Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tir Glyn Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Tir Glyn Caravan Park Reviews

Tir Glyn Caravan Park
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8DA
Tel: 01758 760248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LADav 1 review from this member

 Spent 3 nights here in our camper van and couldn’t fault it. Lovely and quiet with fabulous views and the toilet facilities were immaculate. John was more than happy to help us out when we needed him and next time we visit, I would love to have a cup of tea and a chat with Pat. She was just so lovely! 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: RandPL 1 review from this member

 Having visited this site for the past 43 years, I think it deserves a mention. We began in a tent, then caravan now static van. The best site on the Llyn. Views stunning, many walks, which have improved over the years. The site is situated above a small cove, with a lovely walk down through a pretty gorge to the cove. The site facilities are second to none, so clean. The owners are very helpful and friendly (that's why we return year after year) The children now grown up, still return. Its got a magic all of its own. Quiet and peaceful. What ever the weather you will not be disappointed. This is also a working farm 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HOWARDKEY 7 reviews from this member

 A long journey to get there but boy was it worth it! The 2 field site is fairly compact but nicely laid out with modern, clean facilities. (This site could be too quiet for families with young children unless they can make their own entertainment). The site is mostly occupied by seasonally sited caravans but decent tent and touring caravan pitches are available. The owners run a working farm but were very approachable, helpful and chatty. The site is gloriously quiet, being away from roads and crowds. A short 5 minute stroll leads down to a pretty fishing cove still used by lobster boats and the Bardsey Island shuttle boat. You also have easy access to the Welsh Coastal Path with its fantastic walking and stunning scenery. Aberdaron is a 35 minute walk along this path and has two pubs, a Post Office, a Spar shop, souvenir shops and a chippy! What more could you need? All in all a little gem! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Richpilk 2 reviews from this member

 It's been a while since I left a review, but after a further 7 years of visiting this site I thought it was about time! The wonderful thing about Tir Glyn, is that apart from the addition of some really useful features such as washing machines and dryers, it really hasn't changed at all. The pace of life is just idyllic here, and seems to just induce a stress free state of mind.

Owners are delightful and nothing is ever too much trouble, whether it is advice you need, or just a chat. The toilet block is always immaculate and paper and soap are provided. The showers are 20p for 3 minutes which is very good value. The two fields are regularly mown and are always in superb condition, as water seems to drain away quickly after rain.

The local beaches are superb although some of the more popular ones such as Aberdaron and whistling Sands, don't allow dogs during the summer months. This is not a major problem though, as many other local beaches do.

The village of Aberdaron is only a mile and a half away and can also be reached via the cliff path that goes from Fishermans Cove (accessed from the site). This is a stunning walk with equally breathtaking views. Once there it boasts a couple of lovely cafes, a Spar, newsagent/off licence and a lovely bakery. There are also two lovely pubs selling great beer and food (I highly recommend the Purple Moose ale in the Ty Newydd). It is a delightful little village with easy access to a lovely beach. The site is also not far from Abersoch, Llanbedrog and Pwhelli

In previous years we have always camped in a folding camper, but this year we broke out and bought a caravan (too old not to have a comfy bed now). We have pitched the van at Tir Glyn for the whole summer which has been fantastic. No towing and no arguments when setting up which is a bonus! It is lovely to be able to go straight from work on a Friday and feel de-stressed the minute you arrive.

My kids have grown up going to this site and have always loved it. I have a feeling they will continue the family tradition for many years to come.

To sum up, if you are looking for peace and relaxation, great walks, lovely pubs and beaches and a slower pace of life, look no further. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Howellsey 4 reviews from this member

 If I'm honest, this is definitely a site more suited to the static caravans which seem to make up the bulk of the trade. The site is situated on a working farm on a clifftop with views towards the sea and easy access to the clifftop path.

The toilet and shower block were sufficient, the gents was generally clean and well kept, my wife thought the women's not so much so.

The shed with washing and washing up facilities and the freezers was useful (and contained a swallow's nest complete with chirping babies!).

The approach seemed to be very much 'hands off' and there wasn't any provision of information on the local area until we met the owners on out third day of the stay.

The field did get very wet as the rain continued to persist it down, not the fault of anyone but maybe added to a general feeling of waning enthusiasm as the week went on.

Not sure I would take a tent back there again, but sure it would be fine for a caravan! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gee. 3 reviews from this member

 Tir Glyn holds a unique position on the Llyn Peninsula. It has the most fabulous views, with beaches within walking distance.

Pat & John Roberts (& family) work & live on the farm, they are always on hand; to offer assistance or just a friendly chat. Nothing is too much trouble. The site is well kept, with grass cut regularly & all other facilities to a high standard of cleanliness.

The site offers everything:- washer room; microwave; freezer (for food & ice blocks). The main shower block offers separate gents/ladies showers, regularly cleaned (offering loo roll & hand soap, 'home from home', the little extra touches).

Considering the current UK weather, we were blessed with sunshine & the odd 'warm shower'!

We had originally booked for 2 & half weeks & extended our stay by a further week, (would have liked to stay longer, if not for work commitments) which I think says it all!. I just hope it doesn't become too popular & we are unable to book for next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs-tom 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Tir Glyn with a toddler during the first week of July. We joined the campsite with other family members. It was quite a rainy week, but we also had some fabulous days.

It has been a while since we camped but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this site.

There is plenty on offer in stunning surroundings to keep you busy, and we enjoyed wild beaches, coastal walks, visits to historic sites and pottering around the farm and the village of Aberdaron.

The site is really well organised. Everything is very clear and the information available is practical and useful. The toilet blocks, well I wasn't looking forward to re-experiencing these, but they were great.

Really well built, very clean and well maintained, even loo roll was provided so you could avoid the 'loo walk' where everyone knows your business. The site is well catered, electric hook ups if needed and water.

There are washing machines and a dryer available for a small fee too, perfect for us with some wet weather and a toddler to keep dry! The site is really family friendly, but also private enough if you want to just have a quiet time. The Roberts Family were welcoming and helpful, and as its a hard working farm, they were accommodating of our curiosity at their day to day work.

The farm is well located, a lovely cove a short walk away, Aberdaron town can be reached by a cliff top path or a short drive, we had great views on a sunny evening from the coast guard station.

Our interest in camping is re-ignited and I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Asfc70 25 reviews from this member

 Great location and very friendly hosts. The site is very basic, but well maintained. Lovely little toilet and shower block. The walk down the ravine from the site is stunning and the coastal paths, especially to Aberdaron, spectacular. Lanbedrog beach ( dogs allowed) is well worth a visit as is Whistling sands ( no dogs allowed).

We had to curtail our stay but had a fun packed 3 nights and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hurdy 1 review from this member

 We have recently spent three nights on this campsite, we booked very last minute and we were given a plot with beautiful views of the sea. The toilet block was close by, clean and even though only two showers in both men's and ladies block I never met another person in there.

Each plot had fresh water and hookup and the chemical toilet was just behind the toilet block, so very convenient. If there were children staying they were extremely well behaved and very quiet. We took our Labrador with us and there was a lovely walk down to the small beach which suited him. It seems that dog owners are responsible and clean up after their pooches which is good.

The beach and Abadaron were within walking distance and very pleasant. There is one pub on the beach and the other across the road. We only sampled the beach pub and didn't try the food, it was a very pleasant place to sit in the early evening sunshine.

The shops cater for most needs and everyone was helpful and friendly. The car park is National Trust owned but is reasonably priced all the same. The surrounding countryside is beautiful and a walkers dream.

The campsite probably isn't perfect but we have scored it highly as it was everything we wanted. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and will return, 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Preston Dave 11 reviews from this member

 Tir Glyn is a peaceful campsite on a working farm situated near the tip of the Llyn Peninsula.

The site is over two fields with pitches arranged around the outside of each which left room for our 2 children to play in the middle.

From our elevated pitch we had fabulous views of the sea. Very peaceful and relaxing.

Male toilet and shower facilities are clean, but female showers need attention with temperature regulator, unable to leave children unattended for fear of scolding. It also added to cost of shower trying to attain correct temperature.

The showers are “pay as you go” 20p for 3 minutes, 40p for 6 minutes and 60p for 9 minutes. Two showers each for male and female seems to be enough as didn’t have to queue once. Poster reminders in Showers about mopping out showers after use and being off site by 11 am are a bit in your face, but I guess some holidaymakers need reminding about these things.

There are Washing machines (£4) and Tumble Dryers (£3/hour)and kettles and a microwave (free of charge)available on site. Aberdaron is close by with pubs, shops and a great beach. Abersoch and Pwllheli are both in driving distance and latter has an ASDA for shopping supplies.

We enjoyed a stroll down to the Cove early evening where another family were having a BBQ. We also spent a day on Aberdaron beach, about 30 minute hike anticlockwise around the Peninsula cliffs. Traveling in the other direction, you reach the tip of the Peninsula with its wonderful views of Bardsey Island and the Irish Sea from the WWII look-out (now National Trust), ideally accessed via road for those with young children or mobility problems. Peninsula is easily accessible via National Trust and coastal paths.

Although this is still a working farm, for Health and Safety reasons our children did not have access to all areas as suggested in previous reviews, but this didn't appear to affect our children's enjoyment.

We paid £15 a night for our pitch including hook up in August so its not expensive.

Tir Glyn is excellent value for money. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tir Glyn Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tir Glyn Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Tir Glyn Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5537 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement