go” but who cares as you get a great shower for 40p. Two showers each for male and female seems to be enough aswell as we didn’t have to queue once.

There is no shop or clubhouse on site which suits us and Aberdaron is close by with pubs, shops and a great beach. Trendier and busier Abersoch is a short drive away and is also worth visiting.

Stroll down the path at the back of the site and it brings you to Fishermans Cove, a rocky cove complete with fishing boats and lobster pots. We enjoyed the stroll and our budding 4 year old pirate thought it was brilliant. A half hour stroll from the site will also see you at the very tip of the peninsula with great views of Bardsey island. We also spent a day at Whistling sands just chilling out and playing on the clean beach. Fantastic!

After tea our little boys day was made complete when he was allowed to watch the cows having their evening milking. Thank you to the farmers son for letting him watch and putting up with all the questions!

We paid £12 a night for our pitch + electric in July 08 so its not expensive either.

For us, Tir Glyn is near perfect! Is a site we will be returning to again and again! And a site we would recommend without hesitation! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mopet 3 reviews from this member

 I totally agree with most of the comments submitted, this is a beautiful sight.
Not to be negative though, the walk to Aberdaron takes about 45  mins. And has a very steep climb up steps. Dont be put off though it is stunning.
Although if you walk back by road it takes a little less. 
The little pebble cove just below the site (a working lobster and crab point) also is the place to get on the sea trip to Bardsey Island. Advertised in shops in Aberdaron for £18.
Facilities at the sight are excellent with washers, dryers and a large freezer.
Owners  very friendly and helpful.
A perfect get away from it all place. Will go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ladymarmalade 4 reviews from this member

 I can't do justice in words alone to describe waking up in the morning, looking out of the caravan window and seeing the sea
at Fisherman's Cove from Tir Glyn Campsite. Or indeed to watch a full moon hang over it turning the sea silver, or to watching the sun set over the mountain with the sky flame red. All these things are a joy to behold when you are at Tir Glyn even when the weather is not good and the mist are swirling around you you feel you are at one with nature and you can blow your cobwebs away from your urban life and feel totaly refreshed.
The campsite itself is well maintained with plenty of space between units that are situated around the edge of the field,
with plenty of electric hookups, there is ample space in the centre of the field for games the children and adults alike.
The shower block is imaculate with a good supply of hot water and bathroom tissue is also supplied. Last year John and Pat installed a sink for washing up and also washing machines and tumble driers in one of the farm out buildings which is a very handy when you have young children, the nearest launderette is 18 miles away in the Pwllheli nearest town.which is where most of the main shopping is including the market on Wednesdays, the banks and cinema.
Aberdaron has local shops including a Spar with butcher counter and Post Office. There is also a bakery in the village and 2 cafes one with Fish and Chip Take away some nights, 2 pubs, a gift shop selling beach essentials and a shop selling beers and wine newspapers and chemist supplies.
You can take the car to the village of if you are feeling energetic you can take the cliff path from the campsite which a mile along the coast it takes about 20 mins. Tir Glyn is a working farm and you are welcomed to watch the cows been milked. John and Pat along with their sons make this a very attractive place for a holiday. As my 11 and 13 year old children say as we reach the village, ah almost home, l don't think you can get better credentials than that. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ljilsley 1 review from this member

 Excellent site. Aberdarron has a great beach which is safe and clean. The kids loved the site, especially watching the cow being milked. The owners were brilliant, we felt that we had known them for years. The toilets were spotless all the time and the showers were great. You have to pay but you get a good shower for about 30p. Not bad I'd say.
We are hoping to go back this year. It's our first choice site now! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mcdougal 2 reviews from this member

 Tir Glyn caravan park is situated in some of the most beautiful countryside in Wales. It is a 5 minute walk from the beach and has picture-postcard sea views. The owners (a lovely couple, always ready to drop everything to help or chat) have recently spent a lot of money on re-fitting the toilet and shower block from top to bottom. There are brand new electric power showers that pump out hot water at pressure - bliss! The block is kept scrupulously clean. Amazing what a difference pleasant toilets can make to a holiday.
This was my first holiday in Wales. I don't usually feel that I am on holiday until I reach the west country, however, having spent the last 10 years' holidays camping on the south coast I still have to say; this is the best site at which I have ever stayed.
  


Date of Visit: September 2004
Reviewer: Shwe 1 review from this member

 Tir Glyn is an oasis. It is a family run business and everyone who stays is made to feel extremely welcome. Pat and John always have time for a chat even though it is a working farm. Waking up to breathe taking scenery is just magical. I found the atmosphere very deep and magical. The site is surroundd by scenery that made an 8 hour journey to get there worth every minute trying to get through Birmingham. I strongly recommend this site if you young children, no children, like peace and quiet or enjoy activities. I definitely go again. Although slightly out of the way, there is a village close by that has a number of shops (incldes a post office) and a regular bus service to Pwhelli and beyond. The only downside is that you will need tp drive approximatel half an hour before you get to a main town but the scenery is worth it. 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Richpilk 2 reviews from this member

 We have been going to this site for around 5 years now. It is a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The owners are lovely people and always make you fell welcome.

The site comprises 2 large fields which are mainly level, with units placed only around the edges. This creates a large open space for the children to play on. The toilet block is always immaculate and the site very well maintained.

Locally the village of Aberdron is stunning with 2 lovely pubs and a great beach. The beaches in the are are fantastic. Check out whistling sands!

We can not reccomend this site enough - hope you enjoy your stay 


Reviewer: Juanita 17 reviews from this member

 May 2004
Lovely site set on a farm. There are 2 large fields, the centre is kept clear for games etc. The site owners are very friendly and let the children watch the cows being milked and even took my 3 year old for a ride on the tractor! Toilets kept clean. You can walk down the valley to a lovely little pebble cove. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tir Glyn Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tir Glyn Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tir Glyn Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1430 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement