Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Traffords Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Traffords Caravan Site > Reviews

Traffords Caravan Site
Low Wood
Bassenthwaite
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 4QH
Tel: 01768 776298
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 11 to 19                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HELB 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from traffords we found it completely by accident when we called in to buy some eggs at the shop. We were told to look round and pitch our tent if we liked it then come back and settle up the bill.

We thought looked really nice very clean tidy and friendly so we pitched and paid very reasonable price of 12.50 per night for two adults and one child in a 6 man tent

Campsite fantastic

Toilet blocks and showers spotlessly clean and endless hot water great powerful showers.

Washing up facilities fantastic and clean

Shop amazing loads of cheap sweets and 30 to 40 pence toys for kids excellent local produce and pretty much all basics

Staff friendly helpful you never felt you were putting them out.

Views and surrounding areas outstanding we walked for miles took picnics and hardly spent any money although trotters world of animal was our only expense but at less than 19 pounds for the three of us it is well worth a day there and we will visit it again.

Children facilities none but all children of all ages got together and played sharing bike, scooters, balls etc held races played made up games , splashed in puddles had good old fashioned fun my seven year old son can't wait to return.

My only problem was we only had two nights will be returning regularly for longer periods

I could not find a single fault with this site but had to think twice about reviewing it as I want to be able to find room there next year but decided it only fair to share.

If you want good old fashioned camping, cooking your own meals, walking, relaxing and making your own fun this is the place for you.

If you want everything on a plate bars and heaps of five star facilities stay away and let the rest of us enjoy the tranquillity. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John67 4 reviews from this member

 A great site - On the edge of the Lake District.
 
Facilities were basic, but very clean. Site was small and friendly, about 50/50 split caravans and tents, many of whom seemed to be regulars.
 
Camp shop was amazing, seemed to serve the local community as well as the site - Even sold daily newspapers!
 
As a family with young children we appreciated the quiet laid back ethos of the site.
 
We intend to return soon.
 
Only one downside - Only 'hard' toilet paper provided - However it is no problem to bring your own.
 
An excellent 'traditional' campsite. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan1971 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from Easter weekend at Traffords. Fantastic weekend, weather amazing.
It was our first outing in a caravan, but it's our second time at the site, last time being in a tent.
Excellent site, beautiful views, friendly people.
Pitches are very level, with loads of room in the middle of the field for the kids to run around/play.
The walk to the lake is well worth it, but don't believe the 3/4 mile sign, it felt more like 2 miles.
The Sun Inn pub in the village is well worth a visit, lovely 15 min walk along a quiet lane opposite the site entrance. Just make sure you phone earlier (017687 76439) if you want a table to eat because it can get booked up in really busy times. But it's also good just to sit outside with a pint and relax.
Keswick's about a 5 mile drive from the site, and there's a co-op and a supermarket called Booths to get your general supplies as the on site shop only stocks the essentials,(newspapers, bread, milk, etc) although it is nice to see a camp shop that doesn't take the mick with prices (milk 44p a pint, paracetamol 60p a pack (needed after one too many the night before!))
As mentioned previously, the shower block is very basic (the gents has 2 showers, 4 loos, 2 basins and a urinal ) but they're always clean and didn't have any problems with the hot water, but I have to admit to having my shower later in the day.
Well worth a visit, and pretty good price too (£14 per night for caravan, awning and hook-up) 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 608 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night, the day before Good Friday. Unfortunately, I cannot add to the cracking reviews this site has. I rang ahead and was told there'd be no problem in me getting an pitch with electricity. However, when I arrived I was almost laughed at for asking for EHU. I decided to stay anyway and was charged £9 for one night for one person - very expensive for a small space in the middle of the field. Went to get a wash and all of the hot water taps were turned off at supply: £9 well spent? I don't think so. Later went for shower, and the only temperature they had was freezing cold. When I asked if there was any hot water on site, I was told "We're working on it. There's plenty of cold if you're desperate." Helpful.
 
On a more positive note, the location of the site is superb - Skiddaw can be reached from the site and the pub in the village is cracking. The site shop seemed well stocked. I would return simply for the location and the hope that the site was just having an off day at the time I camped there. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blueloaded 1 review from this member

 This camp site is excellent we were there last week 24th - 29th July and the weather was fantastic. The site itself is very well situated to explore the lakes, it is basic but very friendly and it has a well stocked shop for your day to day needs.
The showers are basic but clean. I could not recommend this site enough.
Bassenthwaite Lake is a 5 minute drive away where you can swim or paddle in fantastic surroundings, better than any swimming pool and its free - great for the kids.
We are going back in a few weeks and would not even search for another site this one suits us fine. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debi Sanderson 18 reviews from this member

 Just got back from one of our many visits to Trafford. This site is so tranquil and excellent for just getting away and recharging your batteries. I hope they never change there set up. It may be a basic site but it has to be one of the best sites in the lakes for views and what the lakes should be best known for peace and tranquillity and getting back to nature. 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: SimonDevlin 5 reviews from this member

 Well, what can I say? Fantastic! This site is something else again; clean, tidy & friendly - what more could you want? There's even a small shop that stocks absolutely everything! The facilities are clean (although a little dated) and by 9am the hot water's out (although the site manager did say it was supposed to be hot 24/7), but appart from that it was great.

It's a level site with maybe 20 or so static caravans and room for a good 40 tents, although there were maybe about a dozen tents and I'm told it was busy! Situated about 7 miles from Keswick and about 2 miles from Bassenthwaite Lake (well worth a quick visit for some stunning scenery). All in all, 9 out of 10 (a point lost for the water!). I'll definitely be returning.

 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Magent2 1 review from this member

 We keep going back to this site time after time. Peaceful and very clean and tidy, with views that are second to none. Loads t odo nearby, we have young children who absolutely love "Trotters" which is a 5 minute drive round the lake. 


Reviewer: Debi Sanderson 18 reviews from this member

 2001,2002,2003,2004.
Ive been visiting this site for four years. It's a lovely site and always made to feel welcome. It is so tranquil even when busy. The views are of skiddaw and it is so peaceful. Lovely walks to lake Bassenthwaite. There is a lovely pub serving meals in Bassenthwaite village which is a lovely walk just up from the site. It's a great place to chill out for a few days. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 19     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Traffords Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Traffords Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Traffords Caravan Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3672 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement